Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should We All Avoid Opening Our Front Door

• 29-12-2012 9:06pm

6 times today

Chuggers, Local clubs , The Jesus Christ Church Travellers etc

i had the jesus christ church wanting to come in and wanting to help me around the house wtf ? is that about

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I don't think we should all avoid it, but I do think you have a good case not to, or avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Not to mention the TV licence inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I don't answer mine unless I'm expecting someone. It's never anything good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Hands up who discussed this last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Tell them to faaack off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Piper101

Don't answer my door as a rule unless I'm specifically expecting someone but then again I'm in an apartment and don't know my neighbours. Tend to avoid answering the door in my parents house as well, just keep quiet until they go away...I'm 31. I need help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Same. I rarely answer the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When I open the door, there tends to always be people there. They really annoy me.
    Piper101 wrote: »
    Don't answer my door as a rule unless I'm specifically expecting someone but then again I'm in an apartment and don't know my neighbours. Tend to avoid answering the door in my parents house as well, just keep quiet until they go away...I'm 31. I need help.

An honest outlook Id say. In that boat myself over Christmas. Knock on the door while minding the place for them. I say to fúck with them. Afew hours later I heard it was a local busy body on a Christmas visit, he arrived around later that night again anyway. Had I opened the door Id have to bring him in, entertain him and listen to all manner of horseshít about the state of the country and local GAA matters. So i avoided all that thankfully. I love it when a plan comes together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

No way! I'm still waiting for my new hot neighbour to come knock and ask me for some sugar

ColeTrain wrote: »

sure i started a similar thread last night got more of the same today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

Some people will complain about anything.

Big Bottom wrote: »
    Some people will complain about anything.

ill send the jesus christ lot around to yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Chuggers
    Travellers
    Religion

You going for AH bingo OP? :p

ColeTrain wrote: »

I put my hands up, but she said if I discussed it she would pisss on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Chuggers
    Travellers
    Religion

You going for AH bingo OP? :p

I had the government at my door ;)

BINGO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

tajd wrote: »
    6 times today

i had the jesus christ church wanting to come in and wanting to help me around the house wtf ? is that about

go away

Bring them in for tea. It's supposed to be the season of good will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I never use the front door. It was left unlocked for three months a couple of years ago before I noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Well that's a ****e way of looking at things.

Don't be that grumpy neighbour, answer the door and if its someone you don't want to talk to, then politely let them know.

I know people usually call or text before they call around now a days. It's still nice to get an unexpected random visitor you haven't seen in a while.

Some people need to stop texting crap like "I'm outside" before they knock on someone's door.
    Just open the door to a knock, it's not that hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I've never answered the door to someone and been pleasantly surprised so I just don't do it no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

slim223 wrote: »

Bring them in for tea. It's supposed to be the season of good will
    Or bring them all in at the same time for a chat.
    See if they end up eating each other's brains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The problem with my house is that I cant see whos at the door at all and sometimes it might be the landlord. Have only had 1 person coming to the door looking for money so its mostly to avoid the TV licence inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

When the doorbell rings unexpectedly I always get sense of doom. Never answer it. Dad did foolishly this evening, the first time we had our doorbell on weeks, travellers begging. Off again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Iv a video intercom...............feck off chuggers!

If your on the rob, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Someone called to my front door once. I was well impressed. Firstly, the driveway is mapped on google as a road it's that long and secondly the dogs hadn't eaten them on the way up. I didn't know wether to say hello or well done. Turned out they were lost. I videod their return trip and put it up on Youtube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Pottler wrote: »
    Someone called to my front door once. I was well impressed. Firstly, the driveway is mapped on google as a road it's that long and secondly the dogs hadn't eaten them on the way up. I didn't know wether to say hello or well done.
    One can only hope that you shot said useless dogs!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Peepholes are the best thing. If I don't know the person on the other side, I don't answer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I go around every year collecting for the residents association to maintain our estate. There's one barsteward who NEVER answers his door to us, but anytime we're out near his house planting or planning, the fooker comes running out to us demanding that we do something for him. Simple things like move a tree that's blocking his view or stop all the speeders from knocking down his children who for some bizzare reason think the road is a play area.
    We always eventually get the cash off him but he's made it so fooking hard that we've decided that we'll ignore all of his requests until he opens the bloody door when we ring.

Cedrus wrote: »
    I go around every year collecting for the residents association to maintain our estate. There's one barsteward who NEVER answers his door to us, but anytime we're out near his house planting or planning, the fooker comes running out to us demanding that we do something for him. Simple things like move a tree that's blocking his view or stop all the speeders from knocking down his children who for some bizzare reason think the road is a play area.
    We always eventually get the cash off him but he's made it so fooking hard that we've decided that we'll ignore all of his requests until he opens the bloody door when we ring.

I hate your kind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I hate your kind!

Murphy, No. 7 ?

Cedrus wrote: »
    Murphy, No. 7 ?

Eeerrr no <_< >_>

Il have the €15 by the end of the year, please dont piss on my bin again! :o

Rabies wrote: »
    Well that's a ****e way of looking at things.

Don't be that grumpy neighbour, answer the door and if its someone you don't want to talk to, then politely let them know.

I know people usually call or text before they call around now a days. It's still nice to get an unexpected random visitor you haven't seen in a while.

Some people need to stop texting crap like "I'm outside" before they knock on someone's door.
    Just open the door to a knock, it's not that hard.

In fairness, I emigrated. I don't get unexpected random visitors anymore. I used to back home but then my door was unlocked all the time and friends could walk right in. It's not the done thing in this country to call without prior arrangement and even if it was I have exactly 3 friends here. If my doorbell rings it's always someone selling Jesus, charity direct debits, double glazing, gutter cleaning or that little brat down the street trying to rehome whatever new pet she's bored of after 5 days.

But even in Ireland if I'd been answering the door all the time to god botherers, chuggers, salesmen and fickle irresponsible kids damn right I'd have been demanding people call or text first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 170 ✭✭Oh hai

We put up a sign saying door knockers would not be answered a few weeks before Christmas because we were so sick of it, there were nights we had three lots of charities calling to the door, it was so annoying. We haven't had any bother since. I know they have a job to do and they must get a lot of grief over it but it seems to be getting worse lately. I really don't know why they bother, I don't know anyone that's ever given money to them. We have our own charities that we choose to give money to and I find it very rude that these charities think it's okay to disturb people in their own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

6 times today

go away

If someone came to my door wanting to 'come in and help around the house' I would be on to the Garda station soonest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

To help the best thing you could do is install a cctv camera and hook up to your tv then you will kno0w who is outside.

There are a lot calling randomly to houses now to see if anyone is there and if no answer they let themselves in so security like lights alarms cameras and dogs are great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Oh hai wrote: »
    We put up a sign saying door knockers would not be answered a few weeks before Christmas because we were so sick of it, there were nights we had three lots of charities calling to the door, it was so annoying. We haven't had any bother since. I know they have a job to do and they must get a lot of grief over it but it seems to be getting worse lately. I really don't know why they bother, I don't know anyone that's ever given money to them. We have our own charities that we choose to give money to and I find it very rude that these charities think it's okay to disturb people in their own house.

Knockers will be shot and survivors will be shot again:D:D:D:D:cool::cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Don't answer the door if you're not expecting anyone.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I usually answer, if it's for utilities I say I am house sitting or don't have the authority to make decisions.

For charity ones I say that I already contribute, they can't verify.

For politicians I ask when do they stand on my extreme right wing anti immigration policies. Usually cuts the conversation short.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

OneArt wrote: »
    Peepholes are the best thing. If I don't know the person on the other side, I don't answer it.

Peepholes for peoples. Like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What if it's your hot new neighbour looking for a teabag?

WindSock wrote: »

Barry's, Lyon's or ballbag?

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

More of a back door man anyhow don't like to be seen still moochin around the old neighbourhood.

WindSock wrote: »

Being an emigrant my teabags are like gold bullion to me. I'll even eye my children up resentfully for having a cup of (my!) tea. If it's a hot neighbour looking a teabag they'd better be carrying a cake. A nice one too, with cream and fruit and chocolate shavings. None of this madeira shite.

And they'd still better text that they're outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Where To wrote: »
    I never use the front door. It was left unlocked for three months a couple of years ago before I noticed.

You climb out the window when leaving the house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

Froyo likes this.

And if for some reason I do open it, it's an automatic, polite 'not interested, thanks'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Arpa wrote: »
    You climb out the window when leaving the house?
    My house has more than one entrance.;) If the government introduce a back entrance tax I'm screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

If its the whores looking for you to sign up to anything,

Open Door

"Sorry Its Not My House"

Close Door

If its Beggars, Just a simple

"**** OFF" & Close Door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Video intercom on my door! Makes it easier to say "no thanks, not interested"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

CCTV is you friend.:cool: