Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much spending money for 5 nights in Las vegas??

• 14-01-2013 2:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16

anyone ever been?? 22 year old going on a lad holiday how much you think would be safe?? would 400$ a day be enough??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 juiceking91

anyone ever been any advice on how much to bring??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

Not the greatest place for a "lads" holiday I think if you are on a budget as it can be incredibly expensive if out drinking alot.

Drink in the hotel room if ye have a group. Also i think you can drink in the street as such so fill up an empty cooke bottle with vodka and coke (or whatever). You can drink for free if you are gambling so get on the penny slots and keep getting free bottles of beer (pretty boring to get drink this way I think).

Downtown from the strip will b e cheaper also than the strip. Avoid the big nightclubs as they are $$$$$$ and to be honest a bit **** IMO.

I am going in June for the 3rd time for 8 nights and will be budgeting for 400 euro perday personally but i will drop 1000+ on clothes and 500-1000 max gambling (hopefully nothing if i am hit some luck).

Greatest place on Earth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

john_cappa wrote: »
    Greatest place on Earth!

We'll agree to differ on that, I couldn't wait to get outta there. :)

I've never felt such relentless pressure on my wallet than in Vegas. The idea of the place as some desert utopia is undermined by how slick, corporate and ultimately soulless the whole place appeared to me.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    We'll agree to differ on that, I couldn't wait to get outta there. :)

I've never felt such relentless pressure on my wallet than in Vegas. The idea of the place as some desert utopia is undermined by how slick, corporate and ultimately soulless the whole place appeared to me.

I can see your point but if you want you could literally spend not a lot given how cheap some buffets are and the amount of free entertainment available!

I just love getting up in the morning having a savage buffet, playing a holdem tourny, having another buffet, doing some people watching,, lounge by the pool, little shopping, catch a world class show and maybe a meal at a cut price with half price tickets, hitting a few bars, playing a little BJ etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Set yourself a gambling budget for the trip, how much money you're prepared to lose. We normally set $200-300 per person for a 2-3 day trip with only a couple of hours in the casino per day. That money is kept separate and the key is in only spending that money gambling, no more.

Food, you've got fast food, food courts, all you can eat buffets, low, mid and high priced restaurants..something to fit all budgets.

Booze, once you stay out of the bars in the top end hotels it's not that bad. Beer can be bought by the pitcher and can be priced ok.

Don't know about clubs.

john_cappa wrote: »
    Not the greatest place for a "lads" holiday I think if you are on a budget as it can be incredibly expensive if out drinking alot.

Drink in the hotel room if ye have a group. Also i think you can drink in the street as such so fill up an empty cooke bottle with vodka and coke (or whatever). You can drink for free if you are gambling so get on the penny slots and keep getting free bottles of beer (pretty boring to get drink this way I think).

Downtown from the strip will b e cheaper also than the strip. Avoid the big nightclubs as they are $$$$$$ and to be honest a bit **** IMO.

I am going in June for the 3rd time for 8 nights and will be budgeting for 400 euro perday personally but i will drop 1000+ on clothes and 500-1000 max gambling (hopefully nothing if i am hit some luck).

Greatest place on Earth!

I asked would 400 a day be enough and you reply its not the greastest place for a lads holiday on a budget but then you talk pony for a bit...then say your bringing the exact same spending money as me per day(400)

the mind boggles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

anyone ever been?? 22 year old going on a lad holiday how much you think would be safe?? would 400$ a day be enough??

$400 a day is a LOT for Vegas!! Well, it would be for me anyway as i didny gamble much when there.

Considering that drink is free is most places as long as you are gambling and food costs pittance too. I would say $100 or $200 is enough.

There's more to Vegas than gambling...you could walk from the strip up to downtown and check out the old casinos up there. The hotels and their 'malls' are a sight to behold themselves. The fountains of the Bellagio etc.

Hire a car and take a trip over the Hoover Dam and then on to the Grand Canyon for a day.

Go carting/off-roading out in the desert too.

P.S. as you are only 22 I can guarantee you will constantly get asked for ID (legal age is 21 in Vegas) so carry id with u always.

$400 a day is a LOT for Vegas!! Well, it would be for me anyway as i didny gamble much when there.

Considering that drink is free is most places as long as you are gambling and food costs pittance too. I would say $100 or $200 is enough.

There's more to Vegas than gambling...you could walk from the strip up to downtown and check out the old casinos up there. The hotels and their 'malls' are a sight to behold themselves. The fountains of the Bellagio etc.

Hire a car and take a trip over the Hoover Dam and then on to the Grand Canyon for a day.

Go carting/off-roading out in the desert too.

P.S. as you are only 22 I can guarantee you will constantly get asked for ID (legal age is 21 in Vegas) so carry id with u always.

thanks for the reply not sounding rude but im not interested in site seeing just want to drink and gamble as much as i can :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

thanks for the reply not sounding rude but im not interested in site seeing just want to drink and gamble as much as i can :D

Well then I suppose you'll need as much as you can bring! But drink is free when gambling so $400 prob enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭power101

400 should be enough per day assuming your not including hotel etc. I spent about 1000 when I was there for 3 days. The nightclubs are 20-30 dollars in unless you get comped. Drinks are very expensive. Food there is fairly cheap and as previously said drinks are free(Tip a dollar or the waitress will never come back) when you are gambling. (not sure if this is a good or bad thing though!)

Tips: Bring a watch. You can easily loose track of time. Try to visit the grand canyon, its unreal. Visit the gun store aswell! thegunstorelasvegas.com/

Otherwise just follow this simple rule in vegas....don't trust anyone! They just want your money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Dunno if you booked your flights yet but this might suit:

http://www.holidaypirates.com/uk-ireland/flights-dublin-las-vegas-san-francisco-seattle-468

Also a thread here that might give you some deals etc:
    http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hotel-deals/929586-las-vegas-codes-promos-76.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 magoko101

$400 a day should be more than enough.... but of course... depends on how you spend it.
    Food, brews, and low end gambling for a couple of hourse is doable...

2 mins at a higher stakes table can see it wiped out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Vegas is usually a package deal with food, so you need money for the casinos and tours and souvenir photos.

Gambling is the sticky wicket and it can drain you, so the advice is to only take one day's "allowance" leave the rest in the hotel safe or security box function [ask there].

My 22 year olds spent about $200 a day with UFC tickets and Helicopter rides accounting for some $600 from an estimated $1,200 spend each [plus the flights and hotel].

Great time, recommended, just go there [once]. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭marcus2000

Well then I suppose you'll need as much as you can bring! But drink is free when gambling so $400 prob enough

I remember waiting 20mins for my free drinks and then about half hour to find a waitress between drinks!! I think if you 'tip' them the price of a drink, they may come back a bit quicker!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I asked would 400 a day be enough and you reply its not the greastest place for a lads holiday.....then say your bringing the exact same spending money as me per day(400)

the mind boggles

The mind boggles?

You asked in your OP if $400 would be enough - the other poster gave his daily budget in €uro's. Also, they provided what most would consider a helpful reply, detailing ways in which those on a budget could possibly make savings.

But I ain't going on a lads holiday? Hence my budget of 400 euros per day (500 dollars) is fine! Sorry for talking pony was just giving advice.

If you like a gamble then unless you are winning you fly through your budget. Blackjack minimum bet us 5 or 10 dollars for example. Put a set amount that you are willing to lose aside and don't go over this ( put any winnings aside and don't give them back lol).

Clubs be anywhere from 20-50 dollars in, drinks in clubs (vodka and mixer) 15 dollars + or a beer for 10 or 12 dollars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

just want to drink and gamble as much as i can :D
    Asks a question and then answers it himself - the mind boggles, You need as much as you can afford to bring so.