Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who will you vote for in the next elections?

• 10-12-2012 1:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

I'm going for the Shinners. Never gave them a vote before. People will judge. But they're making the most cents to me at least.

This lad would make a good Prime Minister some day.
    web_-Pearse-Doherty2.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm going for the Shinners. Never gave them a vote before. People will judge. But they're making the most cents to me at least.

web_-Pearse-Doherty2.jpg

Wouldn't touch them with a bargepole

I'd emigrate rather than live in a country they had a majority in.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Stheno wrote: »
    Wouldn't touch them with a bargepole

I'd emigrate rather than live in a country they had a majority in.

Hear, hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

No credible opposition exists in this banana republic.
    Can people not remember this smug looking yoke making a fool of himself when asked to explain sinn fein economic policy?
    No current party is getting my vote next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

Not sure who I'd vote for next time around, it's more who I won't vote for which will make the decision for me - Sinn Fein, the Socialist Party and other populist parties spouting tripe are bottom of my list.

Pretty certain if a DDI candidate runs in my constituency, they'll get my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Prime Minister :rolleyes:

Anyway Sinn Fein are definitely on the rise but IMO they will not progress until Adams and the old crew call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

Bring back Dustin the turkey ( bringing the dart to dingle )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

BOHtox wrote: »
    Thread needs a poll!!!

Take it to thejournal.ie , they have a poll every second day on 'who would you vote for if there was an election today' :rolleyes: usually resulting in the shinners winning an overall majority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I would vote SF/FF

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭Debator

"They haven't gone away, you know"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭BensonSlide

I'll be voting for FG and Labour candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,602 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Will be voting FG candidates. Reasonably happy with what they've done this Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Fine Gael.

No Labour next time cos they just seem to hinder Fine Gael. Labour behave like they are in opposition even they are in government (Well certain members like Keaveney do anyway).

No Fianna Fail cos they need far longer out of government to reinvent themselves into something credible.

I used to vote Sinn Fein but have matured and probably wont any more. It is very easy for them to say they would this and that in government. But a the end of the day, its difficult to believe they could achieve all they say they would.

If a party came out and told me all the cutbacks etc. that they would carry out instead of pointing out all the advantages they will bring in (and probably never will), then I would vote for them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

I'll be voting green again.

They're there for the right reasons, with the right aims, albeit not always the right implementation. They definitely got far more blame than deserved for their short term in Government. Other parties would have done the exact same thing (eg the Shinners voting for the bank guarantee), and they blew certain issues completely out of proportion (eg the Stag hunting bill which affected the 0.1% and should not have ended up a political football of rural vs urban)

< / controversial opinion >

Cliste wrote: »
    I'll be voting green again.

They're there for the right reasons, with the right aims, albeit not always the right implementation. They definitely got far more blame than deserved for their short term in Government. Other parties would have done the exact same thing (eg the Shinners voting for the bank guarantee), and they blew certain issues completely out of proportion (eg the Stag hunting bill which affected the 0.1% and should not have ended up a political football of rural vs urban)

< / controversial opinion >

They blew it by going into government. They could have been in such a great position now if they had not entered that givernment.

It is a shame that Eamonn Ryan has been sidelined now though. He was a talented guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

+1 for Dustin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Not sure the Tories would like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Certainly wont be SF, they do one thing in government the North then act appalled when the same thing is done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I'd vote FG. I was impressed with their policies at the last election. I do think Labour are holding them back. They'd be almost perfect for me if they became more socially liberal. The idea of a much smaller government is the main appeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Certainly wont be SF, they do one thing in government the North then act appalled when the same thing is done here.

No they dont. Utter tripe spread by people who either dont understand the difference between Stormont and the Dail or are just happy to swallow whatever anti-SF propaganda is put out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

No they dont. Utter tripe spread by people who either dont understand the difference between Stormont and the Dail or are just happy to swallow whatever anti-SF propaganda is put out there.

Yes they do!
    Cuts in services, local charges no problem to the Champagne socialists when its in stormont, then in the Dail the condem cuts, local charges, only difference is they probably steal less ink and paper in Stormont.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

BOHtox wrote: »
    I'd vote FG. I was impressed with their policies at the last election. I do think Labour are holding them back. They'd be almost perfect for me if they became more socially liberal. The idea of a much smaller government is the main appeal

Labour will be in opposition in the next government, baring a miracle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Yes they do!
    Cuts in services, local charges no problem to the Champagne socialists when its in stormont, then in the Dail the condem cuts, local charges, only difference is they probably steal less ink and paper in Stormont.:mad:

Ah, so you're the kind that doesn't understand the difference between the Dail and Stormont. SF do not support cuts in services or local charges in the north. Britain decides the block grant and that's what stormont has to work with. If the brits decide to cut the block grant Stormont has no say in it.
    SF have however been campaigning for fiscal sovereignty for the north so that this can be rectified.

If the brits decide to cut the block grant Stormont has no say in it.

Incorrect, Stormont has more control over what is cut in NI than the government has down here. The Troika tells the government here what to cut, more or else. London leaves the nitty gritty decisions to Stormont. London may give them less funding but if SF really wanted to implement their, "attack the rich" policies, they could. The fact is their policies are nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ah, so you're the kind that doesn't understand the difference between the Dail and Stormont. SF do not support cuts in services or local charges in the north. Britain decides the block grant and that's what stormont has to work with. If the brits decide to cut the block grant Stormont has no say in it.
    SF have however been campaigning for fiscal sovereignty for the north so that this can be rectified.

In case it has escaped your attention the Troika ultimately decide the funding down here.
    If we didn't have their funding over the last couple of years we would have had to affectively wipe out our social welfare spending.

And if the Troika decide to change our "grant" then do you think the Dáil can make them do otherwise ?

I bet you reckon Pierse could brow beat them into giving us more money as a grant rather than a loan.

Jeeze I have finally figured out home come SF think we can cut our repayments to our creditors, continue lavish spending based on even more borrowings. :eek:

They fecking think we get grants rather than loans.
    Time they figured out the difference between Northern Ireland and the Republic.

As for voting in next election it has to be FG unless another non union leftie party (with no ff members) appears on the scene.
    Although if that jackass muppet reilly was in my constituency I would probably spoil my vote.

I am not allowed discuss …

It is a shame that Eamonn Ryan has been sidelined now though. He was a talented guy.

I am not a green voter myself but I have always been very impressed by him. I will be surprised if he is not elected back in for the next term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Why not give SF a chance to prove themselves. They will either make or break themselves. In recent times they really showing they're now a legitimate party with more than just an interest with the North.
    They seem very passionate and hungry. They're prepared to fight for us too with regards to Europe.
    They are a very compassionate party in that they genuinely don't want to see those who can least afford to take a hit, take any more hits.
    Let's give them a chance :)
    You will be pleasantly surprised at what we can bring to the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭golfball37

COYW wrote: »
    Incorrect, Stormont has more control over what is cut in NI than the government has down here. The Troika tells the government here what to cut, more or else. London leaves the nitty gritty decisions to Stormont. London may give them less funding but if SF really wanted to implement their, "attack the rich" policies, they could. The fact is their policies are nonsense.

Don't let your biases get in the way of making a fool of yourself.
    Eire is an independent country with tax raising ability, NI isn't.

The Troika have given our govt targets but they can make these targets anyway they like. SF and the DUP are given a pot of money by their sovereign governemnt and told what to spend it on.

I would urge anyone to vote for anyone bar the 3 main parties who have effectively ruined this country but not their own personal financial futures.

I'd let SF break all their promises like the other 3 before I'll hang them for it.

I do feel its unfair to compare SF north & south.

They are essentially two different countries facing two very different circumstances at the moment. And it is a very easy cop out for SF opponents to point towards somethig in the North. They would be far less quick to point something positive about SF in the North.

I am not a green voter myself but I have always been very impressed by him. I will be surprised if he is not elected back in for the next term.

Ironic, as many people would say he turns them off the party because of the way he talks.

But I agree, I always thought it was a shame that he and Trevor Sergent failed to get elected. Two great TD's.

golfball37 wrote: »
    I'd let SF break all their promises like the other 3 before I'll hang them for it.

I dunno, there's some SF policies that I'd be more worried about them keeping than breaking.

I definitely think that they should be doing better than they are - they have been very hard working, and are very active in the community. Freisin tá Gaeilge acu!

But their biggest failing is what they actually have as their policies. I don't think they would do the best thing for Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

It will all depends on the independents who run. Certainly won't be touching Labour Sinn Fein, FF or the Greens or some the looney left element. Voted Fine Gael last time but they've been poor, I'll be very reluctant to go for them again and might just give one of their candidates a vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

But they're making the most cents to me at least.
    Fair enough, but we need the party whose going to make the most euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Debator wrote: »
    "They haven't gone away, you know"
    but "they" have?

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

I'm mildly amazed that people know who they're voting for years in advance of an election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Fianna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

"Hairy Mick" Wallace if he stands again and whatever candidate the Greens put forward - I'm never voting for any of the mainstream parties again but no change there as I haven't for years anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

oscarBravo wrote: »
    I'm mildly amazed that people know who they're voting for years in advance of an election.
    Well who can be sure. But if you had to vote tomorrow for instance. What's your feeling at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I am very, very seriously thinking about trying to form a new party in the next couple of years, so atm I can't answer this question. Of the existing lot, FF should never be allowed into the Dail again, FG are spineless, Labour are traitors, the ULA is too divided ("United" seems a bit misleading in their name) and SF are.... SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I will never vote for The Troika (FF/FG/Lab) ever again

If we just look at the last ten years, two tribunals, a banking/economic collapse and not a single night spent in a cell

The amount of different events that we know of (political corruption/abuse of expense system/incompetent legislating/FAS/abuse of privilege/destruction of our cities and towns through dodgy planning/a completely redundant political system, the list could go on and on) I can assure you we still don't know half of it...

I have sadly become something I never thought I would be, I have become anti establishment

They are unprincipled deviants

Time to stop the rot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Got to agree with most posts on here. None of the current parties seem to talk to me anymore. They are just enabling the status quo for no ones benefit but their own. That also includes the local Independant who now just seems to be talking to pensioners, and getting back their fuel allowance etc so he can get re-elected.

So anyone who feels like standing in Dublin Bay North and promises to scrap the CPA and effectively castrate the Trade Unions. Tax pensions above €50k, of all retired civil servants and former bank directors, at 99%. Start to bring about the end of all public service pensions. Reduce the number of TDs to below 60 and halve the no. of senators.
    And finally to prosecute all the politicians, civil servants, trade unionists and bankers who got us into this bloody mess for treason.
    No school teachers need apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yeah I was very impressed by him the day he swallowed every one of his principles and though he nearly choked on the words, he still stood up to give a speech in favour of that lying toad from Limerick. :rolleyes:
    Why not give SF a chance to prove themselves. They will either make or break themselves.

No they will finally break us with their loony economic policies.
    Lets see how many foreign companies remain after they go to up the Corpo tax rate.
    In recent times they really showing they're now a legitimate party with more than just an interest with the North.
    They seem very passionate and hungry. They're prepared to fight for us too with regards to Europe.

Weren't Labour and FG also going to tell the Germans where to go before they got in ?
    "Hairy Mick" Wallace if he stands again and whatever candidate the Greens put forward - I'm never voting for any of the mainstream parties again but no change there as I haven't for years anyway. :D

So you think a man who decided that he shouldn't bother paying his taxes deserves to have a nice well paying job, lavish allowances (leaders allowance AFAIK), lavish expenses and a plump pension all paid out of the taxpayers pockets ?
    I bet you would also love lowry and flynn.
    Got to agree with most posts on here. None of the current parties seem to talk to me anymore. They are just enabling the status quo for no ones benefit but their own. That also includes the local Independant who now just seems to be talking to pensioners, and getting back their fuel allowance etc so he can get re-elected.

So anyone who feels like standing in Dublin Bay North and promises to scrap the CPA and effectively castrate the Trade Unions. Tax pensions above €50k, of all retired civil servants and former bank directors, at 99%. Start to bring about the end of all public service pensions. Reduce the number of TDs to below 60 and halve the no. of senators.
    And finally to prosecute all the politicians, civil servants, trade unionists and bankers who got us into this bloody mess for treason.
    No school teachers need apply.

Sorry Santa is not going to run. :(

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

oscarBravo wrote: »

Wooly sheep come to mind. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

fianna fail.
    best party by far look how rich they all are, if we took our lead from them instead of slagging them off with begrudery we'd all be rich....oh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

jmayo - no comparison between Mick Wallace and Lowry/P.Flynn. They were out and out crooks and Mick was simply a business man who held back VAT and has since come to a settlement with the revenue.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

They were out and out crooks and Mick was simply a business man who held back VAT...
    Memo to self: tax evasion is acceptable laudable behaviour in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

I am very, very seriously thinking about trying to form a new party in the next couple of years, so atm I can't answer this question. Of the existing lot, FF should never be allowed into the Dail again, FG are spineless, Labour are traitors, the ULA is too divided ("United" seems a bit misleading in their name) and SF are.... SF.

There is a lot of sense spoken by a good few regular Boardsies, and despite many arguments there seems to be a general sense of what's acceptable and what is not, of what is right and wrong with this country, amongst a large portion of posters.

If only a sensible, realistic political party could come from this. I would back it 100%, hell I would even join it and knock on every door in my area to spread the word. Completely fresh party from regular people. People who care about what happens in their community and country. No zealots, bigots or extreme right/left nuts.

Just good honest people with no mad/zany agenda's who genuinely think that this country can and should be run in a fair, open and just manner.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

1. Shane Ross
    2. Eamonn Ryan
    3. Alan Shatter

4-13. Some irrelevant nobodies.

14. SF candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

RADIUS wrote: »
    If only a sensible, realistic political party could come from this. I would back it 100%, hell I would even join it and knock on every door in my area to spread the word. Completely fresh party from regular people. People who care about what happens in their community and country. No zealots, bigots or extreme right/left nuts.

Just good honest people with no mad/zany agenda's who genuinely think that this country can and should be run in a fair, open and just manner.
    You'd get nothing. Effectively nobody is willing to vote for people without 10-20 years of experience and a track record of successfully supporting the local community, and maybe they're right, so that's your horizon to gaining power of any sort, not to mention you'd have to wade through the political sewers yourself to get there. By then of course the economic and political situation will have changed radically from what it is today, so the initial issues you set up to deal with will be gone.

You'd have better luck setting up activist groups to put pressure on existing politicians and parties, focusing on corruption and legal issues, making them do their jobs with letter writing campaigns, and raising awareness among the public around election time.

If you can't win a game where you're set up to lose from day one, change the rules.

The bright new party a few years ago 'Fís Nua' ran a candidate in the Bye-Election in Dublin-West.

I presume the absolute lack of campaign was the real problem they had, but I was amazed at how poorly they polled:

http://electionsireland.org/result.cfm?election=2011B&cons=112

If you're talking about setting a party up - it needs to be done right. And I'm not just talking about a decent website.