Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rear ended - what do I do?

• 11-12-2012 7:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

Was rear ended in traffic earlier, not badly, just a small tip. On first glance it didn't appear too bad, a slight graze and exchange of paint, but having brought it to our regular garage to get a quote to fix it I was told it would be as near as makes no difference to €300....

When it happened, I was slightly shocked and didn't realise what was going on until I saw the driver behind me getting out of his car. I flicked on my hazards and jumped out. He asked was there any damaged and offered me a small sum of money to make up for it. Having never been in such a situation before I didn't really know what to do, so refused the offer, exchanged details and took photos, with the intention to talk to my parents (who own the car) and come to some arrangement with him later over the phone. He seemed like a respectable man, though I was a bit unsure about his monetary offer.

Anyway, I went straight to the garage for a quote, then to the local garda station to report it and have it on paper. I then rang him to explain that they'd be ringing for him to look for his licence and insurance, which they had done before I got in touch, and to tell him what quote I had been given. I was met with a slightly aggressive response, and some comments about the car being that bit older (2005) and not in the best cosmetic shape, but that if I wanted to screw him for the money to fix the bumper then he would have no choice. He said he would have liked to settle on a small sum and that we part ways. Either way, he wants to leave the insurance out of it, which is fair enough. I started to get quite upset at this point, throat was closing up and eyes getting a bit watery, and then he was slightly apologetic and asked if I was ok, which I am, and explained that he's just angry with himself for causing such an accident. I told him I'd get my parents to contact him later to arrange something as it's their car.

Anyway, having had time to think about it, I'm not sure what to do. I mean, the car isn't exactly mint condition, mam has been in plenty of shopping centre car parks in it over the past 7 years, and it's evident from the minor door dings and trolley scrapes. And had intended on trading it in come January anyway. Maybe it's not worth fixing one scuff on the rear when there is one on the front, albeit not quite as bad? Should I just request an amount that would offset the devaluation of the car due to the damage for when it's traded in? Or should I request that it be fixed? I'm not looking to make money on it, and would have no problem with him paying the garage directly....

Have I gone about this the correct way? What would you do?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

1. Report it to your insurance.
    2. Get a few different quotes (on paper)
    3. Contact him and give him details of the quotes.
    4. If he doesn't pay up pursue through his insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Well you don't own the car so it's not your call really, it's your folks call.

From past experience I would suggest going via his insurance. He can repay his own insurers and not affect his NCB and or policy come renewal.

Was there a lot of damage there before he hit you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

MugMugs wrote: »
    Well you don't own the car so it's not your call really, it's your folks call.

From past experience I would suggest going via his insurance. He can repay his own insurers and not affect his NCB and or policy come renewal.

Was there a lot of damage there before he hit you ?

Sorry, I just feel that as I was in the car at the time that I should be dealing with it....

There was a trolley scrape at the top of the bumper, underneath the bootlid, to the drivers side of the car, no direct impact. This damage was done to the passenger side, but mid-way down the bumper, if that makes sense...

colm_gti wrote: »
    Sorry, I just feel that as I was in the car at the time that I should be dealing with it....

There was a trolley scrape at the top of the bumper, underneath the bootlid, to the drivers side of the car, no direct impact. This damage was done to the passenger side, but mid-way down the bumper, if that makes sense...

So minor enough.

What's needed now? A respray?

Is the impact bar pushed in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

You seem like a nice person OP.

If the car has it's share of bumps and scrapes, there's not a lot of point in getting the bumper sprayed just to give the bodyshop €300.

If you planned on selling the car soon and the car is no worse from the bump, i'd take a small cash sum from the other driver and both of you will have a nicer Christmas.

MugMugs wrote: »
    So minor enough.

What's needed now? A respray?

Is the impact bar pushed in?

According to the garage, bumper needs to come off for a respray, scuff has gone through the primer layer.

Don't know about impact bar, but the mechanic was looking in the boot and underneath before giving a quote?
    You seem like a nice person OP.

If the car has it's share of bumps and scrapes, there's not a lot of point in getting the bumper sprayed just to give the bodyshop €300.

If you planned on selling the car soon and the car is no worse from the bump, i'd take a small cash sum from the other driver and both of you will have a nicer Christmas.

This is what has been playing on my mind, I'm a firm believer in karma and all that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

At the same time don't let karma force you into being worse off than him. If it's a bad knock, get it fixed regardless of cost. If it blends in with the rest of the car and doesn't effect the value of it come selling time, just take the cash I say.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Wouldn't stress OP, you did the right thing and handled yourself well.
    Ensure that you get a few quotes but also get a place who know what they are at.

Speak with your parents, but at the end of the day you didn't set out from home that day to come home with a car lessened in value from someone else negligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

op i can understand your stress ok, do not be worried over this . you did nothing wrong. you did all the right things . around this time last year i was rear ended by two student coming up from limerick to uchg in galway, they didnt break in time coming to a roundabout, i was stoped at it cos there was a few cars in front of me,, i had to think really quick on what the hell am i going to do when i saw the red car comming strait for me when i looked in rear view mirror, i waited for thud then foot on break and close me eyes.and screamed ..i didnt want to be giving my insurance details to the car infront of me so the break idea worked for me . car that saw what happened stoped and called guards , she said the students were going to fast. guard came and took both our details and i let the insurance know what happend, then i was in shock and took strips of the driver as in fecked the head of her, her bonnet was nearly up on the her windscrean , that was one indictation that she was going to fast cos she went under mine . and hubbie lost his head with her cos i didnt need this to happen cos i was just over an operation from breast cancer and my 6 wks of me not able to drive was up the day before and i was looking forward to start xmas shopping ......sorry for long post but op dont worry cos your only new this mis-hapes ok and you will learn from it . dont let it put you of from driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

OP do you have any neck pain or do you feel its onset? Have you developed any anxiety when driving for fear of getting hit again?

If so contact a GP & solicitor.

McCrack wrote: »
    OP do you have any neck pain or do you feel its onset? Have you developed any anxiety when driving for fear of getting hit again?

No, not at all, it was just a rear end tap, I'm fine, no pain or anxiety, and no intention to claim for such!

It's purely the cosmetic damage to the car that I am worried about...

Must he fierce fit chasing those ambulances.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No, not at all, it was just a rear end tap, I'm fine, no pain or anxiety, and no intention to claim for such!

Didn't realise when I posted that it was your mams car :)

See what she wants to do, and even let her/your Dad deal with the person who hit you.

Lets you get over the shock, but still gets resolved. :)

I would have a sleep on that if I were you but its a dirty thought around here, you will get lynched for even considering it.

In fairness I don't think the OP would.

If he suffered a bad shunt and was hurt and woke up tomorrow with back/hip pain that didn't go I don't think anyone here would deride him for checking it out and claiming if it was a genuine injury.

Your first post sounds like pure ambulance chasing, and I'd certainly take issue with that!

A slight knock can cause soft tissue injury in a person and depending on the persons mental fortitude anxiety symptoms can develop.

But to even suggest these the typical ambulance chasing responses get spouted and does injured people a disservice.

Its almost like compensation is a dirty word.

A slight knock can cause soft tissue injury in a person and depending on the persons mental fortitude anxiety symptoms can develop.

But to even suggest these the typical ambulance chasing responses get spouted and does injured people a disservice.

Its almost like compensation is a dirty word.

No I objected to your first post, where you effectively put words in the OPs mouth.

Anyone with genuine injuries is genuinely entitled to claim for those injuries, their expenses and any pain and suffering caused imo

No I asked the OP whether he had any pain/anxiety symptoms or whether he is developing them and if so to contact the appropriate professionals

Was rear ended in traffic earlier, not badly, just a small tip. On first glance it didn't appear too bad, a slight graze and exchange of paint,

You're not being lynched but a slight fender bender and you're asking about psychological torment??
    I just don't condone your attitude.......... mainly because I and many others have to pay for it in the long run.

Attitude? I inquired if the OP was injured & suggested the right people to speak to.

second read what I actually said, I mentioned anxiety, a recognised medical condition not "physiological torment".

Anyway the OP said he has not been injured in any way so this is all moot I suppose. If any symptoms do develop he knows who to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Pstj2000

Having been in this predicament myself crash repairs garages seem to ask who's paying for d repair, if it an insurance company or "other party" the quote tends to be way higher but if ur paying the quotes for the same repair become much more realistic. Rip off Ireland ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

He said he would have liked to settle on a small sum and that we part ways.

I bet he would alright... :rolleyes:

Its your call what you want to do. Bottom line is that your car is now damaged through no fault of your own and you are entitled to have it put right. If this bloke was in any way decent he wouldnt even be quibbling about having the repairs done. The fact that he started getting snotty would mean that he loses all sympathy with me.

Get your quote for repairs and bring it to him. If he doesnt want to pay then go through his insurance.

If you decide to let him off the hook then more power to you, but quite frankly given the way he acted I probably wouldnt. The fact that he brought up the age of the car as a way of trying to worm his way out of paying shows what a prick he is tbh.