Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spitting on footpaths.

• 09-01-2013 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭

I have to say I find this disgusting. Went up the town today and the amount of spits on the footpath was unbelievable. I even saw a number of lads in school uniforms eating their lunch on a bench and spitting all over the footpath. There should be some kind of punishment for this as it's worse than litter in my opinion. Anyone agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Its more disgusting when women do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

oh dear god you must have little to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Nothing like A Good Hog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

to be honest i did this today up a laneway...i never do this...but as i did it i regretted it immediately as i hate seeing others do it. its rotten to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

gustafo wrote: »

Why? Do you find it acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

It is horrific totally disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Disgusting habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

'Spitty you feel that way

I think it is one of the most ignorant disgusting habits.

Spitting is horrible but the clearing the nose out thing is far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

Had someone do it by accident on my shoe once

Absolutely disgusting turns my stomach when i hear someone do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

I think there used to be laws against spitting, because of TB. These have since been repealed unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Is there an unusually high rate of tuberculosis in your hometown OP?

Spitting is horrible but the clearing the nose out thing is far worse.

I hate to think I walked in it without seeing it at night and took it into the house. Pure filthy.

Is there an unusually high rate of tuberculosis in your hometown OP?

Not aware of it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I only spit if i'm forced to, that is a load of phlegm is at the back of my throat and is preventing me breathing properly(that cough!). I never spit in front of a person, in such an emergency I look for the nearest bin or a shore if I don;t have any handkerchief on me and make sure its unseen.

People(usually teenagers) who spit on the footpath\grass willy nilly because its cool, yeh they should be locked up. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Natural bodily function.spitting contests are par for the course for teenagers..worse than litter?hardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

I think it's disgusting ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Do the young lads do it because they see the footballers spitting a lot or something:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

notnumber wrote: »
    Natural bodily function.spitting contests are par for the course for teenagers..worse than litter?hardly.

Pretty sure hawking up spit and phlegm on the footpath isn't a natural bodily function...

maxfresh wrote: »
    Do the young lads do it because they see the footballers spitting a lot or something:confused:

Good question. I wonder if a footballer had a cut on his knee and slid through the spit/phlegm of another player could he get an infection|?

There are times when this is needed, like when you are doing some form of exercise and you really need to clear your airwaves. Otherwise its completely disgusting.

Natural bodily function ? don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

maxfresh wrote: »

It definatly is a factor, was proved to me when my 4yr spat while playing soccer on lawn. He did say but that what the boys do in matches :(
    He now knows his football will disappear if caught again

Rotten habit,and to the poster who said its just a natural bodily function, . Any bodily function that involves expulsion of bodily fluids should never be done on footpath .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Yea, just walk through other peoples filth because avoiding it means you have nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

In terms of young lads it's mostly of the lower socioeconomic bracket that do it and they mostly happen to be smokers too...not insinuating any correlation there. They do it for psychological reasons, the same as why they started smoking in the first place. For smoking it was weakness of the mind and wanting to fit in and for spitting, it makes them feel like hard men or dogs marking their territories outside spar etc :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Never really had an issue with spitting.
    You're right, it's horrible. It's the ones who throw their fag butts on the ground however that agitate me.
    Should all be shot in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

Hate it and my parents growing up would have disowned me if they saw me do it - see it much more in Dublin than I did down the country.

There was an outbreak of TB traced back to a bar on the Northside of Dublin about 4 or 5 years ago which was connected with people spitting apparently.

Can't remember the full details but read it at the time.

Also when I was in secondary school our 5th year class tour was cancelled when one of the guys spat on the ground and accidently got someone with it - bit harsh on the rest of us :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

El Spearo wrote: »
    to be honest i did this today up a laneway...i never do this...but as i did it i regretted it immediately as i hate seeing others do it. its rotten to be fair.

The OP is talking about spitting not riding .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Hippies! wrote: »
    In terms of young lads it's mostly of the lower socioeconomic bracket that do it

What a load of rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Fungums

Im minding an elderly relative at the moment and while sitting at the table she spat on the floor this morning
    I still feel sick thinking about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

College street in Carlow is terrible for this. The footpath is really narrow and there's no way of avoiding walking in the numerous puddles of phlegm in the middle of the path. There's only a footpath on one side but I can't stand to walk there so I just end up walking in the road looking behind me periodically to make sure no cars are coming.

In some ways it's worse than litter. It might not damage the environment as much, but I'd certainly prefer to walk on an empty Tayto packet than to find a massive green puddle of phlegm stuck to the sole of my shoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Lisha wrote: »
    It definatly is a factor, was proved to me when my 4yr spat while playing soccer on lawn. He did say but that what the boys do in matches :(
    He now knows his football will disappear if caught again

Oh my Jaysus......have you ever played sport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

I carry around a mobile spittoon does the job for me!!! Please once your not down licking it or they're spitting at you build a bridge and get over it OP

What a load of rubbish.

How many D4's you see spitting eh?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Hippies! wrote: »
    How many D4's you see spitting eh?

I've seen quite a few lads I know from such a background spit. Haven't seen any females do likewise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I was taking a walk in the park one day when a teenage girl behind me made a horrible "HAWKKK" sound and spat out a load of phlegm. I turned around to see if any had hit my leg and she said "that wasn't for you". I think she thought she was being really polite by saying this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Nothing like A Good Hog

The pig appreciation thread is elsewhere, Cletus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Baneblade

better the swallowing it

I've seen quite a few lads I know from such a background spit.

Oh my word *faints*

Namlub wrote: »
    Pretty sure hawking up spit and phlegm on the footpath isn't a natural bodily function...

whats is it so alien behavour? context is everything i guess.. i dont endorse hawking big green ones all over the place but yet its a topic hardly worth a im right your wrong arguement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Urination and defecation are natural bodily functions too, that doesn't mean I want to see them on the pavement and seeing how far one can wee up the wall is par for the course for teenagers as well

Point taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

maybe a garda or someone who knows for sure can clarify, but isn't spitting at a garda classed as a more serious assault?

Rightly so, it is an awful disgusting habit, churns my stomach when I see people doing it. I and many other people get through the day without projecting our bodily fluids all over the place, I'm not sure why others can't :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Don't ever come here (Korea). Even the finest of women can be seen hockeying up a load of phlegm and leaving it on the footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

kraggy wrote: »
    Don't ever come here (Korea). Even the finest of women can be seen hockeying up a load of phlegm and leaving it on the footpath.

I nearly puked reading that so I wouldn't last long. Can't spell check what I've wrote in case my eyes inadvertenly read your post again:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Wouldn't bother me,

Went on a lads holiday before and we spent one evening out on the balcony spitting on each other, was great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

kraggy wrote: »

I was on the Stillorgan road in Dublin recently and saw a nice lady who was most probably a native of a far eastern country, just hocking and spitting away at a bus stop. Was a little bizzare. She seemed a nice normal middle-aged lady, but kept gobbin' away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Wouldn't bother me,

Went on a lads holiday before and we spent one evening out on the balcony spitting on each other, was great craic.

Jesus, the days must have flown by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Wouldn't bother me,

****ing hell