Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living with girls.

• 21-12-2012 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I've been offered a place in a house with two girls. They're about my age, they seem sound. I have reservations though.
    The last time I lived in a place with a girl present she ended up sitting on top of me, drunk, in my room, asking me why we were so attracted to each other. Let me just say, we weren't..
    So guys, opinions? I'm going to see the Hobbit in a few so if there's any good replies I won't see them for about 3 hours.
    Experienced opinions most welcome. Maybe i've been unlucky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

run away
    run far and run fast

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i heard if you live in a house with a group of girls,you develop and match their menstruation cycles.

Menstruation attracts bears,fucking run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

You're worried about moving in with girls because they may not be able to keep their hands off you?

The only advise I can give there is to make sure you never move in with a gay guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

On a scale of 1 to Candice Swanepoel, how hot are these girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭mckenzie84

You say they seem sound. So the only other question is are they goodlooking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

do they cook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

My advice would be a pre emptive strike. Ask these two prospective house mates for a little chat. Sit them down, tell them what happened to you previously and explain that you will not tolerate the same behaviour from them and if they can't keep their hands to themselves....you'll walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I live in a house with 4 girls. Used to be 3 guys, 3 girls but now its 4-2.

It's starting to grate on me. Far too many emotions. Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Nah, move in with a bunch of guys, I would. The only time I had to house share with a woman (she was living with her partner) she was a crazy bitch. She had no respect for anyone else in the house, shouting all over the place while everyone else slept. She was really weird around me, as soon as I walked into a room she would go over to her boyfriend and hang off him. She didn't like that myself and himself got on well I don't think.

There was no key for my room, and I know she was in there nosing around while I wasn't there as stuff went missing or was moved. The boys would have had no interest in my stuff. She was one messy bitch as well. Leaving shít all over the place after cooking, the bathroom was always like a bomb hit it, with all her crap everywhere.

The lads were great craic though, I'm at my happiest when theres only lads in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Abi wrote: »
    Nah, move in with a bunch of guys, I would. The only time I had to house share with a woman (she was living with her partner) she was a crazy bitch. She had no respect for anyone else in the house, shouting all over the place while everyone else slept. She was really weird around me, as soon as I walked into a room she would go over to her boyfriend and hang off him. She didn't like that myself and himself got on well I don't think.

There was no key for my room, and I know she was in there nosing around while I wasn't there as stuff went missing or was moved. The boys would have had no interest in my stuff. She was one messy bitch as well. Leaving shít all over the place after cooking, the bathroom was always like a bomb hit it, with all her crap everywhere.

The lads were great craic though, I'm at my happiest when theres only lads in the house.

wink wink nudge nudge :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Me and another lad shared a huge house with 5 chicks for 4months, it was absolutely amazing!! Arse and tits and fanny everywhere.

Turn into a bit of girl in fairness but well worth it. Can be annoying when they bring blokes home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Shryke wrote: »
    I've been offered a place in a house with two girls. They're about my age, they seem sound. I have reservations though.
    The last time I lived in a place with a girl present she ended up sitting on top of me, drunk, in my room, asking me why we were so attracted to each other. Let me just say, we weren't..
    So guys, opinions? I'm going to see the Hobbit in a few so if there's any good replies I won't see them for about 3 hours.
    Experienced opinions most welcome. Maybe i've been unlucky.

No don't, it's a known fact that most if not all girls will end up sitting on top of you at some point during your relationship with one another. So if you don't like that kind of thing go with guys, they are not inclined to sit on top of people

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Will they be bringing other fella's back ?

could get noisy and awkward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I don't often offer advice, but I'll make an exception in this case. In my experience there are three types of people you should never share a house with.

1)People who like animals

2)Vegetarians

3)Women

If your prospective housemates fall into one or more of these categories I'd run a mile if I was you.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

My last house I ended up sharing with 3 women. It was shíte, don't do it. Two of them were complete saps anyway which didn't help, but you'll find yourself listening to a lot of loud annoying conversations about what they're going to wear to their Christmas parties. X-factor will be on the tv non stop, and the level of general craic in the house will be 0 (general craic to me involves drinking beer, watching football and listening to Led Zeppelin).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I'd rather live with lads than girls...I get on better with lads and find them more laid back and better craic. ALso girls together can get bitchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Never again.

I've lived with lads, I've lived with girls. I'd happily invite any of the lads I've ever lived with to move into my home. I would never let any of the girls I've ever lived with move in again, bar 2.

Messy, vile, disgusting creatures.

Between one girl getting up at night, staring at who she was sharing the room with, another girl using a sock as a sanitary pad AND PUTTING IT BACK, another girl ate, drank, slept and lived in one room, without EVER opening a window, and yet another let her scummy friends put beer/fags/crisps/washing up liquid/god knows what else into our fish tank.

Never again.

I've lived with lads, I've lived with girls. I'd happily invite any of the lads I've ever lived with to move into my home. I would never let any of the girls I've ever lived with move in again, bar 2.

Messy, vile, disgusting creatures.

Between one girl getting up at night, staring at who she was sharing the room with, another girl using a sock as a sanitary pad AND PUTTING IT BACK, another girl ate, drank, slept and lived in one room, without EVER opening a window, and yet another let her scummy friends put beer/fags/crisps/washing up liquid/god knows what else into our fish tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

So generally speaking, all women are savage, and disgusting specimen, with no craic , wheras all guys/lads, are perfect, tamed beings, who are all sound.
    Gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Shryke wrote: »

But you still did, didn't ya? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I know some girls with a **** personality = all girls have sh1t personalities.

I much prefer to live with boys too but that's because I'm a big whore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i heard if you live in a house with a group of girls,you develop and match their menstruation cycles.

Menstruation attracts bears,fucking run.

I'm sick of your unfounded lies :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Just my take but it's much of a muchness and lads can be just as bloody annoying and if you get an extreme one you will harbour thoughts of beating them insensible with a bag of oranges.

However I've found that there seem to be more blokes who if you were asked about them you'd be non committal about them and would be "ah he's alright like, I suppose". I've found the ladies tend to fall into more opposite camps; the best bloody house mates and mates you could wish to find, or complete and utter headmelters. There are way more of the former but the latter can make up for it. Less of a middle ground going on for some reason.

Plus in general men are generally way better at spotting headmelters of their own gender and crap at spotting women ones(if they like the look of them quadruple that), so I'd ask a woman mate to check your potential housemates out for you as they'll usually spot a loony a mile away. Native guide sorta thing. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Where To wrote: »

I think :eek: is what you were looking for, not :pac:.

When I confronted her about wanting the money for the fish that she killed, approx €100, the cheeky bitch just went and bought some cheap, ****ty, sick fish, and dumped them in one day when I wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

WindSock wrote: »
    I know some girls with a **** personality = all girls have sh1t personalities.

I much prefer to live with boys too but that's because I'm a big whore.

Hey I've a room for rent!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭primrose_lily

Wow you guys have met some crazy women! But try not to paint us all the same.

Some women like to just do their own thing and not be bothered with all that ****e of being clingy. We dont all start screaming when we are in groups or start to hit on ye when drunk.
    When you live with someone obviously there will be something about them that bugs you. Thats pretty normal. Guys are not angels either ;)
    As a girl who has lived with guys, we always got on, had the craic and never had any weird **** like that go on.

Id say if you know the girls and you get along it might not be as bad as you think. Chances are they could be great housemates...and sure if they are not..you can always move. Also why not get one of your mates to move in and that would keep a nice balance in the house.

best of luck whatever you choose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

there are three types of people you should never share a house with.

1)People who like animals

2)Vegetarians

3)Women

If your prospective housemates fall into one or more of these categories I'd run a mile if I was you.:)

My last female housemate was a vegetarian and had two dogs and a cat! 'Twas grand!!

@OP- if they're friends, you could easily end up excluded. It's always great when you move in with new people and you all become friends. It can be very lonely if you don't gel with housemates or if they are cliquey. I think you should tread carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Some women like to just do their own thing and not be bothered with all that ****e of being clingy. We dont all screaming when we are in groups or start to hit on ye when drunk.
    When you live with someone obviously there will be something about them that bugs you. Thats pretty normal. Guys are not angels either ;)
    As a girl who has lived with guys, we always got on, had the craic and never had any weird **** like that go on.

Id say if you know the girls and you get along it might not be as bad as you think. Chances are they could be great housemates...and sure if they are not..you can always move. Also why not get one of your mates to move in and that would keep a nice balance in the house.

i beg to differ

insert forever alone meme

I lived with a bunch of girls before, we just did our own thing. They were lovely though
    No screeching or drama or nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

bluewolf wrote: »
    I lived with a bunch of girls before, we just did our own thing. They were lovely though
    No screeching or drama or nonsense
    Which would be normal girls like you and I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

If there's only one bathroom between two or more women, there's trouble. Scientific fact.

I lived with women once, never again. Go hide OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

OP
    You+wimmins+alcohol=Threesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Work with all women. Live with all lads. I couldn't live with all woman or work with all lads, oddly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I hope your not one of these guys who thinks, I am thirty they are twenty, yes that is about my age, it will not end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

One girl that had been living in the flat has put up a message for people not to touch her plates and cups, she one of 'those' people

If you're reading this, then this is my message for you, you fukin sociopath!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Think it depends on what you want in a flat. I live with guys and I've found that generally guys don't care much about how clean something is, or just equate tidiness and cleanliness. The main bug-bears being the kitchen and bathroom. So if you're moving in with girls I would imagine those areas will be cleaner than if it was all guys (one of my housemates left loads of solidified meat fat in the bottom of the grill pan for over a week. Eventually I cleaned it :()

I haven't come across girls who are as dirty as guys can be (I mean dirty, not untidy, and I do say that I haven't come across any, not that they don't exist).

If they seem grand and like they keep the place similar to how you would want to keep it, there shouldn't really be problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Be prepared to spend most of your income on toilet paper. Seriously I don't know how girls use so much, I think they actually absorb it as they walk by the bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

The last girl I shared with, set fire to the sitting room of the apartment (accidentally btw - I hope) while I was asleep in bed. After I was woken up by what sounded like someone throwing a goat around a room, I realised it wasn't a session after getting a bit out of hand and by this stage the smoke was definitely not from a Moroccan woodbine. After getting out of the building and whilst we were watching smoke bellowing out from our 3rd floor apartment, do you know what she said? it wasn't, "Fook, I'm so sorry" or in those general lines but, and I **** you not "the fire brigade got here quick, didn't they".....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

The last girl I shared with, set fire to the sitting room of the apartment (accidentally btw - I hope) while I was asleep in bed. After I was woken up by what sounded like someone throwing a goat around a room, I realised it wasn't a session after getting a bit out of hand and by this stage the smoke was definitely not from a Moroccan woodbine. After getting out of the building and whilst we were watching smoke bellowing out from our 3rd floor apartment, do you know what she said? it wasn't, "Fook, I'm so sorry" or in those general lines but, and I **** you not "the fire brigade got here quick, didn't they".....

Christ. What did she actually do???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Knockout_91

Lived with a group of girls once, they were so loud it was unreal. It was as though they were constantly competing with one another for "who can get the most attention?". I was so drained listening to them talk crap all the time.

In college now and decided to commute. Best decision I've ever made! We go on nights out every week where we pre drink in the student accommo on campus and the absolute state of the girls apartments. You can't even see the floor. Then you go downstairs and the lads apartment has nothing in it ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

Christ. What did she actually do???

She left the clothes horse right next to the storage heater, and the rest, is you know yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Sky high heating bills, with you and the girls you're looking at over 200 on an ESB, maybe even 250

And get a portable TV for your bedroom as they "own" the TV in the living room

• Think it depends on what you want in a flat. I live with guys and I've found that generally guys don't care much about how clean something is, or just equate tidiness and cleanliness. The main bug-bears being the kitchen and bathroom. So if you're moving in with girls I would imagine those areas will be cleaner than if it was all guys (one of my housemates left loads of solidified meat fat in the bottom of the grill pan for over a week. Eventually I cleaned it :()

I haven't come across girls who are as dirty as guys can be (I mean dirty, not untidy, and I do say that I haven't come across any, not that they don't exist).

If they seem grand and like they keep the place similar to how you would want to keep it, there shouldn't really be problems.

This. Most guys I know and have lived with think tidy = clean. I've had to explain over and over that you need to mop the floor, wipe down the work surfaces, clean the toilet. Putting stuff away isn't cleaning.

I don't want to get into a pissing contest (I would win:pac:) but there's plenty of 'ladies' who could do with learning that lesson as well. I think I could tell just by looking in the window taxi what sex the last passenger that was in it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

I don't want to get into a pissing contest (I would win:pac:) but there's plenty of 'ladies' who could do with learning that lesson as well. I think I could tell just by looking in the window taxi what sex the last passenger that was in it is.

Window Taxis can be a right pane :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Oh god, somebody started off the 'tidiness versus cleanliness' discussion...my head already hurts just reading it...

V_Moth wrote: »
    Window Taxis can be a right pane :pac:
    I was trying to hoover toe-nail clippings and type at the same time, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Okay I lived with 2 girls(and their cats, I ****in hate cats) and with 2 guys so I think I can speak from experience when I say this.

There is very little difference between the two. Some guys are loud, obnoxious and smelly. Some are quiet, reserved and clean. Same goes for girls. It doesnt matter what gender you are living with as long as you can get along with them. The problems with girls that have been said in this thread occur with guys as well.

People are people. My cousin's (girl) apartment was probably in a worse state than anything me and my brothers could ever have accomplished while we were growing up. So dont go in with any gender stereotypes in mind because they are probably wrong.

There are a few differences though. Bins in the toilet for their needs. While staying with the girls. There was a bin in the toilet that I never had any need of, but they changed it every two or three days. I dont know what went in there, it was a black bag, and I never wanted to find out. Also the bathroom had a cabinet and a shelf for all their things, while every bath/shower thing I needed could easily fit on the sink.

But that's all I can think of that mostly only applies to girls. Anything else I could say about my experiences could probably be said by someone who lives with all guys. I would have stayed with the girls longer but the god damn cats were pissing me off. They seemed to love me but I hated them, they'd always be trying to break into my room to sleep on my bed with me and sticking their asses in my face, a sign of affection apparently. They had their own corner and the smell of it was atrocious, had to walk through it to get to the laundry and I held my breath every time.

TL;DR Living with guys or girls is mostly the same because people come in all different types regardless of gender, but seriously **** living with cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

This may be a long post and I apologize.

OK, so The Hobbit was poor. The new effects were terrible. Everything moved at the speed of a silent film. Most of the dwarfs looked like Spitting Image puppets and one of them was a Frank Spencer caricature.
    The Shire looked like lazytown, the whole film looked like a children's production. About half an hour in I wanted to go home and watch Time Bandits.
    The same whittling LotR music throughout. Irritating at this stage. And no amount of operatic rising music is going to make me any more impressed with a 3-foot twoddle running at some disfigured creature with a learning disability.
    This is not The Hobbit. Jackson is a shill trying to make 3 films from this. I knew from watching The Lovely Bones that he was actually horrendous. The man got lucky with LotR. He's the new m night shyamalan.
    Sorry about that little rant!
    mckenzie84 wrote: »
    You say they seem sound. So the only other question is are they goodlooking?

Um. Yes.
    Sitec wrote: »
    Stop humble bragging.

I'm not. This is serious! It effects me in a very real way and clearly from the responses I wasn't wrong asking.
    No don't, it's a known fact that most if not all girls will end up sitting on top of you at some point during your relationship with one another. So if you don't like that kind of thing go with guys, they are not inclined to sit on top of people

It's awkwardness and complication down the line I'm not looking for, was my point there.
    Will they be bringing other fella's back ?

could get noisy and awkward

That would probably be annoying. One of them has a boyfriend. Lives near by too. Definitely killed it a bit for me, if he were always in the place and the like I might get annoyed. I thought the single one was cute and could have definitely seen myself going there. I'm not listing that as a pro or a con but a possible complication.
    My last house I ended up sharing with 3 women. It was shíte, don't do it. Two of them were complete saps anyway which didn't help, but you'll find yourself listening to a lot of loud annoying conversations about what they're going to wear to their Christmas parties. X-factor will be on the tv non stop, and the level of general craic in the house will be 0 (general craic to me involves drinking beer, watching football and listening to Led Zeppelin).

Well they seemed pretty cool that way. Not girly girl. They like their movies and stuff. I'm not mad into sport at all.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Just my take but it's much of a muchness and lads can be just as bloody annoying and if you get an extreme one you will harbour thoughts of beating them insensible with a bag of oranges.

However I've found that there seem to be more blokes who if you were asked about them you'd be non committal about them and would be "ah he's alright like, I suppose". I've found the ladies tend to fall into more opposite camps; the best bloody house mates and mates you could wish to find, or complete and utter headmelters. There are way more of the former but the latter can make up for it. Less of a middle ground going on for some reason.

Plus in general men are generally way better at spotting headmelters of their own gender and crap at spotting women ones(if they like the look of them quadruple that), so I'd ask a woman mate to check your potential housemates out for you as they'll usually spot a loony a mile away. Native guide sorta thing. :D

I'm poor at spotting the nutty ones alright but I've gotten better at it over time! Maybe I got a subconscious vibe that spurred this thread into existence.

Some women like to just do their own thing and not be bothered with all that ****e of being clingy. We dont all start screaming when we are in groups or start to hit on ye when drunk.

There's one room free, why would you think I could move in other people? Maybe if I killed one of them or something?? :eek:
    You're right they could be sound alright. I don't know them though, bit of a gamble.
    cantdecide wrote: »
    My last female housemate was a vegetarian and had two dogs and a cat! 'Twas grand!!

@OP- if they're friends, you could easily end up excluded. It's always great when you move in with new people and you all become friends. It can be very lonely if you don't gel with housemates or if they are cliquey. I think you should tread carefully.

Good points.
    c_man wrote: »
    If there's only one bathroom between two or more women, there's trouble. Scientific fact.

I lived with women once, never again. Go hide OP.

I think I'd be sharing a bathroom with one of them. I'm thinking definitely no now!
    OP
    You+wimmins+alcohol=Threesome.

I was almost in a foursome but I was having none of it. There was a fifth person present but they were unconscious.
    I hope your not one of these guys who thinks, I am thirty they are twenty, yes that is about my age, it will not end well.

I don't know what this means? You're 20 or 30? What do I think exactly...

Hmm. It would be wise maybe to turn this down. I think I'm attracted to the bit of drama and craic that would be had and I always enjoy a bit of female company.
    I definitely want a place to chill and unwind. Maybe best to keep looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Ive lived with the same woman for 10 years, once you realise they are only happy when they are giving out - your sorted.

A little off topic i know. Stick with the lads, you will have plenty of time later to live with a woman (lets face it, who going to do wing man for you on the ugly mate, when u bring a girl home:D).