Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love Locks?

• 15-01-2013 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

I was walking over the ha'penny bridge last week with a friend and i noticed lots of pad locks attached to the bridge. So I mentioned it to my friend saying what the fcuk is that all about. She looks at me a bit weird (as if i asked something really stupid); 'eh love locks?'

wft is a love lock? well apparently whenever you are in love with somebody and you are visiting a city you should vandalise monuments, particularly bridges, with a symbol of your love represented by an engraved pad lock...

i have a feeling this is some desperate attempt by the pad lock companies to cash in on valentines day maybe but i googled and apparently this is quite common all around the world...

Am I the only one noticing the weird craze now and agree with how stupid it is? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I read the thread title too fast.

Im out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

How ghey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I know AH threads are cyclical, but this was only done about two weeks ago? :confused:

First i've heard of it. So what cult movie does this act come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Might go down with one of them big lock cutters and ruin some relationships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I know AH threads are cyclical, but this was only done about two weeks ago? :confused:

really? i searched for love locks and no results, pass the link on if you can find it please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Saw the locks, but never heard of "love locks" before. Thought this was from the Rugby forums..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I believe it's pretty common on the continent but have never seen it here.

I blame the Troika.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Yes OP it is stupid.

What do they do? Buy a Yale or a Tri Circle from the local hardware and engrave it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Saw'em over the last couple of months there alright. Didn't take much notice of'em. Don't see the point in it at all really.

Yes OP it is stupid.

What do they do? Buy a Yale or a Tri Circle from the local hardware and engrave it?

thats what i've been told

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

davet82 wrote: »

really? i searched for love locks and no results, pass the link on if you can find it please :)

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056846787?page=1#post_82516924

Always a pleasure to help out a polite poster! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

davet82 wrote: »
    thats what i've been told

Ah Jaysus, that is sad.
    The Corporation will snip them off anyway I'm guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

donvito99 wrote: »
    Might go down with one of them big lock cutters and ruin some relationships.

SNIP, SNIP. Mr. Burgess.

Ah Jaysus, that is sad.

or if you see an angry women on the ha'penny with a bolt cutters ye know some poor fcuker has been caught out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

who_me wrote: »
    Saw the locks, but never heard of "love locks" before. Thought this was from the Rugby forums..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_padlocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I remember being locked on the Ha’penny bridge before…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Lots of them on the Brooklyn bridge and bridges in Paris, never really noticed them over here before though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

I thought this was going to be about chastity belts.....

I remember being locked on the Ha’penny bridge before…

the type of locked is usually symbolised with puke on the Ha'penny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Lumbo wrote: »
    SNIP, SNIP. Mr. Burgess.

Ah here, Colm Meaney was holding gardening shears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Load of bollocks.

I'd rather see the bridge.

If you want to tell the world you're in love, get a fucking blog or annoy people on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Ah Jaysus, that is sad.

Better hurry up before the added weight of the locks brings the whole shakey thing crashing down into the liffey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

I think they're sweet and would rather see them than trees getting carved up with "wacker hearts jacinta 4 eva", at the very least they're easily removed with little damage done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

curlzy wrote: »
    I think they're sweet and would rather see them than trees getting carved up with "wacker hearts jacinta 4 eva", at the very least they're easily removed with little damage done.

There are not millions of city landmarks and you can't grow another Ha'penny Bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

How utterly ridiculous, such a waste of a lock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I'm a bit of an aul rosemantic but I rather the old carving our names on trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Couldn't we persuade some of the more criminally-minded citizens of our fair city to indulge in a spot of lock-picking?

Cleaner bridge and the scumbags develop some important career skills. Win-win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I figure this sort of thing has to be great for the economy...

Each lock represents a ~20% donation to our great country in the form of VAT....plus the purchase helps support the local shop and it's employees (who also pay taxes).

Then they put them on some landmark/bridge/whatever where the city can pay someone to cut them down. I'd have to imagine they'd be worth something as scrap metal. It wouldn't take very long to cut down a lot of locks.

If we've learned anything from the tiger, it's that wasteful spending creates jobs and prosperity!