Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spotted in UCD/dublin bus/luas

• 17-12-2012 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone seen these facebook pages? They're basically pages that people can send a message too usually along the lines of: "To the girl in the UCD top is the spongebob square pants tops-I want to get into your square pants". Their message then gets put up as the page's status, thus giving total anonymity to a would be secret admirer.

The same goes for the dublin bus pages except there is messages about junkies and what not on that. So that page is not confined to match making.

I think that they're just a bit of fun at the moment but some of the messages are a bit creepy and as always, with anonymity there is the possibility of bullying.

Anyone else any experience with this page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Meh facebook.

• Site Banned Posts: 29 Nailin4Whales

Guy posting there: Loike omigod totally creepy and stalkerish, dude. So uncool. Get a real girlfriend the normal way.

Girl posting: Aww so sweet and romantic. I hope the guy himself responds and not some creeper wannabe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Square pants would be awful uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A quick selection of rosemance from the UCD spotted page:
    "To the blonde girl in the Norwegian sweat pants!! As long as I have a face you will always have a seat!!"

"to the cutie seated in 323 in the mainhall today with the nose ring at 12 pm. You make me as hard as a homemade scone.
    "black haired babe in the grey top and denim shorts near the bathrooms on the second floor :P how about a quick break in the disabled bathroom? relieve some of this study stress ;) from your admirer who cant stop staring across the way"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Unless your a cartoon sponge.

I know but funny all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

"black haired babe in the grey top and denim shorts near the bathrooms on the second floor how about a quick break in the disabled bathroom? relieve some of this study stress ...from your admirer who cant stop staring across the way..

Hint: I'm the one in the wheelchair"

"black haired babe in the grey top and denim shorts near the bathrooms on the second floor how about a quick break in the disabled bathroom? relieve some of this study stress ...from your admirer who cant stop staring across the way..

Hint: I'm the one in the wheelchair"

Would be funnier if she wheeled the wrong guy into the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

steddyeddy wrote: »

Anyone else any experience with this page?

No....I've always mildly disliked bookface and recently I've started to dislike my inherent shyness so when I like a girl and want to get in her squarepants I tell her to her face and see what the story is instead of posting messages on the internet.

Its taken me a long time to get to this point so I dont want bookface blundering in now and overcomplicating matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

'You make me as hard as a homemade scone'

As well as being pretty creepy, this guy needs to learn how to bake properly.

as long as i have a face you'll always have a seat

you make me as hard as a homemade scone

hmmmmm...........filing away for future use on girls whose square pants don't interest me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Those UCD ones are right out of Ross O CK. Hard as a homemade scone? That couldn't be real

amacca wrote: »
    No....I've always mildly disliked bookface and recently I've started to dislike my inherent shyness so when I like a girl and want to get in her squarepants I tell her to her face and see what the story is instead of posting messages on the internet.

Its taken me a long time to get to this point so I dont want bookface blundering in now and overcomplicating matters.

Oh I agree it's not a way I would let someone know I like them :). It's an amazing thing though. Since this page has went up the wimmens have started dressing sexier in ucd's library!

Where To wrote: »
    'You make me as hard as a homemade scone'

As well as being pretty creepy, this guy needs to learn how to bake properly.

as hard as a rock bun maybe?

any takers on rock bun

rock bun going, going gone......sold to the lady second row from the back on the left with the low cut top and that unmistakable glint in her eye!

Two more "classics".

"To the guy who sometimes sits around the second floor, who I think does Law and is known to sport a green beanie on occasion.. I hear you know your way around a football pitch and just wanted to let you know that if we got together, I'd show you a few of my own ball tricks and we could get real Messi ;) Lots of love, your admirer xoxo"
    "To the petite blonde girl who spent the evening by the window on the second floor, who hangs around at International Student Society events despite having a distinct south-dublin twang to her accent...

I was just wondering, would your dad happen to be in jail??

...Because if I was your dad, I'd be in jail."

Since this page has went up the wimmens have started dressing sexier in ucd's library!

Well perhaps I was initially too enthusiastic in my dismissal of the merits of such a page

I've never been against sexier dressing in any library.............

amacca wrote: »
    Well perhaps I was initially too enthusiastic in my dismissal of the merits of such a page

I've never been against sexier dressing in any library.............

It's actually very distracting to have a girl walk by your desk in hotpants several times a minute :(. Taxpayers are not funding students to do that!

that kind of thing is a sign that you're life is progressing in the right direction, you just have to maintain the momentum now

keep the head down do your study and before you know it you will be surrounded by many more women in hotpants which you will have to ignore in order to focus on maintaining your vast personal fortune which tends to attract hotpanted women like things that tend to stick to very sticky things

whatever you do don't start drinking, socialising and getting to know them like I did....that way lies averageness and anonymity my friend....yep, no hotpants here...just a pale shadow and a forgotten promise of what could have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Guy posting there: Loike omigod totally creepy and stalkerish, dude. So uncool. Get a real girlfriend the normal way.

Girl posting: Aww so sweet and romantic. I hope the guy himself responds and not some creeper wannabe

It depresses me to think that some day I may be this out of touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

The same goes for the dublin bus pages except there is messages about junkies and what not on that. So that page is not confined to match making.

Would you not just use the term addict or something less perjorative or derogatory?

I'm not being funny or trying to have a go, it is a pet hate of mine, but I ask as I think if you reflect on it you might just agree.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Here's another
    To the dairy farmers daughter. Hay there, cud we meet up for a drink sometime or udder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Here's a few (that I just made up):

To any girl that's in college and reads this. Please have sex with me, I'm so desperately lonely and college isn't turning out at all like Van Wilder Party Liaison. Please anyone talk to me. I'm so alone.
    Hey I'm a stupid c*nt who's too scared to talk to girls without 17 WKDs inside me, I think somehow that posting online about my sexual fantasies of people I stalk will somehow benefit me. I'm not even in college but spend all my time here staring at people's asses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

The Spotted UL Library page is pretty good.Or at least it was a few days ago when the library was packed but its died down a bit now.

Odysseus wrote: »

Would you not just use the term addict or something less perjorative or derogatory?

I'm not being funny or trying to have a go, it is a pet hate of mine, but I ask as I think if you reflect on it you might just agree.

Cheers

you are having a go and being funny!! Smashs glass over head and runs out of pub*. Ha ha. Ah I apologise O. I never usually use the term and I don't know why I did in this case. It may because of the langauge used on that particulary site. No excuses anyway I wont use it again. If you look through my posts hopefully you'll see that I usually defend those born in or who find themselces in less fortunate circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

Roysh, to the 40 year old married guy 2 seats down, can you loike please stop leering at my t!ts, omg

Jenny22

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

"Hard as a homemade scone" wtf. Clearly never had my mammies scones.

Two more "classics".

"oh wow, if he woz mi dad, he'd hv sexulii molested me, tht z loike soooooo sweeeedttt, I just hv w meet u xxx @#>;<< xxx $£^<<?$$ xxxxxxxxc \~>?~~££$*>~~.......,,MauraUCDHead

Then again it did say she was blonde, so I wouldn't be surprised if that comment impressed her

sfwcork wrote: »

He could have been a culchie in fairness though, "the sight of you makes me willy hard like them times I seen mammys home made scones cookin in the stove How would you to like a sup of me red diesel then bai eh heh heh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Anybody know what has happened to the Spotted UCD and TCD library facebook pages?

They do not appear when searched for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Anybody know what has happened to the Spotted UCD and TCD library facebook pages?

They do not appear when searched for.

Sadly, they've been hunted to extinction by poachers for their fur.

If we don't act now, soon beautiful creatures like the Spotted NUIM page will face a similar fate.

Please give what you can, and adopt a Spotted NUIM today.
    Thank you.

Heard the UCD and TCD SU's were advising people to be nice on them, and wondering if they may have been taken down.

UCD Centra and Overheard in UCD are good, but they're not the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The spotted in coppers page is hilarious!

smash wrote: »
    The spotted in coppers page is hilarious!

Deadly!:) They're springing up everywhere.

"To the girl in Business and Law in UCD who I was with on Thursday and went home with you...I think u work in Dundrum and from Mayo....Well tbh....I wasn't wearing a Johnny the last night....Merry Xmas..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Half the messages are probably sent by the middle aged lecturers !

I haven't laughed this hard in ages. Not arsed clicking the link so keep them coming!

Can't wait for next week. That page is only about a month old.

How the hell did this happen though! In a packed bar!

"To the guy who decided to pee against the bar in the smoking area...you missed and peed all over my leg and it was so packed I couldn't move out of the way! Prick! (Anonymous)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

sfwcork wrote: »

Ah no, sure maybe your man's erections have a wonderfully fluffy, airy texture to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Deadly!:) They're springing up everywhere.

"To the girl in Business and Law in UCD who I was with on Thursday and went home with you...I think u work in Dundrum and from Mayo....Well tbh....I wasn't wearing a Johnny the last night....Merry Xmas..."

I'm not a violent person but I would love to kick this person in the balls as hard as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Is the stone-age messageboard that used to be on the backs of all the toilet doors in the womens' toilets in the LG area of the Arts block in UCD still up and running?

Those were awesome, you could scribble a question about anyone/anything and come back in a few days to a wall of detailed information, jokes and advice.

There was some seriously intimate detail available too about the, um, prowess of pretty much any reasonably well-known guy studying there. Probably mostly lies but it was still pretty entertaining.