Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coffee Machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

golfdiva wrote: »
    Seen this in Argos. Looks like a good deal at the price:) Down to €65.49

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4235905.htm

Seems good, but out of stock most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭locustfurnace

Dman001 wrote: »

Have a different model of this and never had a issue with them, good value alright. Herself grabbed one for her parents for Xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

these are all around this price in tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

Are you restricted to using Pods with the Dolce Gusto machines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Pique wrote: »
    Are you restricted to using Pods with the Dolce Gusto machines?

I believe so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭golfdiva

Dman001 wrote: »

Does the same job :) The Currys one has a bigger capacity but the Argos model is quite streamline in shape.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Guys you'll also be happy to know that the machines are made in Ireland- there are two assembley lines- one in Tallaght, one in Limerick. God only knows where the coffee pods come from- but you can get the more popular ones in Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

smccarrick wrote: »
    Guys you'll also be happy to know that the machines are made in Ireland- there are two assembley lines- one in Tallaght, one in Limerick. God only knows where the coffee pods come from- but you can get the more popular ones in Tesco.

The pods are cheaper on amazon ;)

When I got mine they said the cheapest way to buy the pods is online in bulk from their own wesite.

I haven't looked at the prices yet as the come with free samples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭MikeOis

I think the 'Dolce Gusto' machine in Currys is a good deal!!
    Tried Curry's in limerick, none in stock they mentioned to order it on-line, went on-line and its only 'Available In-store Only' totally confused!!!:eek:

I don't understand why the cannot ship between stores!!:(

MikeOis wrote: »
    I think the 'Dolce Gusto' machine in Currys is a good deal!!
    Tried Curry's in limerick, none in stock they mentioned to order it on-line, went on-line and its only 'Available In-store Only' totally confused!!!:eek:

I don't understand why the cannot ship between stores!!:(

Sold out in Currys Cork as well in case anyone was thinking of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭fast_eddie

tk123 wrote: »
    The pods are cheaper on amazon ;)

Not in my experience - using Americano as an example:

Amazon.co.uk cost is eur21.70 on today's rate, or eur7 per pack delivered.

Local Tesco in Ireland = under eur5 per pack...

www.dolce-gusto.ie = eur4.49 per pack.

Have you seen better on Amazon?

Cheers,
    Eddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

fast_eddie wrote: »

Cheers,
    Eddie

If you spend over £25 you get free deliver. Amazon is 14.62 per pack of 3. Worth it if you are buyign in bulk. Not worth it if you arent spending over 25GBP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭Lamposts

golfdiva wrote: »
    Sold out in Currys Cork as well in case anyone was thinking of one.

Any idea if they're getting more in?

Hogzy wrote: »
    If you spend over £25 you get free deliver. Amazon is 14.62 per pack of 3. Worth it if you are buyign in bulk. Not worth it if you arent spending over 25GBP

Sorry Hogzy, still not seeing the value in it: your 3-pack at 14.62 (euro I assume) is eur 4.87 per pack - and subject to currency fluctuation.

www.dolce-gusto.ie is 4.49 per pack plus delivery (free if you spend eur45 or more), or your local Tesco is 4.49 per pack with no delivery if you're there in person.

So yes, Amazon is good for guaranteed availability and for convenience, but no great saving...

Cheers,
    Eddie

Lamposts wrote: »

Try your nearest Tesco, my local had a 7-foot stack for each of 2 different models over the weekend - the skinny one at the start of this thread, and also the Melody which is the one I have.

The Melody was marked at eur89 I think, no price marked on the thinner model.

Cheers,
    Eddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭keith_d99

fast_eddie wrote: »

Cheers,
    Eddie

Have 1 of these machines about a year or so .. get the Pods delivered from Amazon once a month using "Subscribe and Save".

If you sign up for Subscribe and Save you get free delivery.
    Pack of 3 is £10.18 delivered (approx €12.60).

Cheapest I have seen (and my local Tesco doesn't sell the pods anymore)

Find the Capuccino the nicest (if a bit sweet) - must try some other flavours

Lamposts wrote: »

Not till January I'm afraid at the earliest. They sold out very quick at €69.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭bluebell1

picked one up in Currys in Carlow today. Only had the red ones left ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

1 left in Galway!!!!!!! Go Go Go:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭Jofspring

What are they actually like lads taste wise?

I was about to buy one in a well known Electronics store and just as I was about to buy it a relation working there told the guy selling it to me that I was their cousin and what was it really like. The sales man then gave me a more genuine answer and told me to stay away from it that the taste is disgusting from them and that its like drinking chalk so I left it be.

Any truth to that lads or is he just picky about the taste? I've renewed my interest in getting one since they seem to have gotten popular so must be some way decent.

I also saw a big nespresso shop in Barcelona over the weekend that sell only the pods in loads of different flavors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭faral

I wouldn't go for capsule machine. Heard from friends of mine that taste isn't great indeed plus cost of capsules is high.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

It depends on a lot of factors to be honest- not least of which is the quality of the water you put in the machine, whether the capsules are fresh or not, and indeed, just how you like your coffee. I have a Nespresso Cite machine which is just brilliant and gets use every single day. I also have Carte Noir and Nescafe Cafe Parisienne in the cupboard, for when I don't feel like using the machine. Would I give up the machine- never. Would I be lost without it- no, I'd have an instant- but I'd be damn well plotting how to get a replacement machine ASAP.

Do you like the taste of the water from your kitchen taps- aka would you willingly drink it straight from the tap. If you don't like the taste- you're not going to like the taste of your coffee from the machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I like lattes (and the nesquik pods lol) and find the taste as good as what I used to get in the coffee shop beside work every morning. Except I was paying €3 in the coffee shop compared to approx 50 cent with the pods so a welcome saving used to pay for other things if you're in economy mode! Maybe if you're a coffee guru the taste won't be as good but they suit me and my wallet fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Ballyv24

This is not a bad option either http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/9014145.htm There are lots of great reviews on Argos and Amazon for this machine.

These machines use pods instead of capsules. The pads are like teabags and you can buy them in Tesco and online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Brian wrote: »
    two thumbs up for the aeropress. :)

i got one when my previous espresso maker broke down as a temporary replacement and haven't felt the need to actually replace it yet and it's been several months with it being used multiple times every day.

for the money you really can't beat the aeropress, it makes a great cup of coffee if you can live without the traditional espresso crema. several people in the tea & coffee forum had recommended it and my only regret is not getting it sooner. :)

currently using it with the bob roberts new york roast and it's excellent, although it will definitely put hair on your chest (on the inside!) so don't overdo it until you're used to the strength. both my wife and i spent a day with heart palpatations before we realised it was a caffeine OD from how much of the coffee we'd been drinking. :D

smccarrick wrote: »
    It depends on a lot of factors to be honest- not least of which is the quality of the water you put in the machine, whether the capsules are fresh or not, and indeed, just how you like your coffee. I have a Nespresso Cite machine which is just brilliant and gets use every single day. I also have Carte Noir and Nescafe Cafe Parisienne in the cupboard, for when I don't feel like using the machine. Would I give up the machine- never. Would I be lost without it- no, I'd have an instant- but I'd be damn well plotting how to get a replacement machine ASAP.

Do you like the taste of the water from your kitchen taps- aka would you willingly drink it straight from the tap. If you don't like the taste- you're not going to like the taste of your coffee from the machine.

+1 to all of the above, I like the coffee from mine (mostly americanos and lattes) and it's cheaper than a coffee shop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭quaalude

vibe666 wrote: »
    two thumbs up for the aeropress. :)

Another vote here for the Aeropress - it's cheap, small, easy to clean, quick to make a coffee and you can use any ground coffee with it (or whole bean, and grind it yourself). The coffee is perfect (although, as another mentioned, no crema). It uses a small filter, but comes with a load of them when you buy it.

I've one at home and bought another for the office, I like it so much.
    The sell them in a few places around Dublin - offhand I can think of 3FE on Grand Canal Street, and Cinnamon in Ranelagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

or online from www.coffeeangel.com. They also have a pop up shop on south anne street with a vast array of coffee paraphernalia. Great Christmas pressies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Saw the Dolce Gusto pods in Super Valu yesterday.