Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pain and Gain (Michael Bay)

• 20-09-2012 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Michael Bay is bringing out a new film with Dwayne Johson, Mark Wahlberg and Rebel Wilson called Pain and Gain. Based on a true story, the film follows a group of bodybuilders who engaged in a campaign of kidnapping, extortion and murder in Florida. They released a poster today.

It's Bay's first non-Transformers film in 7 years!

pain-and-gain-poster-600x903.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

If Wahlberg plays his character like Dirk Diggler and Johnson plays his a bit like the Rock (Does he ever not?), then this could be quite funny,
    The real life story it’s based on sounds mental…body builders running around kidnapping and killing people while heffed up on goofballs, so hopefully they can translate some of that on screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭xtal191

Hers the story if anyone's interested

http://www.miaminewtimes.com/1999-12-23/news/pain-gain/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's Bay time!

Orange and teal overload!

I can't wait! :pac:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Looks like Walberg is in Other Guy's mode in this, looks more like a parody of a Bay movie!

Looks like it could be a lot of fun and I must say it's nice to see Bay try something smaller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Great to see Bay focus on girl's backsides for a change.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Quote from trailer: "An incredible prick who needs bad things to happen to him".

Bay, you make it too easy sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Could be a laugh, Wahlberg and The Rock both look friggin' enormous in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Quote from trailer: "An incredible prick who needs bad things to happen to him".

Bay, you make it too easy sometimes.

This really gave me a hearty lol.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Ordinarily I'm able to spot a film's tone fairly quickly, but with the great cinematic-pornographer at the helm, I've no idea if all that was all meant to be a straight-up farce or just Bay being earnest and applying his usual layer of the grotesque.

If taken at face value, Michael Bay trying to do a Coen movie is ... weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Looks like it could be a lot of fun and I must say it's nice to see Bay try something smaller.

Agreed.

Looks like Bay isn't trying to hard for a big all action popcorn movie. Got a feeling he is having some fun and poking fun at himself and what he does.

Right now it looks fun. Could still turn out to be a turkey. Hope the script is half decent.

Rabies wrote: »
    Agreed.

Looks like Bay isn't trying to hard for a big all action popcorn movie. Got a feeling he is having some fun and poking fun at himself and what he does.

Right now it looks fun. Could still turn out to be a turkey. Hope the script is half decent.

Bay knows well what he does though, his ad for Verizon is him taking the piss out of himself and its really well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The fùckin' size of Johnson, he probably absorbs bullets at this stage.

For a film set in 95' it sure looks modern.

Anyways, be interesting to see Bay work on a smaller scale again. Seeing Ed Harris in a Bay movie just makes me want to watch The Rock again.........now there was a fun film from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭FlashD

Fairly run of the mill and not a bit 'indie' like

... seen better go straight to dvd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ManOnFire

The Rock looks like he could eat a human! fair play to himself and Wahlberg, must have taken sum savage training to get like that. no doubt Bay cudnt resist throwing in a few explosions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

ManOnFire wrote: »
    The Rock looks like he could eat a human! fair play to himself and Wahlberg, must have taken sum savage training to get like that. no doubt Bay cudnt resist throwing in a few explosions!

If you follow Johnson on twitter, you'll see just how much training.

"6am. Breakfast done, time to train. I love this!"

If you follow Johnson on twitter, you'll see just how much training.

"6am. Breakfast done, time to train. I love this!"

I stopped following him after his tweets got more and more annoying " new day, gonna kick this day in the ass, team bring it, feel the burn!" repeat endlessly.

They could have gotten him to play the Hulk

the-rock-halloween-costume.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

zpUQ0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

This looks like a lot of fun, Big fan of Marky mark and I think the Rocks cool. Didn't know it was a bay film though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

The Red Band trailer has just been released.

I have to admit this looks like a hell of a lot of fun :D

Awesome. Cannot wait to see this. Look like over-the-top great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭notGill

This is out tomorrow in Ireland, or at least it's supposed to be......not a single listing in Dublin as far as I can see!

The lads and I are looking forward to seeing this!

Edit: The UK release date is the 28th August, but May 3rd is still down as Ireland's release date...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

notGill wrote: »
    This is out tomorrow in Ireland, or at least it's supposed to be......not a single listing in Dublin as far as I can see!

The lads and I are looking forward to seeing this!

Edit: The UK release date is the 28th August, but May 3rd is still down as Ireland's release date...

NZ release date is 8th August :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Demios

This is odd indeed. Even though I reckon it's probably going to be the same date as the UK release, there are still Irish websites reviewing it. Perhaps a call to one of the cinemas for clarification night help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1980209/releaseinfo
    Ireland 3rd of May
    UK 28th of August
    That's the releases there apparently, I would have thought we'd be closer to the UK date.

Cineworld have it listed as Ireland 28th of August.
    http://www.cineworld.ie/whatson/6101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭notGill

This is one of those "lik dis if yhoo cwied" moments...

It's infuriating when the release dates are so staggered, it will almost be out on DVD in the US before its finished in the cinema here.

I have noticed the Irish reviews too, I think it was entertainment.ie which I find strange considering one would presume they are up to date on films coming out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Saw this a week ago, have to say it was brainless but enjoyable. The Rock was fantastic in it. I couldn't help but think Terry Crews would've been a better actor to cast for the black guy.

Was shocked when it was revealed it was a true story though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Cineworld did have this listed as being released today originally. Anyone know what the story is? I was really looking forward to seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

What is the story with movies not actually being shown on the actual release days in this poxy country?? I was hoping to see The rock in action in his movie "Snitch" which was released a few weeks ago! Not a sniff of it in any of the 4 or 5 cinemas close by also Behind The Pines which i was dying to see... not shown anywhere, now Pan & Gain doesn't even get listed on entertainment.ie with even a mention of preview screenings anywhere ffs!!! This country and there choice of what gets shown is ridiculous!! Who gets to make these decisions?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I think the UK release date was originally May 3 and got pushed back. I assume IMDb just forgot to update the Irish date. I haven't seen any Irish reviews.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It's extremely unlikely that a Hollywood film would receive a separate Irish and UK release - can't recall it ever happening, barring maybe the odd delayed print or two. So yeah, just an error, happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭DublinC

I'm seeing mentions of it being released on the 28th of August, now. Sadly that means it'll probably be available on DVD in the states at that point? A pity, really.

DublinC wrote: »
    I'm seeing mentions of it being released on the 28th of August, now. Sadly that means it'll probably be available on DVD in the states at that point? A pity, really.

Where did you see this? Link please?? Absolutely pathetic, i was really looking forward to seeing this in the cinema but after the Irish Film board said it would be released on the the 3rd, which it wasn't, i thought maybe next week latest! As you say it will be out on DVD release in the states by then which means there should be a decent copy available for download well before it is being screened over here!

I'm strongly opposed to downloading illegally (and I wouldn't watch this film even at the low, low cost of free), but let us be honest here: any delay that potentially limits the income of a Michael Bay film is probably beneficial to cinema as an artistic medium.

That's an argument in itself and one i don't want to get into for the millionth time with someone but if that movie was released when it was supposed to have been (This weekend) i would have paid to see it! But i wont when chances are it'l be available elsewhere. The same goes for the film "The Place Beyond the Pines" really wanted to see it but in the 4 or 5 cinemas that are close by to where i live NOT ONE of them are showing it and im not going on a mission to find a cinema that is so i blame the cinemas for not screening movies i want to see for watching it home when i actually wanted to go out and pay money to watch it on a big screen!

I really hate how people use any excuse to justify piracy. Pain and Gain's delayed release is annoying but it's not exactly uncommon. Disney stagnate the releases of most of their animated films meaning that you could have got Wreck It Ralph on Blu from America at the sometime it opened in cinemas here. Doesn't mean that downloading a ripped version is any more acceptable. The logistics and cost of a simultaneous worldwide release is ridiculous and as such, a medium budgeted film such as Pain and Gain will not have hundreds of millions pumped into marketing. By holding off on the European release the studio will be able to reuse many of the existing marketing materials and save themselves a bundle. Throw in the fact that with Iron Man 3 already out and Star Trek released this week there's good chance that a film such as Pain and Gain would suffer. Look at what happened the second X-Files film a few years back when it came out smack bang in the middle of summer, it opened wide and failed miserably.

It may not ideal for anyone living outside the US to have to wait a few months for a film but if you really are a fan of cinema then you'll wait, rather than watch some 700m rip on your laptop.

The Place Beyond the Pines is an odd one. It's been well reviewed and is doing decently but it's been released at the start of the blockbuster season and as such, a lot of cinemas simply don't have the space for it. There's still a number of cinemas around the country screening it and just because your local cinema does not have it does not mean that downloading it is acceptable.

You blame the cinemas for not getting it in, did you ever inquire with the cinema about getting it in? There's a good chance that once it finishes up in places such as Galway it'll be shown in smaller cinemas around the country but at that stage I imagine most people like yourself will have downloaded it. If you really are the fan of cinema you paint yourself as then surely if the films you want to see aren't playing in your local cinema you wait the 3 or so months and rent or buy them. Or you do what the rest of us who live outside Dublin do, we check the listings and go out of our way to see a film we want to. We don't sit around complaining that the local cinema isn't catering to our specific tastes.

I really hate how people use any excuse to justify piracy. Pain and Gain's delayed release is annoying but it's not exactly uncommon. Disney stagnate the releases of most of their animated films meaning that you could have got Wreck It Ralph on Blu from America at the sometime it opened in cinemas here. Doesn't mean that downloading a ripped version is any more acceptable. The logistics and cost of a simultaneous worldwide release is ridiculous and as such, a medium budgeted film such as Pain and Gain will not have hundreds of millions pumped into marketing. By holding off on the European release the studio will be able to reuse many of the existing marketing materials and save themselves a bundle. Throw in the fact that with Iron Man 3 already out and Star Trek released this week there's good chance that a film such as Pain and Gain would suffer. Look at what happened the second X-Files film a few years back when it came out smack bang in the middle of summer, it opened wide and failed miserably.

It may not ideal for anyone living outside the US to have to wait a few months for a film but if you really are a fan of cinema then you'll wait, rather than watch some 700m rip on your laptop.

The Place Beyond the Pines is an odd one. It's been well reviewed and is doing decently but it's been released at the start of the blockbuster season and as such, a lot of cinemas simply don't have the space for it. There's still a number of cinemas around the country screening it and just because your local cinema does not have it does not mean that downloading it is acceptable.

You blame the cinemas for not getting it in, did you ever inquire with the cinema about getting it in? There's a good chance that once it finishes up in places such as Galway it'll be shown in smaller cinemas around the country but at that stage I imagine most people like yourself will have downloaded it. If you really are the fan of cinema you paint yourself as then surely if the films you want to see aren't playing in your local cinema you wait the 3 or so months and rent or buy them. Or you do what the rest of us who live outside Dublin do, we check the listings and go out of our way to see a film we want to. We don't sit around complaining that the local cinema isn't catering to our specific tastes.

As i said i'm not getting into an argument about the rights or wrongs of downloading movies im fairly sure there is a thread for that if i wanted to discuss it.

has to be done at times , travelling to see something, I couldnt see Samsara here so went to Galway for it, likewise someone I know came here to see The Master as nowhere near where they lived was showing it.

I'm starting to come around to the idea of same-day on-demand releases for small films. Unless the studios run themselves into the ground or there's a major change in mainstream audiences, it's the only hope for independent cinema. As it stands we have this ridiculous situation in which a film picks up loads of positive word of mouth from festivals etc but audiences have no legitimate way of seeing the film until it's released on DVD in their territory three to six months later at which point most of the online chatter has died down. Why does it take so long? Because the distributor (assuming the film has one) is too busy dithering over whether to release it same weekend as Twilight or Iron Man. In the meantime everyone else has probably seen it because there's screeners/rips all over the place.

On demand in the US is great. Most of the smaller films are available on demand a month or so before the theatrical release. Thanks to VPN's you can now access them and tbh it's heaven for film fans.

The system is broken, and yes iTunes in the US is a good example of how to supplement a cinema release with a 'premium' VOD one.

If you think the Pain & Gain delay is bad... Evangelion 3.0 was released in Japanese cinemas in November last year, on home formats a week or two ago. Due to the antiquated, restrictive licensing system, the only news of a Western release is a provisional limited Australian one in late 2013, and a Manga representative saying there's 'not a chance' it will be released in English before 2014.

Meanwhile, the film was fan subbed within hours of its release, uploaded and on one anime-specific site alone torrented over a quarter of a million times. Imagine that was instead released on VOD and charge a fiver a pop. Even if a fraction of the downloaders were willing to pay, it would surely be an economically feasible model.

So yeah, just be glad the biggest delay you'll experience with a Hollywood production like Pain & Gain is two or three months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Binge101

The story deserved better tbh and I hope for a serious adaption in the future.

It loses the "unintentionally funny aspect of the story if it is made into a comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭DublinC

While I'm a huge fan of cinema, I'm not the best at patiently waiting months when there's an alternative available. I do go to the cinema whenever there's a good new release out, typically release times between different countries aren't that different.

SpaceCowb0y, I was lurking around UK theatre sites and noticed the date for release being August 28th, a user on entertainment.ie has said the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

This is now all over the interweb at DVD and higher quality.

Is it worth a look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Seems to be out here the end of August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Just to show what a joke of a delay this film has had, its out here the end of August (30th? with advance screenings this weekend) and its out on Blu ray/DVD in the states on the 27th :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

Watched this last night - enjoyed it, some funny moments as well, but you have to remember that it based on a true story and I'm sure the torture scenes were not that funny at the time for the victims. Bit long at 130mins though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Watched this last night - enjoyed it, some funny moments as well, but you have to remember that it based on a true story and I'm sure the torture scenes were not that funny at the time for the victims. Bit long at 130mins though.

Yeah I quite liked it too, although it has a strange tone. The jokes that lampoon body-building/gym culture are quite funny if you're familiar with the tropes but when you remember it's a true story it's pretty grim and dark.

Still the best Bay film for a good while though.