Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny defends his(and his colleagues) pay!!

• 12-12-2012 12:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

I find it hard to believe these people can keep a straight face when this topic comes up in the Dail and elsewhere..especially after the recent budget!!

€200k plus perks for a tea shock? And that little man has no problem defending it. He got lucky that it was Adams that brought it up in the Dail as he could respond with the usual IRA spiel. Also with Micheal Martin as he could use the usual blame game as to how FF brought the country to its knees..bla bla bla.

Thank you Ireland for all(hopefully not many)the €200k's that I'm going to get till I'm booted out. I also look forward to spending ur money when I get my nice big fat pension. As for you common people out there...thank you for ur money..continue to enjoy the recession!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭golfball37

The problem in Ireland is that most people think its acceptable to answer a Dail question from Adams with a retort concerning Jean McConville or Northern Bank.

I was ashamed to be Irish yesterday hearing the taoiseach using a dead woman to park a tough political question. Even more embarrassing was the way the CC found it acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

EURATS wrote: »
    I find it hard to believe these people can keep a straight face when this topic comes up in the Dail and elsewhere..especially after the recent budget!!

€200k plus perks for a tea shock? And that little man has no problem defending it. He got lucky that it was Adams that brought it up in the Dail as he could respond with the usual IRA spiel. Also with Micheal Martin as he could use the usual blame game as to how FF brought the country to its knees..bla bla bla.

Thank you Ireland for all(hopefully not many)the €200k's that I'm going to get till I'm booted out. I also look forward to spending ur money when I get my nice big fat pension. As for you common people out there...thank you for ur money..continue to enjoy the recession!!

Is there somewhere online where I can read what he said?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

golfball37 wrote: »
    The problem in Ireland is that most people think its acceptable to answer a Dail question from Adams with a retort concerning Jean McConville or Northern Bank.

I was ashamed to be Irish yesterday hearing the taoiseach using a dead woman to park a tough political question. Even more embarrassing was the way the CC found it acceptable.

I am no defender of Adams, but the comment the Taoiseach made yesterday in reply to his query was an absolute disgrace. It is gutter politics being employed by Enda, and he should apologise for the remarks he made. I think people are becoming a little weary of the Taoiseach and his smart alec approach.

The transcript should be put up here soon - http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Yes getting tired of Enda and others throwing back the same old rhetoric for every question their asked. This is deflecting tactics from the real issue which is the payment he and others in Government and all our TDs receive. Careers allowance taken away for respite. How about we get rid of some of our politicians ? That would be a real saving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

I think Enda Kenny is the biggest embarrasment to this country in a long time. What does he actually do to justify this salary??? he is a symbol of how far gombeen politics in this country can get you

From his inability to intelligently debate or articulate any issues whether economical, legal, historical or otherwise it seems baffling to me how he has got so far in Irish politics. Its well known what alot of his own party members think of him as they attempted a heave against him before they got into power. Hell, his own current minister of finance (Michael Noonan) wouldnt even give him a shadow portfolio while in opposition when he himself was leader of the party. This was after Enda Kenny had nearly spent 30 years as a TD.

It's no of no doubt in my mind that the only reason he survived that internal party leadership heave was that he made promises to other TD's such as Phil Hogan & James O'Reilly that they would be given ministries should he be kept on as leader of the party. Im sure alot of the small time backbenchers were more easily bought.

He carrys no weight whatsoever as leader of our country, he has portrayed us a weak & subservient country to neighbours in Europe which has no doubt in my mind affected us on getting any sort of a writedown on the banking debt. On one hand he tells the country through comical TV addresses that it wasnt our fault & on the other he tells Europe that we simply went mad borrowing. Hypocriosy at its finest.

Anytime he's questioned on how poor our economy is continuing to perform, he blames the previous government. Within the first year this was legitimate but how long will we continue to accept this as the answer while his government continue to make cowardly & comical decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Anytime he's questioned on how poor our economy is continuing to perform, he blames the previous government. Within the first year this was legitimate but how long will we continue to accept this as the answer while his government continue to make cowardly & comical decisions.

This goes for every member of the government parties. They asked us for the responsibility to rebuild our country - when can we expect them to stop blaming the other guy and get on with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

If Kenny was posting on boards yesterday he would have been called out for ad hominem. It was pretty disgusting to watch our Taoiseach behave like that. He actually managed to look worse than eamon Gilmore did playing on his phone as the opposition were making the point that he was out of touch on budget day. Hopefully he got a high score on angry birds.

I think Enda Kenny is the biggest embarrasment to this country in a long time. What does he actually do to justify this salary??? he is a symbol of how far gombeen politics in this country can get you

From his inability to intelligently debate or articulate any issues whether economical, legal, historical or otherwise it seems baffling to me how he has got so far in Irish politics. Its well known what alot of his own party members think of him as they attempted a heave against him before they got into power. Hell, his own current minister of finance (Michael Noonan) wouldnt even give him a shadow portfolio while in opposition when he himself was leader of the party. This was after Enda Kenny had nearly spent 30 years as a TD.

It's no of no doubt in my mind that the only reason he survived that internal party leadership heave was that he made promises to other TD's such as Phil Hogan & James O'Reilly that they would be given ministries should he be kept on as leader of the party. Im sure alot of the small time backbenchers were more easily bought.

He carrys no weight whatsoever as leader of our country, he has portrayed us a weak & subservient country to neighbours in Europe which has no doubt in my mind affected us on getting any sort of a writedown on the banking debt. On one hand he tells the country through comical TV addresses that it wasnt our fault & on the other he tells Europe that we simply went mad borrowing. Hypocriosy at its finest.

Ahem:

Never forget!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Enda was without a script written by "the communication clinic" so he resorted to the usual blah, blah, Jean McConville, blah, blah, Northern Bank.
    To think this embarrassment was once a teacher and is now the leader of our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Ahem:

Never forget!

This is part of the problem. You are trying to measure Kenny up against someone as mediocre as Cowan. We don't want Cowan, we said so at the first opportunity we got at the last election.

The fact is that we should have someone who is capable of running the country and Kenny is clearly not up to the job. Saying that he is better than the one that went before doesn't cut any ice with me, I want someone who can make decisions , be articulate and represent us properly, Kenny doesn't tick any of these boxes.

Right now we need a politician in the mould of Gerhard Schroeder, someone who isn't afraid to make hard decisions and can stand up to them and explain properly why they have been made. Schroeder had many faults but he was a good Chancellor.

Kenny's weak performance is one of the reasons why FF will regrettably make inroads at the the next GE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

After all the venting to atmosphere on Enda Kenny's personal traits and abilities as a Politician,it still comes back to a substantial number of the Mayo electorate,consistently,since 1975 :eek: ,electing the man to represent them...again and again and again....

If we have a problem with Enda Kenny,or any politician,then it surely follows that we have a problem with those whom he,obviously very well, represents ?

How do we square this circle....? :confused:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    After all the venting to atmosphere on Enda Kenny's personal traits and abilities as a Politician,it still comes back to a substantial number of the Mayo electorate,consistently,since 1975 :eek: ,electing the man to represent them...again and again and again....

If we have a problem with Enda Kenny,or any politician,then it surely follows that we have a problem with those whom he,obviously very well, represents ?

Well first of all there's too many opportunities for ineffective & self obsessed tds to get a sit in this country. The number of tds still needs to drop & drastically.

Secondly the structure of politics needs to change in this country from within so no tds have direct lines to planning office's or have a big say in the affairs of local county councils.

Thirdly, the no. of county & city councils we have in this country is a farce. We need to reduce & amalgamate the councils we have so these individual local politicians influence is reduced.

The main reason tds like Enda Kenny, Jackie Healy Rae, Phil Hogan, Michael Lowry, Bertie Ahern, Michael Healy Rae get into power is because of their unwarranted influence at local level politics. This needs to be reduced dramatically as their toxic for politics at a national level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

AlekSmart wrote: »

Eject Mayo from the State like Malaysia did with Singapore? :D

Aren't they all looking after their constituents sure look at the big Sphorts grants all their local clubs got. buying votes for the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

That is not a problem as far as I am concerned.

The embarrassment for Ireland is having the likes of Adams and his cohort elected to our parliament.

Godge wrote: »

The embarrassment for Ireland is having the likes of Adams and his cohort elected to our parliament.

Adams was elected in the constituency of Louth, that it is what is but he's not the taoiseach & dosent answer every question from Fianna Fail with 'your party caused this mess' & from Sinn Fein with 'your party were reponsible for murders & bank robberies'. Thats the embarrassing thing currently & has been for the last two years. He's a disgrace.

Again with the deflecting. Plenty of posts about Sinn Fein and Adams. The thread clearly starts with Enda Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Godge wrote: »

I'd personally rather Adams and indeed a lot of SF or indeed FF weren't in the Dail. But they were democratically elected in an election that was judged to be free and fair and as such they have a right to sit there and ask questions on behalf of their party or constituents.

Thus they also have a right to be answered, something which Kenny has refused to do, or in my opinion is incapable of doing. The fact that the Ceann Comhairle tolerates this, often with a smirk on his face is not only disgraceful but an affront to the electorate.

I honestly think Kenny, Barrett and Reilly are wasted in their positions, I'd rather they left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Carra23

The Oireachtas website will have a transcript of the debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭wingsof daun

bijapos wrote: »

I honestly think Kenny, Barrett and Reilly are wasted in their positions, I'd rather they left.

They will not, as you know, leave or call a general election. They expose the faults with our representative democracy. We are not in a true democracy. But it is the standard democracy being supported the world over and is described as being part of what is called freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

FG and especially Enda Kenny are, and have been since they got into power, a national disgrace.

They have shown in no uncertain terms that they are as crooked and bent as the last shower that went before them, and believe me that took some doing.

Any FG voter and die hard supporter that does not cringe when they look upon that utter imbecile Kenny, the supposed leader of our country as he replied to Gerry Adams simple questions with the usual, predictable, absolute childish remarks he made should hang their heads in shame.

If the man can't stand up defend himself, his decisions, and the govts decisions then he should step aside and let someone articulate enough to do it in his place.

School days are over Enda, you're playing with the big boys now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Listening to that this morning was embarrassing,That dail sometimes resembles a classroom of kindergarten children than supposedly mature adults trying to rebuild our country.Enda kenny sounded like a complete tosser this morning as did his party colleague on the radio trying to defend him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I'll be honest I loathe Adams and have no intention of voting Sinn Féin. But I was actually about to start a topic about Enda's comments. My jaw dropped when I heard his comment directed at Adams repeated on The Last Word. It reminded me a bit of when topics randomly go 'off topic' on boards and was entirely inappropriate.

Kenny comes across as childish and incompetent when he abandons addressing the questions and just makes jibes at the opposition parties. He does similar with Fianna Fáil by basically saying 'you started it!'. I really expect a lot more for a man who's supposed to act as the leader of the country.

Also, is it just me or have the Dáil debates been far more argumentative in the past few weeks? It seems to descend into anarchy every few days.

Deputy Gerry Adams: It is more in sadness than in anger that I must say the Taoiseach just does not get it. The budget is all about the Fine Gael Party and the Labour Party. It tells us everything we need to know about the two parties. There is huge anger among the people about the cuts and the new taxes the Government has introduced to target citizens who are unable to pay. It is not that they will not pay, they cannot pay. I was at a public meeting last night in Dundalk when I saw raw emotion and despair. I heard a mother say women had a sense of failure in having to admit they could not feed their children. That is what she said. People are deeply incensed by the cuts to child benefit and the back to school allowance, by the taxing of maternity benefit, the increase in PRSI, increased prescription charges and the tax on the family home. However, what has really incensed them, although they are not affected, are the cuts to the respite care grant, through which the Government is picking the pockets of 77,000 citizens. The respite care grant is hugely important to the families involved. Leaving aside the ethics, cutting the grant is bad economics. If the State had to pay for the care the families concerned provide 24 hours a day, seven days a week, it would not be able to bear the cost. If the Taoiseach does not get this - sitting in a row of millionaires - it is because he is taking home €200,000 a year. Therefore, he does not understand what it is like to have to get kids back to school.

Deputy Paul Kehoe: We do not have a house in the North and the South.

An Ceann Comhairle: Please allow the Deputy to continue.

Deputy Gerry Adams: Those listening to the Taoiseach will not be encouraged that he has a sense of their plight. Ministers take home over €3,000 a week. The Government has broken the cap for special advisers and refuses to consider alternatives. If I was to bring in the woman who spoke last night and she was to plead with the Taoiseach to reverse this cut, would he do it? On her behalf, I ask him to reverse it. There are alternative ways of raising the money. Will the Taoiseach consider reversing this dreadful cut which will affect people who just cannot afford to take it?

The Taoiseach: I was in Phibsboro last Saturday with Deputy Paschal Donohoe when I met some of Deputy Gerry Adams's supporters on the street who were handing out leaflets attacking the Labour Party, but these supporters were not able to answer any question about any of the issues mentioned on the leaflets regarding the fantasy economics in which Sinn Féin was engaged. The Deputy has made a disgraceful comment about Ministers. I assure him that none of them was funded by the assets of Northern Bank.

Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn: Here we go again.

The Taoiseach: Deputy Gerry Adams knows very little about taxation matters if he makes a comment like the one he has just made. However, I will not go back over history to hear the Deputy expound on many elements of the truth. It ill behoves him to talk about the raw emotion of women, in particular, having regard to some of the incidents that occurred in his lifetime and with which he was associated, which resulted not in just raw emotion but which had tragic consequences. I will not take that from the Deputy and it is beneath him to carry on like that.

Carer's allowance in Northern Ireland is £58.45. Having made the decision on the bigger issue to sort out the public finances and put the economy in shape for the future and having made decisions on child benefit and the respite care grant, the carer's allowance, the carer's package, the homecare package and the half-rate carer's allowance all remain untouched. The respite care grant stands at a figure of €1,375, although for many, this is not enough and never will be. I have given the Deputy the numbers for those in receipt of the allowance. As he is aware, payment of the allowance is unconditional because of our appreciation for what carers actually do. This is reflected in the carers' strategy which was published by the Minister of State, Deputy Kathleen Lynch, earlier this year and accepted by all and which we would like to see implemented.

As the truth goes, although this might be scarce in the Deputy's repertoire, financial circumstances do not permit us to pay all we would like to in these difficult days. It is not a case of elements of the budget being reversed on a whim. This has been a very difficult budget to put together and we recognise it is trying for many, but we must get the country out of its difficulties. As I said to Deputy Micheál Martin, over €500 million extra will come from those who can best afford to pay.

Deputy Gerry Adams: I never thought the Taoiseach would make me laugh on this day, but his stupid remark about the Northern Bank in response to a serious question made me laugh. Second, he referred to events in my life and women. That is below him and diminishes the office he holds. Sinn Féin Members and I are here with a mandate. We have been mandated to raise the issues we are raising. The Taoiseach was never given a mandate to do what he is doing. He was not sent here to cut the allowances of carers. He was not sent here to cut child benefit or maternity benefit. He asked for and was given a mandate to do the exact opposite. He can be tough with the people concerned and say the things he does across the floor, but he kowtows to his masters in Europe. He kowtowed to the big bankers and the golden circles who got us into this difficulty. He should cut out the waffle and the rubbish and answer the question. He should show some compassion. He says the budget is difficult for him, but, with respect, it is not the least bit difficult for him. This is the easy choice to make, to tackle those who are not organised and who are vulnerable and on the margins.

Deputy Alan Shatter: If the Deputy had showed compassion 15 or 20 years ago, it would have made a big difference.

Deputy Gerry Adams: The difficult choice is to tackle the powerful elements. However, it is the interests of the more powerful that the Taoiseach's party acts and - shame on it - that increasingly the Labour Party acts. I noted the Taoiseach's defence of the Labour Party. I asked him a question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Carra may I ask where you got that transcript from please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I actually felt compelled to email the office of the Taoiseach outlining Enda Kenny's poor behavior in the Dail yesterday. I know an email won't make a difference and will probably never even be read but I was so annoyed with Enda Kenny's behavior yesterday. I don't want our Taoiseach to behave like a petulant child in the Dail or outside the Dail. This type of behavior is beneath the office of Taoiseach and completely unparliamentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Shatter comes out looking awfully in that debate too. You'd think that they would have an idea of what remarks are ultimately counter productive.
    Ghandee wrote: »

Not a hundred percent sure where it's said but here's the Dáil debates for yesterday.
    http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/debates%20authoring/debateswebpack.nsf/takes/dail2012121100001?opendocument

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Here's a link to it all. I didn't know they published all comments made. It reads like something you expect from children on all sides.

http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/debates%20authoring/debateswebpack.nsf/takes/dail2012121100035?opendocument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭EURATS

I actually felt compelled to email the office of the Taoiseach outlining Enda Kenny's poor behavior in the Dail yesterday. I know an email won't make a difference and will probably never even be read but I was so annoyed with Enda Kenny's behavior yesterday. I don't want our Taoiseach to behave like a petulant child in the Dail or outside the Dail. This type of behavior is beneath the office of Taoiseach and completely unparliamentary.

Ya know..if we sent nobody in to these meetings/deals with our "friends" in Europe...we would have gotten a better result.
    Enda and his crew keep saying how we can't afford this, that and the other...well the bottom euro is this...we can't afford you Enda. We can't afford you James,
    Alan
    Pat
    Eamon
    Joan.....................................................etc. the list goes on and on.
    It is YOU people we can't afford. We can't afford for you to fly first class around the world talking Sh1te about nothing and posing for the cameras like you have achieved something.
    We can't afford the parties that u have thrown and will continue to throw during our sham "presidency" of the EU.
    Is laughable how a bankrupt country can hold presidency of anything. Eireann...top dog of the EU(even for a term) my arse..is further insult to injury for us to accept this sham presidency and to pay for all the crap that comes with it. Ferrying these gombeens around with Garda/army protection when we close 100 garda stations in the last week.
    Lavish parties in Árse an Uachtareoiteán for the very people who continue to tap our Mayo Rose on the head?

Where's all the money that Obamas and the queens visits have drawn in? Cost us an arm and a leg more like it!!
    Sure Obama would have been gone in the recent election only for the fact that the people's only other choice was a man who thinks he's walking around in magic underpants...and he even got plenty of votes.

Ghandee wrote: »

Oireachtas website, the links above will take you there. Very good website probably the only good thing to come from the Houses of the Oireachtas !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Gilmore is here now doing the same cowardly craic, 'Fianna Fail has some neck'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

just watching the Dail live at the moment. Micheal Martin asked why Labour allowed FG the keep their promises on no higher tax on high earners but felt it ok to break their own promises on child benefit. He also quoted a Labour senator who yesterday said the Labour party made a liar out of him by making U turns on decisions which he was sent out to campaign on during the elections. He also called him out on Rabbittes remark on the week in politics that "thats something you do during an election campaign".

Eamon Gilmores response was that FF had a "hard neck". 10 minutes later he's still talking about FF being in gov for the past 14 years. There's a bit of a brass neck war going on at the moment as each party accuses the other of having the hardest brass neck.

depressing stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

This graceless bumpkin should treat the office of An Taoiseach with a lot more respect.

He should remember he is only in the position because he bought off his closest party allies with cabinet positions (look where that has got us).

(Edit)

I'll also add, isn't it odd how little we actualy hear from our Taoiseach?
    We hear far more from ministers and TD's than from the big man himself.

One would almost think his colleagues and civil servant wranglers were a tad embarassed with whatever Inda may come up with if he "goes rogue".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

crusher000 wrote: »
    Aren't they all looking after their constituents sure look at the big Sphorts grants all their local clubs got. buying votes for the next election.

Only way to get away from this type of politikin is for TDs to have zero say on local matters. They should deal with national matters and county councillars deal with local business.

A TD can spend 10 years or more fixing potholes, getting a grant for the upgrade of the parish hall etc and this will invariably get them re-elected. The oft prize for consistent re-election can be a cabinet position of some description of some stature when the party eventually gets elected. Especially if said TD has been pally with whomever will be elected Taoiseach.

Leave the parish pump politics to local councillars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

Kenny is Taoiseach by default ! He is no more than a local pot hole fixer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Not, by any means, a supporter of SF but Kenny's comments are just a way of evading the question. If the same people had been in Dáil Eireann 90 years ago the same accusation could have been levelled at either Kenny or Martin.
    It is annoying though, to hear FF yabbering on about how to fix the economy, if they knew how to do it we wouldn't be in the **** we're in, it's like Hitler lecturing on how to promote world peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

bmaxi wrote: »
    Not, by any means, a supporter of SF but Kenny's comments are just a way of evading the question. If the same people had been in Dáil Eireann 90 years ago the same accusation could have been levelled at either Kenny or Martin.
    It is annoying though, to hear FF yabbering on about how to fix the economy, if they knew how to do it we wouldn't be in the **** we're in, it's like Hitler lecturing on how to promote world peace.

Like the analogy on Hitler and world peace :D

Its the beauty of being in opposition, complain about everything whilst trying to make it sound as if your party are experts. Best part is you don't even need to come out with solutions. Just hammer the other crowd on their policy.

Irish Pictorial Weekly's sketch of himself and yer man is as close to reality as you'll get for the dithering.

My view is that the while FF were in power destroying the country, FG were the main opposition and correct me if I'm wrong but is the job of the opposition not to hold the government to account, to keep them in check to ensure they are doing a good job ?

If FF failed then so did FG as opposition. I personally think they should keep their mouths shut about the mistakes that were made over the last 15 years.

The whole thing is a scam anyhow. We get fed a pack of lies during election time, fall for it like gullible fools and then we do jack sh!t about it once it becomes clear that all the promises have been broken.

I feel a bit disillusioned with our society and political system at the moment.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I don't recall Enda defending anything. He just changed the topic by attacking Adams. Not that we needed a reminder as to how Sinn Fein are a bunch of hypocrites.

I'm all in favour of cutting TDs Salary more than they cut themselves and to actually take a cut in expenses. In addition, I would like to see it apply to all those in the public sector who have very generous pay packets. Sadly, it seems like our Labour Minister in charge of this doesn't seem that pushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭zielarz

Are you serious?
    €200k * 166 = €33,2 m.
    TDs pay is non issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

110,000 in ireland civil service make over 100,000, the British pm makes 145,000. Ireland's civil service is unsustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

gallag wrote: »
    110,000 in ireland civil service make over 100,000, the British pm makes 145,000. Ireland's civil service is unsustainable.

It's frightening what people pass off as fact.

Ireland doesn't even have 110,000 Civil Servants never mind that many that earn over €100k!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

It's frightening what people pass off as fact.

Ireland doesn't even have 110,000 Civil Servants never mind that many that earn over €100k!
    You sir are correct, I read it wrong, that was total people earn over 100,000. Only 6% of them are civil servants. My bad.

zielarz wrote: »
    Are you serious?
    €200k * 166 = €33,2 m.
    TDs pay is non issue.

It is an issue. Why should everyone else take cuts and those geniuses take no hit?How can these people say they understand the people's pain when they haven't been affected by it themselves.

The question was about how kenny and co. can justify the money they're on..and the fact of the matter is THEY CAN'T.

They aren't worth it so therefore they should not be on it.

This country is in free fall, cuts all over the place...except for them!! THERE IS NO EXCUSE...and just because slashing their pay won't solve our woes..doesn't mean it shouldn't happen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Are you serious?
    €200k * 166 = €33,2 m.
    TDs pay is non issue.

33 million euro is a non issue? it must be a fantastic world you live in for that much to mean nothing!

It doesn't even matter the amount, it's the principle, the comparison to other countries pay and leadership, the highest levels which all other public pay can be tied to.
    It's a MASSIVE ****ing issue!

gallag wrote: »
    You sir are correct, I read it wrong, that was total people earn over 100,000. Only 6% of them are civil servants. My bad.

I'd say you're still wrong. I'd say the 6% relates to the public service not just the civil service.

EURATS wrote: »
    It is an issue. Why should everyone else take cuts and those geniuses take no hit?How can these people say they understand the people's pain when they haven't been affected by it themselves.

The question was about how kenny and co. can justify the money they're on..and the fact of the matter is THEY CAN'T.

They aren't worth it so therefore they should not be on it.

This country is in free fall, cuts all over the place...except for them!! THERE IS NO EXCUSE...and just because slashing their pay won't solve our woes..doesn't mean it shouldn't happen!!!

TDs have taken a hit, up to 30% I believe.

However, there's no doubting that even with this cut they are savagely overpaid.

33 million euro is a non issue? it must be a fantastic world you live in for that much to mean nothing!

It doesn't even matter the amount, it's the principle, the comparison to other countries pay and leadership, the highest levels which all other public pay can be tied to.
    It's a MASSIVE ****ing issue!

It's irrelevant comparing pay levels in Ireland to other countries. It might be nice for illustrative reasons but it's a useless stat.

TDs have taken a hit, up to 30% I believe.

However, there's no doubting that even with this cut they are savagely overpaid.

Laughably and insultingly(to the general population) overpaid!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Are you serious?
    €200k * 166 = €33,2 m.
    TDs pay is non issue.

Far from being a non-issue but in any case that's only part of the story.
    You also have to take into account expenses and other perks plus the overall running costs of the Dáil. I'd love to know if the overall yearly spend on running the place is available, from top to bottom, Taoiseach to cleaners and everything in between.