Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

split ear.?

• 06-01-2013 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭

lads I bought a heifer last week. annoyingly she caught her ear in the smallest bit of baling twine :rolleyes: she pulled the tag out but the tag is still in tack,,
    My question is there any way of separting the two tags to put them back in the ear.?
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

lads I bought a heifer last week. annoyingly she caught her ear in the smallest bit of baling twine :rolleyes: she pulled the tag out but the tag is still in tack,,
    My question is there any way of separting the two tags to put them back in the ear.?
    Cheers
    I dont think so , I've tried a few times with no luck . I had to order four replacement tags last week , I know they arent too dear but its a pain in the the a$$ all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭ordinary farmer

moy83 wrote: »
    I dont think so , I've tried a few times with no luck . I had to order four replacement tags last week , I know they arent too dear but its a pain in the the a$$ all the same

i know well thats farmen i suppose haha :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Yup and if its only losing a few tags we have to worry about things arent too bad at all :D

<snip>

i heard that before but also heard it didnt work we shall see 2mro tho :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

A lot of time and effort (and expense, no doubt) has been put in to make the tags as tamper-proof as possible.
    I'm sure the wideboys and shysters who like to put everyone elses' good name and reputation at risk by playing fast and loose with the rules and regulations are beavering away looking for a way to fiddle with them, but as far as normal decent people are concerned, there's no non-destructive way of taking tags apart.

You'll have to purchase replacements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

[MOD]

Folks, please have a read of the forum charter, particularly the section relating to illegal activities:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73710827&postcount=3

Opening tags for the purpose of reinserting them into their original animal may been seen as 'cost effective' and not breaking the spirit of any laws or regulations, but posting instructions on how to attempt it isn't doing the public image of the farming industry any favours.

In any case, the method posted has long since been counteracted by changes to the design of the tags.

Some posts above have been edited.

[/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

And you probably thought myself or whelan would know an answer to that but its those shower from down the country that know all the tricks.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I wish Eurotags would make some effort to improve the design of the tags. All tags seem to break at the shaft joining the front and back parts of the tag. Surely in 2013 a proper tag can be designed that will last the animal's lifetime.

Then again, they have a monopoly on the supply of tags, unfortunately. Nice big earner for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

a friend of a friend in the dept warned me before about ordering a double set for an animal youve left on the long finger..... its a real "red flag" one for the dept ...little and often keeps you unnoticed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

a friend of a friend in the dept warned me before about ordering a double set for an animal youve left on the long finger..... its a real "red flag" one for the dept ...little and often keeps you unnoticed

Yep..
    I know a fella ordered two for a cow and he had inspections out the ying-yang, landed one day with no notice and no stone was left unturned, he wasnt there and they insisted in waiting until he came home...
    His neighbour told him never to order full sets again, one at a time, months appart :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Ive a heifer i bought in as a calf and the people who tagged her put one tag in arseways ie button bit to the rear of ear and it bugs me every time i look at her.. ill reorder and snip it out this year!!

on another point,The little green button BVD tag ye going in left or right ear?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Bodacious wrote: »
    Ive a heifer i bought in as a calf and the people who tagged her put one tag in arseways ie button bit to the rear of ear and it bugs me every time i look at her.. ill reorder and snip it out this year!!

on another point,The little green button BVD tag ye going in left or right ear?:confused:

Neighbours of mine when tagging puts one tag in one ear the right way and the other in backwards, ive seen other lads doing this too, only reason I can think for doing it would be the ability to read the number when behind the animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

there will be no little green tag this year- unless you are using up stock from last year, it doesnt matter which ear you put it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I normally did the cows once after housing with a pour-on wormer. Noromectin normally. This covered them for lice too.
    This year I did them all with Levafas Diamond, so they weren't done for lice. Noticed a serious amount of tags on the ground in the last few weeks. All the scratching, I suppose.

BTW, anyone know of a cheap pour-on for lice?:rolleyes:

pakalasa wrote: »
    I normally did the cows once after housing with a pour-on wormer. Noromectin normally. This covered them for lice too.
    This year I did them all with Levafas Diamond, so they weren't done for lice. Noticed a serious amount of tags on the ground in the last few weeks. All the scratching, I suppose.

BTW, anyone know of a cheap pour-on for lice?:rolleyes:

Ectospec? Think that does lice

simx wrote: »
    yup and osmonds do eezepour, good value also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

simx wrote: »

works well too. much better that clostomectin anyway!

seriously, i had to order tags last week, had tried ringing eurotags a few times in december, answering machine the whole time, when i went to ring first i only wanted 3 sets of double replacement tags and by the time i actually got to talk to some one in eurotags on friday i needed 5 sets of tags, so after taking that long to talk to an operator i should only have ordered 1 set to avoid an inspection, in my mind it woulld be worse if you did have an inspection and there where 5 cows with no tags :confused::confused::confused::confused: i know you can leave a message and eurotags will ring you back but infairness who carries the replacement tag numbers on them along with their cc number at all times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

whelan1 wrote: »
    there will be no little green tag this year- unless you are using up stock from last year, it doesnt matter which ear you put it on
    Yeah I've good few tags left so it'll be the little green ones for me for this year, I've been going in right ear when looking at them from the front, I suppose it doesn't matter but uniformity is nice

if a big mama of a cow is breathing down your neck it doesnt matter which ear. otherwise as you say uniformity is nice

seriously, i had to order tags last week, had tried ringing eurotags a few times in december, answering machine the whole time, when i went to ring first i only wanted 3 sets of double replacement tags and by the time i actually got to talk to some one in eurotags on friday i needed 5 sets of tags, so after taking that long to talk to an operator i should only have ordered 1 set to avoid an inspection, in my mind it woulld be worse if you did have an inspection and there where 5 cows with no tags :confused::confused::confused::confused: i know you can leave a message and eurotags will ring you back but infairness who carries the replacement tag numbers on them along with their cc number at all times?

be afraid be very afraid........

i'll take my chances:rolleyes:

but seriously ,your a cool customer 5 cows with no tag.

ive been on the end of a full inspection and it aint a walk in the park..

my point is we should do all we can to avoid em.

but seriously ,your a cool customer 5 cows with no tag.

ive been on the end of a full inspection and it aint a walk in the park..

my point is we should do all we can to avoid em.
    i have said i tried ringing to order numerous times in december ... really and truly eurotags should have an online system for ordering replacement tags, its a total joke at this stage that you have to keep ringing to get a reply.Can not understand how they keep getting the tender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

i have said i tried ringing to order numerous times in december ... really and truly eurotags should have an online system for ordering replacement tags, its a total joke at this stage that you have to keep ringing to get a reply.Can not understand how they keep getting the tender

Follow the connections:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I ordered tags yesterday. Just printed out the order form and put the credit card number onto it and popped it in the post. Have 1 cow with both tags missing - at least if I have an inspection in the mean time, I'll be able to show that I have the tags ordered.

reilig wrote: »
    I ordered tags yesterday. Just printed out the order form and put the credit card number onto it and popped it in the post. Have 1 cow with both tags missing - at least if I have an inspection in the mean time, I'll be able to show that I have the tags ordered.
    YES, i did this before but i wrote the tag number down wrong, so took twice as long, at least when you eventually get through to an operator they will check the tag number is right , btw when i was ringing on friday i rang 2 or 3 times after 2 pm , it was nearly 20 past 2 when the answering machine was changed from saying their opening hours to actually offering the service of ordering... seems they have a nice long lunch break at eurotags:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Follow the connections:mad:

Please tell us more? Sounds like there is a right little game of monopoly going on:mad:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I got someone else credit card about a year ago when on the phone to them last year, the other operator even called it back for good measure, security code and all:eek:. These are a joke shop, full stop they are offering a disgraceful service. And I only have to deal with them 6 or 7 times are year

i always ring the switchboard and ask for the tags section..

what is the switchboard number is it different to the eurotags number? i remember last year i had an awful job finding the number for eurotags, no phone number on the website and i had thrown my last box of tags away so no little bit of paper... pure hardship just to order replacement tags... now have the number saved on my phone

while we are all on a bit of a rant. :P i was registering 3 calves there around the 10th of December sent the register cards off down to cork, I do put an elastic band around them. any way 5 days later I got one card the next day another and the last the day after once again. I don't understand why buy I don't think It would be a big job the put all 3 cards into one envalope and send them back :rolleyes:

sure that would make sense :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I agree with you order and be dammed even if you order them in singles they will at some stage reset the system so that you will still get inspected. I know a few suckler farmers that always order doubles for cows as it is much cheaper. It might be 2-3 years before she will lose a tag but the odds are before you sell her she will need a tag.

It may well be an automated printing and posting system. Numbers fed into a computer in one room, card printed in another building/room and machine puts it in an envelope it is called automation

I think by doing it online we should be paid 10e per calf, sure we're doing 90% of their work, this ^ shows that the fckers are only trying to look busy. We all know 80% of the calves are registered in three months. What do they do the rest of the year? Great thread OP. Looks like you got an answer anyways.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think by doing it online we should be paid 10e per calf, sure we're doing 90% of their work, this ^ shows that the fckers are only trying to look busy. We all know 80% of the calves are registered in three months. What do they do the rest of the year? Great thread OP. Looks like you got an answer anyways.

thanks blue :) seems to be starting some good debates any way

what is the switchboard number is it different to the eurotags number? i remember last year i had an awful job finding the number for eurotags, no phone number on the website and i had thrown my last box of tags away so no little bit of paper... pure hardship just to order replacement tags... now have the number saved on my phone

maybe switchboard is too loose a description .. there are sales and service no.s on the mull coop website

havent looked at that in a while last time i looked there was no number for eurotags on the mullinahone website... as you say sure if you ring another part of mullinahone they might put you through:)

it just came to me that i prob didnt select tag option and went through to another option the time i rang .. an online facility is badly needed..

am back legal now. got replacement tags today:D

phew:D:D

ah ffs, have another cow with no tags this morning:mad: will send an order in the post dont think i could face ringing them again

Have they lice? maybe put in a scratcher/ brush thing. Might be cheaper than giving away money to that crowd of w***ers

blue5000 wrote: »
    Have they lice? maybe put in a scratcher/ brush thing. Might be cheaper than giving away money to that crowd of w***ers
    all done for lice before christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

A common mistake is that farmers put in tags too far from the head....where they catch in everything, we have 500 ewes here and they're always grazing the ditches and we wouldn't replace five tag in the year...also tag 7-800 lambs at birth and they all stay in till slaughter

if i am retagging , i try and put the new tags in the old holes in the ear, one of the cows i retagged yesterday had ripped both ears, had to tag her in very close to her head....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

bbam wrote: »
    Yep..
    I know a fella ordered two for a cow and he had inspections out the ying-yang, landed one day with no notice and no stone was left unturned, he wasnt there and they insisted in waiting until he came home...
    His neighbour told him never to order full sets again, one at a time, months appart :rolleyes:

you learn something new everyday;)

works well too. much better that clostomectin anyway!

really i have used clostomectin last couple of years and it seems to work, any one used Noramectin, put that on the last few of the weanlings

ahh you can order them online (as he puts his head down)