Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Mad Fat Diary

• 14-01-2013 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭

First episode of this tonight. Not bad anyone else watching its on e4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Yes,
    Have watched the first 2 episodes. I think it's great. Very much in the Inbetweeners mould but with a bit of thought-provoking seriousness thrown in too. The music brings me back to my youth!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Yes,
    Have watched the first 2 episodes. I think it's great. Very much in the Inbetweeners mould but with a bit of thought-provoking seriousness thrown in too. The music brings me back to my youth!!!

Love the oasis blur, britpop as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yep, watched the first episode and quite liked it alright.

Haven't watched the second episode yet.

• Site Banned Posts: 60 ✭✭drumslate

I think this show is pretty terrible

What's not to like about it?

It makes me laugh, then shifts the viewpoint and almost makes me feel guilty for not seeing what was coming next. I think it's really enjoyable, thought-provoking stuff. Very good 3rd episode again last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I think its good. Its only really starting to come together, was a bit strange the first episode but gradually each episode is making more sense. You kind of relate to it if you were growing up in that decade. Explores a lot of interesting topics worth trying to highlight now and again. I think it quiet funny as well. Looking forward to see how things go with rae and finn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

Does anybody else think Rae is infact anorexic and underweight? Like no one has ever directly called her fat, and the one that did said it sarcastically. And she said she finally got her period which is usual in anorexia, but quite uncommon in obesity, unless it is very extreme. Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Does anybody else think Rae is infact anorexic and underweight? Like no one has ever directly called her fat, and the one that did said it sarcastically. And she said she finally got her period which is usual in anorexia, but quite uncommon in obesity, unless it is very extreme. Thoughts?

Oooh wow, never thought of that. If she is actually anorexic, this show elevates itself to being great. This is E4 though, makers of the inbetweeners(which I loved) and I doubt if they are capable of something that brilliant. I could be wrong though.

I was thinking that as an audience she looks like what she thinks she looks like and she really thin in real life but she thinks her self as not.

Though other things that come together makes me think she isn't thin hard to know based on one clip of her zipping at her back. It might just be an image and all that. Compare her as a child she is the size that she is.

Ya the thing about that I think it doesn't matter the fact she finally got it like you might not get it for a while regardless of weight but can happen generally if underweight but can affect if overweight in extreme cases.

The other things then when she said she couldn't fit into a dress? Her friends and other extreme things she done to herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Yeah I thought that might be a possibility, but she's been called Jabba a number of times though.

I wonder does Finn actually like her. Or will he turn out to be gay too :P

I say finn does like her but finds it hard to show it to her but eventually letting his guard down and feels comfortable with her but who knows we have to wait and see what the outcome be between the too. Anything is possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

All caught up and loving it.

It definitely brings back feelings from the time, the thoughts that you're the only one who's going through stuff while everybody else can't see is a common feeling at 16.

The the music...

Chooooooooon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

I love it music just timeless.great expanding loveplot triangle..season finale on tomorrow night afik.
    how soon they have flown by... is there going to be a series 2?
    i havnt read the diaries myself to know if they can make it

• Site Banned Posts: 236 ✭✭vader65

I just don't like it, but then again just not my type of show.

I was quiet young back then not yet a teenager though but I can kind of be nostalgic and be reminiscent of the whole music era of that time. Its timeless and classic era really.

I find it quiet good, looking forward to the love triangle. It all be revealed tonight! Can't wait to watch it! I miss it now the storylines have got so good and typical of that time I suppose. Every person kind of goes through most of those things when growing up.

I hope there be a second series.

Is there actually a book on this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I have really enjoyed it, initially it was only because of the music but it's actually a really good show to pass an hour or so. Hope there's a second series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

just seen it accounced at and of finale that there will be a second series but they havnt even filmed it yet.

cant wait!

My dvr didn't tape the last minute. Can I put up the last thing I saw and ye can tell me if I missed anything?

It's repeated during the week. Better to watch it yourself rather than getting it second hand.

I thought it was a great series: brings me back to the angst of my teenage years: the music, girl trouble (or lack of it!) etc etc. It really was thought-provoking and funny, what more could you ask for?

Its repeated on Thursday or Friday I think defo on again during the week and think its repeated again on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Haven't watched a minute of it but I gathered from the adverts for it that
    all her friends are actually in her head?
    and the possibility of her actually being anorexic (thinking that she is fat) could make sense too.

I saw it online, it was literally the last 30 seconds so not much.

How do I read something hidden by spoiler markings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Just highlight the section you wish to read, as if you were selecting it for copying and pasting later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

Anyone know when Season 2 starts? The only info I can find is Feb 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

sok2005 it's just started back , both episodes of the new series can be caught on 40d too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭sinead88

Quite enjoyed the first 2 episodes of series 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Wake_Up_Donnie

Just watched S2E3. Really good. I like that it discusses mental illness, a topic which is still very taboo imo.

Getting to look at Nico Mirallegro and Dan Cohen doesn't hurt either! :D

For anybody who isn't watching, I highly recommend you give it a shot. Other posters have compared it to 'The Inbetweeners' which I agree with but it also reminds me of 'My So-Called Life'. All the episodes are on 4od so there's no excuse!

Anybody watching the second season?

EDIT: Apolgies, those more recent post weren;t showing up initially

Just watched S2E3. Really good. I like that it discusses mental illness, a topic which is still very taboo imo.

Getting to look at Nico Mirallegro and Dan Cohen doesn't hurt either! :D

For anybody who isn't watching, I highly recommend you give it a shot. Other posters have compared it to 'The Inbetweeners' which I agree with but it also reminds me of 'My So-Called Life'. All the episodes are on 4od so there's no excuse!

'My So-Called Life', I've never heard of it, but I'll give it a go. Thanks for the recommendation!

Anybody still watching this or is it just me? :pac:

Another good episode! Glad that we got to know Archie and Liam a bit better. Spoilers for S2E4 and previous episodes as well as possible spoiler for 'Paranorman'.
    My heart went out to Archie when he was told he couldn't play soccer anymore. I'm disappointed that Chop wasn't more supportive of Archie considering how sound he's been towards Rae.

Suprised that Finn already knew he was gay. It explains why he never got suspicious when Archie and Rae were being all touchy-feely. To an outsider, it looked like they were in a relationship half the time.

The sexual tension between Rae and Finn... the sooner they get back together, the better.

Liked the scene between Rae and Kester re reacting to fear. It reminds me of 'Paranorman' when Norman's grandmother told him it was okay to be afraid as long as he didn't let it change who he was. Important life lesson, it's part of the reason why 'Paranorman' is one of my favourite films.

I'll be gutted if there isn't a third season. It's my new favourite TV show! :)

Really enjoying this season. Seriously want to shake Ray sometimes!

sok2005 wrote: »
    Really enjoying this season. Seriously want to shake Ray sometimes!

I know! I was like, Rae, what are you thinking when
    she kissed Liam back especially after she told Amy nothing had happened between them.

Eeeek, i'm an episode behind you and I checked your spoiler out of complete nosiness :D:D
    I knew it was going to happen but i'm so disappointed! God-dammit Rae, what are you playing at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Is this show as bad as it looks?

sok2005 wrote: »
    Eeeek, i'm an episode behind you and I checked your spoiler out of complete nosiness :D:D
    I knew it was going to happen but i'm so disappointed! God-dammit Rae, what are you playing at!

Sorry, I always watch the episodes on 4od as soon as they're put up! The online premiere is sooo handy! :D
    Raf32 wrote: »

Whether you'll enjoy it or not depends on your personal taste in television. If you're over 35, I'd say not. Women would probably enjoy it more than men (I say that as a woman, btw).

Part of the reason I like it, is because it raises awareness about mental health.

Season 2 isn't quite as good as Season 1 (or as funny :() but it's still really enjoyable. If you watch other shows centred around teenagers, then I'd say watch the first episode and see what you think. If you don't enjoy teen-centric shows, then it's probably not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thalia_13

Raf32 wrote: »

If you were a teenager in the mid 90s you will.enjoy the soundtrack for sure! Its a good show made all the better by the well placed songs! I feel.old and 15.again in equal measure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

I love it! I think it's so much more realistic than a lot of other teen shows.
    Like some of the things Rae does because of her insecurities are things that I could have done at that age!

Also anything that addressess mental health issues without making them big, scary conditions is a good thing in my book.

Can't believe there's only 2 episodes left this season! :(
    It feels like the relationship between Rae and her mother is disintegrating. They never had a great relationship to begin with, but when her mother told her to spend time with her father, that she'd 'done her shift', she went too far. Then saying that she didn't want her new baby growing up around Rae, wtf. Granted, Rae is acting like a brat but the insults went too far.

I've no idea what's like to be a parent but surely she could try involving Rae with the baby more, maybe ask for help decorating the nursery, not just asking her to go to the scan because Karim is working.

Finn's gone. :mad: Hope he'll at least make an appearance in the finale.

I hope what happened between Liam and Rae doesn't occur again. Rae obviously felt like crap afterwards. It's a pity she feels like she has to be sexual at the same pace as her peers. What's right for them isn't necessarily right for her.

Anybody watch the finale? Quite good,
    (Finn's back!!) but I was disappointed things were wrapped up so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

Anybody watch the finale? Quite good,
    (Finn's back!!) but I was disappointed things were wrapped up so quickly.

I love MMFD! :P Didn't know there was a thread on boards for it.

Yeah I agree with that, I think everyone thought that tbh. Tom Bidwell had written eight episodes but scrapped the last one so I suppose that's why it was rushed.

Hopefully there will be a third series, don't know what else they could write for it though -seems like everything was wrapped up in the end of episode seven.

Ya I watched it be interesting how it continue if they continue onto another series. Glad he is back I think himself and Rae are meant to be together!

I was thinking, if there was a third series they could show how
    Rae adapts to being a big sister, not the only child in the house anymore
    and maybe give more background about Chop and Izzy. It'd also be interesting to see how Danny reacts
    to being out in the real world, part of the gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Whether you'll enjoy it or not depends on your personal taste in television. If you're over 35, I'd say not.
    Season 2 isn't quite as good as Season 1 (or as funny :() but it's still really enjoyable.

I'm (considerably)over 35 and love this.
    I watch it with my teenagers and think it's one of the better productions on tv in recent years.
    Was thrilled to see a second series and actually enjoyed it more than the first.
    Great to hear some of the better songs from '96 too.

I'm (considerably)over 35 and love this.

I just meant in general. I'm sure there are other people over 35 who like it but being a teen-centric show, that's the group of people who'll most likely be watching it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

If there is a third series I hope there's a lot more scenes with Rae and Kester. The scene between the two of them in the therapy session in episode seven was heart-breaking. There wasn't enough of a focus on the aftermath of the death of Tix either and how it affected Rae imo.

I would hope for more scenes with the gang too. And Linda! Give Linda more lines/scenes - she's gas. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 DEAF LEOPARD

The final season started back tonight on E4.
    3 hour long episodes.Looking forward to this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

Only 3? That's a shame if true, the first episode was good but I can't see how they'll wrap the stories up in only 2 more episodes.

:eek: Had no idea there was going to be a third season. I'll wait until they've all aired and marathon them. Pity there's only 3 episodes.

Just watched the last episode. It was tough, sweet and sad. Sorry to see this series go now. Reading the actual Mad Fat Diary in PDF now.

Disappointed with the third season overall. I felt like it was full of cliches.
    Finn cheats on Rae, there's a prom/dance in the final episode, the car crash in the first episode just made me think of a similar scene in Skins.

The first two episodes were fairly good and I liked the ending scene with Rae
    on the train but I thought it was odd how she still seemed ill for the first half of the finale but then quickly recovered for the later half. She'll always struggle to a certain degree with mental health issues but it just seemed rushed.

Would be interesting to see how she gets on at college but the show wouldn't be the same without the other characters in it.
    Reading the actual Mad Fat Diary in PDF now.
    Any good? I heard the book isn't as good as the tv series.