Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chavez-mania

• 12-12-2012 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

From what I here from most people outside Ireland, Hugo Chavez is a bit of a dictator but in Ireland people are very quick to defend him. It happened last night in the pub with a few lads on a rant about how great he is and how Ireland could do with someone like him.

So my question is this why the obsession with him here??

(To the moderators I didn't put this into the politics forum, looking for a bit of humor and some less serious answers :D)

for the laugh I will put up a poll

Hugo Chavez would you have him as Taoiseach 14 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 14 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

bobo26b wrote: »
    for the laugh I will put up a poll

Put a flag on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We just like chavs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No idea why there should be a fuss about him here, never noticed myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Cant be any worse than what we have already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Now there's a poll, guess he couldn't do any worse as Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Please tell me OP how you got from a few lads in the pub having a favourable view of Hugo Chavez and equating that to an Irish national obsession. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭penzo

tbh, I don't know too much about him and most people I know might not even know of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bobo26b

Please tell me OP how you got from a few lads in the pub having a favourable view of Hugo Chavez and equating that to an Irish national obsession. :confused:

noticed an article about his health on the Journal.ie and a lot of comments underneath it in support of him. Not saying that its fact that Ireland love him but just noticed recently a lot of support for him in Ireland say compared to people I've talked to in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,572 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

In before anyone mentions our gas and oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

I have never heard anyone defend Hugo Chavez ever. However Irish people do seem to have a fixation with che guevara tee-shirts. Which are in themselves ironic considering his politics clashed with the idea of consumer merchandise. Anyway,did you see the guy in the audience on the late late? He like totally looked at the camera like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,850 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Cant be any worse than what we have already

At least Enda doesn't turn up on RTE for 7 hours every Sunday telling us how good he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Better dead then red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I try to steer the conversation towards the weather, but nothing will do Irish people but to talk about Hugo Chavez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Liverpool need to get at least one more striker in January, can't keep relying on this guy.

Brilliant nd all as he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Never heard of this, the OP is a load of me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,850 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Liverpool need to get at least one more striker in January, can't keep relying on this guy.

Brilliant nd all as he is.

You're thinking of Fidel Castro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

biko wrote: »
    We just like chavs
    take all of ours then please.:D
    -chavez mania sounds like a wrongly spelled group of chavs with bipolar-in the manic phase,as if these disadvantaged innocent clever kindhearted honest exceptional admireable dedicated soldiers of society dont have enough to put up with in life already [hmmm,thanks thesaurus.com for helping out back there].:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Was having a drink with a Venezuelan helicopter pilot a couple of weeks ago, he didn't think much of his dear leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I'm guessing the OP got mixed up and meant to say Che Guevera.

Fun fact: The iconic image of Che that's plastered all over t-shirts and posters everywhere was originally created by an Irish man.
    And he never copyrighted the image, so he never made a penny from it.