Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The youth of today -.-

• 07-01-2013 4:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭

About 2 weeks ago I heard something hit the glass in my back door. I was sitting in my kitchen with my 2yr old son. I thought nothing of it till a few seconds later when I heard something hit it again, I went over to the window over the kitchen sink and peeked out the blinds. You can imagine my surprise when I seen 2 little scrots throwing stones at my door. They where peering over my neighbours shed standing on a wall behind it that is attached to the first house on the left in a cul de sac. I went out and they ducked down, I shouted "I know where u are, one more stones and I call the Guards".

I didn't think much about it that night. The next day I was out the back having a smoke when I noticed loads of little stones lying around my back garden. On close inspection of the glass in the day I noticed little chips in the glass. These little scrots must have being doing it all day.

A couple of days later my misus go's out the front to go the shop and some little scrots are doing starsky and hutch all over the bonnet of the neighbours car parked out front. She lets a yell and they run off.

Over the proceeding days these little scrots are making not so veiled comments when my misus appears outside. It only came to my attention when I went to the front door to help here get stuff out of the car. She says as I appear at the door "ah they shut up now you have appeared". Once inside she explains the starsky and hutch incident.

After that stuff started appearing in my drive way, like empty cans, small stones, an apple 0.o

Now I'm aware of it I've been keeping an eye out. The other day something hit my front door. I look out and aload of little scrots are hanging around outside the front of my garden. I go out and half them run away, the older ones anyway. I approach the ones still there an ask "how would you like me to go throw things at you front door", and then tell em to move on. I go back inside and keep a eye on them. Sure enough they throw something else at my door, I go out again and tell em to hit the road or ill be knocking on their doors. I even suggest they go play football or find something else to do that doesn't involve bothering people.

Over the last few days I've been keeping tabs, and have seen them throw stones and other objects at other houses close by.

Their ages range from 8 to 13 I'm guessing. I've also noticed the girl next door hanging with them. We are on good terms with our neighbours, but if she is the reason they are hanging about, that could change.

I'm not about to assault a minor or scream profanities at them. But if one of these little fukers break a window am I entitled to hold em for the guards?

I'll not have it so my misus walks out when I'm not there, these little scumbags intimidate her - what are my options?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Too long, didn't read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

If you know where they live tell their parents.
    If you don't, speak to your neighbours and ask do they know.

Otherwise I'd throw sh*t at them next time. Especially if your son is still in nappies. Just lob one right at their heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

A kick in the face seems to be a just course of action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Stare at them through a window while sliding your finger across your throat in a cutting gesture. Also include some gun fingers, pointed at each of them seperately. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    Too long, didn't read.

Short version - boy throw stone, me get angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

The youth of Bay City.. Complain to Huggy Bear.

Burn their house while they sleep

That will teach them

The youth of Bay City.. Complain to Huggy Bear.

<
    scratches head 0.o

<
    scratches head 0.o

That would be a starsky and hutch reference. :o

/ thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Film them at it. Give to parents, guards or YouTube.

Your call.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    Too long, didn't read.

I read it all - Twice.

Because I've had a similar problem to the OP.

My window was smashed by neighbouring little ***** (scrotes is too polite a word for them) on more than one occasion in recent years.

I did catch one of them once and called the Gardaí.

After a half an hour of grilling him, he owned up to them and admitted that he broke my window.

The Guards then came back to me and told me there was nothing that they could do about it because he was under 16.

The took him home to his mother who promised them she would pay for the damage.

That was 3 years ago - Needless to say, I haven't received a penny since.

All i can say is, if it happens again, there will be no Guards involved if I get my hands on the little ****.

And I will guarantee that he never breaks another window of mine (or anyone elses) ever again.

Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Imitation firearm should do it, they'll bother someone else then but at least your lovely wife will be left alone. Get a sword as well. Your home is your castle, don't let small weasel children go at it. Make this serious for them without it actually being real.

Oh, and whenever you go out to them simply wear a pair of tightie whitie underpants and shoes and socks,really mess with their heads, throwing stones is totally unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Appear at the door with a trenchcoat and an axe the next time they hang around and cause trouble to you, just say, "I tried to warn ya, but ya wouldn't listen", and slowly walk towards them. They'll think twice before annoying you again. And you'll have a cool nickname, like the axeman or something.

Film them at it. Give to parents, guards or YouTube.

Your call.

Guards or parents, depending on the situation.

They are minors after all, not sure tube a good idea!

DarkJager wrote: »
    Stare at them through a window while sliding your finger across your throat in a cutting gesture. Also include some gun fingers, pointed at each of them seperately. Problem solved.

If only it were that easy.

Apart from the fact that they'd only píss themselves laughing at such a gesture, it would only encourage them to come back in greater numbers.

They're like cats teasing a rotweiller - They want the chase.

Imitation firearm should do it, they'll bother someone else then but at least your lovely wife will be left alone. Get a sword as well. Your home is your castle, don't let small weasel children go at it. Make this serious for them without it actually being real.

Oh, and whenever you go out to them simply wear a pair of tightie whitie underpants and shoes and socks,really mess with their heads, throwing stones is totally unacceptable.

Have couple of airsoft guns - if only I could :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

What is everyone doing up at this time? I really should go to sleep

Lapin wrote: »
    If only it were that easy.

Apart from the fact that they'd only píss themselves laughing at such a gesture, it would only encourage them to come back in greater numbers.

They're like cats teasing a rotweiller - They want the chase.

I do know that's exactly what they want.

But some of these replies are making me pmsl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Milking the cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Working until 7am :D

Getting advice off people in the AH forum, where else would I get it from :p

Jokes aside, it's your home. Sometimes you've just gotta do what's right for you. Your wife shouldn't need to feel intimidated, and you don't need your property damaged.

If they can't be touched legally, since their underage, can you find someone also underage (nephew etc) but older than them to threaten them?

Sometimes threats are the only thing little b*stards like them respond to.

Jokes aside, it's your home. Sometimes you've just gotta do what's right for you. Your wife shouldn't need to feel intimidated, and you don't need your property damaged.

If they can't be touched legally, since their underage, can you find someone also underage (nephew etc) but older than them to threaten them?

Sometimes threats are the only thing little b*stards like them respond to.

Have you got my house bugged, the wife suggested we get the nephew over. They know him, he is 14, they are afraid of him and he is a boxer!

Get the nephew over! Tell him to make an example of the biggest one

kryogen wrote: »
    Get the nephew over! Tell him to make an example of the biggest one

Tempted tbh, but I then run the risk of escalating the situation.

Escalate it to a level of crazy that shocks and terrifies all the kids and **** it, all the adults too, in the neighbourhood! Escalate the **** out of it and nobody will ever **** with you again. They will think your nuts, but they will leave you alone

That's all well and good if your a single man with nothing to lose.

Two small children and a wife to worry about, that and I'm in work most nights during the week!

That's all well and good if your a single man with nothing to lose.

Two small children and a wife to worry about, that and I'm in work most nights during the week!

Your like a mirror image of myself, I have a 3 year old and a new born, I am also a bar manager which obviously involves a few nights a week out. I also have the rowdiest bunch of kids next door as neighbours (there are 8 of them in total, thats not even mentioning the friends that come to play in the summer and all that.

I have had loads and loads of hassle with them, till I gave the impression I was a little unhinged. Now they run inside their house when they see me. They also dont go near my garden, or my house. Sure, they think Im insane but I prefer things how they are now to how they were when some of the younger ones would literally walk into your house and wander around if you forgot to lock the door, it was closed, just not locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

In one of my old houses, had my windows completely smashed on multiple occasions .

The guards could do absolutely nothing. Were nice people to talk to, and sympathetic, but completely feckin useless in fairness.

Don't know what type of families you are dealing with op, but in my case the parents were bigger scum than their children and would also do a lot more harm to you than a few rocks.

You couldn't sit beside a window in that house for fear of being lacerated by glass at any given time. Beds couldn't be kept near windows either.
    Horrible being fearful in your own home, and I'm so glad to be out of there!

They only seem to respect violence, it's the only thing that their thick skulls seem to comprehend.
    They never go near anyone who they know will give them a hiding, just innocent quiet people who like to keep to themselves.

You can almost guarantee though that if you touched THEM, you would be arrested within half an hour.

But remember op, if they can deny everything they do, so can you......

(You have to be clever about it though, and it may not be worth it if they are from very dangerous families, it really depends on exactly what level of scum you are dealing with)

Your like a mirror image of myself, I have a 3 year old and a new born, I am also a bar manager which obviously involves a few nights a week out. I also have the rowdiest bunch of kids next door as neighbours (there are 8 of them in total, thats not even mentioning the friends that come to play in the summer and all that.

I have had loads and loads of hassle with them, till I gave the impression I was a little unhinged. Now they run inside their house when they see me. They also dont go near my garden, or my house. Sure, they think Im insane but I prefer things how they are now to how they were when some of the younger ones would literally walk into your house and wander around if you forgot to lock the door, it was closed, just not locked.

Ok reading that was a little freaky, the first three lines anyway.

You sure you don't have my house bugged.

In one of my old houses, had my windows completely smashed on multiple occasions .

The guards could do absolutely nothing. Were nice people to talk to, and sympathetic, but completely feckin useless in fairness.

Don't know what type of families you are dealing with op, but in my case the parents were bigger scum than their children and would also do a lot more harm to you than a few rocks.

You couldn't sit beside a window in that house for fear of being lacerated by glass at any given time. Beds couldn't be kept near windows either.
    Horrible being fearful in your own home, and I'm so glad to be out of there!

They only seem to respect violence, it's the only thing that their thick skulls seem to comprehend.
    They never go near anyone who they know will give them a hiding, just innocent quiet people who like to keep to themselves.

You can almost guarantee though that if you touched THEM, you would be arrested within half an hour.

But remember op, if they can deny everything they do, so can you......

(You have to be clever about it though, and it may not be worth it if they are from very dangerous families, it really depends on exactly what level of scum you are dealing with)

I'm quiet a sneaky fecker tbh, I'd not get physical unless I felt my family was directly threatened.

Glad you got out of your situation, mines pales compared to that.

Nope, but Im starting to wonder if through sleep depravation I have created you as my alter ego

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

Get a CCTV camera. Make it obvious it is pointing at the front of the house.

Nope, but Im starting to wonder if through sleep depravation I have created you as my alter ego

Yeah, I was thinking your my doppelgänger :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

In my experience they then just start wearing hoodies and scarves wrapped around their faces. But you might get lucky and catch them if you could conceal it in some way.

We are contemplating it, we have eircom phonewatch, they install camera and you can watch from your iPhone. Seen offer on it just before Xmas.

@kryogen page 401, last comment on page. Since the last thread was closed. The similarities do continue. But please don't mention the topic about the girl, thread will be closed and mod with a ban stick could come knocking.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82514486

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭JOB93

Forget the security cam, leave an old disposable near the windows and go take a picture with flash (I'm assuming its dark) and that will scare the crap out of them. They will see a security cam from outside its range and cover their faces beforehand but if they get up close and you take a flash photo I think they will be a little more worried.

I remember when I was about 11 or 12 me and my friends went trespassing on a building site, we were yelled at a few times but we didn't care until one of them snapped us without warning. We were bricking it for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Just go out and talk to them as if your their friend but have your cock hanging out of your pants, this always freaks out people and they will leave you alone.

Target practice for the little pricks in their hoodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Go out and tell them if they don't piss off they're going to get the face kicked off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Henwood

Trouble with taking films , videos or flash pictures of kids, you might be accused of being a paedo, or potential child trafficking and the police will be round like a rats up a drainpipe and confiscate your computer,and cell phone and have you down the nick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭JOB93

Henwood, I think being accused of child trafficking would be a bit much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I would start with your next door neighbours. Explain the problem and tell them you want to spreak with the little hooligans' parents. Say you have seen their daughter chatting to them and can she give you their names. That will alert them, probably to the extent they will no longer 'allow' the scrotes hang around and will also get you their names. Then one unpleasant conversation with their parents after another for you. Tell the parents you will have to go to the Guards if it continues. And take lots of photos so no one can say 'It wasn't my little Johnny'. Do not get into an argument or any sort of abuse with the parents, hopefully they will be reasonable.

Don't shout or chase after them any more tho, that's all they want. You are their new favourite form of entertainment.

Feel for you though, a neighbour of mine moved a few years ago after exactly the same hassle. It can make your life hell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Sounds like the youth of today are similar to 100 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Have you ever seen Gran Torino? That's what you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Tell your neighbours who's daughter is hanging out with these lads that you saw then coming out of their backgarden shed sniffing their fingers... that should put a stop to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭OCorcrain

Get a fake tattoo of a certain paramilitary organization, next time they are acting up go outside whisper a few words into the ring leader's ear, show your 'tattoo'. Guarantee they would **** themselves and never bother you again. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

About 2 weeks ago I heard something hit the glass in my back door. I was sitting in my kitchen with my 2yr old son. I thought nothing of it till a few seconds later when I heard something hit it again, I went over to the window over the kitchen sink and peeked out the blinds. You can imagine my surprise when I seen 2 little scrots throwing stones at my door. They where peering over my neighbours shed standing on a wall behind it that is attached to the first house on the left in a cul de sac. I went out and they ducked down, I shouted "I know where u are, one more stones and I call the Guards".

I didn't think much about it that night. The next day I was out the back having a smoke when I noticed loads of little stones lying around my back garden. On close inspection of the glass in the day I noticed little chips in the glass. These little scrots must have being doing it all day.

A couple of days later my misus go's out the front to go the shop and some little scrots are doing starsky and hutch all over the bonnet of the neighbours car parked out front. She lets a yell and they run off.

Over the proceeding days these little scrots are making not so veiled comments when my misus appears outside. It only came to my attention when I went to the front door to help here get stuff out of the car. She says as I appear at the door "ah they shut up now you have appeared". Once inside she explains the starsky and hutch incident.

After that stuff started appearing in my drive way, like empty cans, small stones, an apple 0.o

Now I'm aware of it I've been keeping an eye out. The other day something hit my front door. I look out and aload of little scrots are hanging around outside the front of my garden. I go out and half them run away, the older ones anyway. I approach the ones still there an ask "how would you like me to go throw things at you front door", and then tell em to move on. I go back inside and keep a eye on them. Sure enough they throw something else at my door, I go out again and tell em to hit the road or ill be knocking on their doors. I even suggest they go play football or find something else to do that doesn't involve bothering people.

Over the last few days I've been keeping tabs, and have seen them throw stones and other objects at other houses close by.

Their ages range from 8 to 13 I'm guessing. I've also noticed the girl next door hanging with them. We are on good terms with our neighbours, but if she is the reason they are hanging about, that could change.

I'm not about to assault a minor or scream profanities at them. But if one of these little fukers break a window am I entitled to hold em for the guards?

I'll not have it so my misus walks out when I'm not there, these little scumbags intimidate her - what are my options?

My parents had a very similar problem, almost exactly the same actually. My brother who was in his early 20s chased them off and grabbed one of them, telling them to stay away from the house. the father of the child, who was basically at the centre of the group then pressed charges and tried to get him done for assault.
    There was nothing assault about it.

If the guards don't care and the parents do nothing, I don't know how to tackle that situation.

Suggestions on burning their house down or battering them are great but they are funny for about 4 seconds until you actually realise you can't do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

In my experience they then just start wearing hoodies and scarves wrapped around their faces. But you might get lucky and catch them if you could conceal it in some way.

Ya it'd be a deterrant initially, after that I suppose it's back to square one. I do know someone who has one mounted inside the window on the top sill. You wouldn't see it unless you were practically nose to the glass. Either that or get Mr Alsation to watch the front yard.