Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audex v Sportives.

• 11-01-2013 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭

would it not make sense to do Audex rides which only cost 10 euro or so, than doing all these expensive sportive rides some of which can cost 50.
    just asking.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

would it not make sense to do Audex rides which only cost 10 euro or so, than doing all these expensive sportive rides some of which can cost 50.
    just asking.;)

There's nothing quite like hitting the Comeragh's with King Kelly and thousand's of other likeminded souls, the WW200 is similar.

Audax's are a more solitary affair, but no less enjoyable, the emphasis more on self sufficiency and endurance beyond that required on an avg Sportif.

I intend to do a mix of the 2 this year, both have a place in anyones season.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Did my first one last year, the dying cow. One of my favourite spins of the year, and plan to do more of them this year. There's a certain challenge to the navigation, and no stewards as you would get in larger sportives, but the atmosphere is great, and the food was certainly better than the likes of the WW200. Crowds are much smaller, the one I did had ~40 odd doing the 200 and considerably less doing the 300.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

just asking.;)

If cost is a deciding factor for the events you take part in, single race entry fees usually only cost €10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

It would make even more sense just to go cycling with a group of mates for the day. That's totally free :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Inquitus wrote: »
    Audax's are a more solitary affair, but no less enjoyable, the emphasis more on self sufficiency and endurance beyond that required on an avg Sportif.

These. I'm something of a packrat so self sufficiency comes naturally to me. I'm also not a fast climber so I often end up being dropped anyway so solitary suits too. I've never managed to get it together to shag off touring on the bike so audax takes me off on roads I'd never see otherwise. I'm not a racer and the leisurely pace (min 15kph overall, max 30kph) suits me. It might not suit the organiser when I turn up 5 minutes before the control closes but them's the breaks.

There is minimal organisation as you're expected to rely on yourself but the organisers are randonneurs themselves so they know what'll matter food-wise and look after us well 'cos they know they'll get well looked after on somebody else's route.

I've been enjoying the Audaxes this (past) year. Did (not finish) a 400k Easter Fleche (Cork to Dublin via Roscommon) but really enjoyed it. Did the Mick Byrne (200k) in the summer and had to get dragged over Slieve Maan by Eddie Dunne when I ran out of steam. Did the Dying Sow (300k) in September and spent the second half of it alone. Great sense of achievement getting to the top of Mt Leinster under my own steam. Did the Dying Light (200k) in Oct and stayed with a group for pretty much all of that. Plan for this year is to attain Super Randonneur status (200, 300, 400 and 600k in the year).

Raam wrote: »
    It would make even more sense just to go cycling with a group of mates for the day. That's totally free :P

Not at all. You get medals and stuff. And you get to do mad stuff like Paris-Brest-Paris or be entirely nuts like CramCycle

Raam wrote: »

That's it. You just need to get the wives and girlfriends to drive to strategic positions along the route with car loads of cake, sangers and hot tea, and you could save yourself anything from five to ten euro ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

cdaly_ wrote: »
    ......or be entirely nuts like CramCycle

Anytime I have a vague notion about getting into Audax I go back and read that. Keeps me away from the Dark Side :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

.... be entirely nuts like CramCycle

Just read that, holy moley, I never knew he done that, Cram you feic'n looper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

You could be a real cheeky fecker and go ride the sportives without paying...I wouldn't be caught dead doin this, but I know it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

cram your a star that took some doing fair play to you.
    is it not better to do these kinda events with a cycling partener stick together no atter what.
    i really don't know i've never tried audex :)

is it not better to do these kinda events with a cycling partener stick together no matter what.

Dunno. I'm quite happy solo but it would probably be good to have mutual motivation on the longer distances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I've found doing the long distance rides solo builds my stamina. Company is great, but its also good to have solo experience to fall back on when its needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

just asking.;)
    Yes it would, and CramCycles reports are always classics, although we're still waiting (as far as I know) for his report on the Mille Alba in Scotland last summer.
    Many Audax events have entry fees of a measly 5.00, a bit more for events which include food. Usually 5.00 extra if you want to get the medal, but they are really nice, a world apart from the tat issued by your average Sportive. I'm still trying to decide what to do with my collection though.

Fixed this bit....
    "Not at all. You get NICE medals and stuff. And you get to do mad stuff like Paris-Brest-Paris and London-Edinburgh-London !"

just finished watching 2 hours of paris brest paris man tough stuff indeed.
    but even on those shorter audex rides these guys fairly tip along so on a 200 km ride what is the average speed to get inside the time limit. and stupid question number 2 are all these audex circular routes.:P:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LeftBlank

just finished watching 2 hours of paris brest paris man tough stuff indeed.
    but even on those shorter audex rides these guys fairly tip along so on a 200 km ride what is the average speed to get inside the time limit. and stupid question number 2 are all these audex circluar routes.:P:o

They are mostly circular (not 100% sure if it's in the rules they have to be).

Time limit for a 200 is 13.5 hours.

Time limits are based on a minimum (15kph) and maximum (30kph) allowed average speed. The max speed is to prevent the event degenerating into a race and the min is to allow the organisers go home to bed. Paris-Brest-Paris has a 90 hour limit which translates to 13.3kph.

Out and back / circular is usually the easiest from an organisational point of view but I don't think it's mandatory. The Easter Fleche event (24hr, 360-720km) can be of any type. We did Cork-Roscommon-Dublin last easter.

thanks leftbank i'm half thinking of giving one of these a go later on in the year i think it's something i could do at my own pace and not feel guilty about getting dropped from a bunch :rolleyes:

it all sounds doable but a fella would need to do some long hours in the saddle before making a right fool of himself methinks.
    i'm a fairly experienced cyclist just that i haven't been doing much on the bike this past year need to get my head around it.
    thanks for the info lads much appreciated.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

I assume they are mostly (all?) circular so they can start and finish in the same place.

Ardattin 200 is the only one I've done and I hope to do it again this year. A great event. Cheap, well run, good food stops. Great variety of bikes. This year it is on the day before the 3 Peaks Challenge, I'm working on the brownie points now!

where exactly is that 531.

I think Ardattin is in Co. Carlow but the event starts and finishes at Bray Wheelers excellent clubhouse. The route is mostly in Co. Wicklow but is actually very flat. It may go into Co. Wexford briefly as well. There is one tough drag I recall out of a village whose name I cannot recall, but no real climbs. The event is billed as an excellent introduction to audax and I agree. Full details on www.audaxireland.org.

http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/ardattin-200/

where exactly is that 531.

Details and route here. Planning on the Ardattin 200 as my first long one of the year, assuming I can get a reasonable number of miles in the legs beforehand. Probably be last one back as usual in these events, was 11 hours all in on the dying cow, so 13.5 should be fine for most people who can cover the distance outside of a disaster.

smacl wrote: »
    Probably be last one back as usual in these events, was 11 hours all in on the dying cow, so 13.5 should be fine for most people who can cover the distance outside of a disaster.

I'll race you to the back!...

lads another stupit question but has anyone got a link to what a route sheet looks like :o and would there be many controls on a route total novic so bare with me.;)

Part of the Dying Sow routesheet. There would be controls at the extremities of the route so they might be 70km apart or such. The idea of the controls is to prove you've covered the course.
    236601.png

excellent thanks for that ;)

Something I wrote for the club website after doing Ardattin 200 in 2011:-

Two hundred kilometres in March? Are you mad?’ was how I texted Alan back when he suggested doing the Ardattin 200. He convinced me there was no hills. I agreed to do it if the forecast was for no rain as I reckoned cycling through Wicklow (and a bit of Wexford and Carlow) in March in the rain would give me a heavy cold, at least.

The Ardattin 200 serves as an excellent introduction to Audax, which to me is a bit like orienteering or navigation rallying, except you have to cycle long distances between check in points instead of running or driving a car.

We left Wexford at 6.15, caught up with Bobby and Philip on the Gorey/Arklow bypass and arrived in Bray together. Of course there would be no problem finding the start at Bray Wheelers wonderful clubhouse (why haven’t Wexford Wheelers got a clubhouse, sure we could pick one up somewhere cheap now?!) as Bobby and Alan did the event last year and knew where it was. But no, it took a scenic drive around the housing and industrial estates of south Bray but we got there eventually.

49 signed on, the event attracting more people every year. Maybe it’s the €5 entry fee (with an extra €6 for optional lunch). We left Bray at 8.10 and cycled a scenic, coastal route through Greystones, Glenroe, Rathnew, Wicklow Town, Brittas Bay and turn inland at Arklow. On then through Woodenbridge and to the first control of the day.

There were times, when it went a bit quiet, that all you could hear was the clicking of pawls, the tyres on the road and Alan talking rubbish to anyone he could get to listen.

Bypassing Aughrim and on to Carnew (strange seeing such a wide main street in such a place, but you see these things when you’re on such cycles), Ballykissangel (yeah, I know, I watch too much television) and Clonegal. We even came through a little bit of Wexford around this time, I didn’t know whether to be glad or not, maybe it was too early to be given the option of a shortcut home! A few miles after Clonegal is the welcome lunch and control at the Ardattin Inn. Ardattin is really just a crossroads with a pub that looks like an ordinary bungalow but it is certainly friendly and soup and sandwiches never tasted so good. Careful not to eat too much, tempting as it may be, we’re only halfway.

I had never done an audax before and noticed the great variety of bikes and riders. Many had steel touring frames loaded up with all the necessary equipment for a long, long cycle, some with the very latest speed machines and one guy was going really well with one of those bikes with small wheels that you can fold up and take on the Luas/Dart/bus.

Hit the road again and go through Shillelagh, Aughrim and Ballinaclash. While we’re provided with directions and instructions I thought it would be easier to just follow others who seemed to know where they were going, but started to get concerned as I dropped back a bit and the cyclists ahead were getting further away – Heaven forbid me having to look at the map, I’m a man! The gap was about 150 metres but I could see them ahead, crossing the bridge in Rathdrum. I was relieved to see the checkpoint on the other side. I grabbed a coffee, a lovely wrap and some cake, robbed an energy gel from Alan (well, he owed me something after Philip and I waited while he replaced a tube having punctured). Only 30km to go.

Through Glenealy and on to Ashford before joining the N11 for the last few kilometres into Bray. Tired now, but having an experienced audaxer (Bobby – he’s been called worse) helped as it’s easy to shelter behind him with his trusty old Concorde loaded up with handlebar bag, saddle bag, lights etc.

Back to Bray Wheelers clubhouse at 16.40 after over eight hours on the bike. Tea, sandwiches and pancakes, what more could you want?

I am now partly qualified to do this year’s Paris Brest Paris, only a few more to do, a 400, a 600, an 800. Nah, I think 200 is my limit.

So well done to;

Bobby – well on the way to qualifying for Paris Brest Paris and a great guy to have with you on your first audax.

Alan – I didn’t really believe him when he said it was flat, it’s Wicklow! Just because it didn’t have any named mountains doesn’t mean it’s flat. No part of Wicklow is flat, but there was no climbing as such.

Philip – he made it all look a bit too easy

Me – what can I say? It’s great to have a 200km done in March, audax is relaxed, sociable and a great way to see parts of our country that we might not otherwise get to.

Well done to the organisers Audax Ireland and Sorrento Cycling Club. Next 200 is from Kilkenny on Saturday, 2nd April. See http://www.marblecitycyclers.com/home/2011/3/9/marble-city-cyclers-200km-audax.html

great write up thanks for that, dont think i would be doing any cycling around wicklow to bloody hilly.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

When it comes to doing a 1200km audax you have to have done a 200, 400 and 600km before hand, yes? Well do you have to to have done them the same year you do the 1200km? And do you have to do a 200km if you've done a 400km and a 600km?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

This is what it says for the Colorado High Country 1200

Qualifying Events - Riders must complete, between January 1 and June 5, a Super-Randonneur series (200km, 300km, 400km, 600km brevets), or a 1000km or longer randonnée. Brevets do not need to be ridden in order of increasing distance. ACP or RUSA-sanctioned non-ACP brevets can be used.
    When it comes to doing a 1200km audax you have to have done a 200, 400 and 600km before hand, yes? Well do you have to to have done them the same year you do the 1200km? And do you have to do a 200km if you've done a 400km and a 600km?

Alas no. And what's worse is if you only manage 550km of a 600 you don't even get a 400 out of it! Trouble this year is there's only a max of 3 weeks between the 600 and the two 400s. That'll be tight for recovery...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Did you come in the backroads parallel to the N11. Last year a couple of Bray bucks brought us up this way, apparently the official route, back into Bray. About 190k on the clock. Jasus it was a ballbreaker of a last few miles. Myself and G Rock were together till then then he took off with a few lads. It was savage. Steep gravelly wet mucky.
    The previous 190k. was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

"took off" isn't very accurate I'm afraid. More like "cursed my way up the hills of a supposedly flat route"

good fun though. Hopefully get down to do it again this year.

There's no official requirement - it depends on the event. For Paris-Brest-Paris you have to qualify by doing a Super Randonneur series of 200, 300, 400 and 600 in the same year as PBP, and they have to be registered "BRM" (Brevet des Randonneurs Mondiaux) events. You can substitute longer events for shorter, so if you like you could ride 4 x 600's and qualify. Also if you rode a 600 the previous year you got the first chance to enter, if you rode a 400 you could enter next, and the same for 300 and 200. If you hadn't ridden any of the above you had to take pot luck on getting an entry, but as it happened everyone got in, and over 5000 started.
    For London-Edinburgh-London this year there is no requirement to qualify, but they are only accepting 900 entries. Entries opened at 10pm on a Friday, 600 places gone by 1am Saturday, and full up by around 9am with a lot of disappointed riders left out.
    Disregarding qualification "requirements" though, if anyone's planning on riding 1200km or more then they should be getting a lot of miles in, and what better way to do it than ride the shorter events as "practice" to see what works for you, including things like night riding, navigation, lights, routesheets, diet etc etc. Happy Audaxing ! LG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

I did the Dying Light 200k (barely an audax, but still...) in October last, really enjoyed it and would hight recommend this particular form of madness.

Regarding the route sheets - having to find one's own way is a huge difference from sportives and should not be underestimated. During the Dying Light, I had a problem with navigation as I got separated from the pack and had to find my own way for some of the route. The problem is caused by the fact that I need glasses to read anything that's not in inch-high letters, and I can't wear glasses while cycling as then the world beyond the handlebars would be out of focus.

So, any time I wasn't sure of directions, I had to stop, put on the glasses and read the sheet. A few times I didn't bother, and of course missed some turns. Has anyone come up with a better solution to this? Surely I can't be the only long-sighted person doing audaxes?

MediaMan wrote: »
    So, any time I wasn't sure of directions, I had to stop, put on the glasses and read the sheet. A few times I didn't bother, and of course missed some turns. Has anyone come up with a better solution to this? Surely I can't be the only long-sighted person doing audaxes?

I managed to get a few extra KM into the dying cow as well, through missing a couple of turns. I went through the route on google streets the day before, so I had a fair idea of what most (but not all) of the major turns looked like. One of the guys I was with had build a little handle bar mounted clipboard which seemed to work well for him. I've since got a handlebar mount on my ancient GPSmap76c which I can load routes on handy enough.

MediaMan wrote: »
    The problem is caused by the fact that I need glasses to read anything that's not in inch-high letters, and I can't wear glasses while cycling as then the world beyond the handlebars would be out of focus.

I'm using reading glasses these days so I have the same issue. I usually zoom up the route sheet on the photocopier and then laminate it. I'll end up with one double-sided A4 (more for the longer distances) out of a standard single A4 routesheet.

I also have this in my purchasing plan...

Planet X wrote: »
    Did you come in the backroads parallel to the N11. Last year a couple of Bray bucks brought us up this way, apparently the official route, back into Bray. About 190k on the clock. Jasus it was a ballbreaker of a last few miles. Myself and G Rock were together till then then he took off with a few lads. It was savage. Steep gravelly wet mucky.
    The previous 190k. was grand.

Planet X

We cycled the last few miles to Bray on the N11 as far as I recall (not all of the N11 is motorway). It was good as there is a good hard shoulder. I cannot remember roads as you describe them at all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

That's what I wanted to do aswell. Tip in along the N11, but about 6/8 of us were persuaded to follow these Bray lads up the hills parallel to the motorway. Drained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

smacl wrote: »
    I managed to get a few extra KM into the dying cow as well, through missing a couple of turns. I went through the route on google streets the day before, so I had a fair idea of what most (but not all) of the major turns looked like. One of the guys I was with had build a little handle bar mounted clipboard which seemed to work well for him. I've since got a handlebar mount on my ancient GPSmap76c which I can load routes on handy enough.
    I'm using reading glasses these days so I have the same issue. I usually zoom up the route sheet on the photocopier and then laminate it. I'll end up with one double-sided A4 (more for the longer distances) out of a standard single A4 routesheet.

I also have this in my purchasing plan...

Cheers guys, thanks for the tips. I think a combination of a zoomed up routesheet and bi-focal sunglasses might do it for me...