Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

96-year-old woman hospitalised after Donegal burglary

• 05-01-2013 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭

I hope these men are found and given a right good beating.

Lowest form of Human Beings you could find. Hope they get whats coming to them.
    A 96-year-old woman has been taken to Letterkenny General Hospital following an aggravated burglary in Co Donegal this morning.
    A man wearing dark clothing and a balaclava had entered her house in Aghilly through the kitchen window.
    He went into her bedroom where she was sleeping and demanded money.
    He assaulted the woman, punched her in the ribs and gagged her and left with her handbag containing some money and bank cards.
    The woman alerted gardaí by activating her panic button at 12.30am.
    Two men wearing dark clothes and speaking with local accents were seen leaving the area afterwards and heading in the direction of Tullydish.
    The woman was taken to Letterkenny General Hospital for observation but her injuries are not thought to be serious.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0105/woman-96-hospitalised-after-donegal-burglary.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

Thats shocking. Only complete scumbags would do something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0105/woman-96-hospitalised-after-donegal-burglary.html

I certainly hope they are caught and convicted and locked up.
    Not a believer in vigalante justice so not into the "good beating" crap!
    Hope the lady makes a full recovery.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I certainly hope they are caught and convicted and locked up.
    Given how unlikely that is considering recent sentences handed down by our courts, TBH I'd not lose too much sleep if they "resisted arrest" and ended up black and blue through the course of apprehending them.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Given how unlikely that is considering recent sentences handed down by our courts, TBH I'd not lose too much sleep if they "resisted arrest" and ended up black and blue through the course of apprehending them.

Understand where your going with that, but it is a very slippery slope before the innocent suspects start getting the crap beat out of them in the wrong.
    Dangerous way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Conbhar

Horrible cowardly act! Hope the lady makes a full recovery. I'm not one for violence but I wouldn't be sad if I heard the people who did this got a dam good hiding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The PC brigade will be along soon to tell us how it's not their fault, poor upbringing etc.

Never mind that, feed them to the ****ing pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

There is little that boils my blood more than the attack on frail defenceless old people.

Absolute cowardly sh1tty excuses for human beings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Scum bags, you'd think at her age she should be able to enjoy the peace and comfort of her own home.

There are times when our justice system and its punishments just aren't deterrent enough for some lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Understand where your going with that, but it is a very slippery slope before the innocent suspects start getting the crap beat out of them in the wrong.
    Dangerous way to go.

...and not a very long slope in donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

poor upbringing, unemployed, abused as a child, addicted to alcohol and/or drugs, any more excuses for his brief?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Melion wrote: »
    The PC brigade will be along soon to tell us how it's not their fault, poor upbringing etc.

Never mind that, feed them to the ****ing pigs.

Would you prefer if there were no with courts of law, judges and juries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dangerous way to go.

I understand, but its rare to see it happen. Usually these people are well known to have done crime before that happens.

99% of time Gardai catch them in time anyway.

9959 wrote: »

I don't understand that post but I'd rather people paid heavily for their crimes. I'd prefer if people didn't get away with things like this because they have a drug addiction and come from a poor background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Who is saying this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I don't think that's what he was saying in fairness.

The justice system here baffles folk at times though.

Think, aircraft lease company owner/ violent sexual assault, then think garlic importation.

Yeah, sorry to raise the 'garlic man' again, but some of our sentencing justifications are mind boggling at times.

I don't understand that post but I'd rather people paid heavily for their crimes. I'd prefer if people didn't get away with things like this because they have a drug addiction and come from a poor background.

As opposed to the recent spate of cases where those who could afford to buy their freedom because they are did so, first one to come to mind is Anthony Lyons. :mad:
    That said these scumbags should be jailed for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

your right but the problem is if these toerags are caught, it will be mentioned that one of them had 60 previous convictions. Any decent society would either have turned them into compost or leave them in prison for life, not being toasted by their solicitors for putting their kids through college

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

I too would like to see people pay heavily for their crimes.

You mentioned 'feeding them to the pigs' hence my post, notwithstanding the whiff of pitchfork vigilantism, feeding convicted criminals to pigs is not a legitimate sentence at any Judge's disposal.

I'm as angry as anyone here, but you have to be careful when there's a raging thirst for justice.

I hope the perpetrators are caught, tried, convicted, and given the toughest sentence available to the Judge in a court of law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Jesus but I f*cking hâte thé phrase 'PC Brigade'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

I understand, but its rare to see it happen. Usually these people are well known to have done crime before that happens.

99% of time Gardai catch them in time anyway.

not this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Ghandee wrote: »

Think, aircraft lease company owner/ violent sexual assault, then think garlic importation.

Yeah, sorry to raise the 'garlic man' again, but some of our sentencing justifications are mind boggling at times.

i think the garlic man fell foul of the revenue people, he was used a deterrent, the others were/are guilty against fellow citizens, who have no say and do not count.

I'm all for giving people second chances and understanding, but there are very few people who have been brought up so badly, that they could believe it's ok to beat up a 96 year old woman. Sick. Absolutely sick. She must have been terrified :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Ghandee wrote: »

'Legal system'. Like the saying goes - the law and justice are two very different things.
    Some of the sentences handed out for manslaughter and serious assaults in this country really prove that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

We have to take the power back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

If only there were some device that would allow a 96 year-old woman to stand up and defend herself...

http://www.ajc.com/news/news/local/mother-of-two-surprises-burglar-with-five-gunshots/nTnGR/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I feel sick when I hear this kind of thing. My 91 year old Granny lives in Donegal by herself, scares the life out of me that something like this could happen to her, it literally might finish her off. The breaking in is one (****ty) thing, but why on earth did he have to beat her? What kind of psychotic degenerate do you have to be to assult someone in their 90s?

Absolute scumbag.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Best wishes to the poor woman, I hope she makes a full recovery.

What an awful thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yes we have a 96 year old beaten and robbed which is maddening and sickening but if we go through threads here we will see that many wanted her pension cut, her free travel reduced, her telephone allowance cut by 19 euro and her fuel allowance also cut.
    Meanwhile we are likely to lose another 1,000 gardai as we seemingly cannot afford them and they are to be given career breaks for 3 years. So who's going to police the country as we have already lost 2,500 gardai. We have "yellow pack" nurses to treat the old lady in hospital as well. All the while the rich get richer and can afford home security and to travel to hospitals abroad if they become sick.
    We have two Irelands, one for the rich and another for the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Yes we have a 96 year old beaten and robbed which is maddening and sickening but if we go through threads here we will see that many wanted her pension cut, her free travel reduced, her telephone allowance cut by 19 euro and her fuel allowance also cut.
    Meanwhile we are likely to lose another 1,000 gardai as we seemingly cannot afford them and they are to be given career breaks for 3 years. So who's going to police the country as we have already lost 2,500 gardai. We have "yellow pack" nurses to treat the old lady in hospital as well. All the while the rich get richer and can afford home security and to travel to hospitals abroad if they become sick.
    We have two Irelands, one for the rich and another for the rest of us.

Funny, the 1,000 gardai we still have didn't help prevent this crime. In fact, I'd argue having an extra 1,000 gardai wouldn't have helped.

Still, there is a big difference between reducing the government benefits you give someone and stealing from them.

UCDVet wrote: »
    Funny, the 1,000 gardai we still have didn't help prevent this crime. In fact, I'd argue having an extra 1,000 gardai wouldn't have helped.

Still, there is a big difference between reducing the government benefits you give someone and stealing from them.

Exactly and they won't catch them either, if they're not there.
    Expect a lot more of these crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

how could you look in the mirror and not feel an overwhelming sense of shame at doing this,
    I dont want to get too sentimental about this because by tomorrow there will probably be another case similar to this somewhere in the country,
    but jeez, have these people really no pride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Luca Brasi wrote: »
    poor upbringing, unemployed, abused as a child, addicted to alcohol and/or drugs, any more excuses for his brief?

The above may be considered as reasons why a person may engage in such behaviour; however, it is really pushing the boat out to try say they are excuses for such behaviour.

There is a big, big difference between attempting to understand why a person may engage in such a behaviour and excusing it. People need to learn the difference.

Odysseus wrote: »
    The above may be considered as reasons why a person may engage in such behaviour; however, it is really pushing the boat out to try say they are excuses for such behaviour.

There is a big, big difference between attempting to understand why a person may engage in such a behaviour and excusing it. People need to learn the difference.

Anyone who tries to excuse that kind of behaviour, for whatever reason, needs to have their head examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Anyone who tries to excuse that kind of behaviour, for whatever reason, needs to have their head examined.

Of course, but trying to understand it is different, though the concepts used don't fully explain it to me in any way.

Trying to understand a behaviour does not mean you think those engaged in such acts should go unpunished. Sadly though people often make that mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

You be sure and point out when this happens wont you?:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Geri Male

When people say "PC brigade" I want to punch them hard in the stomach and then knee them in the face. Assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

seeing as the home carers budget has been slashed, what about a sentence of 5,000 hours home-help?
    This way he might learn to respect people, instead of having the individual locked in an institution for a couple of years at the taxpayer's expense.

seeing as the home carers budget has been slashed, what about a sentence of 5,000 hours home-help?
    This way he might learn to respect people, instead of having the individual locked in an institution for a couple of years at the taxpayer's expense.

Trust a person who beat, tied up, and stole from an old woman, to look after vulnerable people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jack67

i woundnt let this scumbag home help a dog.

Herding goats and sheep on Tory Island is as far as i'd trust those brave lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Could you perhaps find links to people saying "Let them off they had a terrible life" in relation to cases like this? Because I really think that phenomenon just exists in your and others' heads. Ok defence solicitors use it to clutch at straws, but I don't know anyone else who'd ever say something so stupid.

As Odysseus says though: those probably ARE the reasons those scumbags turned out the way they did, but how is that the same as excusing them? Denial of it doesn't help society at all. They deserve an extremely long prison sentence in a maximum security facility but in-roads should keep being made to improve people's lives in order to stop them turning out like monstrous thugs.
    I know that most people who have awful lives don't turn out that way, but some bad folks do. The less crap their lives are though, the more boundaries they'd have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Those guys should be put into a hole and shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Exactly and they won't catch them either, if they're not there.
    Expect a lot more of these crimes.

That's so true, Break ins are out of control now.

charlemont wrote: »
    That's so true, Break ins are out of control now.

Bullshít! Link to evidence for this way OTT emotive statement?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I hope the knackers who did this are caught, recieve a fair trial with full legal representation and due process.

And then sentenced to a very long time in Mountjoy where they will get punched in the ribs every morning before breakfast and have their heads bounced off the wall every night before lights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

charlemont wrote: »
    Those guys should be put into a hole and shot.

But make them dig the hole first with teaspoons!
    The longer it takes the more time they have to reflect on their actions.

Lapin wrote: »
    I hope the knackers who did this are caught, recieve a fair trial with full legal representation and due process.

And then sentenced to a very long time in Mountjoy where they will get punched in the ribs every morning before breakfast and have their heads bounced off the wall every night before lights out.

Can you explain what you mean by that word that i have bolded and underlined?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

Bullshít! Link to evidence for this way OTT emotive statement?

Are you in the real Ireland?..break in s, burglary and thieving is out of control at the minute, within a 2 mile radius of that womans home theres been several homes broken into and an attempted robbery on a business premises, several cars broken into, a nearby house burned down in an arson attack along with several others in the area...thats whats happening in the country atm..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Sure.

In my opinion anyone, regardless of race, culture, upbringing, creed, colour, gender, shoe size, sexual leaning, etc etc who punches a 96 year old, is a knacker in the lowest, most derogatory form of the word.

Ok ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

knacker was dodgy northsider in my day, seems mild

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer