Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They were "at sixes and sevens"

• 13-01-2013 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭

Watching The Premiership on RTE 2 HD and the commentator says it ... "They were at sixes and sevens" - I hate that expression it does my nut in.

Im watching the match on a 52" 8mm thin LED 3D/HD tv and hearing expression from "the wireless" (I had to look that up)

Surly they can stop saying that now that we in 2013 can see where the ball is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

U WOT M8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭AnarchistKen

Thinly veiled I have a whopper tele

At the end of the day it's a game of two halves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

All that technology............and still watching RTE

Don't be so surly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Don't be so surly

Match of the day is miles better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Don't be so surly

RTE 2 in HD

dickwod1 wrote: »
    RTE 2 in HD

Eh, it's not in HD, it's upscaled SD.

Match of the day is HD

Thinly veiled I have a whopper tele

Just pointing out how ridiculous the saying is

RTE 2 in HD

Yeah........like I said Dick......RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Watching The Premiership on RTE 2 HD and the commentator says it ... "They were at sixes and sevens" - I hate that expression it does my nut in.

Im watching the match on a 52" 8mm thin LED 3D/HD tv and hearing expression from "the wireless" (I had to look that up)

Surly they can stop saying that now that we in 2013 can see where the ball is?

You'd prefer inanities like "On the front foot"?

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Eh, it's not in HD, it's upscaled SD.

Match of the day is HD

Eh computer says no

Is this a thread about football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Go on............. my son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Match of the day is miles better

You've obviously not watched MOTD in a few years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

What was Wenger thinking bringing Walcott on that early?

That's what we are trying to find out. Is it Soccer Forum or TV Forum? :confused:

No just about a stupid expression from the wireless in like 1940 that has nothing to do with 2013 but still said on the tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Yanno, when people meet me they say you don't look like a 1ZRed, but you sir..

Eh computer says no

Only live outside broadcasts on RTE are in HD (matches etc), everything else is upscaled SD as they don't have the HD equipment yet. It will look better than SD, but is a long way from the 1080i HD you get on Match of the Day on BBC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

No just about a stupid expression from the wireless in like 1940 that has nothing to do with 2013 but still said on the tv!

we call them 'radio' these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Anyone hear Giles remark about Walters house getting burgled on The Premiership last night! ****ing hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

thing about Arsenal is, they always try to walk it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Match of the day is miles Kilometers better

Fixed that for ya......we are in 2013 after all :D

He started the game, he wasn't brought on......oops, morto for ya :o:p

Why does it have nothing to do with 2013 though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭alph

The thing 'bout Arsenal is they always try and walk it in.

Edit: Damn it, beaten by an invisible person.

Why does it have nothing to do with 2013 though?

:confused: Really?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

kfallon wrote: »
    He started the game, he wasn't brought on......oops, morto for ya :o:p

Morto for you not getting the IT crowd reference.

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

"They were at sixes and sevens"

They struck me as a bunch of lads who met for the first time in the pub outside the stadium. Rag order. At sixes and sevens, all ends up. Coming apart at the seams. Heads have visibly dropped. And if this was boxing contest the Referee would stop it right now.

:confused: Really?:confused:

Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Morto for you not getting the IT crowd reference.

:P

The (SH)IT Crowd as it is often referred to.....

Really.
    OK - Its from commentators who spoke on the radio to listeners and box 6 and box 7 were at the back of the pitch it was to describe whereabouts the ball was on the radio

We all have tv's now (99.9%) so to hear a tv commentator saying it is a bit stupid me thinks

OK - Its from commentators who spoke on the radio to listeners and box 6 and box 7 were at the back of the pitch it was to describe whereabouts the ball was on the radio

We all have tv's now (99.9%) so to hear a tv commentator saying it is a bit stupid me thinks

Really?
    I always thought it meant there was confusion on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

It means to be confused or careless.. Although it doesn't say it cannot be used past 2012..
    To be "at sixes and sevens" is an idiom used to describe a state of confusion or disarray. The phrase probably derives from a complicated dice game called "hazard".[1] It is thought that the expression was originally "to set on cinq and six"[1] (from the French numerals for five and six). These are the riskiest numbers to shoot for (to "set on"), and anyone who tried for them was considered careless or confused.

Really?
    I always thought it meant there was confusion on the pitch.

It does - if the ball is in box 6/7 the other team is likely to score/your team is likely to concede

Boring

My point being though, we can see that - and the commentator is not on a radio

It does - if the ball is in box 6/7 the other team is likely to score/your team is likely to concede

I think you're wrong dude but we can't let this turn into a football conversation or I'll have to lock it sooooo....

What was the thread about again? Outdated expressions?

Boring

Unfollow?

My point being though, we can see that - and the commentator is not on a radio

Sure then we don't need commentators at all!!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

You have got where it comes from totally wrong OP. it's just a saying, you ill find most words and swings were made up a long time ago. We still use them. It's awfully hard to use modern words from last couple of years to make up all your sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

It doesn't.. It means confused or careless.. If they are playing risky football..

i.e. As if they are playing carelessly, hoping to score, or as if they are playing not knowing any tactics or where anyone is on the pitch.

Unfollow?

That's soooo 1930's

copacetic wrote: »
    You have got where it comes from totally wrong OP. it's just a saying,

Just a saying from what (what I've said actually) all sayings come from something

Was the commentator Jimmy MaGee? He's old skool is our Jimmy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Ah sure it's all just grist to the mill, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

kfallon wrote: »
    The (SH)IT Crowd as it is often referred to.....

Out!

So... The OP was using the expression incorrectly, and then giving out about a commentator using it properly?

Then calling a radio a wireless more than once?

The OP must be an oul lad. Mock him for trying to fit in with us young, hip go getters.

Out!

So... The OP was using the expression incorrectly, and then giving out about a commentator using it properly?

Then calling a radio a wireless more than once?

The OP must be an oul lad. Mock him for trying to fit in with us young, hip go getters.

Ill have some of what your on please :cool:

He's an ould lad who is getting his son to post on "that yoke, whatyamacallit, the internationalnet thing" for him I'd say