Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus driver with a heart of gold...

• 06-12-2012 12:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

A BUS driver who found a bag containing €390,000 handed the money over to police, who tracked down the elderly woman who had left her fortune behind.

The Austrian driver, identified by the Vienna transport authority only as Wolfgang R, was inspecting his vehicle at the end of the line when he found the bag in a seat behind the driver's.

"At first I thought it was shopping or medicine," he said. However, when he opened the bag he found a collection of €500 notes staring back at him.

Police in the Austrian capital used a bank deposit slip inside the bag to trace the owner. There was no word on whether the woman had given the honest driver a reward.

Personally i think he needs his head examined but fair play to him i guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

what kind of lunatic carries around that sort of cash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

davet82 wrote: »
    Personally i think he needs his head examined

or maybe he just has a conscience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

or maybe he just has a conscience

he has a what??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭mickgotsick

FatherLen wrote: »

What kind of lunatic forgets they're carrying that sort of cash with them?

who tracked down the elderly woman who had left her fortune behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The way I see it, Finders keepers, losers weepers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don't who is the bigger gobsh1te:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

He could have bought an actual gold heart rather than having to make do with his figurative one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

You've answered your own questions there. My M-I-L is in the early stages of dementia and I could easily see her doing something like this. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I would guess quite a lot, particularly among elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I think it's very commendable because, if I were he, an elderly person's life savings isn't the first thing I would presume it to be. At the time, I'd reckon it's maybe for a drugs transaction or something and would consider holding on to it.

But if I knew it was an old lady's, no question, I'd give it back.

kraggy wrote: »
    I think it's very commendable because, if I were he, an elderly person's life savings isn't the first thing I would presume it to be. At the time, I'd reckon it's maybe for a drugs transaction or something and would consider holding on to it.

But if I knew it was an old lady's, no question, I'd give it back.

i'd probably do that decision the other way around with the fear of being murdered, like whats a granny gonna do to you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

davet82 wrote: »

Personally i think he needs his head examined but fair play to him i guess :)

I've never lost anything in a German speaking country and not gotten it back. This includes multiple phones, keys and a wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

He did what any decent person would do. I don't think he deserves a pat on the back for it tbh though... what kind of person would actually keep the money!?

woodchuck wrote: »
    He did what any decent person would do. I don't think he deserves a pat on the back for it tbh though... what kind of person would actually keep the money!?

i think we need a poll :rolleyes:

A poor person i.e. Myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

what kind of person would actually keep the money!?

K-N-A-C-K-E-R, if it aint yours why keep it, fair play Wolfgang you crazy German Austrain

A poor person i.e. Myself.

I understand that desperate times occassionally call for desperate measures. But in this situation the bus driver obviously had a job therefore couldn't have been too badly off for the money. I'd expect anyone in a similar situation as him to do the decent thing. If anybody took it purely for personal gain (and not because they don't have money for food etc) then there's no excuse and I don't see how their conscience wouldn't eat away at them.

Right, well even if I had a job I would have taken it. Although I would give a percentage of it to charity.. maybe..0.01 percent...

Why would you take it (if you're not absolutely desperate) though? Wouldn't you care about the person you were essentially robbing it from?

Well, I wouldn't be robbing it. Its could "finding". ;) But a little extra cash is never unwanted.

LittleBook wrote: »
    You've answered your own questions there. My M-I-L is in the early stages of dementia and I could easily see her doing something like this. :(

Maybe the family should get some kind of legal power so you have control over her 390k? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Sometimes After Hours is a depressing, sad place!

Well, I wouldn't be robbing it. Its could "finding". ;) But a little extra cash is never unwanted.

As far as I know the law would disagree. I remember a story a while back about a couple finding a winning lotto ticket... it didn't turn out as a simple case of 'finders keepers losers weepers' (sorry I don't have time to find the link atm :P)

It might be extra cash for you, but what about the person who lost it? For all you know it could be their life savings! Wouldn't you care that your pleasure was causing suffering for another human being?

Wurly wrote: »
    Sometimes After Hours is a depressing, sad place!

I know:( , But I cheer up when I look at your're avatar. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

I'm glad I grew up with good parents who taught me right from wrong.
    I suppose what I'm trying to say is, how small is the inside of a Caravan :D

As far as I know the law would disagree. I remember a story a while back about a couple finding a winning lotto ticket... it didn't turn out as a simple case of 'finders keepers losers weepers' (sorry I don't have time to find the link atm :P)

It might be extra cash for you, but what about the person who lost it? For all you know it could be their life savings! Wouldn't you care that your pleasure was causing suffering for another human being?

Well, their hard luck if the loose their life savings.. But why caring around your life savings? You only deserve too loose it if you do..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭seanhalpin

They do it over there too?

Jeez, what is it with oul wans going around with 1000s worth of cash on them. I remember when this oul wan had to go into hospital in Clonmel and when the nurse or whoever was putting here jacket into the bedside locker she saw that tens of thousands were hidden in the jacket lining.

What do be going through their wrinkly heads at all?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭hurpederp

I was on a bus in Limerick, when the bus driver pulled in to the road. An audible groan of annoyance swept through the passengers " I just want to get home whatls this eejit at" type of thing. tje bus driver opened his door, stepped onto the street because he had noticed a blindman with a cane looking a bit lost. First he asked if he needed to take the bus, then he spoke to him, helped him across the road and spent a minute or two explaining to the man where he was before getting back into the bus.
    Just thought I'd share this heartwarming tale with ye thieving bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

Well, their hard luck if the loose their life savings.. But why caring around your life savings? You only deserve too loose it if you do..

hurpederp wrote: »
    I was on a bus in Limerick, when the bus driver pulled in to the road. An audible groan of annoyance swept through the passengers " I just want to get home whatls this eejit at" type of thing. tje bus driver opened his door, stepped onto the street because he had noticed a blindman with a cane looking a bit lost. First he asked if he needed to take the bus, then he spoke to him, helped him across the road and spent a minute or two explaining to the man where he was before getting back into the bus.
    Just thought I'd share this heartwarming tale with ye thieving bastards.

genuine LOL! :pac:

full_irish wrote: »

Not appearing for me, I will watch it when I watch it when I get home... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I probably would have taken it given the likelihood that someone just walking around with physical cash in that quantity is probably a criminal.,and I wouldn't mind screwing some drug dealer or whatever.Fair play to the person who handed it over tho, hope they got a reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wolfgang R, bless your heart!

biko wrote: »
    Wolfgang R, bless your heart!

you have special powers biko add a poll for me, i want to see how honest boardsies really are

1) give back the money

2) keep the money

3) buy twenty thousand atari jaguars

pretty please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I wouldnt have taken it, it would be too hard to break a €500 note, and the banks would make you use those stupid machines in the branches to lodge it, too much effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

he didn't keep it because he is already minted!
    Who can afford a golden heart these days?

Boscoirl wrote: »
    I wouldnt have taken it, it would be too hard to break a €500 note, and the banks would make you use those stupid machines in the branches to lodge it, too much effort

That's the reason you wouldn't take it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Id keep it
    nice little holiday to las vegas , lose half spend spend a good bit on hookers and drink then spend what ever littles left on a hopefull recoverie with the std il get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Nice and all, but it'd be a bit awkward just swiping it - wouldn't there be CCTV on the bus?

And €390,000 is a good bit of money, but not quite enough to run off to Rio and live like a lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

seanhalpin wrote: »
    They do it over there too?

Jeez, what is it with oul wans going around with 1000s worth of cash on them. I remember when this oul wan had to go into hospital in Clonmel and when the nurse or whoever was putting here jacket into the bedside locker she saw that tens of thousands were hidden in the jacket lining.

What do be going through their wrinkly heads at all?:confused:

Generally a lot of fear and confusion. Don't forget, they're of the generation where stuffing money in a mattress was considered a fairly normal form of saving...

There's so much in the news about banks and the euro in trouble and bailouts that I can see how it would be easy for an old person, probably already confused, to think that the safest option was to mind the money themselves, rather than risk it disappearing altogether in the bank and/or being given to Greece or Ireland :eek:

I would keep it purely in the hope of getting into some hilarious Guy Ritchie-style caper with cockney-rhyming drug dealers looking for their money back.

full_irish wrote: »

Well, after seeing them two videos, I though you made a mature post. :rolleyes: How wrong I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Damn, I'd probably give it back but there'd be only €389,000 in the bag. I'm keeping a grand because sure as shít Mrs Als Heimer wouldn't give me a penny for the trouble of getting it back to her (the Austrians are notoriously tight people).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'd not keep it for the simple fact, it's in 500 euro bills, how the fook do you spend them?

I'd keep it because I'd assume nobody would ever have that much legal money on them.. My assumption would have been wrong in this case but right in 99% of other cases.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

For all of you reckoning that it would more than likely have been proceeds of crime...what the flip do you think a drug dealer or bank robber would be doing getting a BUS, sitting behind the driver and carrying the proceeds in a plastic bag?!
    It had elderly person written all over it, hard to see with the Euro signs in your eyes though I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What were they thinking in the bank that gave her this money ? It was obviously a withdrawal from somewhere if it was all in 500's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

miamee wrote: »
    For all of you reckoning that it would more than likely have been proceeds of crime...what the flip do you think a drug dealer or bank robber would be doing getting a BUS, sitting behind the driver and carrying the proceeds in a plastic bag?!
    It had elderly person written all over it, hard to see with the Euro signs in your eyes though I suppose.

Criminals who frequently move those sums of money are the ones in suits, riding in limos, and getting police escorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I couldn't keep the money myself but I'd be tempted to sneak a €500 note :p