Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Q

• 16-12-2012 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭

My husband passed his test yesterday in Wilton. :D

I'm wondering though. He has the pass cert. Obviously, we'll have to send for the licence, but want to wait until the new CC style one comes in Jan.

Just in case of a pull from the Gards (We've had one already this week! :)), would it be OK to put a copy of the pass cert in the glove box and produce that?

Opinions?

TIA :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Bump! Any ideas chaps? :D

Might also be useful to others in the same boat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Isnt there a limited amount of time before you have to hand in the cert and get the license,when i passed 1st time in 2001 i went straightaway!

It's 2 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

He is still a learner until he exchanges the learner permit for a full licence, so he still has all the learner restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

bop1977 wrote: »
    He is still a learner until he exchanges the learner permit for a full licence, so he still has all the learner restrictions.
    To quote Irish Law, he'll be grand, drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Realistically it's only for a week, as Christmas week will feck things up. Keep his provisional license and a copy of his pass cert with him while driving, stick to the rules for learners (drive accompanied, etc). Make sure tax, insurance, NCT are all in order, and keep 5 miles away from any alcohol over the Christmas period.

aujopimur wrote: »
    To quote Irish Law, he'll be grand, drive on.

Thoie wrote: »
    Realistically it's only for a week, as Christmas week will feck things up. Keep his provisional license and a copy of his pass cert with him while driving, stick to the rules for learners (drive accompanied, etc). Make sure tax, insurance, NCT are all in order, and keep 5 miles away from any alcohol over the Christmas period.

Exactly what we were thinking. We've put a copy of the pass cert in with the permit. Rent's in order, so not bothered about that. And my husband doesn't drink!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

If I'm correct,,the prices of the licences are going to more than double from Jan 1st.

The 10 year licence is going to be €55.

If I were you,,I'd get it before then...It's only €25 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

He's still a learner though. He can still be done for driving on his own..... A certificate of competence isn't a full licence. The Gardai would be within their rights to do your husband for driving on a provisional / permit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

From this thread they may have pulled the forms for getting an "old" style licence.

Check to see if there are any forms available, if not then there's not much you can do. I doubt any Guard or Judge would do someone for driving with a licence when they can't get the licence till next Jan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I do recall that having a cert of competency releases a driver from having being accompanied but does not grant other privileges such as driving on motorways or abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I do recall that having a cert of competency releases a driver from having being accompanied but does not grant other privileges such as driving on motorways or abroad.
    I always thought the cert carried the same weight as the full licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I passed my test on a Saturday in July this year and I do remember the tester saying the cert was valid for 2 years. Still Monday morning I was in the tax office sending of the forms although I didn't care whether the licence was a credit card type or old type. However if you want the new type licence I couldn't see the harm in waiting maybe avoid motorways until you get the licence.