Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had to put this poor fecker out of it's misery

• 22-12-2012 5:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭

Well lads I was out for a shot with a friend of mine and came across this poor unfortunate. I would imagine it is from the result of poaching or someone shooting the mother and then messing up the second shot on the calf. But there was a hind about 50m away so i don't know. I would shoot the calf first if i were going to take both, I would'nt though. Anyway someone took a shot at it and blew it's lower leg off and bits of the fragmented bullet entered the leg. The smell off the leg was absolutely rank, Gangrene had set in. I don't know why someone would want to take a shot at a deer this young.:confused:
    Anyway the 3030 dropped it on the spot like a sack of spuds.:) I went long range on this shot 60m:eek::D:pac:
    I hope I don't come across this sort of thing again.:mad:
    [IMG][/img]legnv.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    [IMG][/img]dsc00521ah.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Hi juice looking at the injury i have seen this type before result of wire fences and being left hanging the chaffing inside of the leg . The hind has a place to cross and has jumped it regularly but when her calf is born she changes her route but once the season starts the go back to there normal feeding grounds hind jumps fence calf tryes a few times makes it but on return the ground could be lower on that side jumps rear leg gets caught ending with your picture its not nice to find as a lot of the time the calfs just die and are left there fair play to you a good deed done this imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

deer_fence_wras@body.jpgYes. this injury was caused as it jumped a fence with a double strand of barbed wire on the top. As the calf jumps the fence it passes it back foot between the top two strands . As it catches the bottom strand it flippes it over it foot and and then back over the top strand of wire, trapping it leg like a snare.Sometime they can pull themselves free,and some of the times they break of the bottom of their leg in the struggle. I have shot a good few deer with a healed stump were they have survived this injury. I came across a calf about a mounth ago like this hanging from the the barbed wire and its leg broken . I put it out of its misery and when i was walking away it mother jumped up out of the rushes, where it had been lying waiting for it calf.deer_fence_wras@body.jpg
    deerfencewrasbody.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us