Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool trip crisis..

• 10-01-2013 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭

me and my brothers got a liverpool v swansea match ticket and a hotel booked from 22nd february to the 24th. we had to get our own plane tickets. at the time of us booking our plane tickets, the game was scheduled for the 23rd. all was well.

NOW the problem... swansea have 1 foot into the carling cup final which is scheduled for 24th february..meaning if they get to the final, the match is called off.

an even bigger fcuk up now is that because of liverpools europa league tie, the match has been rescheduled for the 24th IF swansea dont reach the final. our flight is at 5:20 so we will never have enough time to go to the match anyway

what do we do? the hotel and match tickets got booked in a travel agents. remmeber that we booked our flights seperate.

the whole thing is screwed up -.-. i guess we will get money back for the match tickets? and we go over for clubbing and forget about seeing a match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

MarkY91 wrote: »
    me and my brothers got a liverpool v swansea match ticket and a hotel booked from 22nd february to the 24th. we had to get our own plane tickets. at the time of us booking our plane tickets, the game was scheduled for the 23rd. all was well.

NOW the problem... swansea have 1 foot into the carling cup final which is scheduled for 24th february..meaning if they get to the final, the match is called off.

an even bigger fcuk up now is that because of liverpools europa league tie, the match has been rescheduled for the 24th IF swansea dont reach the final. our flight is at 5:20 so we will never have enough time to go to the match anyway

what do we do? the hotel and match tickets got booked in a travel agents. remmeber that we booked our flights seperate.

the whole thing is screwed up -.-. i guess we will get money back for the match tickets? and we go over for clubbing and forget about seeing a match?
    Who did you book the flights with? - May be possible to change them?
    The tour operator may be able to change the hotel bookings and I believe the match tickets are valid for the resheduled fixture.

(always a pain this time of year when the fixtures get changed around)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

kippy wrote: »
    The tour operator may be able to change the hotel bookings and I believe the match tickets are valid for the resheduled fixture.

ryanair. my auntie will ring the travel agents they booked with tomorrow to see what they say about this. do you know how much extra changing 3 return flights from them dates to some day 2-3 weeks from then? would we be better off canceling and getting some money back?

we were excited for the match as much as the nights out so it really is a kick in the balls for us:(

kippy wrote: »

to add onto what isaid in above post....the match is still schedules for the 24th. it will only be canceled for another week IF swansea go out of the league cup. they are 2-0 up on aggregate and will play at home against chelsea. so i they SHOULD get through meaning it will be changed to another week

wont it be a midweek match if its rescheduled :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

to add onto what isaid in above post....the match is still schedules for the 24th. it will only be canceled for another week IF swansea go out of the league cup. they are 2-0 up on aggregate and will play at home against chelsea. so i they SHOULD get through meaning it will be changed to another week

wont it be a midweek match if its rescheduled :(

Hi.
    I am an Everton fan myself, I have been over lots of times, and have suffered the inconvenience of a game change just the once. It was for Everton - Chelsea and Sky switched it under 3 weeks prior to kickoff. We just went anyway, and as we were flying into Manchester, and getting the train down to Liverpool, we got off at Wigan and watched them play Spurs.
    Its Ryanair so so you probably have no hope of getting your money back, so my advice is go see another game, City are playing that Sunday, you could easily get to that.
    So go, enjoy yourself, and catch another game. Surely missing seeing Liverpool is a good thing anyway :D
    Its a pity youll miss your game but there will be others.

terrydel wrote: »
    Hi.
    I am an Everton fan myself, I have been over lots of times, and have suffered the inconvenience of a game change just the once. It was for Everton - Chelsea and Sky switched it under 3 weeks prior to kickoff. We just went anyway, and as we were flying into Manchester, and getting the train down to Liverpool, we got off at Wigan and watched them play Spurs.
    Its Ryanair so so you probably have no hope of getting your money back, so my advice is go see another game, City are playing that Sunday, you could easily get to that.
    So go, enjoy yourself, and catch another game. Surely missing seeing Liverpool is a good thing anyway :D
    Its a pity youll miss your game but there will be others.

after we got over the disspointment. were just gona get the money back for the match ticket and go over and party. will be a big dissapointment doing whatever we will be doing on saturday atfernoon when the match shoulda been on but oh well.

haha "next year is our year" ;) lol!.. i wana do a tour of goodison park aswell as anfield :P lol

can you tell me if concert square is good for the clubbing? (ive only been to liverpool as a minor)

after we got over the disspointment. were just gona get the money back for the match ticket and go over and party. will be a big dissapointment doing whatever we will be doing on saturday atfernoon when the match shoulda been on but oh well.

haha "next year is our year" ;) lol!.. i wana do a tour of goodison park aswell as anfield :P lol

can you tell me if concert square is good for the clubbing? (ive only been to liverpool as a minor)

The Goodison tour is worth doing, hell you might even see the light and start following Liverpool's original club :)
    Yes, Concert Square is pretty much their version of Temple Bar, so if thats what you are looking for you will find it there. Matthew Street is the other one for that type of thing, they are 5 minutes apart so you can easily try both.
    Taxi from City Centre to Goodison/Anfield area is approx 8 quid or so tops, and you can basically walk from one ground to the next in 10 minutes.
    Have a good one.
    Where are you staying by the way?

terrydel wrote: »
    The Goodison tour is worth doing, hell you might even see the light and start following Liverpool's original club :)
    Yes, Concert Square is pretty much their version of Temple Bar, so if thats what you are looking for you will find it there. Matthew Street is the other one for that type of thing, they are 5 minutes apart so you can easily try both.
    Taxi from City Centre to Goodison/Anfield area is approx 8 quid or so tops, and you can basically walk from one ground to the next in 10 minutes.
    Have a good one.
    Where are you staying by the way?

haha **** that :p although i have to admit, everton are just about the best team in liverpool now -.-. ive been to anfield 3 times so id know my way to goodison from there :) do you know anything to od during the day besides them 2 tours?

were staying in the jurys inn on some wharf(forget its name) its supposed to be 7 min taxi ride from concert square according to google maps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

do a tour of anfeild

latest update...we cant get any money back from the travel agents. so yeah..i paid 250 to stay in the jurys inn for 2 nights :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭RIALTO1

latest update...we cant get any money back from the travel agents. so yeah..i paid 250 to stay in the jurys inn for 2 nights :(

That's strange on the ticket side of things. When a game is re-scheduled the club give you a window to cancel tickets you don't want. Guess the TA couldn't be bothered doing that.

Anyway some advise for going forward, avoid booking these packages with TAs, they fleece you on the match ticket. Take a look at the likes of toutless.com where you should be able get tickets if you are on the ball.

RIALTO1 wrote: »
    That's strange on the ticket side of things. When a game is re-scheduled the club give you a window to cancel tickets you don't want. Guess the TA couldn't be bothered doing that.

Anyway some advise for going forward, avoid booking these packages with TAs, they fleece you on the match ticket. Take a look at the likes of toutless.com where you should be able get tickets if you are on the ball.

yeah ive learned my lesson! what a mess aye? it wasnt us who booked the hotel and match. that was done for us. the travel agents said we can switch to a different match but thats gona cost us even more money to change our flight to whatever date. too much money being spend for a weekend like -.-

haha **** that :p although i have to admit, everton are just about the best team in liverpool now -.-. ive been to anfield 3 times so id know my way to goodison from there :) do you know anything to od during the day besides them 2 tours?

were staying in the jurys inn on some wharf(forget its name) its supposed to be 7 min taxi ride from concert square according to google maps

Theres no 'just about' to it, we are the best team in the city at the moment!
    Head down to the docks and have a wander, its lovely down there and there are things to do.
    Liverpool 1 shopping area is nice for a wander too if thats your thing.

RIALTO1 wrote: »

Good advice.
    In fact, book the flights, accom and tickets yourself and all seperate and save a fortune.
    I've never gone on a package in my life, and have been to over 100 games.
    Join a SC over there or here and that will help you get the tickets, the rest is easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭south

What you should do is sign up for one of these http://www.liverpoolfc.com/membership/benefits/benefits and stop getting fleeced by these touts/ travel agents.

You would have gotten your money back for you tickets and the hotel would have changed the dates for you. it's €100 for ryanair to change your flights.

You'll walk to concert square from the hotel in about 10 minutes so no need for a taxi.

David Price V Tony Thompson is on in the Echo arena on the 23rd http://www.echoarena.com/whats_on/boxing.asp so might be worth looking into. It's beside the hotel so not far to go. Cheapest ticket is £40 but the atmosphere will be great.

Jurys is also beside Alberts dock that has plenty of bars and places to eat. If you're looking for more advice you'd might like to join www.irishkop.com

Also if you want to save money the Airlink 501 bus will bring you into the city centre from outside the door of the airport i think the 500 also brings you into town. I think it might stop at Paradise Street/Canning Place and jurys is only across the road from there.

If you're changing money over there then use the Marks and Spencers bureau de change as they don't charge commission. i think it's on the 3rd floor and it's on the main street in Liverpool city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭south

cheers for the advice lads. thats the last time i ever let a woman book a football match :P we learned from our mistakes and well be sure to make up for it next season with 2-3 games.

youre the best in the city for now!..IN RODGERS WE TRUST ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

Think you're bad , a friend of mine booked flights for himself , his wife and 3 kids to go for the West Ham game. Travelling Saturday morning , returning Saturday night. Now it looks like the fixture will be changed from Saturday afternoon to Monday night due to the Grand National. Flights costing €900 will be no good to them and the match tickets costing €350 will also be no good as they won't be there for the game. He's hoping against hope that the game won't be changed but most likely it will be as home games are never played on Grand National day.

Karen23 wrote: »
    Think you're bad , a friend of mine booked flights for himself , his wife and 3 kids to go for the West Ham game. Travelling Saturday morning , returning Saturday night. Now it looks like the fixture will be changed from Saturday afternoon to Monday night due to the Grand National. Flights costing €900 will be no good to them and the match tickets costing €350 will also be no good as they won't be there for the game. He's hoping against hope that the game won't be changed but most likely it will be as home games are never played on Grand National day.
    It will be changed, they won't have a home game on grand national day. He prob should have known this when booing really. Instead of losing every penny, they shud at least go over and make a day of it. Surely he can flog the tickets on. He shud contact the club, they may be able to assist with that.