Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How active are your folks?

• 02-01-2013 11:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭

Nothing smutty you dirtbags! My parents have retired in the last year or two but it's painfully obvious that life is pretty dull for them. They have worked hard all of their lives and provided myself and my siblings with so much. In a way, work was all they really knew as many from their generation. No drinking, smoking, no real socialising to speak of and nothing that could be called a hobby or interest.
    They are both very much home birds and my father has had health issues in the last year so my mother being the worrier that she is, doesn't like to be far away.
    I haven't lived in Ireland for a few years now and when I visit I just feel bad for them when I see that they just stay in a lot and chat about fairly mundane things. Where they live is pretty rural so not a lot going on there. I suppose they seem reasonably content but sometimes the pivotal point of their day is going to get the papers and bits and bobs from the shop.

How are your folks doing since retirement? Are they active or have started any new hobbies or have become more social?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My folks are early 60s and more active than they ever were. My dad is retired and is heavily involved with local community projects, while going for either a walk or cycle daily and also completed the Dublin City Marathon with me last year. My mother works part time and while she appreciates her peace and quiet more than my dad, she never lets herself get bored.

I used to scoff at these "life begins at 40/50" shenanigans, but my parents are proof that it's the truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Nothing smutty you dirtbags! My parents have retired in the last year or two but it's painfully obvious that life is pretty dull for them. They have worked hard all of their lives and provided myself and my siblings with so much. In a way, work was all they really knew as many from their generation. No drinking, smoking, no real socialising to speak of and nothing that could be called a hobby or interest.
    They are both very much home birds and my father has had health issues in the last year so my mother being the worrier that she is, doesn't like to be far away.
    I haven't lived in Ireland for a few years now and when I visit I just feel bad for them when I see that they just stay in a lot and chat about fairly mundane things. Where they live is pretty rural so not a lot going on there. I suppose they seem reasonably content but sometimes the pivotal point of their day is going to get the papers and bits and bobs from the shop.

How are your folks doing since retirement? Are they active or have started any new hobbies or have become more social?

that doesnt sound too bad, they've worked hard all their lives and now they're just taking it easy.

And you never know, they could be into some degenerate BDSM kink when you're not there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

You write
    Nothing smutty you dirtbags!
    Boardsies see
    Filthiest post wins
    ???
    Profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

My mother has fibromyalgia but she puts a brave face on it and plays it down to a degree. She's a heavy smoker and drinker but in remarkably good shape for it. My stepdad is a young wan (only 15 years older than myself as my mother is a cougar. :P ) and has a fairly labour intensive job as a painter/decorator so he's fairly active.
    That said, work has been very tight lately and they both tend to sit around watching telly for a large portion of the day.
    Even so, we all keep our minds active at the very least by playing board games. Just finished an epic round of Monopoly due to recommence tomorrow night. Good times. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

anhedonia wrote: »
    that doesnt sound too bad, they've worked hard all their lives and now they're just taking it easy.

And you never know, they could be into some degenerate BDSM kink when you're not there.

When I was helping to decorate the tree I found a ball gag mixed in with the baubles. I tried to blank it out...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Not very. They're both dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

My folks are just coming into retirement age now and they have a better social life than I do. Every time I'm on to them they've booked a week here, a weekend there, dinner, drinks, theatre etc. They're never in. It's actually like they were waiting for us to get out of the house before doing all the things they've wanted to do. As siblings we joke that they're pishing away our inheritence, but in reality, I hope they do. It's their money and they deserve it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Apart from turning over in their grave, not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭gidget

My dad is 57 now & had to take early retirement 4 years ago due downsizing in his last job ( was either that or redundancy). Since he's left he's taking up scuba diving & goes every week & has been away on a few trips. Also himself & my mam have taken some fabulous holidays the last few years. Last summer they went to that States for 3 weeks and travelled around Arizona, Albuquerque & Vegas. The year before that it was Tennessee , New Orleans, Memphis & Virginia. This summer they've booked another 3 week holiday & plan to take in Washington & a few places. So yeah, after years of work & raising us kids there now at their peak & living the life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

My old ma has a full time job- giving out. This keeps her fully occupied. The old lad is also very busy, them daisies don't push themselves up you know.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

My dad took early retirement and my mam is still a housewife, they are 59 and 60. Dad plays golf several times a week and they both play bowls together in the summer months. They do several weekends away a year plus my mam would often go for weekends away with her own friends too during the year. They'd have a night out in the pub relatively regularly too. They are both always busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They are both gone now but have to say they both were very active right up until the end, my father was a farmer and was working the land up to 3 months before he died and my mother also had an active happy life.

Thats the way I would like to be when I get old as well, would hate to be just lying in bed or in a home not able to move and slowly loosing my senses and memory etc.