Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Old New Talent Intiative

• 30-12-2012 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭

Just reading in the rumours thread that alot of people believe wwe are lacking in name power to fill out house shows etc. Now it is their own fault due to stop start pushes etc but seems to maybe be a genuine problem. Now in my opinion WWE seems to giving legitimate pushes to some new blood however they also seem interested to bring back some old familiar faces....so if you were in charge which 5 guys/tag teams would you bring back and why. Now im talking about guys who can make a legit impact and nt contactually obliged to anyone.

1. John Morrison - Fair enough he may have been bland but in ring he was solid, his return could be handled the way Jeffs return was, some solid mid card and tag matches before being elevated to the main stage. Hardy I always believed was limited on the mic but his in ring work always made up for it.

2. London and Kendrick - Another tag team that could help cement the division to its former glory. They had a sizeable reign before and either one could break out on their own if given the chance after a sustained tag run. Especially now with WWE pushing the young'uns

3. MVP - Bad booking kept him from breaking out and although I never enjoyed him immensely I know of people who have. Never reached his potential and he himself believes he has unfinished business with the company

4. Batista - Is Batista that disinterested in returning to the WWE? He tried the MMA thing fine but has there been any efforts to get him back? Asking for the likes of Austin Taker Michaels etc to return full time is fantasy booking but Batista can still go and would be a huge huge asset if he returned. Also with the product becoming "edgier" that may entice the animal

5. Bobby Lashely - I understand the Krystal thing and maybe problems with Michael Hayes but Im sure someone a deal could be worked out if WWE wanted one. It wouldnt be a return ala Lesnar proportions but could certainly make an impact.

With Batista and Lashley thats two viable headliners, a formidable tag team and two upper midcarders who could all be brought back and make a significant impact in their respective divisions.

Now Im all for the NXT guys coming through but if WWE want to bring back some older stars these guys may prove most beneficial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

if they hadn't burnt the bridges with him I'd have said

MISTERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR KENNEDY!!!

KENNEDY!

Not Shelton Benjamin anyway. The chap always bored the arse off me expect for his one big move in a ladder match each year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Y2J - the old school Jericho would be great to have back and he is the reason the topic came up after all.

JoMo - good performer in the ring and capable of the amazing. Certainly would be a crowd pleaser and if brought back properly could make a good impact.

Shelton could help fill out the midcard but not sure about how big an impact he could make. Maybe an NXT or well booked low carder would be more deserving.

Masters - no explanation needed, possibly new ring attire to cover his weird arm tattoo though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

and Jericho seems all for establishing new guys, never scared to lose to an up and comer because ultimately it wont have an effect on him.... he will always be Y2J.His recent tweets with Rollins are interesting, afterall some may view his dismissal unjust :) all though I do believe The Rock may be involved some how in the whole Shield Saga.

Also how exactly did Kennedy burn his bridges. One moment hes on top of the world, gets injured, comes back and has an argument with Orton. Surely thats not enough to warrant a future endevours message from johnny?

Purely on a selfish note id love to see tajiri back. He seemed to have an amicable departure and could easily be brought back for awhile, all though not to much shock waves would be heard but honestly I throughly enjoyed his work and he could help establish some guys

Masters and Carlito are also two guys who never got a proper craic at the big time even though they seemed poised for stardom at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'd like to see Carlito back. I think him and Del Rio could have a fun feud.

How is Bulldog Jr getting on in Japan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

There isn't a lot their that aren't under Contract anywhere else. Outside obvious choices like Jericho, Morrison, MVP is still under contract to NJPW. There is some talent on Nxt (Paige, Ohno and Wyatt) and they have done nothing with the likes of Swagger, Hunico, Clay, Kidd, Gabriel and McIntyre for long periods. They must have near 100 talents under contract yet we'll end up with lame cameos in the Rumble again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Sirsok wrote: »
    Also how exactly did Kennedy burn his bridges. One moment hes on top of the world, gets injured, comes back and has an argument with Orton. Surely thats not enough to warrant a future endevours message from johnny?

more the other way round that I don't think Ken would want to go back to them.

Swaggers situation is confusing.

Its a pity Hunico is injured.

And a few of the other names could be used better but that doesn't mean other options don't exist, some people like JoMo have a profile that would excite a crowd if they re-appeared and with respect many of the under contract to WWE wrestlers would need a lot of time to get them over so the idea of this thread certainly has its merits.

Also in 2010 they cut around 50 names so having a high number of wrestlers under contract now doesn't mean all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Sirsok wrote: »

Masters and Carlito are also two guys who never got a proper craic at the big time even though they seemed poised for stardom at the time!

Kennedy was very injury prone, and if i recall correctly guys like Trips and Orton thought he was to stiff, and in his last days his run as a face had bombed.

Carlito is an interesting one, terrible work ethic as his constant moaning about been a face but he does have charisma and is reasonably solid in the ring, although nowhere near as good as Primo. Also his passion for the industry has always been doubtful and with the likes of Trips in charge that could be a problem.

Dunno why people want to see Shelton come back, he won't draw a dime and their is loads of undercard workers who can do his trick of falling of a ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Dunno why people want to see Shelton come back, he won't draw a dime and their is loads of undercard workers who can do his trick of falling of a ladder.

I wouldnt mind seeing wgtt back as a tag team, Team Angle was one of my favourite periods in wrestling...I am an angle mark! I remember travelling to a show in the back of a car with vito and doug basham and they were ribbing me the whole, Vito asked who my favourite wrestler was and I said Angle and he just said solid....He's prob an Angle mark to!

Just for that I say bring Vito back!

Rjd2 wrote: »

Shush you

Shelton can sell like Ziggler.
    Shelton is more powerful than Cesaro.
    Shelton punches are so fast the ref can't see them and DQ him

Speaking of Ziggler, watch this match and you will see he is ripping off Sheltons greatness. Sleeper hold, Selling, the super DDT, the Zig Zag is just paydirt in reverse, he even robbed his hair colour.

Also before Dolph had the cougar, Shelton had his Momma

03.jpg

dolph-ziggler-and-vickie-guerrero-1.jpg

In this match he hits just a few his signature moves (he has so many he couldn't get them all in), hits pay dirt and even flips from the ring out past the barricade.

He even does that rope leap thingy.

None of those undercarders have an identity, unlike the human negative Shelton

Now ye all love Shelton again here is something for your sig cool.png

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQEkfW0u-nYv6BNY5IswFCxZLCOccuw3xSLErrXwt-r-s76f7PMGQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

In a world that is already very surreal and cartooney (I am talking about professional wrestling, naturally enough), I find Dolph Ziggler to be too much. He OVER-sells, in my opinion. It was actually kind of embarrassing to see some of the bumps he took this year. I think it is probably not his fault if you take into account the fact that he probably spent years studying Shawn Michaels though. Michaels pushed the boat out way too far as well. This whole somersault into the turnbuckle thing that he made a meal out of doing in all of his big matches, suddenly became the definition of good selling. I do not agree with that. However, I know that Dolph Ziggler is the smarks' favourite, so please, if you are a fan, do not be offended by this, or take personally when I say, give me Shelton back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

bring back hogan :rolleyes:

seriously need to bring back the hardcore title ow that linda has lost her senate race ad hopefully wont go back to it.

could have so many of the current roster fighting for it especially with the any time any place defense rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd like to see Carlito back also but like somebody already mentioned his work ethic is questionable. I remember reading that he more or less gave up towards the end of his run when things weren't going his way, for instance he purposely stopped working out and lost muscle mass.

Jim Cornette also said he was difficult when he first came up to OVW, he got the impression that being the owners son in Puerto Rico had gone to his head and he didn't feel like he had to pay his dues in the States.