Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fringe S05E08 [US] **SPOILERS**

• 08-12-2012 4:20pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Everybody must be on their Christmas booze ups because I just came in to see what people thought of the latest episode and nothing. Anyway good episode with plenty happening. I think despite the ending there may still be a permanent side to what Peter did.

So what did you think? 19 votes

Fringe/MacGyver tastic
    0% 0 votes
    Good
    36% 7 votes
    O.k.
    52% 10 votes
    Poor
    10% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I actually wasn't too impressed with the episode, but the last 1/4 was good. Had serious pacing problems this week IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,563 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I found it a strange episode as well.
    First I think it would've been better if it was someone from the junkyard that attacked her on the road.
    Second, has anyone figured out the Observers' powers? I mean Peter has all these different paths for Widmark. And he can do the same with Peter so how come Widmark didn't know where Peter is?
    The guys who took Olivia clearly aren't smart, locking her in a room, barely tied up, with loads of stuff she can use.
    Peter basically just performed brain surgery on himself at the end. Didn't that kill the observer he took it from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

If he knew he was going to be there at 5:42 why didn't he kill then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I found it a strange episode as well.
    First I think it would've been better if it was someone from the junkyard that attacked her on the road.
    Second, has anyone figured out the Observers' powers? I mean Peter has all these different paths for Widmark. And he can do the same with Peter so how come Widmark didn't know where Peter is?
    The guys who took Olivia clearly aren't smart, locking her in a room, barely tied up, with loads of stuff she can use.
    Peter basically just performed brain surgery on himself at the end. Didn't that kill the observer he took it from?

I'd agree it was a bit of a strange episode, but good all the same. At the very least it's put an end to the speculation that Peter is September.

As for the powers, just putting 2+2 together here, but going by what's been alluded to, what was explained about the tech and how it alters the brain towards more logical thinking & higher reasoning etc, and also as was bluntly put by Olivia "They're just better at math then we are"... and mentions of origin points...

As far as I can see, they're using the "origin point" as a starting point as they see a persons timeline. Then using their higher capabilities, they're able to predict all possible future events in that timeline based on the data they have. They then just pick the most probable one as the main timeline.

Could be entirely wrong, that's just the way I'm seeing it. They've yet to explain the transportation.

And regards the brain surgery.... I'd assume one of the permanent effects is some sort of bonding with the tech, which would explain why the observer died and peter didn't.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

When does the Olivia Macgyver series start airing, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

When does the Olivia Macgyver series start airing, then?

If they can combine her talents with those of a new A-Team, they'll have themselves another blockbuster TV epic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Agree with those of you who thought it was a bit strange, but found it pretty OK - good.

More Matrix inflected fighting, and how robotic was Peter in most of his scenes? The montage was probably an easy creative choice, but it had the desired effect, and I guess if you cram a few years (?) worth of personal memories in there to change Observer Peter's mind, it would actually work and give him pause. Thought they made the woman at the scrapyard so empathetic that she was going to be killed off.

Roanmore wrote: »

In a public square full of observers? :confused:
    Besides, he might have calculated that his best probability of killing yer man was the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

bluewolf wrote: »
    In a public square full of observers? :confused:
    Besides, he might have calculated that his best probability of killing yer man was the next day

Was 5:42 not the time in the apartment?
    Peter was not prepared for a confrontation there as he had only just come to that realisation

I also got the impression that the Timeline Threading was not all that common amongst the Observers. Windmark said "you think that you are the only one" and not "All of us can do this"

Was 5:42 not the time in the apartment?
    Peter was not prepared for a confrontation there as he had only just come to that realisation
    Oops yeah- was thinking of the square. Yeah, in the apartment was clearly because he was about to get out of there as he only just realised it. And there were 2 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Roanmore wrote: »
    he wasnt planning on killing him there, he said that if widmark was at the square at that time that he would know things had swung back into favour, widmark had earlier thrown his prediction off, and this was how he would know it was corrected,

i thought it was ridiculous that after all that that peter just ended up taking the observer tech out again, but i suppose he had done a fair bit of damage in the short time he had it,

can anyone recall if olivia had her powers taken away at some point, i was waiting for her to do something to the lads that tried to kidnap her, but she didnt,

Her powers were drained by what Bell did last season. All traces of cortexiphan were used up.

I have wondered why they do not make her all superpowery again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Her powers were drained by what Bell did last season. All traces of cortexiphan were used up.

I have wondered why they do not make her all superpowery again

I don't think she would have healed when Walter shot her in the head if she had no cortexiphan left but it does seem likely that she has very little.

This episode wasn't as good as I expected. I think the preview took a few scenes out of context and increased expectations too much!

The Olivia kidnapping part did feel very disjointed, it would have made a whole lot more sense if it was a few people from the scrapyard double crossing her as was already said. That part could have been omitted completely and not changed the storyline in any way!? Seems like a strange waste of time considering the end is coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Redisle wrote: »
    I don't think she would have healed when Walter shot her in the head if she had no cortexiphan left but it does seem likely that she has very little.

Bringing herself (and embryonic Etta) back from the dead is what used up her cortixiphan powers. Walter said so at the end of that episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

I've caught up with the last few episodes which were great, but this one seems like a filler with odd scenes that had no impact as they were just in the way of the story. & then it picks up at the end with Peter almost becoming Neo-like facing up to Widmark & his lieutenant.
    Thankfully Peter saw a different path with Olivia & realises maybe fate will intervene with Widmark some other time & deal with him in his own way, i hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Olivia was really annoying in that episode.

If you are a wanted criminal who has just come into possession of a big fcuk off magnet, why the hell would you stop for some randomer? Plow on through!

Also, why not let Peter kill Widmark and be done with it, then yank the chip thing out of his head by force if needs be? Surely killing Widmark should have been the priority?

I also thought why didnt Peter kill Widmark in the apartment with more of that gas or whatever, but I guess lack of time would cover that.