Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars with only one headlamp working.

• 22-12-2012 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭

Has anyone else noticed an increase in the number of cars with only one headlamp working?
    I don't know if there is an increase, but I am noticing it more, and on the cold rainy dark evenings, it kinda makes it hard to judge distances to the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

it bugs the fcuk out of me, particularly the feckers who decide the best way to compensate for a non-working headlight is to drive around with their foglights on the whole time rather than spending a couple of quid and 5 minutes replacing the broken bulb. :mad:

my guess would be that people have their lights on longer due to longer dark driving times in general because of the time of year, so more wear and tear = more bulbs going and more hours using them means more likely that you'll see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

stoneill wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed an increase in the number of cars with only one headlamp working?
    I don't know if there is an increase, but I am noticing it more, and on the cold rainy dark evenings, it kinda makes it hard to judge distances to the cars.

Bulbs have a defined life span
    Cold weather hastens the failure of bulbs due to temperature differences
    Also moisture can enter bulb holders and lead to a failure.
    Many modern cars are very hard to change out bulbs in due to stupid designs and tight modern engine compartments.
    Op .... This is the darkest period of the year , don't be supprised to see this!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Cops should be pulling these guys and slapping them with fines...

Doom wrote: »
    they should be slapping them in the face imho, they're really annoying. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Have noticed a huge increase in this over the last few years.
    Gardai dont seem to bother with this too much anymore.
    tend to leave it to the NCT testers now.

interesting point to note, watch for the reg numbers of cars with one light.
    seem mostly to be the newer models, especially in the 2-4 year old bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

barney 20v wrote: »
    Many modern cars are very hard to change out bulbs in due to stupid designs and tight modern engine compartments.
    Op .... This is the darkest period of the year , don't be supprised to see this!

I understand this - but this winter it seems to me to be a lot more that previous years. I'm around long enough to remember the pre-NCT days, and even then I don't remember the amount of cars with defective lights.
    washman3 wrote: »
    Have noticed a huge increase in this over the last few years.
    Gardai dont seem to bother with this too much anymore.
    tend to leave it to the NCT testers now.

interesting point to note, watch for the reg numbers of cars with one light.
    seem mostly to be the newer models, especially in the 2-4 year old bracket.

That's what I have noticed - newer cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Someone posted last year about counting the cars meeting you with missing/fog lights. They said try to get to 10. The last few days I've rarely got to 4 before meeting a cyclops.

It's dangerous meeting them on unlit roads. I rather when they do turn on their fogs so at least you know how wide they are, the ones with the offside completely dead should be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

there's no ticket/fine for lighting,
    it's a Summons,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

vibe666 wrote: »
    it bugs the fcuk out of me, particularly the feckers who decide the best way to compensate for a non-working headlight is to drive around with their foglights on the whole time rather than spending a couple of quid and 5 minutes replacing the broken bulb. :mad:

I've been guilty of this in the past week, but, it had nothing to do with not wanting to spend a couple of euro fixing it. Bloody wiring f*cked up in one of the lights, and it was a few days before mechanic could fix it.

I'd rather see a system where, if a Guard sees it, they issue you with an order to get it fixed within 10 days. If you don't, you get points and a fine. Sometimes, its not possible to get it fixed that day, you shouldn't be punished for that imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

This is bad alright, but the worst is the ****ers with fog lights on a rainy day, double the glare from the road as well.
    It sounds bad but I have taken to turning on my headlights when they're coming against me and my rear fogs on when they're behind me....pricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

there seems to be an awful lot of this lately

why a summons?

M cebee wrote: »
    there seems to be an awful lot of this lately

why a summons?

Its not a fixed penalty offence under the Road Traffic Act, so to deal with it a summons must be issued and it dealt with in court. Utter madness. The UK have improvement orders, and they work rather well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

We should establish a national signal to wreck their heads, flash your lights 3 times at an oncoming one headlight car or turn your rear fog light on 3 times if they are behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

I just checked my wifes headlamps and they are really fine but I am gonna flash her any way.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I've noticed a good few F10 BMW 5 Series with headlights out (F10 is the current model 5 Series). The oldest of them is only 3 years old. It's like the VW Golf rear lights from '92-'98, they seemed to blow bulbs wholesale.
    Three things I think contribute to the increase in failed bulbs:
    - Xenon bulbs blowing, these cost €100 for a bulb.
    - Awkward replacement procedures like Renaults, bumpers have to be removed to change bulbs.
    - People just don't have the cash to spare & are cutting out things they see as unnecessary or low priority.

It is dangerous enough on a dark wet night approaching a single lighted car though. They are asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

MarkMc wrote: »

I'd rather see a system where, if a Guard sees it, they issue you with an order to get it fixed within 10 days. If you don't, you get points and a fine. Sometimes, its not possible to get it fixed that day, you shouldn't be punished for that imo.

That would be the sensible option. Can't believe people want drivers fined because they are unlucky enough to have a bulb blow. What would you rather they do, abandon the car as soon as they notice the bulb has blown and walk the rest of their journey ? Bulbs blow, particularly in wet conditions, and id imagine the vast majority of drivers will have them replaced as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Awkward replacement procedures like Renaults, bumpers have to be removed to change bulbs.

Cars should not be approved unless bulbs can be replaced easily and there should be warning light on the dash if one goes as well.
    That would be the sensible option. Can't believe people want drivers fined because they are unlucky enough to have a bulb blow.

In a variety of countries you are required to have spare bulbs with you.

10 days to get it fixed would be taking the piss, the car isn't right and you shouldn't be driving around in it for longer than necessary to get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

I thought it was just me, counted 8 today in 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I see a lot of them around too, but maybe some people don't actually know they have a light out?

I think it would be a good idea if the Gardai actually stopped a few and pointed it out to them.

I flash the odd one, but not sure if they know that's what I'm hinting at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

I drive in Dublin city, I'd say it is about 1 in every 6 cars. Quite easy to mistake one for a motorbike. The problem seems to be more about front lamps than rears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Fieldsman

The worst are the ones with the outside headlight not working,you think it's a motor cycle coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I always carry spare bulbs but have a Renault.
    Took me 90 minutes recently to change my bulbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Duiske wrote: »
    That would be the sensible option. Can't believe people want drivers fined because they are unlucky enough to have a bulb blow. What would you rather they do, abandon the car as soon as they notice the bulb has blown and walk the rest of their journey ? Bulbs blow, particularly in wet conditions, and id imagine the vast majority of drivers will have them replaced as soon as possible.

I personally believe the best option is to carry spares in the car, that way you can swap it over when it goes and you won't have people driving around for 9 days and only fixing it on the 10th day to show to the Guards. I think it's a really bad idea to stop someone for a faulty headlight and then leave them off for a week and a half to fix it. Car isn't road worthy so it should be held in place until daylight and safer to drive.

ardmacha wrote: »

Cars should not be approved unless bulbs can be replaced easily and there should be warning light on the dash if one goes as well.

10 days to get it fixed would be taking the piss, the car isn't right and you shouldn't be driving around in it for longer than necessary to get home.

With my example, I'd have needed nearly that, bulb went on friday night. Mechanics on Saturday. He had to order a part, so it was tuesday by the time he was able to fix it. I stuck my fog lights on, because I had no other choice. I have to get to work and back, and because we live in this sh/tty country, public transport isn't an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I personally believe the best option is to carry spares in the car, that way you can swap it over when it goes and you won't have people driving around for 9 days and only fixing it on the 10th day to show to the Guards. I think it's a really bad idea to stop someone for a faulty headlight and then leave them off for a week and a half to fix it. Car isn't road worthy so it should be held in place until daylight and safer to drive.

The problem is some people have never opened their bonnet and wouldnt know how to change a bulb. Perhaps you should be able to change a bulb as part of the driving test.

Duiske wrote: »
    Bulbs blow, particularly in wet conditions, and id imagine the vast majority of drivers will have them replaced as soon as possible.
    that's a vivid imagination you've got there! :D

seriously though, there's far too many people with blown bulbs driving around for them to have all just blown that day/night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The main problem IMO is not that bulbs are difficult to change or expensive etc, its that many people place things like vehicle maintenance or safety so low down their list of importance that the thought of of a bulb not working simply never enters their head.

I mean are you telling me that people with a bulb out never stop in traffic behind another car or park nose up to a wall or something where it would be glaringly(excuse the pun) obvious that there was a headlight bulb out.

On my drive home I've often had to pull over and clean my headlights during this damp sh1tty weather because I couldn't see properly never mind driving with one not working at all.

I do keep spare bulbs in the glovebox and when parking or if I have a truck/bus/wall behind me I always check that tail lights/brake lights are working but I suspect I'm in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'll cop it straight away, even if one brake light is out ill spot it when reversing at night. Some people just don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

My car, Renault Clio, is so difficult to change bulbs. For years I always had to bring it to the dealer to be changed. I got fed up with this and got their mechanic to show me how to do it, even he struggled with it!
    last year, was driving around with one front light for a few days, when the second one went on a Sunday night. Luckily there was still a petrol station open which sold bulbs. Took three of us to get a bulb sort of in so that we had barely enough light to drive home.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'll cop it straight away, even if one brake light is out ill spot it when reversing at night. Some people just don't care.

I see it in work all the time, people come in saying something happened their headlights, they just stopped working but you find that the bulbs are just gone and all voltage/wires etc are fine and you know that in fact they have likely had one bulb gone for ages and only notice an issue when the second bulb blows:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Impossible to enforce given that a bulb could go at any time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Id say the colder weather effect would be insignificant if not a zero effect.

Vibration while on/hot is a big factor probably, and they are on more in the winter, and many in the summer probably dont need lights at all for the daily drive, so its all far more noticeable in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

To be honest some people live in a cocoon as regards road safety . There is an awful lot of cars around with a blown headlight , equally though i'm a postie and recently enough I happened to notice in one of the more well to do estates in cork the amount of cars with dangerously low thread on tyres . Strange how so many people seem to have a subconscious feeling that general road safety guidelines don't apply to them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

this bugs the hell out of me

it is so easy to change a car bulb

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    this bugs the hell out of me

it is so easy to change a car bulb

Its even easier to get into the car and drive with one gone though. For many anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

ardmacha wrote: »

Fully agree with you on the first part - changing a bulb should never take more than 5 minutes and not require having to pull half the front end off first or going in through wheel arches, or cutting your hand to shreds because some idiot on a PC in the design studio put the water bottle right behind the headlight unit :mad:

The 10 days seems fair enough though - as in MarkMc's case below and also for example this week where a lot of places will be closed/working much shorter hours until we get back to "normal" on the 2nd of January.
    MarkMc wrote: »
    With my example, I'd have needed nearly that, bulb went on friday night. Mechanics on Saturday. He had to order a part, so it was tuesday by the time he was able to fix it. I stuck my fog lights on, because I had no other choice. I have to get to work and back, and because we live in this sh/tty country, public transport isn't an option.
    john47832 wrote: »
    Impossible to enforce given that a bulb could go at any time...

Myself I have a spare set in the glovebox, gloves and the expectation that when the driver's side inevitably goes again (side note: is it just my 06 Passat that seems to eat offside bulbs?) I'll be swearing at it for a half hour before I get it sorted (I have the headlights where the fitting screws on to the back of the unit rather than clips in - plus side: more secure fitting, down side: massively awkward trying to get both sides on the thread) :(

Also because our boys n girls in blue rarely take an interest in enforcing anything motor related that doesn't involve sitting at the side of the (nice, straight, wide) road/motorway anyway.

Unless it's the last week of the quarter/quota of course!

I see it in work all the time, people come in saying something happened their headlights, they just stopped working but you find that the bulbs are just gone and all voltage/wires etc are fine and you know that in fact they have likely had one bulb gone for ages and only notice an issue when the second bulb blows:rolleyes:

Its surprising cars dont have a monitor in them to show a headlamp is gone, as many wont notice a single one gone alright. Too many drivers with not enough awareness of whats going on around them.

i've had cars where it takes 2 minutes to change a bulb and other cars where you have to take out the washer bottle and/or battery just to be able to get you fingers in to where the bulb is and still end up cutting the hands off yourself doing it.

if you're in a position where you can't do it easily yourself, just drive to your nearest halfords or local garage and get them to do it, they only charge a couple of quid and if it's a hard bulb to change then you'll definitely get your moneys worth, even if you do pay a bit over the odds for the bulbs as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Also because our boys n girls in blue rarely take an interest in enforcing anything motor related that doesn't involve sitting at the side of the (nice, straight, wide) road/motorway anyway.

Unless it's the last week of the quarter/quota of course!
    Wow, didn't take long for you to start Garda bashing :)

Are they set with targets? Can you show me some evidence of that please?

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Its surprising cars dont have a monitor in them to show a headlamp is gone, as many wont notice a single one gone alright. Too many drivers with not enough awareness of whats going on around them.

Many modern cars do, some premium cars have had for years(since the late 80's).

MugMugs wrote: »
    Wow, didn't take long for you to start Garda bashing :)

Are they set with targets? Can you show me some evidence of that please?
    Well of course as is usual here you won't believe me anyway without "links" but sure :rolleyes:

The Garda station in Navan (for example) is right across the road from the post office. Between the 2 is a roundabout.

What happens most of the time is people mount the kerb in front of the post office or just abandon the car outside it, while they go in "for just a minute"

Most of the time these people/cars are left unmolested - except for the last week of the quarter.. then there's a Garda out ticketing. Funny that! Saw that happen for 4 years as I worked beside the place.

Or how about the thread in the last few days where the OP (and everyone else in the thread) expressed astonishment over a bike cop actually pulling someone in for sitting in the outside lane with no other cars around.

Or the thread where someone got cut up by a car driving all the way round a roundabout in the left lane in full view of a Garda car but nothing was done

Or the reports where AGS members are apparently regularly quashing penalty points for mates/family/"famous" people - oh wait.. that one was actually reported BY AGS staff!

Of course, as is the norm with anything that paints our keystone cops brigade in a negative light on this site, unless you have a youtube video or link for the keyboard warriors then you must be "garda bashing", have a grudge etc.

For the record.. I have no penalty points and never been stopped by anything more than the extremely rare checkpoint, or one encounter with an off-duty member who thought his badge allowed him to try and get his car into my backseat on the N4 in heavy but moving traffic ... but I despise incompetence, laziness, corruption or apathy in a job where decisions that are made have such potentially serious consequences for people.

But by all means, continue to throw attempts to derail the point around anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

But by all means, continue to throw attempts to derail the point around anyway.
    You brought it up, All I did was ask for a link.

I know a guy who knows a fella who is friends with another bloke who breeds goats who drove with no headlights from Dublin to Leitrim once and never got touched by the Gardai! Shocking stuff really.

Many modern cars do, some premium cars have had for years(since the late 80's).

Yea its a simple thing to include, the same way the indicator monitoring works, through current monitoring.

It could be done to show it even with the lights off. Maybe the cars you mention do that also.

The only time I drive modern cars is 10 years after they are out:)

MugMugs wrote: »
    You brought it up, All I did was ask for a link.

I know a guy who knows a fella who is friends with another bloke who breeds goats who drove with no headlights from Dublin to Leitrim once and never got touched by the Gardai! Shocking stuff really.

Your last paragraph there is exactly what I'm talking about - the "if you don't have a link it mustn't be true" attitude that is so prevalent on this board to anything related to the conduct of AGS

But by all means, continue to sit there thinking that people are posting threads of Garda misconduct simply because they have a grudge/made it up/whatever.

It's actually the "default" response in this country - hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. Sure look at the response to the press conference this week by the TD's on the penalty points fixing - rather than focussing on the issues raised and the potentially serious consequences to the system itself and the integrity of AGS, let's focus on them being "lefties" or Wallace's tax bill.

It's like Kenny and Gilmore shouting down Gerry Adams and co (who like them or not, do have some valid points to make) with accusations about Northern Bank or where the bodies are buried etc - maybe we need a "attack the post, not the poster" rule in government too? No wonder this country is in the mess it is.

Anyway, I've derailed this thread enough for one day but I've made my point I think

Yea its a simple thing to include, the same way the indicator monitoring works, through current monitoring.

It could be done to show it even with the lights off. Maybe the cars you mention do that also.

The only time I drive modern cars is 10 years after they are out:)

It will be mandatory soon, amongst other driver warnings such as tyre pressures etc.

With regards driving with no lights on at all, A few years ago a guy was in work getting something done(can't remember what) and he asked me if I could show him how to turn the lights on as he had just bought the car, I showed him and in the course of conversation asked him when he bought it, his answer.....3 weeks ago:o

It will be mandatory soon, amongst other driver warnings such as tyre pressures etc.

Yea it seems a good idea for such simple items to include, particularly with the lights anyway.
    With regards driving with no lights on at all, A few years ago a guy was in work getting something done(can't remember what) and he asked me if I could show him how to turn the lights on as he had just bought the car, I showed him and in the course of conversation asked him when he bought it, his answer.....3 weeks ago

It would make ye wonder sometimes, what people are thinking. I can imagine what you were thinking when he asked that, and said he had it 3 weeks

Yea it seems a good idea for such simple items to include, particularly with the lights anyway.

Agree, particularly if they're soon to become mandatory. As it stands things like "tire pressure warning" are treated as an expensive extra by a lot of manufacturers, or bundled in with something completely unrelated in the options list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Such a stupid idea, a bulb can go any time.
    And, I've seen cops driving with 1 light too.

Agree, particularly if they're soon to become mandatory. As it stands things like "tire pressure warning" are treated as an expensive extra by a lot of manufacturers, or bundled in with something completely unrelated in the options list.

All new cars built after jan 2013 to be sold in Europe have to have this as standard and I believe the bulb warning and brake wear warnings are to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

And daylight running lights lead to filaments getting very hot and a bad bump will break them