Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 21/12/12 @ 9:35pm

• 21-12-2012 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Ladies and Gentleman,

The good people over in the Late Late Show office are being tight-lipped again this week about who might be appearing on the show this evening. This is all I could get from the Late Late Show homepage :(
    Ryan Tubridy hosts the light entertainment show, featuring a mix of celebrity guests, music, in-depth interviews and discussions on the stories that have the nation talking.

Sounds riveting, doesn't it? :pac:

Perhaps they'll treat us to a compilation of Ryan's worst best bits from this year ;)

I'm sorry that my opening post is a little light on content at the moment but I'll update it as soon as I hear what is going on over in Montrose :pac:

Happy Christmas to everyone who frequents the LLS thread (lurkers and posters) and every good wish for 2013!

168E68C95F6C4CCDAA8950AC7DA5ACB7-0000360729-0003107953-00640L-B8F1D4B254864EA8B6F2DA54A5DA32BC.jpg

A special word of thanks to Tubs, love him or hate him but he has helped to make this thread great :) Happy Christmas Tubs!

Edit:

The Guests

Music - Raglans
    Former Labour TD, Colm Keaveney
    Creator and star of Mrs. Brown's Boys, Brendan O'Carroll
    Music - Finbarr Furey
    Panel discussion on the year that was, 2012 - Brendan O'Carroll, Maia Dunphy, Pat Spillane and Olivia O'Leary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Q_ueeny

I love Tubs

Just saying! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

MrsD007 wrote: »
    The good people over in the Late Late Show office are being tight-lipped again this week about who might be appearing on the show this evening.

They obviously haven't had a chance to drop down to the RTE canteen to see who's around for the show tonight.

Maybe if they looked a bit further afield...

Q_ueeny wrote: »
    I love Tubs

Just saying! :D

I prefer his 'on-off girlfriend'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm half tempted to ring RTÉ to ask them to stick the tape of the 'LLS 50th Birthday Special' back in the machine tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

At least they have a full length programme tonight, not a truncated version like last year's Show before Christmas.

The LLS celebrated the non apocalypse and imminent Christmas by revealing one piece of guest information. Music tonight from 'Raglans'

Skid wrote: »
    The LLS celebrated the non apocalypse and imminent Christmas by revealing one piece of guest information. Music tonight from 'Raglans'

Thanks Skid, you can always be relied upon to come up with some guests :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Q_ueeny

Maybe we will see a cast member from Love/Hate given it popularity in recent weeks :D

Q_ueeny wrote: »
    Maybe we will see a cast member from Love/Hate given it popularity in recent weeks :D
    Brendan O'Connor had Jason Barry on last Saturday night ;)

I'm half tempted to ring RTÉ to ask them to stick the tape of the 'LLS 50th Birthday Special' back in the machine tonight.

Sounds good to me :) That was a great night, it would be nice to see it broadcast again.

Roll it again there Roisín / Collette

Sounds good to me :) That was a great night, it would be nice to see it broadcast again.
    Are you sure Skid?

This lady was also on the 50th anniversary show ;):D

I suppose we could ask RTE to issue a special warning ahead of her appearance, just for you ;)

A Song for Lilie-Mae (which was performed on the LLS a few weeks ago) didn't get the Christmas Number one :(

http://www.hotpress.com/James-Arthur/news/James-Arthur-is-the-Christmas-Number-One/9471098.html?new_layout=1
    James Arthur's winner's song 'Impossible' – a cover of the 2010 Shontelle song – retains pole position for the second week.

At No. 2, also for the second week, is charity single 'Tiny Dancer', which sees Irish artists such as Paddy Casey, Declan O'Rourke and Mary Black come together to cover the Elton John classic to raise much needed funds for Lily-Mae Morrison, a four year-old suffering from Stage 3 Neuroblastoma.

Still, at least it is still selling well and generating some good revenue.

Are you sure Skid?
    I suppose we could ask RTE to issue a special warning ahead of her appearance, just for you ;)

It's OK MrsD, I have watched it a few times now, I know exactly what time she appears.

I would schedule my toilet break and Beer Run to the fridge to coincide with her appearance. :)

It's OK MrsD, I have watched it a few times now, I know exactly what time she appears.

I would schedule my toilet break and Beer Run to the fridge to coincide with her appearance. :)

I'd recommend you have a sick bucket on standby, just in case RTE did some unexpected editing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I heard Ryan on the radio this morning saying that the Late Late Show tonight was going to be good fun for the most part!!

A very happy Christmas and all the very best wishes for 2013 to you all, thanks for all the laughs, and there have been many, over the last year.

And a happy Christmas to Ryan, RTE Staff and families.

Looking forward to tonights show.

168E68C95F6C4CCDAA8950AC7DA5ACB7-0000360729-0003107953-00640L-B8F1D4B254864EA8B6F2DA54A5DA32BC.jpg

Happy Christmas to you too MrsD, and Happy Christmas to everyone - the regulars, those who drop in now and again, the Mods, the trolls, the lurkers and anyone else who I have forgotten.

The Snowman looks like he has a much better pair of boots than Santa Claus ^^^. He should swap with Santa - Santa will need a decent pair for his labours on Christmas Eve. The Snowman won't be going anywhere, except Walking In the Air. And you don't need any boots for that.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yeah, happy Christmas everybody - lets not insult little Ryan too much tonight, Just a little maybe for old times sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,307 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

*climbs out of fallout shelter*

We're still here!

...or ARE we?

Will Ryan follow Brendan's lead and end tonight's show by singing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

HAPPY CHRISTMAS FELLOW LLS PEOPLE

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQDK7EkLM5Uo-2CdNoR0LfEctnJSTFP_hPVTWbVk3u15xWr8kIbzg

I'm out tonight so won't be around to join the fun.

So help yourselves to a dropeen and keep an eye on Grey So What !

The Midleton is for MrsD007.
    As if I needed to say that ;)

Keep a drop for J,Anon if he's in late from work again.

Make sure ye get a song out of Skid before the night is out !

Have a good one folks. :)

Lapin wrote: »
    Make sure ye get a song out of Skid before the night is out !

Good man Lapin, I will be busy rehearsing this one all evening just for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Just got this Christmas post card from Ryan Tubridy.. (He's pictured here with the RTE sound team)

tubridy_christmascard_copy.jpg

"And a Merry Christmas To One And All".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

A little treat from GSW to you fellow Boardie fans of the great lady herself....:p

Aside from that a few words to all my friends on the wonderful LLS thread!...

I joined the thread this year in March thinking Gok was a woman.....my education has been greatly enhanced by the words of wisdom, gravitas and advice regarding whiskey.

Which, of course, I completely ignore.

To my friends, MrsD, Skid, WM, cofy, HA, Lapin (I know where you live, lock up your bar!..;)) JA, all that make me laugh and enjoy on what would normally be an average night in I thank you.

A very happy healthy peaceful Christmas and New Year. Thank you for you company, wit and good humour. You are friends indeed.

My daughter and I wish you and your families all the happiness in the world.

God Bless you all,
    GSW and daughter!xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:):):):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

A Song for Lilie-Mae (which was performed on the LLS a few weeks ago) didn't get the Christmas Number one :(

http://www.hotpress.com/James-Arthur/news/James-Arthur-is-the-Christmas-Number-One/9471098.html?new_layout=1

:(:(:(:(:( :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

If X Factor UK isn't a dead horse yet, then it's very close to being one.

Hope that Hillsborough charity song gets the UK Chrimbo number 1.

I joined the thread this year in March thinking Gok was a woman.....my education has been greatly enhanced by the words of wisdom, gravitas and advice regarding whiskey.

Which, of course, I completely ignore.

To my friends, MrsD, Skid, WM, cofy, HA, Lapin (I know where you live, lock up your bar!..;)) JA, all that make me laugh and enjoy on what would normally be an average night in I thank you.

A very happy healthy peaceful Christmas and New Year. Thank you for you company, wit and good humour. You are friends indeed.

My daughter and I wish you and your families all the happiness in the world.

God Bless you all,
    GSW and daughter!xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:):):):):):)

Ah GSW, that was lovely, thank you xxxxxxxx

I hope you and 'not a grey in sight' have a great Christmas and all the best for 2013!

To quote Hannibal Lecter - Grey...."the world is more interesting with you in it.".

:(:(:(:(:( :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

If X Factor UK isn't a dead horse yet, then it's very close to being one.

Hope that Hillsborough charity song gets the UK Chrimbo number 1.

The Hillsborough song is 23,000 ahead so it should do it, hopefully

http://www.digitalspy.ie/music/news/a446772/hillsborough-single-extends-lead-over-james-arthur-for-christmas-no1.html

Incidentally, the song for Lily-Mae is apparently the biggest selling number 2 single in Ireland ever

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Irish-Recorded-Music-Association-IRMA/477273185638813?fref=ts

I'm sure everyone knows that the biggest selling UK Number 2 single ever was
    Last Christmas by Wham, kept off Number 1 by Band Aid :)

Ah GSW, that was lovely, thank you xxxxxxxx

I hope you and 'not a grey in sight' have a great Christmas and all the best for 2013!

To quote Hannibal Lecter - Grey...."the world is more interesting with you in it.".

****makes mental note to get fava beans..........Chianti drank..sighs......****

Hmmmm........I'm halfway there MrsD!!.....;):eek:

ps......little grey is grinning manically on the couch.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Happy Christmas to everyone too. Looking forward to the offering tonight. I like that it is secret. It's a bit like waiting for Santa to arrive.

Daniel Radcliffe is very good on Have I Got News For You? on BBC1 now.

If he ever wastes all his Harry Potter money, he could have a new career on Comedy Panel Shows.

I'm watching him Skid, he is playing a blinder!!!...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Happy Christmas y'all can't wait for tonight bet it'll be a cracker wha' :D

C'mere on the subject of the 50th celebration (which was great) can anyone somehow upload the Dickie rock song at the end (lls theme tune) with rte hawt conductor guy.
    I loved that 1960's vibe from it :)

Anyone?? For me? For Christmas???

You thought it would be a happy show tonight didn you ... Well, on tonight's show:

- The parents of Tiny Tim, who died because Scrooge persisted with being a b*ll*x after ignoring the Ghost Of Christmas Future.

- One woman tells the story of how she caught her mommy kissing Santa Claus underneath the Christmas tree one night.. she discusses visiting Santa in hospital after her father beat him within an inch of his life (with a reindeer saddle).... and how she coped after her parents divorce..

- The relations of a grandma, who got run over by a reindeer, going home from their house on Christmas eve.. Followed by a panel discussion about the dangers of speeding sleighs on our roads (including a contribution from Conor Faughnan of the Automobile Association).

Sniff, sniff.......***bawls***......

NOooooooooooo.......

Someone tell me it's not true???......

Tissues anyone???.......:(

You thought it would be a happy show tonight didn you ... Well, on tonight's show:

- The parents of Tiny Tim, who died because Scrooge persisted with being a b*ll*x after ignoring the Ghost Of Christmas Future.

- One woman tells the story of how she caught her mommy kissing Santa Claus underneath the Christmas tree one night.. she discusses visiting Santa in hospital after her father beat him within an inch of his life (with a reindeer saddle).... and how she coped after her parents divorce..

- The relations of a grandma, who got run over by a reindeer, going home from their house on Christmas eve.. Followed by a panel discussion about the dangers of speeding sleighs on our roads (including a contribution from Conor Faughnan of the Automobile Association).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

These guys are good IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

They got a very loud cheer. Must be friends in the audience. They're a copy of The Coral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all. I'm still a bit dubious that Tubbs can do an entire Late Late Show without at least one sob story cropping up at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Still, at least it is still selling well and generating some good revenue.

At least JF96 song will get UK no. 1.

When they sing Saaaaaaaaa.... nd in my pocket ...

I keep expecting them to say SannnnnnnnTA did something or other.. :D

I expect the interview to be carried out in Latin...

When they sing Saaaaaaaaa.... nd in my pocket ...

I keep expecting them to say SannnnnnnnTA did something or other.. :D

They're imitating scousers when they sing e.g. The Coral. IDENTICAL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I wonder if the conversation will be in Latin?

Poor Shane. Tragic death

Evening all. I'm still a bit dubious that Tubbs can do an entire Late Late Show without at least one sob story cropping up at some stage.

lol... :D:D:D you had to say it Harry..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,752 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The comic legend must be Brendan Grace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

This lad always strikes me as a little bit weird and I wonder if he had 2015/16 in mind when he took his decision, not unlike some FFers last time around jumping ship to save their long term future.

Just what everyone wants a few days before Christmas .... a Primetime style interview :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

This fella looks like he's going to cry...

Something kinda handsome about Keaveney, maybe it's the grey hair.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    This fella looks like he's going to cry...

He's not the only one..........:eek::(........

**sniff****.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Did that guy go to bed at all the last few days ... could certainly do with a few slices of cucumber on the old eye bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,752 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Once it's 10 o clock i want pure entertainment for the rest of the show, no more doom and gloom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭bonaparte2

he's worked incredibly hard to stop himself crying