Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

car keys downstairs

• 21-12-2012 8:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭

What are people's views on leaving keys downstairs in view at home vs hidden or beside bed. Have to say I found it incredible in another thread and felt the frustration of the OP, that someone would consider that leaving your keys downstairs within the confines of your own home was viewed as making it easy for thieves to rob your car.

Now I do like my car but I like my wife and kids a lot more! If some fúcker breaks into my house with a view to taking my car let him have it. I would in no way want to risk my family or I guess my own life for a hunk of metal.

What are other ppls thoughts...? Done to death? Ala fog lights yada yada yada...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Depends on the car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Mine are on the table inside the front door. You won't get at them from outside but if you do get in you can't help but miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

I'd always bring them upstairs with me at night until a friend made a very good point.

What if the thief is determined to get your car, you don't know what they'll do to get them, and that could mean confronting you or putting your family in danger.

So on that basis, id leave it downstairs, let them take the car, you can't replace a family member if things got out of hand and something happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I don't leave them in plain view but would not make too difficult to find either. Cars can be replaced, people cannot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

mine just usually stay in my pocket of whatever happen to be wearing and I pick them up the next morning.

nothing to it really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Mine are hanging up in our hallway along with all the other car van keys they are behind a door but if you broke in looking for them the thief would easily find them. I would rather a thief to steal the car and go wouldn't like them to have to come up stairs with us all sleeping looking for them. In saying all that we live in the country in the middle of no where. You could probably leave the keys in the car with it open for 2 days and there would be a good chance it wouldn't be stolen hopefully it will stay that way. But I imagine if you live in a built up area then where to leave the keys is a bigger issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Mine are in the bowl a couple of feet from the door. Why would anyone fight for the car when you have insurance, its not worth it.

Mind you they'd cost me more getting the door in than taking the car, might leave them in the ignition :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭kodoherty93

I heard of a friend leaving their car key on the hall table and someone sticking a bamboo cane through a letterbox. They got the keys and stole the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

I can never find the keys myself, unless they are in an easy spot to find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

My keys could be anywhere in the house at any specific time.
    Fair play to burglars finding them, I spend most of my time wondering where the hell I left them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I usually just leave them in the door itself, after I lock the door.

They're there when I need them, if someone wants to break in to get them, grand, and they're not easily swiped from the outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

I'm on the other side here.
    If someone wants to take my car they'd be better off trying to take it without the keys cause they won't be getting the keys without a fight.

.........Have to say I found it incredible in another thread and felt the frustration of the OP, that someone would consider that leaving your keys downstairs within the confines of your own home was viewed as making it easy for thieves to rob your car. ...........

Once they can't be fished through the letterbox etc easily I'd disagree with the sentiment, it's not making it easy at all. Most people go to a certain common level of home security, most people who count themselves as a level in home security (ie as in they'd reckon they'd do an action man) are blissfully ignorant as to the type of character that is likely to be attempting to steal a car.

Many armed robberies are carried out by people who have broken into a home to steal a car, how many of us would actually fancy their chances (after just waking up) against someone (or more than one) who are willing to commit armed robbery? These chaps would be quite likely less than rationale, they quite likely will have a criminal record and quite likely are not the type you want to mess with.

On the other hand they could be a complete wimp too but I'd sooner not play the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

In my underpants, your move burglar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

sounds good, the car keys would be a bonus as well :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,978 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

My keys are usually left in ignition switch. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

In the kitchen never near the front door

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Leaving them in an easy spot downstairs just feels wrong, like you are aiding them. The flip side is the safety of your family, so that's fair enough.
    I generally leave mine at the top of the stairs, so not making it easy, but if anybody did come up they'd see them before going into any room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I leave mine in the hall, but up on a hook where they can't be seen, or taken via a stick in the letterbox, which happened me a few years back. Don't make it too easy, but don't ask for it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I've a blank key I got off ebay, same make as my car left hanging inside the door, that way they will have some fun and think it's just themselves who are thick and can't get it to work ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

A woman who lives across the road from my mother had her car stolen. They just walked in the front door and took the keys off the hall table when she was in the kitchen. Car was less than a year old.

I've a dog so just leave the keys lying wherever. If I didn't I'd probably leave them out of sight downstairs somewhere. Leaving them in plain view is just stupid IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭kristian12

On the hall table, mind you if some fecker is brave enough to face the 2 dogs roaming around the house 1 being a wolfhound x and the other a rottie cross so neither small then they must need the car more than i do ;)

I'm on the other side here.
    If someone wants to take my car they'd be better off trying to take it without the keys cause they won't be getting the keys without a fight.

Obviously I'd prefer if my car wasn't nicked, full stop.

But potentially putting my family at risk over a car that's insured? No thanks.

Think of it like this, you're asleep. They aren't. They can move around your house, looking for these keys. If it's a valuable/prized car, whats to stop them going into your son's room, lifting him out of his bed, knife to his throat, hand over mouth. In they go to your room, wake you up, and then you really don't have a choice. Why do that do you family? Wouldn't it be much easier to have it so that if the keys are downstairs, they are in, out, gone.

Obviously, I'm not saying leave your keys in the ignition. But my house is locked. My house is alarmed. If they want the keys, they're going to have to get past that. If they get past that, without waking me up, then **** it, let them have the keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I take my keys upstairs and leave the wife's downstairs on the hall table. That way everyone's a winner.

EDIT: forgot to say the obvious; she might be pissed off but sure what's new about that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

Obviously I'd prefer if my car wasn't nicked, full stop.

But potentially putting my family at risk over a car that's insured? No thanks.

Think of it like this, you're asleep. They aren't. They can move around your house, looking for these keys. If it's a valuable/prized car, whats to stop them going into your son's room, lifting him out of his bed, knife to his throat, hand over mouth. In they go to your room, wake you up, and then you really don't have a choice. Why do that do you family? Wouldn't it be much easier to have it so that if the keys are downstairs, they are in, out, gone.

Obviously, I'm not saying leave your keys in the ignition. But my house is locked. My house is alarmed. If they want the keys, they're going to have to get past that. If they get past that, without waking me up, then **** it, let them have the keys.

In one! Generally leave mine in my coat so they aren't on the hall table easy to get but fcuk it if they break in and want the fcukin thing..take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I don't have an upstairs! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I take mine to bed with me. If they get in then the alarm will beckon me accordingly. While they're looking downstairs ill be on the blower to the Gardai.... Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

MugMugs wrote: »
    I take mine to bed with me. If they get in then the alarm will beckon me accordingly. While they're looking downstairs ill be on the blower to the Gardai.... Simples.

Let me get this straight - you take your ring to bed with you!?! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Let me get this straight - you take your ring to bed with you!?! :)
    Kind of assumed that was standard really ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,123 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Fair play to all the big men out there with their baseball bats and their guns and their dogs, determined to defend their cars. I hope they succeed and that any burglar will learn a painful lesson

Me, I put the safety of my family first. Keys in the hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

unkel wrote: »
    Fair play to all the big men out there with their baseball bats and their guns and their dogs, determined to defend their cars. I hope they succeed and that any burglar will learn a painful lesson

Me, I put the safety of my family first. Keys in the hall.

and should someone walk around the city center with €50 euro notes peeking out from their pockets just incase someone decides to mug them and they dont wish to get hurt so they make it easy for the mugger as this is the equivalent of what a few here are saying. If we make it too easy for thieves, then this sort of crime will surely increase as it would be considered easy money and thats not what anyone wants, is it?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

joujoujou wrote: »
    My keys are usually left in ignition switch. :D

I too once used to live in Leitrim and did the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

and should someone walk around the city center with €50 euro notes peeking out from their pockets just incase someone decides to mug them and they dont wish to get hurt so they make it easy for the mugger as this is the equivalent of what a few here are saying. If we make it too easy for thieves, then this sort of crime will surely increase as it would be considered easy money and thats not what anyone wants, is it?.

You are not dealing with junky muggers or little scruts out for a joyride at the end of your bed threatning your family for your car keys, they are hardened career criminals who are well used to dealing with worse than you or me.

I would love to know how many "have a go heroes" faced with this situation in front of them would actually be so brave or stupid to take these boys on, all for the sake of a piece of metal that is insured. Its not about not standing up to thieves, it's about being sensible enough to know that material objects are not worth getting injured or killed for.

To be honest, if you're walking around with €50's peeking out of your pocket, then you deserve to get mugged.

I'd compare it more to an mugger coming up behind your Mrs, and sticking a knife to her throat. You're caught unawares, I'd give him my wallet rather than try to tackle them and risk my families safety.

It's not about making it easy for a thief. It's about minimising potential risk if they do happen to pick your car to rob. Making it easy would be leaving the car unlocked, and keys in the ignition for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

right, sorry, but this thread reminds me of one event:

in the train stations suddenly appeared banners, which said: "keep an eye on your wallet/belongings, there are many pocket pickers around at this time of the year."
    Those banners were put up by thiefs themselfs. why? so a person who dies from boredom comes closer to banner, reads it and what he does? checks his wallet, if its still there. thiefs watching that person know the exact location of wallet, making it a lot easier to steal.

lets look at this thread. we have a thread about where person leaves keys of his car. Its very easy to pin point the boardsie poster to his car from a lot of threads in here. a lot of us dont even hide reg. for a smart thief to find a car with a reg is piss easy. So with the help of this lovely thread a thief can find all of those: " i dont hide my keys i leave them at the door as car is insured anyway", find their cars. and 99% of hard work to steal a car is done, without even getting your arse from a seat. Its like inviting a thief to your door step.
    yes, thiefs will steal your car if needed, but remember, thiefs will always go for the easier target. this thread and forum is a gold mine for thiefs now lads.

just food for though lads.

*i am not acusing OP of being a part of some criminal master mind gang. it can be just a legitimate thread about keys. what i am saying a lot of others individuals can use it.

right, sorry, but this thread reminds me of one event:

in the train stations suddenly appeared banners, which said: "keep an eye on your wallet/belongings, there are many pocket pickers around at this time of the year."
    Those banners were put up by thiefs themselfs. why? so a person who dies from boredom comes closer to banner, reads it and what he does? checks his wallet, if its still there. thiefs watching that person know the exact location of wallet, making it a lot easier to steal.

lets look at this thread. we have a thread about where person leaves keys of his car. Its very easy to pin point the boardsie poster to his car from a lot of threads in here. a lot of us dont even hide reg. for a smart thief to find a car with a reg is piss easy. So with the help of this lovely thread a thief can find all of those: " i dont hide my keys i leave them at the door as car is insured anyway", find their cars. and 99% of hard work to steal a car is done, without even getting your arse from a seat. Its like inviting a thief to your door step.
    yes, thiefs will steal your car if needed, but remember, thiefs will always go for the easier target. this thread and forum is a gold mine for thiefs now lads.

just food for though lads.

*i am not acusing OP of being a part of some criminal master mind gang. it can be just a legitimate thread about keys. what i am saying a lot of others individuals can use it.

Actually, now that you mention it, my keys are guarded by taser wielding bears, with machettes and dirty syringes for teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

no one knows where I live...if someone tried to follow me home itd be way too obvious .. I work all different kind of hours unknown for my job and nobody wants to steal a 1.4 when they could take a type r.

I'm alright thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

no one knows where I live...if someone tried to follow me home itd be way too obvious .. I work all different kind of hours unknown for my job and nobody wants to steal a 1.4 when they could take a type r.

I'm alright thanks

Why would they need Io follow you if they got location of where you keep your keys on this thread a reg of any of your cars that you ever owned and posted on boards.ie

Like I said, is food for though and anyone can do the way they want too, I know that sometimes it's better to keep some information to yourself on public forums.

If anyone is still interested I keep scoobies keys on a fake rock under my pilow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

I keep my keys on a small table in the hall.

Heh heh but I'll have the last laugh as it's actually a massive disguised mousetrap.

Seriously though if someone has gone as far as to break in having got past the locked gate and alarm then they can have the car. Anyone that determined isn't going away without it one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I always leave the keys in the ignition and lock the car in the garage. I have no choice, as there is no stairs in the house, so I wouldn't know what to do with the keys in the house (would probably loose them and would have to search for them with the burglar).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Let them take the car without fuss if they are intent on doing it.....but make it easy to find the car afterwards if they do take it, or install a anti hijack device that gets them out and away and disables the car a miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'd be more worried about the moaning there'd be if I left the out causing "clutter" than the likelihood of being burgled.

Our keys live in a press in the kitchen. They'd be "cleaned away" if they were left on a flat surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Mine are on the locker beside my bed. If some scum bag thief is brave enough to come upstairs in search of them then they'd better be prepared for fight for them. The vast majority if car thieves are cowardly scum and if the keys are not readily available they'll find another way to get the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I have a legally held firearm which I keep close to hand at night. The house is built like a fort, so the probably wouldn't get in anyway.

If they were unlucky enough to get in and come looking for me, I wouldn't think twice about disabling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

pajo1981 wrote: »
    I have a legally held firearm which I keep close to hand at night. The house is built like a fort, so the probably wouldn't get in anyway.

If they were unlucky enough to get in and come looking for me, I wouldn't think twice about disabling them.

In that case you should stop paying your car insurance as it obviously won't be required if you're going to go all Chuck Norris on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

In my underpants, your move burglar

I thought of this :pac:

For us here, usually on the table. Others are kept in trouser pockets. Some on various key holders. And keys on every table surface. But good luck trying to figure out what key goes with which car... And then trying to get said car out! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭trashcan

Bpmull wrote: »
    Mine are hanging up in our hallway along with all the other car van keys they are behind a door but if you broke in looking for them the thief would easily find them.

Cheers. What's your address again ??;);)

I think there's an element of people underestimating the standard of criminal that might break into your house to steal your car.

I know three lads currently locked up for armed robbery, one of them is a typical enough scumbag that's fairly brainless who would be the coward scumbag that people would fancy their chances against, he used to rob cars in his younger days iirc, still a nasty little chap though.

The other two who despite being outwardly normal and pleasant most of the time would be capable of pretty much anything, one of them was under severe financial pressure that effectively meant his days were numbered unless he payed what he owed and quickly too.

I think many of those reckoning they'd do xyz in the event of their home being broken into are perhaps reckoning that the likes of Tommy or Darren from Love Hate would be appearing without being tooled up and will leave quietly when confronted :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭looters

Whats this courntry come to.

People, why dont you just leave your keys in the car and put a sign on the windows saying "keys in car, dont hurt me or my family".....pussies.

Id kill them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

^^^^
    A man of the Irish dramas? :p