Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Facebook show you the people who lead fun, exciting lives?

• 08-12-2012 9:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭

Sometimes when i log into my Facebook, i notice some people often upload many pictures of nights out, shopping trips, holidays/weekend breaks etc.

It seems they are living the life life that is none stop fun, always doing something, is this a warning that i am not living life to the full boards? Should i worry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

In a word, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I thought the Scientology compound didn't allow Facebook access Tom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭SunDog

One of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Facebook is a pile of f*cking s*ite - end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Op, you should check in at every expensive restaurant and shop you walk past, sure who's know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Everyone knows facebook these days is just a way of showing off.

Oh look Im at a concert because Im cool, Look at the new thing I bought because Im sooo rich. etc etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Nah it's for pretentious folk to create the imaginary life they've always dreamed of and show their 'friends' how popular they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

afatbollix wrote: »

Oh look Im at a concert because Im cool, Look at the new thing I bought because Im sooo rich. etc etc..

Still holding on to geocities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Rabies wrote: »
    Still holding on to geocities?

Naw and Ill be the first to say I only post to show off. I was at a concert last week and it got 11 likes woop woop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Nice undercurrent of jealousy bubbling up in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Aidric wrote: »
    Nice undercurrent of jealousy bubbling up in this thread.

Im not jealous, i only asked a question thats all, to get peoples views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

No one is going to post "Going to Lidl! WOOOOOO!" because only simpletons get that excited by low priced goods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

If they were having such a great time they wouldn't be on fb every 5 minutes posting shyte about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Well unless you are living life to the full and NOT posting it on Facebook. Then no. But if you have nothing to put up then yes. Get out there and do some stuff!

I should talk. I'm in the same boat. The last most exciting thing I did was to go to Dunnes for the groceries. :(

Meanwhile many of my FB friends are pilots, soldiers, skydivers, rally drivers and others living all over the world doing exciting things and putting videos and pictures up of themselves doing really cool stuff. :cool:

My profile picture does show me doing something spectacular with a plane but it's a bit of an illusion and anyway it was years ago. I'm as boring as you Tom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

My Facebook site shows you I have a social life, busy family life , and that I have loads of fun. Because I haven't updated it in over a year. ......now.....

My boards profile will tell you I'm on here a lot more than I should , and that I should probaby be spending more time with my family ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Face book dynamics have shown me.

that people who are single genrally post and share all of there lives from locations to what they have just eaten, to when they get into bed etc..

People who live excitig fulfilling lives, never have the time to post crap on face book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Snowie wrote: »

that people who are single genrally post and share all of there lives from locations to what they have just eaten, to when they get into bed etc..

People who live excitig fulfilling lives, never have the time to post crap on face book!

And what about people in a relationship? :pac:

Snowie wrote: »

Not strictly true, many of my FB friends do lead exciting and interesting lives and are only to happy to post them on FB. They rarely feel the need to tell us what they had for breakfast though unless it's worms or something like that:eek: The latest one posted on FB was a friend flying a microlight plane in Africa!

On the other hand it is true that many, many people do lead dull pointless lives and feel the need to share that with us.

Guess I'm lucky to have interesting FB friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

And what about people in a relationship? :pac:

There to busy having teh sex :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I bet this guy has an interesting life

ye dont need an account to view it btw

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152380074160651

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Its the reason why people (mainly women) spend more time taking photos to put on facebook than actually having fun on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

lukesmom wrote: »
    Nah it's for pretentious folk to create the imaginary life they've always dreamed of and show their 'friends' how popular they are.

So I'm pretentious and have nothing more than an imaginary life.

What a downer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Sometimes when i log into my Facebook, i notice some people often upload many pictures of nights out, shopping trips, holidays/weekend breaks etc.

It seems they are living the life life that is none stop fun, always doing something, is this a warning that i am not living life to the full boards? Should i worry?
    its because those individuals need the high from spending cash,that probably defines what 'life' is-for them,but god/allah/jah/flying spagetti monster help us all if we are all expected to aspire to that.

from own view,that woud be a horrible life for self,having the money for things without having to save for a long time woud be nice but it also woudnt be nice having so much money that lose the value and thrill.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Meh, some people like to document everything they do, whether it be 100 pictures of them in a pub or comments. What ever, i say leave them at it and if you dont like it, just hit the setting that prevents their **** coming up on your news feed. I have only updates on close friends, the type that dont put up every minute of their life. The rest, Im really not interested in hearing all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Yes it does. It used to make me jealous, but now Ive just come to not give a f*** what everyone else is doing:pac: Im just fine here on my laptop:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Facebook only shows you the side of people they want you to see, and the life they want to be seen living. Facebook profiles should never be taken at face value.

There's always things going on behind the scenes nobody wants you to know.

Know that for the ones who seem to live magnificent, exciting lives - it's really a frivolous, artificial life they post about and they are no better than, and have just as much ups and downs as, you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

afatbollix wrote: »

Yeah for sure, was so much better when it was only open to Harvard students.
    bluecode wrote: »
    Then no. But if you have nothing to put up then yes. Get out there and do some stuff!

Oh noes, I've nothing to post on Fb :( Life over.
    bluecode wrote: »
    Not strictly true, many of my FB friends do lead exciting and interesting lives.....The latest one posted on FB was a friend flying a microlight plane in Africa!

On the other hand it is true that many, many people do lead dull pointless lives and feel the need to share that with us.

Guess I'm lucky to have interesting FB friends.

We can't all be eating worms in Africa between flights on micro planes :rolleyes:
    Its the reason why people (mainly women) spend more time taking photos to put on facebook than actually having fun on a night out.

It's quite sad.
    Elessar wrote: »
    Facebook only shows you the side of people they want you to see, and the life they want to be seen living. Facebook profiles should never be taken at face value.

This, it's ghey.

/thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

I have managed to enjoy life sofar without FB.

If I was out enjoying myself I don't think I would be thinking "I must tell everyone what I am doing right now".

Last week I found out that twitter users (twits) can type a load of tweets and then use an app to slow release them through the day,

Whats the fcuking point of using a pointless Social Network Tool (twitter).

Is anyone else getting fcuked off with everyone recording videos all the time or taking pics all the time. I was out at a social event where I observed 4 members of a family all recording a child at the same time, while others were taking pictures.

I was in Vicar street last week and I had to look at rows of morons holding their phones in the air recording the gig, and watching their phone screen instead of the gig, blocking my line of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Yeah the majority of the time you are on Facebook you see the exciting stuff in others lives but it just seems more exciting because your at home on a computer. Theres been plenty of times when we've gone out and the same guys are at home looking at your photos.I can guess i've saved at least €200 on call credit by using facebook messager.

I don't take and put up much videos or photos but when I do its usually to share memories and stuff, its always nice to look back at some of the stuff you got up to last year and what your doing now. I went to Africa twice last year with a charity and we use it to inform others so they can get involved. I think there has been more positive things coming out of social networking than negatives, think of the Arab Spring...the profile photo of the guy on Facebook wearing Gaddafi's hat just empitamises modern networking.

Twitter is deadly aswell. Im really into music and when you follow the artists you like they post videos of artists they like and its more connected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

Psychologists have commented on this, ie; Facebook pages and photos create an image of constant partying, life/career progression, being stood outside Sydney Harbour Bridge etc,etc, when what is most likely is the FB user like most people is sat in a call centre or bored at home a crappy Europa League match with a mug of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭rob w

Is anyone else getting fcuked off with everyone recording videos all the time or taking pics all the time. I was out at a social event where I observed 4 members of a family all recording a child at the same time, while others were taking pictures.

And then its a race to see who can post them on facebook first! This sh1t pisses me off no end.

I was at home a few weeks ago and my older brother was visiting with the kids, he was in the kitchen with me on his laptop, and my younger brother was in another room with the kids. Next thing my older bro shows me the laptop with a video of his kid on facebook, thinking its hilarious (just been posted by my younger brother in the other room) and I think he then commented on it...............Seriously!!!! Some people live their lives through facebook these days, and its difficult to have a normal conversation with them without something coming up about facebook!!

Rant over!

Ex FB user! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Many users of facebook use it all for show...

- add every single person you've ever met to make it look like you've got this huge social life.
    - post pictures of nights out and other random social things (look at my huge exciting social life)
    - post pointless updates about yourself (again, look at my exciting social life.

All for Show. Show. Show.
    There is nothing wrong with facebook itself. Keep it touch, especially with family or friends on the other side of the world. Its just all this fake bullshit that people do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I see dozens of photos, a lot sometimes taken in the same place on the same night, and I think, What fucking effort to make for the camera - all the time. I'd be wrecked from posing. For a lot of girls it's definitely a mini-celeb style thing I think. Less lads at it, and they're all fairly young. Looking for the ride, bless them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

FB is mainly for people who think they have friends but don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There is nothing wrong with facebook itself. Keep it touch, especially with family or friends on the other side of the world. Its just all this fake bullshit that people do.

Yes ,lots of people around the world have found old friends and acquaintances on FB so in that respect it's not bad and some people like to look at old photos as well as recent stuff but there is an element of show and bull**** to it to so it's good to be able to edit out the crap .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

Facebook is for imbeciles. Nobody cares that it's your birthday, where you went on holiday or what you did at the weekend and they only look at your photos to criticize and laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

FB is great if used as its meant to be used.

99% of it however is for people to look at funny pictures and videos, or tell people they are going to take a sh1t, have a meal, drink a pint, etc.

Having said that, is it any sadder than arguing with people you don't know on a forum?

Amy33 wrote: »
    Facebook is for imbeciles. Nobody cares that it's your birthday, where you went on holiday or what you did at the weekend and they only look at your photos to criticize and laugh.
    Amy you need to get some proper friends. People who are interested in you. Most of my FB friends are actual friends or relatives.

None of them are imbeciles and many live very interesting lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

Most of your FB friends are actual friends or relatives - who are the rest of your FB friends then? Complete strangers, people you met once or twice? Yet, you're happy to share your life with these "friends".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

If you all hate facebook so much why are you on it :confused: I find generalisations like "Facebook is for imbeciles who spend more of their time boasting about having so much fun without having fun on it" equivilent to somebody saying that "Everyone on boards.ie are fat old ugly weirdos who have no friends to talk to so talk to random strangers" :rolleyes:

There are some things I don't like about facebook but overall I've found it useful to keep in touch with friends and family abroad and it's great for organising events and promoting things. Sure you get stupid, attention-seeking status updates but mostly I find it interesting to see what people are up to, and some of the funniest things I've read are facebook status's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Jonny Drama

I bet this guy has an interesting life

ye dont need an account to view it btw

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152380074160651

Whoever set up the FB page about that poor fella from The Late Late Show is a fúcking wanker. That's practically bullying. There's been lots of stuff circulating online about him since Friday night and it's not fair to be calling his a freak! Imagine how he's feeling....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I used to get annoyed by people posting crap constantly on Facebook but i realized that it is not worth getting annoyed over. It is far easier to just block the feed and get on with using FB for what i want to use it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Whoever set up the FB page about that poor fella from The Late Late Show is a fúcking wanker. That's practically bullying. There's been lots of stuff circulating online about him since Friday night and it's not fair to be calling his a freak! Imagine how he's feeling....

I can't view flash vids in work. Is this the head turn fella? It's funny and was intentional. It was a 'freaky' head turn. Nothing bullying about that. Guys a legend for doing it so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭crackers and cheese

I think it looks so stupid to be sitting in a pub/club and taking 100 photos of yourself.
    I go out at the weekend and never take pics...the pics i do take are of random funny things like the dog attacking our christmas tree.
    Its people showing off...but what exactly they think they are showing off i
    have no idea
    and have you ever seen women talking to each other through wall posts
    planning nights out/talking bout a night out
    Cant do that privately through text/pm no??? Sad Life
    Also...in a lot of pubs and clubs now they take your pic and post in
    on the fan page...seen that last weekend...6 girls taking pics with their cameras then a member of staff came over and took several
    Most people that are not constantly posting on fb DO have a life...
    its just that they not so insecure as to feel the need to brag or show off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Jonny Drama

I can't view flash vids in work. Is this the head turn fella? It's funny and was intentional. It was a 'freaky' head turn. Nothing bullying about that. Guys a legend for doing it so well.

Ya that's the guy. I just don't think it's right for people to be calling him a freak that's all..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

btard wrote: »
    If they were having such a great time they wouldn't be on fb every 5 minutes posting shyte about it.

Says it all. I know a girl who "knows" everyone and her first night away at college she was posting about how great Sligo was and facebooking about how she was at an amazing house party her first night there. Love how someone posted if she was at such a great party and having such a good time why was she posting about it on Facebook during it.

I notice so many of those people that brag about shite like that and all the people they meet and befriend are full of it. They're just people they met once and are just acquaintances to them, if even that, and they haven't anything substantial to them, yet add them anyway. I swear to god their profile is an illusion to how they really are because they are dull as fuck on a night out in real life that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

My friend was caught out she constantly posts she's so busy going here and there life is great etc blah blah I bumped into her Auntie asked bout her niece how good her life is turns out she never goes out sits in her house all day posting crap about herself :mad: isn't that sad
    Never feel down because you think others are living the life
    facebook wont last forever.