Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC World Cup of Darts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Dartgod wrote: »

Wow suprised to see ROI in as one of the 8 seeded teams, some very tough teams in groups B and C

How about this for a tasty group

Netherlands (Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld)
    Canada (John Part & Jeff Smith)
    South Africa (Charl Pietersen & Shawn Hogan)

Top 2 to qualify out of each group though really lessens the chances of any of the big names exiting in the group stage anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Spiderpig92

Loving Ireland in the top 8, but how are we ahead of some of the others??? There are others even in the 3rd seeds that i reckon should be in the top seeds, but hey he wont complain, gives us a chance to qualify!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

No offence to Mick McGowan but I am delighted that he has lost out this year to Connie Finnan who is by far the better player at the moment. Willie was practically playing on his own last year. Hopefully the lads can get through a few rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

I must say I do like this tournament but the format this year really suits the big nations,with 2 out of 3 to qualify from every group the chances of a big name country exiting the tournament early are slim.

The England pair of Lewis and Taylor will be the favorites followed closely by the Dutch pairing of Barney and Van Gerwen and a meeting between these 2 nations will be watched closely by darts fans considering the recent shenanigans between Taylor and Barney at the World Championship.

Other teams that could do well will be last year's runners up Australia with Whitlock and Nicholson forming the team and the Scottish pairing of Anderson and Thornton mind you Scotland haven't done well in this tournament since it's beginning.

Delighted to see 2 Limerick lads Connie Finnan and Willie O'Connor representing Ireland but I must admit I'm surprised that their seeded so high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭seanm92

Just out of interest how are the teams selected for the WC? I would have thought Darryl Gurney would be in there ahead of Mansell in the NI team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭buster180

seanm92 wrote: »
    Just out of interest how are the teams selected for the WC? I would have thought Darryl Gurney would be in there ahead of Mansell in the NI team

Order of merit in The PDC. Gurney is in the BDO, but is trying to get a tour card for the PDC over the coming days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Spiderpig92

buster180 wrote: »
    Order of merit in The PDC. Gurney is in the BDO, but is trying to get a tour card for the PDC over the coming days.

Gurney played in the PDC world championships there though, he may not b high enough in the rankings but he is in the PDC

Afaik he is a BDO player, in the process of switching, or more accurately trying to get through PDC qualifying. I presume if he fails at Q School he just has to sit out his 180 day suspension and then can play BDO again.

BETFAIR WORLD CUP OF DARTS
    GROUP STAGE DRAW
    GROUP A
    England (1)
    Austria
    Japan

GROUP B
    Republic of Ireland (8)
    Denmark
    South Africa

GROUP C
    Scotland (4)
    Canada
    Sweden

GROUP D
    Wales (5)
    Spain
    Philippines

GROUP E
    Netherlands (2)
    Gibraltar
    Poland

GROUP F
    Germany (7)
    Finland
    USA

GROUP G
    Australia (3)
    Croatia
    New Zealand

GROUP H
    Northern Ireland (6)
    Belgium
    Hungary

Tough enough group for ROI there, SA are surely the toughest of the 3rd seeds anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭seanm92

KevIRL wrote: »
    Tough enough group for ROI there, SA are surely the toughest of the 3rd seeds anyway

Definitely gonna be tough, having seen Laursen and Charl Pieterson play in WC in recent years theyll be no pushover, admittedly dont know much about both teams other players though. Whats the story with Devon Petersen actually???

However I would still expect ROI to come through either first or second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

seanm92 wrote: »
    Definitely gonna be tough, having seen Laursen and Charl Pieterson play in WC in recent years theyll be no pushover, admittedly dont know much about both teams other players though. Whats the story with Devon Petersen actually???

However I would still expect ROI to come through either first or second

Petersen is/was injured and he has resigned his tour card.

The Philippines have withdrawn from the World Cup due to travel problems and will be replaced in Group D by Italy.

Kicks off tomorrow, Sky covering it from 13.30 I think, although the afternoon matches arent likely to have a high scoring average as the top seeds in each group dont play until the evening session tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Kingp35 wrote: »
    No offence to Mick McGowan but I am delighted that he has lost out this year to Connie Finnan who is by far the better player at the moment. Willie was practically playing on his own last year. Hopefully the lads can get through a few rounds.

Well that remark was proven to be complete sh it at the weekend as Connie was lucky to win a leg Vs Mick.

The man has had a rough few yrs, but is, and always was a class act on and off the oche.

Put money e/w on Scotland. Good line up, even if they both bowed out of the worlds very tamely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Iv backed the Bleg pairing. 33/1.... Happy enough with that price.

Dicie wrote: »
    Iv backed the Bleg pairing. 33/1.... Happy enough with that price.

Nice start. 5-0 win over Hungary.

Seems to be about 50 people at the session

Denmark 5 South Africa 4 in our group. Denmark led 4-1 and had a chance of winning 5-1 but messed it up. Would have been better for us if they did as leg scoring difference can come into it.

Decent game that, the Italians werent half bad. Spain 5 Italy 3

Croatia 5 NZ 3

John Part up next with Canada

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Really poor turn out in the venue. It's so empty you can hear the crowd taking the piss if someone throws bad darts.

Least appealing session of them all by some distance though with all the minnows playing, also in the middle of the working day. Hopefully better from this evenings session onwards

really enjoyable game that. Canada manage to nick it 5-4

Japan ruin my treble in another game that went to a deciding leg, beating Austria 5-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

That Japanese lad Muramatsu really impressed me there he is a player that could make some inroads in the PDC if he based himself in the UK.

Handy enough win for Poland there 5-2 v Gibralter

A nice close game to round the afternoon off with Finland beating USA 5-4. It's good to see some close games in the opening sessions play.

Aye, was an enjoyable session, hopefully similar enough tonight.

Nice win for NIron v Belgium there, surprisingly Mansell the main man for them. Belgium won a couple of legs though and are safely through

Impressive stuff from our lads there to close out a 5-0 win over Denmark

Wales beat Spain 5-2 in a scrappy match

Australia 5-1 v Croatia, pretty uninspiring stuff this evening after a good afternoon session

I think that 5-0 win guarantees that we are through to the last 16 already. Great stuff from the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Great quality game this!

Awesome stuff from Scotland here

I think that 5-0 win guarantees that we are through to the last 16 already. Great stuff from the lads.

Yep, safely through.

Put money e/w on Scotland. Good line up, even if they both bowed out of the worlds very tamely.

It might be my only time to gloat, so...

I think I timed that perfectly...just got in before they stuttered...

Scotland get there in the end, but the 3 legs should be enough for Canada

An enjoyable game there between the Scots and Canada. Well done to the Limerick duo of Connie and Willie on their whitewash of Denmark earlier with a 90+ average.

Scotland get there in the end, but the 3 legs should be enough for Canada
    If Sweden were to beat Scotland 5-4 or 5-3 both Scotland and Sweden will qualify however surely the Scots will be going all out for the victory so they can face 1 of the lower seeds in the last 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Decent crowd for the evening session, didn't see any of the early games, heard there was feck all at it.
    I like this tournament, it has a sort of laid back feel to it bar the carry on of Taylor/Nicholson last year :pac:

Is it my imagination, maybe it's the way the shirt hangs, but Lewis seems...bigger!

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Decent crowd for the evening session, didn't see any of the early games, heard there was feck all at it.
    I like this tournament, it has a sort of laid back feel to it bar the carry on of Taylor/Nicholson last year :pac:

Between 50 and 100 there this afternoon I reckon

Is it my imagination, maybe it's the way the shirt hangs, but Lewis seems...bigger!
    I thought he was very bloated looking during the World Championship and it seems he has done nothing to lose weight since then!

It's funny hearing the Germans singing "there's only one Phil Taylor".

In fairness anyone would look huge beside them teeny tiny Japanese men.

Between 50 and 100 there this afternoon I reckon
    Didn't see the afternoon session but that's a very poor attendance. A good crowd in tonight for the main seeds in action.

In fairness anyone would look huge beside them teeny tiny Japanese men.

I hate to be cruel, but as its on in Germany...