Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

checkout people

• 14-12-2012 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

so , do you envy them there job, do u think its easy, do u feel for them dealing with the public, they use to get such bad press, but can we understand why??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Give a fúck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

bad press?

when did that happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

There's a girl works down the check-outs - swears she's Joan of Ark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

From working in retail, I can honestly say that majority of customers are wánkers that I deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

yes, i like to check out people. who doesn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

There's a girl works down the check-outs - swears she's Joan of Ark.

Is she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

keith16 wrote: »
    Is she hot?

Smokin' ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

sand678 wrote: »
    so , do you envy them there job, do u think its easy, do u feel for them dealing with the public, they use to get such bad press, but can we understand why??

Let's try to figure out what this sentence means first and then we'll get to checkout girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭justaskin likeyakno

Checkout people=just put your stuff through, take money, next, beep beep beep, they don't have to engage with the customer. I'd love it, I work in a chemist and hate having to deal with the orifices of the body when they go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I used to work on a check out in supervalu. Between that and working the front desk, I found that customers will treat you with respect if you show them respect.

I only ever had a problem with one customer, she said I was rude. My manager didn't even entertain it, I was never ever rude to anyone. SHe said she worked in a boys secondary school for 30 years and has never been spoken to so rudely. My manager brought her in and showed her the recording, me smiling, packing her bag for her etc.

There's one Tesco that I hate going in to. THe staff are absolutely horrible, I've never once been treated well while at a check out there, I leave angry and annoyed. I'll be writing a letter to the management. They are rude, on their phones, no manners, no help packing or any of the little things that make your day easier. It must be one of the busiest in Dublin, and they treat the customers like dirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

From working in retail, I can honestly say that majority of customers are wánkers that I deal with.

likewise, ive been 17 years dealing with the public. you deal with all sorts of [weird, strange, evil, sleazy, dangerous, snobby] **** every day

Checkout people=just put your stuff through, take money, next, beep beep beep, they don't have to engage with the customer. I'd love it, I work in a chemist and hate having to deal with the orifices of the body when they go wrong.

What's that got to do with working in a chemist? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

LIDL staff are like robots, they scan items so fast!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I hate checkout people that dont say thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I feel bad for them because they have to deal with supermarket managers.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

someof them sound like Ryanair staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Bag packers really grind my gears...especially "charity" ones! I can handle checkout people.

What's that got to do with working in a chemist? :)

Orifice of the body=assholes, earholes, noseholes, fannyholes, eyeholes, pie hole, people come to me when they leak....

ASS....hemorides(i know it's spelt wrong),shiite either coming out too quick or too little, itchy....

ear wax and other crap.can't hear, pain, got it pierced and it's infected....

Noses...running too much, stuffy, snotty....

Fannys...itchy, smelly, sore...need i go on...same goes for willies btw.

Eyes..leaking, too dry, sore, swollen..

Piehole(mouth) dry, blisters, cold sores, ulcers, dental stuff.

I am professional with my duties and never bat an eyelid at the things I'm asked, but sometimes, I like to just serve, take money and say next.

And even though I give them all the advice and tell them three times ..these are the only products available for such conditions, they don't believe me and ask for the pharmacist who then gives me a bollocking for disturbing him....and also...i'm not a doctor.

benwavner wrote: »
    Bag packers really grind my gears...especially "charity" ones! I can handle checkout people.

Yeah, what are you collecting for there?

Oh just to send the local under 9s baseball team for a two week blitz in Cuba.

Have to laugh at people thinking it's easy. Not having to engage with the customer? Bollix, that's classed as bad customer service.

Have to deal with people moaning

''The queue is too big''

Oh really? Well don't fúcking shop here, nothing I can do.

*Customer enquires over an item*

I give the correct answer. '' Oh can I speak to a manger? '' ''They're going to tell you exactly what I just said'' ''Oh well, can I still speak to a manger? ''

/Facepalm

Yeah, what are you collecting for there?

Oh just to send the local under 9s baseball team for a two week blitz in Cuba.

Exactly! oh and "I hope you don't mind but I put your potatoes on top and eggs on the bottom" now I demand a handfull of change.

Orifice of the body=assholes, earholes, noseholes, fannyholes, eyeholes, pie hole, people come to me when they leak....

Fannys...itchy, smelly, sore...need i go on...same goes for willies btw.

Ha ha. You said "fanny".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I've worked on tills for years, and generally once you are pleasant customers are pleasant. But there is still a significant proportion who no matter how pleasant you are are determined to be rude and/or angry and unreasonable, generally stemming from their belief that sales assistants are responsible for the pricing and for all store policy. Or are just plain beneath them. The proportion of retail staff studying for degrees/masters etc. is huge and this attitude is most prevalent from middle aged women who look like they haven't worked in decades.

Checkouts are worse in a way. Checkout staff don't do anything else, whereas a lot of staff on tills only do it for part of the day. I have had to do it for a day or two in Dunnes (not grocery staff, but had a grocery dept in the store) and it is just so much more boring. You also get a lot of people whining about alcohol ID policies (did you know that if you serve an underager and get caught- like one of those garda stings- that YOU automatically get fired? THAT is why the sales assistant is so strict! It does't just affect the store), plastic bag levies and things like scanning someone else' items because the customers did not use dividers. Aghhhh. Not to mention, you need a lot more voids and price changes than you would in drapery and all of those require a manager's key. This often results in the customer getting seriously stroppy about having to wait as if I am lying and can do it myself. Oh and there's no escape without having customers have a fit at 'Sorry this checkout is closed'. Yes how DARE I go on lunch/break/toilet/home? I should just stay until there are no customers because I don't deserve to eat or have a life!

TL;DR- It's a boring thankless job and you should cut the checkout person some slack. Unless they are on their phone or rude themselves- **** those ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Be my idea of hell, dealing with the public all day and having to make small talk with randomers. Envy them their job?! **** no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sand678

the reason i asked was because i was in a supermarket, and i seen a woman throw two bags and a cardigan in the operators face , and all because she didint want the free paper bag, she wanted a plastic bag but didnt want to pay the 22 cent goverment levy, it made me think, im a nurse and if any client/patient treated me that way they would be arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

They're alright like.

I don't See how you can have a problem with them really, they take your items scan it then ask for money, who cares if they don't smile or make small talk.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    They're alright like.

I don't See how you can have a problem with them really, they take your items scan it then ask for money, who cares if they don't smile or make small talk.

Eh, I do...

I don't want to look at a mopey face who drags my groceries across the scanner like its killing them slowly. Then they mutter what it comes to without saying please, I ask them to repeat what they said and they bark it at me. I then get to look at their greasy hair as they 'slyly' go on their phones, probably giving out about their crappy day in work. They take my money, silently hand me my change and receipt and fold their arms and look into space or bite their nails until I pack my groceries, which they pretend they can't see.

All the while I'm getting more and more annoyed.
    Manners cost nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

You would know you dont work for an international retailer of any standing so.

Remember that till bit*h in Intermission............cnut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Can't believe I'm the first to thank this.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Eh, I do...

I don't want to look at a mopey face who drags my groceries across the scanner like its killing them slowly. Then they mutter what it comes to without saying please, I ask them to repeat what they said and they bark it at me. I then get to look at their greasy hair as they 'slyly' go on their phones, probably giving out about their crappy day in work. They take my money, silently hand me my change and receipt and fold their arms and look into space or bite their nails until I pack my groceries, which they pretend they can't see.

Manners cost nothing...
    They probably want to give you a cuddle, but are confounded by your username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sand678

Eh, I do...

Manners cost nothing...

i hate cuddles, im so negative, never met an operator like that yet, tell me where u shop so i can avoid;)

Eh, I do...

Manners cost nothing...

We'd be fired in my job if we did that and rightly so. It's awful customer service.

You would know you dont work for an international retailer of any standing so.
    Well that is my experience of tescos, supervalu, pet mania, Macy's, Walmart and some smaller Irish retailers.

This is not the customer service I give because I was trained by one of Ireland leading pharmacy chains, my job annoys me, but the customer will never pick up on that. Best advice I was given....let the uniform take it(customer abuse that is), as for the lady who had to suffer a customer throwing stuff back at her, if the security and management were any good the customer should have been escorted out, that is unacceptable behavior for anyone.

Some people, my own family included seem to think that checkout staff are beneath them and it,s not a job they would do in a fit. So if some checkout staff are switched off, ignore them and applaud the good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Eh, I do...

Manners cost nothing...

Use the self service checkout, problem solved.
    Do remember that 99% of customers are insufferable assholes, working with the public is horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I always smile and say thanks to the checkout people, maybe make a comment about the weather or something.
    They always smile and give some type of greeting, maybe it is corporate policy for them to do it, I don't know but I'm not going to be responsible for making their job any shíttier than it already is.

krudler wrote: »

Not every shop has them.

Do remember that 99% of customers are insufferable assholes, working with the public is horrible.

I was in a fujifilm shop last nite printing out some photos. Some insufferable wench came in complaining that she printed out her photos wrong. Would not admit that she was wrong and gave the guy an awful time, particularly when he told her "you previewed them before you printed them".

Absolute wench.

I think the opposite, 99% of customers are fine. THey want to get in and out quickly, be smiled at and treated with respect.

Self service is what I normally do, but if I'm buying alcohol or there's a check out free I'll jump in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Stinicker wrote: »
    LIDL staff are like robots, they scan items so fast!
    Some of them could nearly just fling your items into the trolley as they go! They're unreal! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Sadly the vast majority of my jobs have been in retail :((really should look to the future and learn some sort of skill)

But when working in retail if you put that "front" on (..front just means show a fake courteous and friendly manner) most people will be alright to you. You will however always interact with such pricks that no matter what you do, just wanna give you shit :rolleyes:

But reality is, both the retailer and consumer are equally pricks.

- Your average customer feels that just because you work there, it means they don't have to treat you the same as your average person. It doesnt matter if you are barely eeking out a living on 8.65 per hour. Being the worker ant in the place with zero say on how things are handled... no. They feel they have a right to give you shit.

- But then we come to the retail side of things. Companies are more than willing to take your money. Seemingly offering 'fair' return policies or guarantees (But secretly create loopholes for themselves) .... Say you buy a product. Its not what you really wanted so you want to bring it back. Well tough **** you opened the box! No return for you ... or what if you bought a product and you accidently did something to it and now its stopped working? well they have loopholes for that too :) Namely "our 28 day returns policy doesnt cover that kind of damage but our extended warrenty did" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What's the idea of those alcohol free checkouts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

kneemos wrote: »
    What's the idea of those alcohol free checkouts?

The idea is that you can't buy alcohol at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

I just left my job there on checkouts for 5 years, in superquinn. There's a self scan system in there called superscan for anyone who doesn't know. It's great and getting to sit on it provided a welcome break from the slog of the day to day checkout stuff. It has a designated till, with 2 or 3 signs that are pretty clearly intrusive when you are approaching the till. There are times when very few customers would use it but then generally in 5 minutes there could be a big line and a second one would have to be opened so staff are told to keep it only for superscans and if the coast is clear maybe a few small baskets. The amount of people who threw big hissy fits at not being served is ridiculous. Even when I was going to serve someone I would feign ignorance and ask if they had their scanner and when they said no I'd just say oh grand and maybe explain to them what superscan is if the didn't know. This was ok. There'd be 2 or 3 people every couple of hours however who would clearly do it time and again, come up and just throw the stuff up, knowing what they were doing and just purposely being dicks about it that could put me into a foul mood and affect my interactions with other customers.

People just get so ignorant in supermarkets for some reason when otherwise outside of it they'd be normal. Now I have noticed in places like Tesco and Aldi that the same standards of service aren't generally there as they are in Superquinn but at the same time I'd say the people they have to put up with are far worse so wouldn't hold it against them. You have to have some sort of a guard or a way of venting when the exceptional assholes come up or else it drives you crazy. I would generally just badmouth them to a co worker and then be done with it. When people were nice it would actually brighten up the day so much, hopefully for the two of us but the opposite is definitely true for the bad experiences. Just because someone wasn't as outgoing as you would have liked or looked off doesn't mean they are like that all the time. The problem is that people seem to think that one experience is the way they are all the time. Give them a chance before you go shít on them to a manager or something because that helps nobody. If they are purposely being ignorant and checking their phones instead of scanning or whatever then yeah there's a problem but not them doing their job and not going above and beyond, if that gets you riled up the problem is with you imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

stoneill wrote: »
    The idea is that you can't buy alcohol at them.

The Nobel award for you.Why can't you buy alcohol at them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Lidl check-out ppls for the win,

"a hello, a smile, scan, card, thank you"

Dunnes

"club card, scowl, "i need a void", waddles off, yaps to friend, total, card"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ACBBFG

kneemos wrote: »
    The Nobel award for you.Why can't you buy alcohol at them?

often if there is someone under 18 working that till, alcohol cant be sold