Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will anyone be spreading slurry on tuesday?

• 28-12-2012 6:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

land here is totally saturated, have enough storage but bloody rain would want to stop soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

when i get back from the us im gona go at it weather permitting:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭bt12

will b wit the raingun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I thought the open day was from the 12th Jan onwards??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭misnormer

didnt house cattle till mid november hence enough capacity to mid march.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Didn't get much out of the tank so storage is getting small.
    Plan to allow stock access to fields mid Jan so it should get us bye.

Ground untravelable, pond on one of our driest fields, just appeared last week. All shores full all the time now. Each heavy shower and a culvert under the road bursts across two fields.

Feckin sick of it now.
    If we had better road access I'd be thinking of planting half the land. As it is the land that would be planted has no road access at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I thought the open day was from the 12th Jan onwards??
    was changed to 1st january for this year due to crap weather etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

in a bad way with it now,will be working rain gun too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Would def go if i could travel without doing damage,Have a nice bit of early grass for cows in early feb but its all yellow looking from the wet weather leeching all the nuterients out of it,Reckon if i could put about 2000 gls to the acre on it id have a meadow in a months time.There is growth away the whole time due to the unseasonably mild weather but there is very little np and k to drive growth.It has to dry up soon hasnt it ....have been saying that since last july though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Would def go if i could travel without doing damage,Have a nice bit of early grass for cows in early feb but its all yellow looking from the wet weather leeching all the nuterients out of it,Reckon if i could put about 2000 gls to the acre on it id have a meadow in a months time.There is growth away the whole time due to the unseasonably mild weather but there is very little np and k to drive growth.It has to dry up soon hasnt it ....have been saying that since last july though

It doesnt have to pick up.............
    ...... But it usually does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i think it would be mad to travel on to land at the min , i think we would need 5 or 6 dryish days to even travel on good dry land ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

6480 wrote: »
    i think it would be mad to travel on to land at the min , i think we would need 5 or 6 dryish days to even travel on good dry land ,

I was up Cavan way myself today. Serious flooding lying in fields. There must have been some rain overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Bizzum wrote: »
    I was up Cavan way myself today. Serious flooding lying in fields. There must have been some rain overnight.

Yep. We had awful downpours and wind again. Ponds in fields where never seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

whelan1 wrote: »
    land here is totally saturated, have enough storage but bloody rain would want to stop soon

Lots of lads spreading it the last few days around here anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

bbam wrote: »
    Ponds in fields where never seen before.

That's saying a lot considering the amount of Ponds ye normally have;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have never seen the land as wet as it was this morning. You could hardly walk across it.

Lots of lads spreading it the last few days around here anyway

its not great to be at when there is a ban in place but you have to do something when tanks fill up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

its not great to be at when there is a ban in place but you have to do something when tanks fill up

Lads down here throwing over neighbours hedges:eek: Have to go meself tomorrow:mad:

how many days where there in the closed period where it was actually suitable for spreading? .... anyone hear of any one being penalised for spreading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

pakalasa wrote: »
    I have never seen the land as wet as it was this morning. You could hardly walk across it.

I am the same. One particular high field where I never saw water lying before has a small lake in it. When will this decking weather change. Would love a bit if hardy frosty weather to dry things up a bit.

how many days where there in the closed period where it was actually suitable for spreading? .... anyone hear of any one being penalised for spreading?

how many days since last may to spread ,

true.... this calender farming is a total joke

the only thing i find with spreading slurry so early is that the value of it is lost and it works better in early march mixed up with pig slurry , i find it saves a good bit on bagged fertilzer for a silage crop

not much pig slurry round here:)

lots around here you could gets 6000 gal loads delivered into your yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

slurry will grow grass if it stays this mild. will be going at it myself in the next few days tanks all full.

Gaps will take a pounding but out it has to go.

Those overhedge booms are for weekend use only.

mf240 wrote: »
    slurry will grow grass if it stays this mild. will be going at it myself in the next few days tanks all full.

Gaps will take a pounding but out it has to go.

Those overhedge booms are for weekend use only.

i like the way you said that about the weekends , i just had a quick look at our tanks this evening the large tribble tank is only about half full and its 5 bays long and a 6 bay single tank is 3/4 full but lots of room for it in the tribble tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A few years ago a farmer got a penalty on his sfp and was fined over 6k for spreading in the closed period.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    A few years ago a farmer got a penalty on his sfp and was fined over 6k for spreading in the closed period.

take a few cattle to make up 6 k of a fine and they would be all the time on your back after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Cowmad

Ya going at it hell for leather tomorrow.spreading stubble ground so not too worried about damage. only problem we will have is one or two neighbours.

it might be giving a bit of dryer weather from wednesday onwards but who knows after all we got this year

got a message on facebook from a neighbour the other night that cows where being noisy on the outfarm!! calves had just been weaned :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Cowmad wrote: »
    Ya going at it hell for leather tomorrow.spreading stubble ground so not too worried about damage. only problem we will have is one or two neighbours.
    But doesn't spreading on waterlogged land carry the same fines as spreading in the closed period?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

i like the way you said that about the weekends , i just had a quick look at our tanks this evening the large tribble tank is only about half full and its 5 bays long and a 6 bay single tank is 3/4 full but lots of room for it in the tribble tank

Hard to beat plenty of capacity you can spread when it suits you and take in pig slurry if you wanted.

Could do with more feed space here might put up another tank and kill two birds.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    But doesn't spreading on waterlogged land carry the same fines as spreading in the closed period?
    that was my understanding... makes a total joke of the storage periods really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

that was my understanding... makes a total joke of the storage periods really
    I'm waiting until the 15th as the weather is bound to be good as the dept decreed it th end of the closed period.

td5man wrote: »
    I'm waiting until the 15th as the weather is bound to be good as the dept decreed it th end of the closed period.
    we would be lucky to be able to travel on our land on the 15 january!

mf240 wrote: »
    Hard to beat plenty of capacity you can spread when it suits you and take in pig slurry if you wanted.

Could do with more feed space here might put up another tank and kill two birds.
    we have had this rule hear in our area for the past 25 years we live and farm in what was once called the SHEELIN CATCHMENT AREA and it closed the 31 of october till the 1st march every year , to be fair it has saved the lake , as at the time 30 years ago it was common for a good dairy farmer to have a 200 sow uint with the herd of cows but thats long gone to big 1000 sow uints now , every other shed was a pig house around here , the local fisheries would keep and eye on the area with planes and their were heafy fines aswell , alot of the harm was done by large scale pig farmers at the time who didnt care about the small farmer , alot of harm was also caused by towns with bad sewage plants

we would be lucky to be able to travel on our land on the 15 january!
    Ha i've 2 tanks that need a few loads taken out of them day after tomorrow luck i have the stubble ground to spread on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Whelan which Tuesday are you talking about?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Whelan which Tuesday are you talking about?
    tomorrow

The ground's wet alright i confirmed my suspicions today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

was at slurry yesterday and was firm in the paddocks,marked the gaps alright for about 2 lenghts of tractor and tanker into paddocks!cid_cidImage_P__A3C2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

leg wax, I feel the same raging hatred for you right now that I normally reserve for stanflt! :p

leg wax wrote: »
    was at slurry yesterday and was firm in the paddocks,marked the gaps alright for about 2 lenghts of tractor and tanker into paddocks!cid_cidImage_P__A3C2.jpg

you got on well there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

was up the country for a few days and there were plenty spreading as i was coming down today

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Legs you've lots of grass there too. When is turnout?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

blue5000 wrote: »
    Legs you've lots of grass there too. When is turnout?
    not much here its very thin ,walked all the lands yesterday and i am way behind normal years,i will still aim for feb 20 to start to put them out in one's and two's .

i was mixing slurry for a neighbour today and pumping it out to another tank , i got him (even though he didnt want to at the start) to let all the cattle out of the shed as there was no breeze and with the mild weather the gas was lethel in the shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

Anyone see the slurry machine on ear to the ground, its some impressive bit of kit.

royalmeath wrote: »
    Anyone see the slurry machine on ear to the ground, its some impressive bit of kit.

it was but i think the slurry rules could tighten up even more in the future