Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Anthem

• 03-01-2013 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or is there a severe lack of the national anthem being played after DJs are finished the night?

Was a welcome tradition and I am pretty pee'd off that it is not done anymore!

Im only a youngling but still like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

*Incoming "culchie" references*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Good, its cringeworthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I usually am too tired to stand after Black Betty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

was played at my mates 21st
    that was only a few weeks ago
    although i do remember for my cousins confirmation , we got a dj for the party
    and he played god save the queen at the end followed by the english national anthem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

saiint wrote: »
    and he played god save the queen at the end followed by the english national anthem

It must've been outrageous when that definitely did happen and you didn't just make that story up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭EDDIE WATERS

Please stand for our national anthem

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8DMJ3SGlzk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Just saying like it should be done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Why should it be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Neil Diamond's "Sweet Caroline" is the only national anthem I need at the end of my night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Because it always has and whats the harm in a bit of national pride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Always amused when people take it seriously and stand upright reverently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

kneemos wrote: »

Hands behind their back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

saiint wrote: »
    was played at my mates 21st
    that was only a few weeks ago
    hate that...

dude, you played that tune like five minutes ago.

Hands behind their back

I've seen people sing along. Young people too.

Whatever floats their boat, I suppose.

The only place where it serves a purpose is at an international match to get the rivalry juices flowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Was out at home over Christmas and heard a trad band playing when they finished their set.

First time I'd ever seen it happen, thought it was a myth.

Lets try and come up with a new one-

Oh Ireland;
    country that's always wet
    and sometimes underwater ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ghogie91 wrote: »

"Because it alwas has" is the worst possible reason for continuing any tradition.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

our gaa manager for last season is from derry, some of the lads didn't stand to attention at the end of last year's xmas party - fook we paid for it in training (i wasn't even at the party!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Dr. Jonathan Crane

I've never of heard this, where in Dublin do DJs do this?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

West Dublin. . .very west Dublin!

it's a . . .eh, cul. . . , no, eh an outside of Dublin thing, hence the reference in the second post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

It's a cheap trick by venues to shut people up for a few minutes and kill the atmosphere so they'll all leave quickly.

There's nothing patriotic or respectful about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Copper Face Jacks maybe? I don't know though it's more of a country tradition. It's still commonplace in my hometown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Was in a pub in Kilcullen a couple of years ago with my (Irish) missus and another couple. She was pregnant at the time so decided to stay sitting when the (awful) band played Amhran na Bhfiann. The other (Irish) girl stayed sitting too.

Big drunk aulfellah comes over to try and get them to stand up. She points at her belly but says nothing to him. He walked off in huff mumbling "fúcking Polish!"

Funniest bit of casual rascism I've encountered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

ghogie91 wrote: »

but its not national pride its a bunch of completely drunk people swaying barely able to stand and attempting to sing words in irish that they don't even understand*

there is nothing to be proud about that. in fact its more insulting that they would make a drunken mockery of our national anthem.

*not everybody obviously but considering people these days not only don't speak irish but actually enjoy telling us how the language is dead it goes that they would not understand the national anthem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I hate when it's played at the end of the night- it's just cringe.

I'm not even sure why I find it cringy- I think cos people are standing around hammered and tired and basically don't give a crap anyway. If it's supposed to be shown respect then playing it at 3am in a big room full of people who have been drinking all night is not the time or the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Meangadh wrote: »
    I hate when it's played at the end of the night- it's just cringe.

I'm not even sure why I find it cringy- I think cos people are standing around hammered and tired and basically don't give a crap anyway. If it's supposed to be shown respect then playing it at 3am in a big room full of people who have been drinking all night is not the time or the place.

It does get a bit cringe when people stand with their hands behind their back and tears well in their eyes as they mumble out the wrong words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

It does get a bit cringe when people stand with their hands behind their back and tears well in their eyes as they mumble out the wrong words.

Ha, absolutely. I'm a fluent Irish speaker, know every word of the anthem and know what they all mean... but never feel the need to well up whilst singing it- bar the time in Croke Park when rugby & soccer were allowed to be played there, I'll admit a wee tear of pride fell that day. But in a pub/nightclub... no. Just no.

Lets try and come up with a new one-

Oh Ireland;
    country that's always wet
    and sometimes underwater ...

The good times never looked so good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Neil Hannon from Divine Comedy and some other fella wrote a fantastic replacement...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVj7cwnFtYI

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Neil Hannon from Divine Comedy and some other fella wrote a fantastic replacement...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVj7cwnFtYI

Brilliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

I think its better to not associate the national anthem with what happens at the end of a night out in most clubs.
    patriots going on to piss and vomit out on the street after getting the words wrong, shouts and sucker punches, the smell of fish and youngwans dry humping. doesnt fit in with the whole pride thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I miss the slow sets as well, get to drop d'oul hand, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Was out at home over Christmas and heard a trad band playing when they finished their set.

First time I'd ever seen it happen, thought it was a myth.

Definitely not a myth

DJs used to play it all the time

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

If it annoys Loyalist rioters I'm all for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Slow sets would be welcome too for intelligent refined people to.....eh something precursor the roide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I thought the National Anthem was never meant to be played after midnight hence the reasons not for nightclubs to play it at 4am.

I remember back in the good old days of etiquette surrounding the Anthem a band played it to finish their set and then decided to do an encore. Cue uproar from the wellington clad brigade who were offended that it wasn't the last song of the night and the quickest dismantling of equipment by a band I ever saw.

I agree with Truncheon there, what's the point if it's only going to be played to slobbering drunks who feel they are at their most patriotic ever by mumbling most of the song then incorrectly roaring the last line a-la "... ♫ shoving Connie around the field ♫"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Make this a poll.

Put me in the I don't want the NA Played anymore in public apart from official state occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

My local "club" used to finish the night with it. Well, depending if there was a brawl happening or not.

Plazaman wrote: »
    I thought the National Anthem was never meant to be played after midnight hence the reasons not for nightclubs to play it at 4am.

By that logic the anthem could never be played except at midnight.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    By that logic the anthem could never be played except at midnight.

Kind of like feeding gremlins after midnight. Remember how cute Gizmo was? Phoebe Cates was rather good looking too but in a totally different sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Either that or this end the night down here in the boglands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭frankspencer

For someone who is a DJ, the national anthem comes in handy in pubs and wedding gigs. It sends out the message to drunk folk "The night out is over and not a hope of one more tune or drink". In any club gig I never see much of a point they venue takes over and herds the punters out quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I miss the slow sets as well, trying to her get to drop d'oul hand, like.

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Kind of like feeding gremlins after midnight. Remember how cute Gizmo was? Phoebe Cates was rather good looking too but in a totally different sense.

Remember that film where she took her bikini off and got her bangers out, oh yeah, she'd have got 'it' alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Please stand for the National Anthem

http://youtu.be/t-7MeqSIj4E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭johnolocher

Ive never heard it in Dublin, but then I dont think ive ever made it to the end of the night consious...

I think its a bit cringe, pissed up patriots. Whats has going on the lash, dry humping a bird, vomming, smashing in a kebab and then racially abusing a taxi driver your not going to pay got to do with patriotism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

I think the National Anthem should be replaced with "Jump Around" by House of Pain. Just imagine that being played before a GAA, Ireland soccer or rugby match, the place would errupt! And it would end the recession.

Or as a privious poster suggested, Put 'Em Under Pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Why?

Because they show respect when the anthem is being played?

Why?

Because they show respect when the anthem is being played?

Respect for what?At an international match it stirs up the ferver or at some state ceremony or something otherwise it's like a square in a round hole.