Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards PW 2013 Draft discussion thread

• 24-12-2012 9:48am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Time to give the forum a little christmas present...

23516618.jpg

this thread will become the discussion thread eventually but for now its just a lil heads up about the sign up date... which will be Jan 2nd, 1pm. At such a time a sign up thread that will have been made but locked previous to said time will be opened and in order of who posts first you can sign up to take part.

there are probably links to previous drafts and maybe an evaluaton thread or 2 in the hot links stickies for anyone who wants to get up to speed on what it is or ask here. Any ideas for this years draft, be they potential stips or rule changes or whatever now would be a good time to raise them too before the boss nails down the rules for this year with the OP of the picks thread.

speaking of the boss, opening the sign up thread will be my last part running the draft (myself and D2D did it last year) although if any mod editing skills etc are needed ill be happy to assist the new fella... teamshadowclan

Merry Christams y'all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

cant wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Are former champs still guaranteed a shpot?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Here's some links to last year's draft topics in case anyone wants to see what happens in them...

Draft Picks
    Evaluation and Shows
    Discussion
    Results

Just to go further on what BH said, D2D and Campo have said they'll help out as well. I'll act as the "go to" guy for people with questions if any arise, and will act as a focal point for any of ye pests who need answers :P Anything big and I can run it by everyone as well, provided thats ok with everyone else? Basically, use me as a filter and I'll make sure the bigger topics get passed on for more discussion.
    Are former champs still guaranteed a shpot?

I'd imagine the fairest option there would be they get their spot on the list automatically, but maybe should still post to let it be known they want to participate? So maybe the previous champs, if they are online, could drop someone (maybe BH, since he's opening the Sign up topic) a word saying they'd like to sign up? So champions get a pre-sign-up option? Cause am I right in saying there's one or two previous winners who aren't even active on the boards any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

I look more forward to this than Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

I'm only helping out with the Draft this year but for anyone who hasn't done it before, definitely get your place for this year and prepare for laughs, anguish, heart-break and joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,018 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Tbc ....................................................... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

We as PW Boardsies breathe every breath of our accounts for nights like tonight...for nights like the Draft is coming thread.

The Draft is called the granddaddy of them all and you stand on the grandest stage of 'em all. It's that time of year, when you're on the card of Draft participants, that you stand before a good few people, and you stand before your peers, and it lets people know that you mean somethin'.

The Draft is the Sam Maguire of professional wrestling forums.

It's the McCarthy Cup of professional wrestling forums.

It's the tournament of all tournaments.

The Draft conjures up so many memories of so many special moments. orestes picking Lance Storm that year for example...

The very first Draft, I watched it on a computer screen, and I had goosebumps then just as I've had every single Draft that I've had the privilege and honour of working at...

At the PW Draft number III, 93000 people watching the PW Draft Discussion thread, when Gerard.C got jaykhunter over his head and bodyslammed him to take the title, the PW community stood in awe...

The Draft...it's fever man...

There's the chance to Draft X-Factor, that intangible, you can't explain you just have to feel it...'

It's an adrenaline rush every time I click through to that forum...

It's a time to shine and take that Draft pick and make it mean somethin'...

The Draft is a time to give a career performance that no one who is playing the game will ever, ever forget...

My favourite Draft moment has yet to be seen...

The Draft is the chance to live forever or unless the Mayans say otherwise

As the current reigning and defending Boards PW Draft Champion of the World I would like to let the PW Multiverse know that I would be interested in defending my crown in the 2013 contest if there is a spot available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭lebowskilite

I desperately want to be in it this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I desperately want to know what the **** you are talking about!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I desperately want to know what the **** you are talking about!

Check the links in teamshadowclans post above for more info, but essentially it's a PW fantasy draft where we take turns trying to draft wrestlers to create the best roster possible which would then be judged based off the example ppv card we can produce at the end of it all

Interesting. I tried the links last night but they wouldn't work for me. Most likely a problem at my end. So if I am online at that time on the 2nd I will be able to register? Sounds like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Really good fun this..just remembered I finished fourth last year...was well chuffed. Already have a couple of ideas for this one.;)

What do we win?

The respect of your peers? :D

What do we win?

€20 voucher for Bennigans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

really enjoyed it last year, had some great matches set up (Aries V Lethal, Natural Disasters Vs Giant Haystacks, Hurricane & Rosie Vs Bossman & The Mountie, Brooklyn Brawler Vs Brother Midnight, etc) but for personal reasons never got the time to finish it.
    so I won't partake this year, as I don't want to start what I ccan't be sure of finishing, but will be following intently, and will vote on the final shows if allowed to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Win or lose (or tie for 7th) last year was my one and done draft experience so no draft for me this year (plus I probably won't have time). I'm looking forward to reading it though, good luck everybody.

remember lads this will turn into the discussion thread so before it starts (now) would be the time to make any suggestions for this years incarnations be they stip ideas, potential rule changes (maybe to remove loopholes previously used for picks) or whatever. Once the draft has begun, no good complaining about rules, better stip ideas or draftee's being ineligable etc

I still think the way theres a draw every round is too random. I think there should be a draw then the following round reverse the order. It especially softens the blow if being last say in the first round.

In other words still have a draw every two rounds but reverse the order for "even" rounds. I think it'd make the distribution of talent more homogenous and things would move faster too. Sometimes the draft starts to drag in the later rounds as enthusiasm wanes and people start to post less often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I suggest that Gimmick isnt allowed choose any stips.

I still think the way theres a draw every round is too random. I think there should be a draw then the following round reverse the order. It especially softens the blow if being last say in the first round.

In other words still have a draw every two rounds but reverse the order for "even" rounds. I think it'd make the distribution of talent more homogenous and things would move faster too. Sometimes the draft starts to drag in the later rounds as enthusiasm wanes and people start to post less often.

I like the way that the draft is random as it throws up some many possibilities regarding picks. Do you plan your roster out beforehand and pray your picks are available when you're up or do you just do it based on availability at the time? Back in the 2011 draft, my average for the first 10 rounds was around 15.7 (yeah, really low) but I was really happy with the roster I got. I do like that idea though and we could definitely use that as a stip for 2 rounds i.e Round Reversal.

Regarding the draft taking too long in later rounds... There does seem to be a trend of this happening but we try to keep it going and enforce the "24 hour rule" (if you don't pick within the time, you lose the pick.)
    I suggest that Gimmick isnt allowed choose any stips.

To be fair to gimmick, he didn't try to intentionally wreck the draft. His idea was original but people weren't keen on it. Just the way it goes

I like the way that the draft is random as it throws up some many possibilities regarding picks. Do you plan your roster out beforehand and pray your picks are available when you're up or do you just do it based on availability at the time? Back in the 2011 draft, my average for the first 10 rounds was around 15.7 (yeah, really low) but I was really happy with the roster I got. I do like that idea though and we could definitely use that as a stip for 2 rounds i.e Round Reversal.

Regarding the draft taking too long in later rounds... There does seem to be a trend of this happening but we try to keep it going and enforce the "24 hour rule" (if you don't pick within the time, you lose the pick.)

I tend not to plan too much and just analyse whos available as my turn approaches. You can do it a bit more as the game goes deeper but trying to over plan things at the start is just setting yourself up for disappointment.

How about a stip round where u have to pick a tag team and that team can have a world champion in it , also suggest AWA is added to world champion list

For the first two rounds I'd agree with. I've been in the bottom 5 picks for the first round for the last 3 years.

I would definitely enforce the 24 hour rule. Everyone knows the rules before they enter and there are plenty of people to message your picks to if you know you're not going to be online. The draft dragged far too long in the latter stages last year.

Also more stips the better. Love an ol' stip me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

I cant wait for a good read of this again this year, id never have enough wrestling knowledge to take part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I cant wait for a good read of this again this year, id never have enough wrestling knowledge to take part

Give it a go anyway, you can always give random guys you know little about a fresh gimmick. Can be interesting in its own way. I picked a few guys last year I knew virtually nothing about (eg Sammartino) but did a bit of research (ahem..Wikipedia :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Give it a go anyway, you can always give random guys you know little about a fresh gimmick. Can be interesting in its own way. I picked a few guys last year I knew virtually nothing about (eg Sammartino) but did a bit of research (ahem..Wikipedia :D).

Cheers but I enjoyed the reads last year . Il stick to that for one more and try and learn a bit more and throw my name next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Ill be giving it a whirl again this year, especially since my free time is plentiful this year (20 minute commutes are much nicer than 3 hour ones :D )

glenjamin wrote: »
    €20 voucher for Bennigans.

Great, would you like to have a candle-lit dinner with me there when I win the competition?

he will if you give him three fiddy, o ma gawd, Glenjamin is the lock ness monster...

anywhoo, having someone note that they didnt think they have the wrestling knowledge to compete yet, just thought id note that nobody expects you to be the next Vinnie Mac and people dont really run down anyone elses shows (with the exception of those terrible indy MNG & WECWF shows :pac: ) plus taking part is actually one of the best ways to expand your wrestling knowledge. I've stated before on here I honestly knew nothing about **2 japanese wrestlers** (im going to avoid naming names in this thread from this point on but id say most know who they were) before the drafts started on here and yet i drafted them both the last 2 years running so suffice to say I def increased my wrestling knowlege simply by being in previous drafts.

I like the idea of at least occasional reversing the order of picks in a round. For instance you could have 2 stip rds back to back, for example as has happened before the pre 70s round and the celeb rd and ensure that even if someone gets a bad draw and cant get any legend they want they could atleast have the option of taking a top celeb pick

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

How many rounds are there versus number of people taking part? Could everyone not be assigned a first round pick at the start? So for example the bostoncrab gets pick one in round one, Dare gets 1st pick in round 2 and so on.

then you can go ahead with the normal draw of names (excluding pre determined 1st place name) and everyone gets at least one good draw.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    How many rounds are there versus number of people taking part? Could everyone not be assigned a first round pick at the start? So for example the bostoncrab gets pick one in round one, Dare gets 1st pick in round 2 and so on.

then you can go ahead with the normal draw of names (excluding pre determined 1st place name) and everyone gets at least one good draw.

There's 15 rounds and 20 people so that really can't work.

How many stip rounds - 5, more?

If 5 you could pre draw one and two for the 10 normal rounds and a fully open draw for the stips rounds.

only fair options are open draws all the way or giving everyone a guarantee of a good draw at some stage.

Being first only has real value in certain rounds though - maybe the first round; the celebrity and the pre 70's round.

I think the idea of having some of these round back to back with reverse order is a fair and sound one.

on the PW one anyway there has always been 20 drafters and 15/16 rounds so itd be difficult to keep everyone happy. Random or reversed random (2rds) atleast mean everyone has the same chance and its all down to luck to take the blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I think if there is going to be a reverse order process it would be best to clarify what the most significant rounds are going to be and then ensure that the people in the top half of one of these rounds are bottom half for one of the other major rounds.

Myself and a few others on here were involved in a World Cup Draft game on the soccer forum and I recall there were complaints from some about the order of significant rounds.

There was a World Cup legends round done in Round 7 and the complaint was that those who got a good order in the First Round also found themselves with a good order for this crucial legends Round.

As I recall it worked out pretty nicely for me because I was ranked highly in Rd 1 and 7 but I could understand the frustration of someone ranked in the bottom tier for both.

I would suggest to the organisers of this year's one that if they are doing a reverse order system, work out now what the most crucial rounds will be - First Round is obvious; other stip rounds have to be determined - and then try and ensure that whoever is ranked top half in Rd 1 is ranked in the bottom half for one of the big stip rounds later on.

At most, we'd probably be looking at around 5/6 stip rounds (Debut before X year, Debut after X year, Celeb round, Tag Team only and 1-2 more). Once we've decided on the full schedule for the draft, we'll let ye know for definite but I'm guessing that 2 stip rounds will be back-to-back and that the round reversal draw will take place then.

I think if there is going to be a reverse order process it would be best to clarify what the most significant rounds are going to be and then ensure that the people in the top half of one of these rounds are bottom half for one of the other major rounds.

Myself and a few others on here were involved in a World Cup Draft game on the soccer forum and I recall there were complaints from some about the order of significant rounds.

There was a World Cup legends round done in Round 7 and the complaint was that those who got a good order in the First Round also found themselves with a good order for this crucial legends Round.

As I recall it worked out pretty nicely for me because I was ranked highly in Rd 1 and 7 but I could understand the frustration of someone ranked in the bottom tier for both.

I would suggest to the organisers of this year's one that if they are doing a reverse order system, work out now what the most crucial rounds will be - First Round is obvious; other stip rounds have to be determined - and then try and ensure that whoever is ranked top half in Rd 1 is ranked in the bottom half for one of the big stip rounds later on.
    Perfectly put. If its planned well ahead it should work well.

Id also like to say at this stage that there won't be any of the acting the bollix from me that there was last year. I lost the run of myself there for a bit and I'm sorry for any hassle caused

Just out of interest though, how do we deal with people who get the mid-round numbers?

I get the idea behind reversing the order over two rounds, but I think someone brought up before that it can be tough for people who get picks 8-12, since it means they get stuck in the middle for both stips with no chance of getting the top draws.

It could also mean that, for example, if someone got number 20, they then get number 1, meaning they get two picks back-to-back. That, imo, is a massive advantage to have (in such a way I'd nearly want number 20 in the first round :P) since it means they get to handpick a feud, rather than an individual. Maybe it's just me, but half the "fun" is picking someone and then hoping beyond hope your next dream pick stays forgotten for a while :P

Unsurprisingly based on my post, I'm not overly gone on the reversal idea. I can see the point of the pro-reverse though and it's the type of thing we should probably go with the majority desire, I think. Maybe, once it's been discussed throughly, we could open up a poll and let people vote on the idea?

Is getting two tenth place picks all that bad. If the two rounds in question were say the first round and the pre 70's round you'd be guaranteed an excellent main event with two huge stars.

I think getting to hand pick a feud is nice compensation for being drawn last in Round 1 while everyone else hovers up the big names!

What if instead of 15 picks you get 20 or limit places to 15 then everyone will get a N0.1 pick at some stage

Tbh, the reason the draft has its own charm is the "un-predictability" of it and you have to plan your roster based on your draw. I think that having a "Round Reversal" is fine in not creating a big dis-advantage but limiting numbers down so each person gets a No1 pick is going a bit far imo. I'm happy to have the Round Reversal in the game for back-to-back stip rounds to help lessen the impact of a bad draw but I'd like if we kept the random-ness in the game

campo wrote: »
    What if instead of 15 picks you get 20 or limit places to 15 then everyone will get a N0.1 pick at some stage

As in you get drawn 15th, then 14th and so on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭lebowskilite

I think there needs to be a lot less randomness in the picks than last year (which I didn't take part in, but watched). I could easily create a model on a spreadsheet that would group people in clusters of 5 together and give each cluster a fair position in the picks. I would weight it so that first round positioning means more than later rounds, etc, and I could make sure that no one goes through a sustained period of high or low placement. Teamshadowclan would have to draw people into the clusters and then within the clusters the positions would have to be random each round (i.e, 1st to 5th) but that would still be a lot fairer than just randomly being 20th in round 1 and having no compensation for it.

What do people think? I realise this uses MATHEMATICS but it won't bite really. If there's an easy way to stop people potentially getting annoyed in what should be an enjoyable excercise then why not take the opportunity?

Omg, 25 hours to go :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Why not make a limited round reversal? Lets say the 16 - 20 gets randomed for position 1 - 5, the 11 - 15 for the 6 - 10 etc. Still adds a bit of random to it all but gives people with bad luck in one round a reasonble high number the next round to even it out with out a guarantee which position you get; require a bit more work (i.e. only use in limited circumstances) but could be used for stip rounds only (i.e. six rounds, three pairs) for example.

We're just finalising on coming up with the stip rounds for this year. All I can say is that there'll be some cool surprises in store ;):D

If the randomness of the draw was removed would ye not miss it?

Is it not part of the fun - waiting for the draw to see who gets what pick?

If the randomness of the draw was removed would ye not miss it?

Is it not part of the fun - waiting for the draw to see who gets what pick?

See, this is my mindset as well. The randomness is a key feature of the draft. The joy of getting number one. The fear of having to wait when you get a long pick. I think in terms of keeping the game fair, simple and fun, it works.

So here's where we are then at the moment; the draw remains random.

THAT SAID, There will be two rounds within the competition where the draw isn't random however. One of these, as suggested a while back, will be when we've got two stip rounds back to back. The picks will be reversed in the second round so if you get a bad draw in one of the rounds, you're good for the second.

The second round where it's not random...well, that's something ye'll have to wait and see ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Spongey1975

I've been thinking about this for the last 2 days and still unsure if i want to enter. I have the time and if i get one particular superstar i reckon i have a good storyline for him but the way things ended last year really took the enjoyment out of it

As for the randomness of the draws. I have been on the bottom end of this the last 2 years and in particular the stip rounds and i actually enjoy the challenge it presents. I wouldnt want it changed.

I would add for the 24 hour rule, once the 24 hours lapse then the next man up gets to choose. Rather than put that guy to the back of the round let him pick whenever he does get online. He obviously misses out on the wrestlers that have been picked in his absence but at least the draft wont be held up further

Also draft picks cant be traded. You can make a behind the scenes trade that involves you picking someone that your trading partner wants but trade doesnt come official until he's picked. This really only affects people who have drafted the max of 5 tag teams so he cant draft a sixth team thats really gonna be traded

I would also like to see veto power for trades that are obviously one sided (think last year). That veto power rests with whoever is monitoring this game that isnt playing so bias cant come into it