Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Childhood Shennanigans:

• 06-12-2012 9:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭

What di you get up to ??
    As a child, my favourite thing was prank calling on my mobile (folks gave me my mam's old mobile when I was 9 (I am 21 now)) and it has 40 Punts on it, so I went mad with prank calls.

And let's not forget knick-knocks (knocking on door and running away)

What else did you get up to shennanigan-wise??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Pfffft....mobile phones are old school...:D

Loved doing knockadolly in the local area, especially loved getting thread and tying it to the knocker and going behind a car and tugging thread...The laugh was unreal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

What di you get up to ??
    As a child, my favourite thing was prank calling on my mobile (folks gave me my mam's old mobile when I was 9 (I am 21 now)) and it has 40 Punts on it, so I went mad with prank calls.

What else did you get up to shennanigan-wise??

Not in my day

Ah just remembered doing the stink bomb in a crowded shop....sheepishly pretend to tie shoe lace, stink bomb under heal.....leggggggit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Not in my day
    Nor mine. As a kid, a friend who had a phone in his house tried once to do funny operator calls, but pretty much lost interest with the amount of time it took to dial the six digit number on one of those stupid circular dial phones. God, OP has made me feel like Mr Burns.

On topic though, good to see the youngsters still play knick knack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Hiding in a hedge and throwing stones and rocks at passing cars. I was a bollox as a kid.

Archeron wrote: »

On topic though, good to see the youngsters still play knick knack.

Yeah, I'm 40 and its great.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

I used to go upstairs, throw a piece of string out the window, tie it to the letter box & knock on the door from upstairs

Muir wrote: »
    I used to go upstairs, throw a piece of string out the window, tie it to the letter box & knock on the door from upstairs

Haha brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

used to throw thise little cartons of milk into shops while walking by when i was a chisler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

My brother when he was about 6 years old used to piss into our granny's tea. Mum has never let him forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

MrsD007 wrote: »

Can you still get Lemon's sweets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Just before I start, me and my friends were stupid as kids:P

We used to buy loads of tennis balls, hide in a ditch or behind a wall and have a competition. The competition was like this- set your friend a target on a passing car on the side and get them to puck the tennis ball at it and they'd then gain points.

We got to the county final that year. Put it down to our superb off field training :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Just before I start, me and my friends were stupid as kids:P

We used to buy loads of tennis balls, hide in a ditch or behind a wall and have a competition. The competition was like this- set your friend a target on a passing car on the side and get them to puck the tennis ball at it and they'd then gain points.

We got to the county final that year. Put it down to our superb off field training:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i saw them in dunnes and tesco today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

We used to buy lighter fluid, squirt it on our hands and take turns setting each other on fire. We'd see who could last the longest with their hands on fire.
    Yes, we were idiots.

Now that I think of it.........It's a miracle I'm not dead with the amount of stupidly dangerous stuff we did as kids.
    Stuff like getting a scut (jumping on the back of stuff) on moving trains. :eek:
    We were actually retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Yeah, I saw them in Tesco's last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Surely you mean 'knick-knacks'...or was knick-knocks the Southside version....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

here is one for ya

i was on the dart heading home from school , uniform bag the lot , got chatting to a elderly american couple who were heading for the ferry at Dun Laoghaire , for some reason i offered them a hand with the large number of bags they had , i was in no rush and felt like the right thing to do
    walked into the ferry terminal - and just kept going , past the ticket bloke , past customs right onto the ferry :eek: handed over the bags and started to walk back , and just before i got off , something said " stay feckin on " , so i did

ended up in hollyhead at 10 pm , still with school bag and uniform on i wandered around holyhead till 2 ish , even got passed by the cops in a mini , they slowed down but kept driving :eek:

so i got cold and headed back to the ferry terminal , was sitting wondering what to do next - even considered hoping on the London train :D

so a woman closing a cafe saw me , looked concerned and got british transport police onto me , the ****ers were real arseholes to me , i was 12 FFS
    they put me into a cell for a few hours, and then put me back onto the morning ferry - club man lounge no less , the crew were keeping a eye on me the whole time ,

so got home and wandered off , thinking a fleet of cops would be waiting for me - nada , nothing , i even had to bunk on the dart to get home

got home and my mother and the rest of the family were waiting for me, my mam said " so , where were you ?" i said hollyhead - she said " i know the garda were here at 3am asking did she know where he son was ? " she said in bed :eek:

my brother thought i was in bed and told her i was , so she never knew till the fuzz arrived at the door

kids can be little heart attack inducing ****ers :D

i saw them in dunnes and tesco today

Heh heh, happy times. Didn't know they made them anymore.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    We were only kids :o

I did the exact same myself. Although not the stones bit ;) That was pure genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Re-Creating WWF matches (WWE as it is now)

used to make rings out of mattresses with friends, if wet was inside and we'd jump of the table and couches, if it was dry we'd make it outside and jump of ladders (my friend used to jump of his roof, I was to chicken/sensible to do that)
    use to get the lids of the Tins of Biscuits and belt eachother with it, it didn't hurt and made a deadly sound
    sometimes would put ketchup on us and pretend we were bleeding..

..good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

dj jarvis wrote: »
    here is one for ya

i was on the dart heading home from school , uniform bag the lot , got chatting to a elderly american couple who were heading for the ferry at Dun Laoghaire , for some reason i offered them a hand with the large number of bags they had , i was in no rush and felt like the right thing to do
    walked into the ferry terminal - and just kept going , past the ticket bloke , past customs right onto the ferry :eek: handed over the bags and started to walk back , and just before i got off , something said " stay feckin on " , so i did

ended up in hollyhead at 10 pm , still with school bag and uniform on i wandered around holyhead till 2 ish , even got passed by the cops in a mini , they slowed down but kept driving :eek:

so i got cold and headed back to the ferry terminal , was sitting wondering what to do next - even considered hoping on the London train :D

so a woman closing a cafe saw me , looked concerned and got british transport police onto me , the ****ers were real arseholes to me , i was 12 FFS
    they put me into a cell for a few hours, and then put me back onto the morning ferry - club man lounge no less , the crew were keeping a eye on me the whole time ,

so got home and wandered off , thinking a fleet of cops would be waiting for me - nada , nothing , i even had to bunk on the dart to get home

got home and my mother and the rest of the family were waiting for me, my mam said " so , where were you ?" i said hollyhead - she said " i know the garda were here at 3am asking did she know where he son was ? " she said in bed :eek:

my brother thought i was in bed and told her i was , so she never knew till the fuzz arrived at the door

If that's a true story I tip my hat to you good sir...... Well played indeed!!!!!!
    Brillo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Fungums

when i was a kid my cousins and sisters used to walk up to the shop. we live ''in the sticks'' so took us about half an hour to get there.
    The lady who owned the shop was old and almost blind so we used to give her 2p's instead of 20p's
    My older cousins used to go behind the counter to ''pick out sweets'' and instead would rob fags.

we used to take all my grannys net curtains out of the press and make wedding dresses for ourselves, she used to kill us everytime she found us in them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

dj jarvis wrote: »
    here is one for ya

I really hope this is true!!!! what a cool story..

it doesn't need any dragons;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

you can :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

thank you - on my kids lives its 100% kosher

i was a little ****er as a nipper

a bus terminus was outside my front door , as a 6 year old i would sneak on the bus ( no 16 ) when the driver and conductor were out having a smoke , and hide up top deck , and revel myself when i was too far away for them to feck me off it , would end up going into the city and onto santry ( i think ) and back again

i would try so often my mother had them all warned that if they found me on the bus , they had to keep me :eek:

if my kids get up to 0.0001% of what i did , i am f2ucked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

across the road from my house, alot of people tumb there.

one day there was some bag packer guy tumbing for a ride. me & my bro were bored & saw your man just standing there.

so my bro got his pellet gun & starting shooting pellets at him (they wer tiny balls & would not have hurt him cause he was across the road, the pellet gun was an old one) but they still hit him :L:L i feel really bad now about it but it was sooooo funny at the time :L we'd duck behind the curtin staight away, he was looking over at the house but id say he wasnt too sure :L

when i was younger, whenever my brothers use to be outside in the garden or just walking pass the house i use to fire a bucket of water over them :L muwhahah :L

oh & pranking people,...do it the odd time :P the BEST prank is to ring 2 people on 2 differnet phones & hold them up to eachother :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

FFS that's really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The army used to have a checkpoint at the end of our street, at the bottom of a hill. I remember someone put a packet of trebor mints into a bottle of coke and rolled it down :D

One halloween we hit the local recycling centre for tyres and pallets and I nearly caused an accident when I dropped a tyre on a hill.

We lit fires, had BB guns and catapults... we were bad kids looking back on it!

Trying to remember more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Thought this was going to be a Max Clifford thread. :(

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Thought this was going to be a Max Clifford thread. :(

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I Am Kong! wrote: »

Im from the southside and we always said knick knacks! I remember the adrenaline when you pressed the doorbell :o Ah good times..

We have a high wall in our estate, we used to stand behind it and egg cars ! So dangerous, buses were the best.

We once went ice skating and pooled our money together, we came up with 30 euro. We spent it on a can of corned beef, rashers, sausages, beans, eggs, muesli, cream, sugar...loads of stuff like that. Then on the way home we put it all on some boy racers car! :o Id say he has some job getting that stuff off.

In secondary school we used to have radiators halfway up the walls in the study hall. We got a ladder out from the storage room one night during night study, put eggs on top of the radiator with half the shell missing, so that the whole corridor stunk like rotten eggs for weeks. Everytime they put the heat on we would get off all classes in that corridor. Was hilarious! They hadnt a clue where it was coming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

When I lived in Cork, we lived in a little bedsit in someones back garden. We used to shoot people with a pellet gun over the wall. The amount of drunk people coming home from the pub, getting angry at nobody because we were milling him with pellets !

I dont even feel guilty :o

Ah Heyor Leave It Ouh!

Everyone knows its "knock door run" or just "knock-knock"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

We used to jump into the trailer of passing tractors and get a spin down the road and them jump off again. There was many a head split as we lost balance and fell backwards after jumping off. I had to get 12 stitches in the back of my head but it didn't deter me as it was just too much craic. This was in the 70's when tractors trundled along at running pace (5 or 6 mph)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It involved stones. Quite a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Nearly derailed a train when I was about 12,
    We had the Athlone - Mullingar rail line behind our estate and used to play on it regullary as kids...it was closed even back then....
    So when we went for a walk I e day on the mai li e to Dublin we decided it would be a good idea to out some huge big rocks on the track.....few my s later a train comes along.......big loud crashing noise as it hit the rocks and the driver hits the breaks.....guards were called out and all....we took off like bullets.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The rope trick...

Two of us, one on either side of a road in the dark, pretending to pull a piece of rope when a car came down the street...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

My mam went over to the neighbour's one day, so my brother and I told the gardener to dig a big hole and fill it with water because we wanted to make a mud pie. The gardener was always stoned off his bin though.

My mam came home to find the two of us sitting in this hole filled with muddy water.

We also used to throw avocados at people walking past our house.

Sounds made up but it's true!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

Close to where I lived as a kid there was one of those gyms on the second floor of the local shopping centre, where when you looked up, you could sees rows of people pegging it along on rows of treadmills. On the far side you could also see giant mirrors and guys lifting weights and staring at themselves etc. Well eh, we, eh (and I'm not proud of this) would now and again, turn off their electricity at the mains and leg it.

I know, I know, could have cause all sort of injuries - think we did it so often they went and invested in a back-up generator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Close to where I lived as a kid there was one of those gyms on the second floor of the local shopping centre, where when you looked up, you could sees rows of people pegging it along on rows of treadmills. On the far side you could also see giant mirrors and guys lifting weights and staring at themselves etc. Well eh, we, eh (and I'm not proud of this) would now and again, turn off their electricity at the mains and leg it.

I know, I know, could have cause all sort of injuries - think we did it so often they went and invested in a back-up generator.

Brillant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Knick-knacks, excuse the typo. I'm north county Dublin, excuse you :P