Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gambling problem in Ireland

• 11-01-2013 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭

Ok so I done a quick search on this and there's threads from 5 years ago so I decided to start another one.

Has anyone noticed how crazy Ireland has gone on gambling?

I gamble on a regular basis (once or twice a week) on football. When I first started gambling I would back horses, dogs, virtuals etc.

I quickly realised how dangerous it was to get caught up in so I stopped gambling on all sports except football, which I wouldn't spend more than 10e a week on.

I know people who gamble all their wages on a regular basis and borrow money just to gamble. Now thats their own business but recently i've noticed a lot of the bookmakers shops that have kids (15+) in them placing bets.

Also you can't walk 100 yards through town without walking past a bookies, arcade or a casino.

My main problem with all this is that its too easy to get caught up in a gambling addiction, especially when people will eventually turn to crime to feed their addiction.

Does anyone else think that Ireland has gone overboard with gambling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

If you're stupid enough to gamble more than you can afford you don't deserve the money anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I say this from costly experience: A gambling addiction is the addicts own fault. If they have the money to gamble they need to think before handing it over. There's no-one else to blame, try as they might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I bet you there isn't any gambling problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Get this: the house always wins.
    Bookies aren't charities.

I just ignore them. I did dabble with a roulette wheel in a casino once, made a few small wins.
    Had another go and back to square one and walked away.

Edit: I think it's worse in Australia, its really in your face there, seemed like everyone betted on the AFL in the pubs.
    And massive fcuk off casinos, not the little farty ones like here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Confab wrote: »
    I say this from costly experience: A gambling addiction is the addicts own fault. If they have the money to gamble they need to think before handing it over. There's no-one else to blame, try as they might.

I know what you mean but surely making it so easy to gamble isnt helping, having casinos open all night and bookies on every corner etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

If I woke up tomorrow and no one could gamble I wouldn't grumble. If nothing else, it would get horse racing off the tv!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I started to get the shakes christmas day because the bookies
    was closed.

Luckily l talked my granny into a game of texas holdem and all was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I know plenty who gamble, but only know of one person who had gambling problems. He ran up tons of debt by using about 20 credit cards and skipped the country. Nobody knows where he is now.

Online gambling can be dangerously easy to get into, but the online gambling firms only facilitate it. It's up to the person who makes the bets to hand their money over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Caveman1 wrote: »
    I know what you mean but surely making it so easy to gamble isnt helping, having casinos open all night and bookies on every corner etc.

Actually it helps quite a bit, makes life so much more convenient :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It was a dead cert that someone was going to say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I know what you mean but surely making it so easy to smoke isn't helping, having shops/kiosks/vending machines open all night and shops selling cigarettes on every corner etc.

Tbh you could apply the same analogy to smoking...

Is it up to the state to step in and regulate people's lives to such a degree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Does anyone else think that Ireland has gone overboard with gambling?

Gone to the dogs so it has. Seriously though, titty bars would be a lot less of a problem. They'd create more jobs and we'd have less people littering the street with betting slips.

We need a titty bar campaign. Who's with me?

I know plenty who gamble, but only know of one person who had gambling problems. He ran up tons of debt by using about 20 credit cards and skipped the country. Nobody knows where he is now.

Online gambling can be dangerously easy to get into, but the online gambling firms only facilitate it. It's up to the person who makes the bets to hand their money over.

The thing is though, not every person with a gambling problem is going to tell you, more times or not you'd never expect it.

pithater1 wrote: »
    Tbh you could apply the same analogy to smoking...

Is it up to the state to step in and regulate people's lives to such a degree?

Suppose thats true but as bad as smoking is, I don't think you'd have people out stealing just to get 20 smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

My brother works in the Paddy Power call centre, he once had a customer place a €15k bet on a horse race, he lost.

I'm sure someone like that must have a lot of money to be able to do bets like that. Although it could be someone just using a credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Suppose thats true but as bad as smoking is, I don't think you'd have people out stealing just to get 20 smokes.

I think the sort of people who go out steeling are feeding a different sort of habit than gambling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Outside of my work, the next six doors are pub-bookie-pub-bookie-shop-pub.

I never go into the shop, there's always some eejit buying scratchcards.

There are always the same people hanging outside the bars/bookies.

If I was Paddy Power I'd by lobbying to allow bookies to sell alcohol, you could run the bar at a loss but then you've got a completely captive audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Which means he had 15k in his account. So its his money to lose...

There's certainly a gambling culture in Ireland. I don't see it as a problem. People with addictive personalities will find something else to latch on to and I don't think we should take away something that millions enjoy responsibly (and provides thousands with employment) to appease them

robbie1977 wrote: »
    I think the sort of people who go out steeling are feeding a different sort of habit than gambling .

Not necessarily true, I'm sure someone who has lost all their wages and needs to pay bill, rent etc would contemplate stealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I know people who gamble all their wages on a regular basis

How many?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It was a dead cert that someone was going to say that.

I'd have thought there was an evens chance at least.

Dodge wrote: »
    Which means he had 15k in his account. So its his money to lose...

There's certainly a gambling culture in Ireland. I don't see it as a problem. People with addictive personalities will find something else to latch on to and I don't think we should take away something that millions enjoy responsibly (and provides thousands with employment) to appease them

I wouldn't be in favour of completely banning gambling, the main problem I have with it is the amount of young people you now see in bookies & casinos. I'd be more in favour of just having certain times you can open up, and not having places open 24/7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This thread has reminded me about gambling.

Just stuck a few bets on the Oscars, the football and the Spanish U-21 handball championships.

I wasn't using that 2k in my savings account anyway, it might as well be out in the world earning me money!

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How many?

I know quite a few, I used to work in a pub so I'd see people gambling all their money every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

i actually enjoy horse racing and betting on them, if im bored on a weekday off work ill always check the racing, id never never gamble more than i could afford though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Homer:Remember when I let that escaped lunatic in the house 'cause he
    was dressed like Santa Claus?
    Marge: Hmm.
    Homer: Well, that's nothing, because YOU have a gambling problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

I'll throw something serious in here.

Very dangerous addiction because there are no obvious physical ill effects. With a drug addict you can tell, with an alcoholic you can tell - Gambling addiction can easily go very unnoticed.

It is also the only addiction where a person thinks doing it more is the only way to stop.

In addition, it is much easier to do than other vices with various shops, lotterys, online betting etc.

The gamblers own fault it may be, but it is easy to be so judgmental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I feel so sorry for anyone with a gambling problem.

Not just the bookies or casino scene either. It's very easy to play online now. And harder to detect, no smell of alcohol, tell tail sign of drugs.

Hopefully none of your families are ever touched by the destructiveness of gambling because its horrifically addictive and very hard to beat.

I'll throw something serious in here.

Very dangerous addiction because there are no obvious physical ill effects. With a drug addict you can tell, with an alcoholic you can tell - Gambling addiction can easily go very unnoticed.

It is also the only addiction where a person thinks doing it more is the only way to stop.

In addition, it is much easier to do than other vices with various shops, lotterys, online betting etc.

The gamblers own fault it may be, but it is easy to be so judgmental.

Exactly, there's only so much drink someone can have or drugs someone can take, but if a gambler has access to funds he could gamble till there's nothing left.

I actually seen a doc about gambling in Las Vegas, Theres people who leave their jobs on Friday afternoon & drive straight to Vegas to gamble non-stop till Monday morning when they're back in work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I blame cannabis...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Around where i live three bookies have shut down, sign of the times that the recession is even affecting them.

I know a young guy with a very serious problem. He has been away to different places trying to address it, but to no success. Any money he earns he gambles it. In the past he has borrowed/stolen money without repaying it.

It's very sad for the guy because it really has a hold on him. He's only 24. He has limited interest in women or drinking. It's all gamble, gamble, gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I worked in the industry for the guts of 15 years, in that time I saw a lot of stuff I wish I didn't i.e. grown men crying because they've lost money they couldn't afford to etc. I love the industry, I made a lot of money out of it & my opinion is that if people walk through the doors then what they do inside is their own business & nobody is holding a gun to their head.

I had a woman come into the shop one day calling me a scumbag for taking her husband's money after he had gone home & told her his wages went on a horse. She ranted & raved saying she wanted the money back because they couldn't afford to feed their child. After a long arguement with her I finally got her out of the shop. The next day I was behind her in the newsagents down the road & saw her spending €80 on lotto tickets & scratchcards. She accused me of brainwashing her husband into gambling yet she was blowing €80 on the lottery? Gambling is everywhere & anywhere in Ireland & many view bookmakers as a scourge on society. In my opinion I don't see much difference between a bookies & cigarettes, alcohol, lottery tickets scratchcards & even excessive shopping. All are seen as addictions but to single out gambling is unfair as the industry employs about 5,000 people in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

€50 says there is!
    And double or quits the fly on the left moves first!:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I don't gamble, those who play against me, they gamble

Around where i live three bookies have shut down, sign of the times that the recession is even affecting them.

I know a young guy with a very serious problem. He has been away to different places trying to address it, but to no success. Any money he earns he gambles it. In the past he has borrowed/stolen money without repaying it.

It's very sad for the guy because it really has a hold on him. He's only 24. He has limited interest in women or drinking. It's all gamble, gamble, gamble.

This is the sort of thing that I'm talking about, his life will probably always blighted by this, its very unfortunate that this happens to people through any addiction.

For the record I enjoy watching horse racing and doing my football bets, I just don't see why there has to be so many gambling establishments on every street, some that don't close.

I understand it brings in taxes etc but with so many young people getting addicted every day I think it will cause more trouble in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Have heard some horror stories myself about lads owing thousands. Like a bet myself but 20 quid a week is my max and most weeks less than that. Same cost as 4 pints and im in full employment so can afford it. I dont know how people can function when putting thousands on a bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

More a sign of the digital age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

There are definitely a lot of people in Ireland with a gambling problem. Scientific evidence in other countries has shown that approximately 1.4% of people who gamble are pathological gamblers; this would imply approx. 63,000 in Ireland. There has never been a Gambling Prevalence Study in Ireland but I believe that we would be at least average - I believe higher, due to our impulsive and addictive nature.
    When I was growing up (I'm mid-40s), you could only bet on racing and soccer (and then only on The Pools - minimum 5-folds). The bookies opened at 10 and closed at 5. You couldn't see any races, only hear commentary. The only live sport was Saturday racing and the occasional live soccer match. The internet was only a twinkle in Tim Berners-Lee's eye. Notice any difference between then and now?? You can gamble on live sport worldwide, 24/7 without ever leaving your bed!
    As others have said, it's impossible to spot a compulsive gambler - you've definitely stood beside a few in the bookies without ever realising. Fewer than 1% ever look for help and (as others have said) it is very hard to kick - the treatment programme is longer than for either drug or alcohol addiction.
    I'm not going to give a big spiel about the subject now (I have some knowledge but not from personal experience) but suffice to say that I am disgusted with the way the gambling operators (bookies, casinos, arcades, bingo halls, lotteries, in-line etc.) in this country deal with the issue. They pay lip service to Responsible Gambling but do absolutely nothing to promote prevention or help people with a problem.
    I will leave you with one more, very relevant, statistic: PROBLEM GAMBLERS ACCOUNT FOR 53% OF BOOKMAKERS PROFITS!

I know quite a few, I used to work in a pub so I'd see people gambling all their money every day.

But obviously they were spending money in the pub yet you claimed they spent all their money on gambling. :confused:

It seems you haven't a clue what you are talking about.

But obviously they were spending money in the pub yet you claimed they spent all their money on gambling. :confused:

It seems you haven't a clue what you are talking about.

How have I not got a clue? Cop on ffs.

Ive seen lads come in for a pint and would literally take a sup from it and be gone for hours then have to borrow money or just head home cause they've blown everything.

If you want to go nit picking do it on another thread I'm only looking for peoples opinions on gambling, not stupid comments.

How have I not got a clue? Cop on ffs.

Ive seen lads come in for a pint and would literally take a sup from it and be gone for hours then have to borrow money

Why would someone come into a pub, buy a pint, take a sip and disappear for hours? :confused:

You claimed people spent all their money on gambling, now you're saying they also spent their money on other things.

Bit of consistency if you're gonna make things up. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I read a report that estimated that up to 1/3 of all people who gamble online are addicted. Personally, I think that the bookmaking business is run by scum. They are well aware of the addiction issue but don't care.

Can you imagine if pharmacists sold drugs to addicts? Gambling ruins just as many lives as hard drugs, probably more because lets face it, there are more gamblers than heroin users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Ppl should have the freedom to gamble all their money away, not least because attempts elsewhere by the state to prevent it merely creates a market for organised crime.

However, businesses based on gambling should have similar advertising restrictions and vice taxes as any other addictive pursuit IMO; tax breaks for our horse industry in this context are simply obscene

Why would someone come into a pub, buy a pint, take a sip and disappear for hours? :confused:

You claimed people spent all their money on gambling, now you're saying they also spent their money on other things.

They would spend their whole day in a bookies gambling, most likely lose their money.

I said i've seen people gamble and lose all their wages, can people have no other money on them when they get paid no?

Stop trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

To be fair I have seen people do similar, walk in order pint, head into bookies next door and not come back for an hour or two. Fairly rare obviously but it does happen.

Some people spend more money than they should gambling
    Some people spend more money than they should smoking
    Some people spend more money than they should drinking
    Some people spend more money than they should shopping
    Some people spend more money than they should by using too much electricity

Should we ban gambling/smoking/drinking/shopping/using too much electricity for everybody based on some people spending more money than they should on it?

I'd say no to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

pithater1 wrote: »
    Some people spend more money than they should gambling
    Some people spend more money than they should smoking
    Some people spend more money than they should drinking
    Some people spend more money than they should shopping
    Some people spend more money than they should by using too much electricity

Should we ban gambling/smoking/drinking/shopping/using too much electricity for everybody based on some people spending more money than they should on it?

I'd say no to that.

Smoking is taxed and the amount of nicotine in a cigarette is regulated.
    Drinking is a problem too, but when people are alcoholics, they suffer serious health effects. Most people are more likely to go broke from drinking because they have lost their jobs. Some barmen will cut off alcoholics. I've never heard of anyone ever getting cut off in a bookies and even if they were, could they do it online? and 1/3 of drinkers are not alcoholics. And as other people have pointed out, no-one thinks that they'll be able to quit if they go on a bender. gamblers always think, after this win....

Shopping is necessary unless you want to grow your own vegetables and make your own clothes.

Gambling gives no benefit. It can be fun to have a bit of a flutter, but on a regular basis it's useless.
    The system is designed to suck every last penny from a person who's addicted.

Personally, I'd regulate it. make it impossible to place a bet over X amount and more than a certain amount per day. Possibly raise those amounts or remove the number of events you can bet on racedays at events.

Grayson wrote: »
    Drinking is a problem too, but when people are alcoholics, they suffer serious health effects. Most people are more likely to go broke from drinking because they have lost their jobs. Some barmen will cut off alcoholics. I've never heard of anyone ever getting cut off in a bookies and even if they were, could they do it online? and 1/3 of drinkers are not alcoholics. And as other people have pointed out, no-one thinks that they'll be able to quit if they go on a bender. gamblers always think, after this win....

Shopping is necessary unless you want to grow your own vegetables and make your own clothes.

Gambling gives no benefit. It can be fun to have a bit of a flutter, but on a regular basis it's useless.

Personally, I'd regulate it. make it impossible to place a bet over X amount and more than a certain amount per day. Possibly raise those amounts or remove the number of events you can bet on racedays at events.

Gambling is also taxed, it's just that the bookie pays it themselves rather than passing the tax on to the punters.
    Bookies are known to cut people off, admittedly, that's when the person in question tends to win more than they lose.

In relation to shopping, how do you explain the people who max out their cards buying tat that they don't realistically need?

I suppose this could be part of a broader debate: i.e. should the state interfere in a person's private life by regulating what they can and cannot do of a certain activity is legal? I.e. should the majority have to suffer because of the actions of the minority?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Grayson wrote: »

Costs the health system millions, gambling addicts cost the taxpayer nothing. Let them at it.