Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Los Christianos Tenerife - Suggestions?

• 04-01-2013 5:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭

My wife and I are planning a trip to Tenereife in early March (10 days approx).

Heard Los Christianos is nice and not as 'wild' as some other parts of the island. (We're in our 50s and are a bit past the clubbing stage:))

All advice welcome along with suggestions for apartments you would recommend - Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Paloma Beach is really nice. Going again this year.

PB is at the end of the promenade, opposite the Arona Grand hotel.

Its a nice walk along the harbour to get into the heart of Los Cris.

Any questions you have, fire away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

Good info - many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

puerto de la cruz in the north is a quieter spot but nowhere in tenerife will be wild in march anyway, the one advantage of Los Christianos is the harbour, would recommend to take a trip to nearby la gomera (closest island), tour buses leave every morning, there are also boats that go dolphin and whale watching trips from the harbour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Group of us (12 ladies ranging in age from mid 30s to mid 50s) stayed in the Tenerife Sur about 5/6 years ago. Some nice little pubs / restaurants right across the road and only about 15 mins down to the sea front. Also around the back were a few pubs where the locals ended up at night-time after they'd finished working - very chilled. I really enjoyed the place.

Watch out for school mid-terms though - we went the week before Irish mid term but clashed with Scottish mid-terms. Just meant the pool area was a little busier than normal with ankle-biters!

Up the hill was the Paradise Park - we'd tried booking there initially. Glad we didn't - hill was a killer!

Thanks all for your your replies - Much appreciated.

Any particular things you want to know?

Nice restaurants you may have visited, pubs you might suggest; that sort of thing.
    Usually spend the first few days trying around 'till you find what you like so someone whose already done the trip can be very helpful.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭phelo2121

Have ye looked at adeje it's on the other side of los Americas, lovely and quiet but loads of good bars and restaurants, we have stayed in the gran hotel there the last three years and just love it, it might be a little dearer in March prices go down in most hotels over in tenerife from April to August!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Hugo_Whoriskey

The Falcon wrote: »
    Nice restaurants you may have visited, pubs you might suggest; that sort of thing.
    Usually spend the first few days trying around 'till you find what you like so someone whose already done the trip can be very helpful.:)

Food at Kikirikis is great and really good value too, try the canarian style potato's, creamed spinach and any of the steak or roast chicken, everything looks great though. Here's a link to it on Google Maps:

http://maps.google.ie/maps?q=Los+Cristianos,+Spain&hl=en&ll=28.055263,-16.710717&spn=0.001342,0.002642&sll=53.401034,-8.307638&sspn=7.431749,21.643066&oq=+los+cristianos&hnear=Los+Cristianos,+Santa+Cruz+de+Tenerife,+Canary+Islands,+Spain&t=h&z=19&layer=c&cbll=28.055281,-16.710786&panoid=BjmUnktt2Rlv2ymtLTJo6A&cbp=12,186.78,,0,4.67

Its just under the big 'Sandrex' sign by the way

We stay out at the end of Los Cristianos. There is one particular restaurant we go to. Its called Rumours, and its at the Paloma Beach, opposite the Arona Grand Hotel.

Its run by a lady called Julie and she does all the chefing herself. My wife is gluten intolerant and the place is a godsend. What is not suitable for her is cooked in a way she can have it. I asked for a meat feast one evening and you should have seen what I got.

There are small bars everywhere, my taste may be the opposite to yours, so I am not going to suggest any of them. I like rock music and found a great place called the SAX BAR. Live music every night, but again, its what I like.

Many thanks again for all the helpful replies; really appreciated! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

We ate in a lovely spanish places up a back not too far from the church square it was good value and great food. It was called La Paloma also across the street from it was an even smaller spanish place it did not look much and had about 4 tables outside and a few inside but lovely spanish food if that is what you are after. I cant remember the name of it. The small streets away from the sea front had better value and were more original spain.

coleen wrote: »
    We ate in a lovely spanish places up a back not too far from the church square it was good value and great food. It was called La Paloma also across the street from it was an even smaller spanish place it did not look much and had about 4 tables outside and a few inside but lovely spanish food if that is what you are after. I cant remember the name of it. The small streets away from the sea front had better value and were more original spain.

Will deffo try those places - Like to get of the beaten track sometimes and eat where the locals go.

Many thanks

have a look at El Medano in Tenerife. It's lovely. None of the knack crowd.

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Attraction_Review-g187479-d247299-Reviews-El_Medano-Tenerife_Canary_Islands.html

excellent!

glasso wrote: »
    have a look at El Medano in Tenerife. It's lovely. None of the knack crowd.

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Attraction_Review-g187479-d247299-Reviews-El_Medano-Tenerife_Canary_Islands.html

this place is infinitely better than Los Crisitianos which is merely a mildly better incarnation of the hellhole that is playa de las americas. El Medano = no hecklers, restaurants that cater to locals, not just tourists so they have to offer quality and good value food to survive, chilled vibe, nice bars, lovely beach in town, watersports, mountain biking, diving, etc. etc.

Looks good - Thanks for info

The Falcon wrote: »
    Looks good - Thanks for info

let us know how you get on there if you go.....

glasso wrote: »
    let us know how you get on there if you go.....
    Will do - Thanks again.