Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rant!

• 08-12-2012 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭

a few things thats been annoying me lately

drivers on mobiles-i meet the same people everyday with the phone stuck to their ear

drivers flying through town -not many
    but it's the small percentage that makes it dangerous

dangerous parking on corners

not much in the way of law enforcement here so they mostly get away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

must be awful... life and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

must be awful... life and all that
    gafy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Rant rating 1-10: -4.

You need to rant harder OP, put your back into it. Think of the Taxi-drivers, the lane hoggers, the non-indicators. Really go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I feel your pain. We all have our pet hates, even of things that aren't illegal.

Aside from the usual ones of mobile phones and wrong lane usage on motorways, I can't stand drivers who straddle two lanes when they can't decide which one they'd rather be in or drivers who are turning left but stay in the right lane and cut across the inside one to make their turn.

Or people who don't indicate that they're turning right until you're stopped right behind them. Or cyclists who refuse to use perfectly good (and much safer) cycle lanes. Ahhh, I'll stop now or I'll be on a roll and won't be able to ever stop. :mad::(

Pottler wrote: »

You need to rant harder OP, put your back into it. Think of the Taxi-drivers, the lane hoggers, the non-indicators. Really go for it.

fog lights, ignorant parking, roundabouts, Tax going up in the budget for **** sake!!

we could go on all day :pac:

don't have probs with taxi drivers
    and lane hoggers i'm out the country

It's like you paraphrased what I was about to moan about. :D

M cebee wrote: »
    don't have probs with taxi drivers
    and lane hoggers i'm out the country
    Good man. So it's all good then. Right. Shut her down Marty.

I feel your pain. We all have our pet hates, even of things that aren't illegal.

Aside from the usual ones of mobile phones and wrong lane usage on motorways, I can't stand drivers who straddle two lanes when they can't decide which one they'd rather be in or drivers who are turning left but stay in the right lane and cut across the inside one to make their turn.

Or people who don't indicate that they're turning right until you're stopped right behind them. Or cyclists who refuse to use perfectly good (and much safer) cycle lanes. Ahhh, I'll stop now or I'll be on a roll and won't be able to ever stop. :mad::(
    what annoys me is these people know
    law enforcement is zero due to cutbacks(nothing against guards) and don't give a fuk

what annoys me is these people know
    law enforcement is zero due to cutbacks(nothing against guards) and don't give a fuk

You must be very law abiding citizen yourself are you?

the sort of fella who wouldn't do 51 in a 50 zone, even if it meant being late for mass?

You must be very law abiding citizen yourself are you?

the sort of fella who wouldn't do 51 in a 50 zone, even if it meant being late for mass?
    i dont go to mass
    whats your own opinion when you're finished arse lickin

i dont go to mass
    I've wiped my tongue, and i think you should go to mass. I also think someone should shoot this thread to put it out of its misery. It's cruel. Crule bad.

i dont go to mass

i'm probably the person you hate. sometimes i park real ****ty in tesco's, and when the streets are empty at 6.30am when im heading to work i like to do 60km/h in a 50 zone.

i'm by no means arse lickin, just trying to suggest "let he who is without sin" and all that :)

can you honestly say you've never held your phone while at the wheel? broken the speed limit? parked poorly?

ei'm probably the person you hate. sometimes i park real ****ty in tesco's, and when the streets are empty at 6.30am when im heading to work i like to do 60km/h in a 50 zone.

i'm by no means arse lickin, just trying to suggest "let he who is without sin" and all that :)

can you honestly say you've never held your phone while at the wheel? broken the speed limit? parked poorly?
    no problem
    of course i've broken the law
    i'm talkin about lunatics doin 100kph through town when there's kids about
    not 60 in a 50 zone

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

no problem
    of course i've broken the law
    i'm talkin about lunatics doin 100kph through town when there's kids about
    not 60 in a 50 zone

Get onto your local council and cops so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Stheno wrote: »

cmon, not going to do any good, waste of time

next time i will call them(gardai)
    i don't always have phone handy in these situations

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Merch wrote: »
    cmon, not going to do any good, waste of time

Have you actually bothered? I lived in a town where we had a problem with speeders, one guy got done doing 140kph in a 60kph zone in court and was banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Might want to brush up on your understanding of the law (and what a "perfectly good cycle lane" is actually like).

What is the point of these threads? Do you think every "motorist" posts on the motors forum and so your public service message will get through to every one in the country?

I'm sick of stepping in dog crap, maybe I should go post a rant in the pets and animals forum. Argh, grrr, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Have you actually bothered? I lived in a town where we had a problem with speeders, one guy got done doing 140kph in a 60kph zone in court and was banned.

Yes I did, as did others, went to Gardai, they paid no heed to it, no warning was given.
    They claimed they couldnt do anything without evidence=lazy/too busy doing other stuff until someone gets hit/injured/killed, then do something.

Council, not our job.

End result, no change

edit, until a few people told the person to cop on, I wasnt there, but I think a few threats were made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

As rants go, must try harder.

Not your ornery onager

I hear ye on the speeding in town, I think there should be electronic speed traps in every town and small village, and I think in built up areas 50 kph is too fast esp with our really narrow towns and streets.

But waste of time mentioning this to the council or guards, they will just think you have nothing better to do, after all how dare you a tax paying citizen going to your local guards or county council to complain about speeding, I mean come on ! lol

They would collect more revenue if they parked the speed vans in the towns and villages. But I see so many doing 40 mph + on my local narrow streets, in an already too fast speed limit area of 50 kph. shame people have no cop on these days.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Might want to brush up on your understanding of the law (and what a "perfectly good cycle lane" is actually like).

What is the point of these threads? Do you think every "motorist" posts on the motors forum and so your public service message will get through to every one in the country?

I'm sick of stepping in dog crap, maybe I should go post a rant in the pets and animals forum. Argh, grrr, etc.

What law are you talking about?

Not only am I well aware of what a perfectly good cycle lane is (I use them plenty), I'm also aware that not all cycle lanes are adequate... but obviously they are not the ones I was referring to.