Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the best method of ending a relationship?

• 30-12-2012 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭

There is the traditional approach of sitting the person down and explaining how you feel, but these days with the aid of technology, we have many, many other ways.

Text message, Facebook message, Skype, Email etc.

There is also the classic 'ignore method' where you ignore the person until they get the picture.

Also you can get a friend/relative to do it for you (this method works best when you are <15)

There are loads of others ways as well.

What is the best method?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Just sleep with her sister. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

fake your death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Cyanide:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭mckenzie84

Don't just ignore them. That's horrible!

The sit down and talk method is probably the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Welcome to Dumpsville, population: you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Be informed by your cult's higher-ups that she's not compatible with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    There is the traditional approach of sitting the person down and explaining how you feel, but these days with the aid of technology, we have many, many other ways.

There is also the classic 'ignore method' where you ignore the person until they get the picture.

Also you can get a friend/relative to do it for you (this method works best when you are <15)

What is the best method?

IMO the bolded one is more typically used by males than females.

Actually I don't know any women who do/would do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Bring her to a scientology meeting tom and she'll run a fooking mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

I find murder a good method.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Just stay out of them, prevention is better than cure.

So I keep telling meself. . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

The best way is just say it to them, reassure them they that they are lovely but you are just not feeling it anymore.

Do NOT say you don't think you ever loved them.
    Do not tell them if you have met anyone else.
    IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Join bat **** crazy religious cult

^^^ beaten to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

If she's employed tell her you're on or joining the dole queues. She'll dump you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

amdublin wrote: »
    IMO the bolded one is more typically used by males than females.

Actually I don't know any women who do/would do this.
    I get ignored by women all the time, and I don't even have to be in a relationship with them.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ted Bundy was known to be a good looking chap and could get the wimmins :cool:

Have a read of his wiki page

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

ignore works best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Hill runner

Ask her what is the best way you like me to break up with you.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Tell them you are thinking of emigrating to a new country. Start distancing yourself slowly.

How would you like to be dumped?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Get yer man from chill insurance to do it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

ignore works best

For cowardly custards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Tell them you are a member of Young Fine Gael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

uberalles wrote: »
    Tell them you are thinking of emigrating to a new country. Start distancing yourself slowly.

How would you like to be dumped?

Yemen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Slim_Bob

Tell her crocodiles bit off your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

What is the best method?

With that user name, I would expect that most relationships will be ended by her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Slim_Bob

Three simple words:

"I am gay"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Marriage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Something along the lines of

"see that dried fanny batter, it doesn't belong to you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

leave ur phone on with a bit of beastiality porn on it,job done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Aww jesus, Im glad Id me slice of Romantica finished before I read that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Send them an eCard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

YUCK!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

WindSock wrote: »
    For cowardly custards.

well maybe if they lived up to my expectations i wouldnt need to ignore them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

There are some seriously messed up people on this thread. Just go old school and poo in a shoe, when the foot goes in, promptly announce "Im outta here, there's a bang off yer gash".

Dust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

The shovel and shallow grave is by far the best method. That or get your mother to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

well maybe if they lived up to my expectations i wouldnt need to ignore them

I think we've met recently :mad:

Sauve wrote: »
    I think we've met recently :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

You can't beat the classic way of being distant and slightly dickish until she ends it herself. :D

Thankfully I've grown up a bit since those days!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭supackofidiots

if you don't live with her this is your best bet.
    slowly start phasing her out.
    less consistent with replies to phone calls and texts, start making excuses for being unable to meet up etc. slowly increase the proverbial distance between you for a few weeks, increasing it incrementally each week. she'll quickly get the idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

'MY TIME ON YOUR PLANET HAS COME TO AN END'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Kick in the gee usually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Needs a poll. I vote "bang her sister!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I had a girl dump me via text message. It was great. Best way to break up.

No drawn out emotional scene or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

UCDVet wrote: »
    I had a girl dump me via text message. It was great. Best way to break up.

No drawn out emotional scene or anything.

And it didnt cost you €0.11c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Send her a Telex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I had the ignoring method done to me and it's seriously nasty, screws and fcuks with your head and hard to overcome. In the early days you make logical excuses for it like maybe he's busy at work or he's sick or a family member is sick. You fire of a message ie hope all well, ya-di-ya-di-da. You might get a brief response/a reply - yeah, i'm grand, busy here, will be in touch tomorrow. Tomorrow comes and nothing and you may send another message. Eventually with such brief replys, you cop on and your response could be denied but the behaviour still continues or your response goes ignored.

He plays of your naviety and makes a fool of you. You question yourself on so much - like 'did he find me so repulsive that he couldn't finish with me by telling it to my face'? Did he do it for a laugh? etc

Ignoring someone doesn't achieve anything. It could mean anything - he's busy, sick, dead. Did the cat get his tongue? It's a pity the cat didn't get it when he wanted all those blow jobs! Awful, disgusting tactic.

I meant to add more earlier but I was dragged away from the net.

People are always changing. Situations too. Nothing ever really stays the same. And that goes for relationships too. People can change their minds or they may not even know what they want. Relationships have the potential to fail and end. Being open and honest about where things are when there is a change of heart is to be admired and respected. It would be disappointing a little for the person on the receiving end of being dumped but that can be over come easily, so long as the dumping has been done respectfully and like I wrote above, to be respected. Fcuk around and p1ss about the place when it comes to dumping and it would be a headwreck for the person on the receiving end and that has the potential to come back and bite you in the ass.

Froyo wrote: »
    You can't beat the classic way of being distant and slightly dickish until she ends it herself. :D

Thankfully I've grown up a bit since those days!

I had that done to me. It's horrible. Fcuking horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭dermiek

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I meant to add more earlier but I was dragged away from the net.

People are always changing. Situations too. Nothing ever really stays the same. And that goes for relationships too. People can change their minds or they may not even know what they want. Relationships have the potential to fail and end. Being open and honest about where things are when there is a change of heart is to be admired and respected. It would be disappointing a little for the person on the receiving end of being dumped but that can be over come easily, so long as the dumping has been done respectfully and like I wrote above, to be respected. Fcuk around and p1ss about the place when it comes to dumping and it would be a headwreck for the person on the receiving end and that has the potential to come back and bite you in the ass.

Dr.Phil, is that you?