Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Academic study...siiigh

• 04-12-2012 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

I'm talking about certain (though not all) academic disciplines..mostly the humanities I suppose. This could be law, philosoophy, politics etc.

So you're reading a pretty difficult paper, tons of new words and esoteric philosophical terms, trying to grasp the underlying concept. Eventually you do and it is..quite frankly.. ridiculously obvious and almost common knowledge.

For instance, recent papers I've had to decipher come down to the following ideas:
    • Governments should take the public views into account when tackling crime
    • Governments/organisations have become too obsessed with protecting themselves which stop themselves from functioning properly.
    • Governments should inform the public better about various issues

etc...but anyway, all this in frustratingly clouded writing and complex "conceptualisations" but when you get down to the bones of it, it's common sense stuff and often quite trivial.

People dedicate years getting a PhD writing this kind of stuff and then continue on when they're eventually a Dr.

Seems almost soul destroying to me, f-knows deciphering it and realising that you could sum it up in a few bullet points is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

so...... whats your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I'm currently studying politics. Went on a visit to the local City Council building yesterday.

In a seminar earlier, the lecturer said 'well what you saw yesterday is real politics, we can't teach you that'. So what am I studying for the next three years for, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Thats humanities for ya.should have gone into science or engineering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i'm not clever enough to take part in this thread :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Eh.....yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

davet82 wrote: »
    i'm not clever enough to take part in this thread :(

It's simple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Basically it is that if you cut away the crap the detail is fairly obvious or at least should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

kneemos wrote: »
    It's simple really.

ye mean i'm simple...

ye bollix ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

It prepares you for real life in another way. In work its not what you say, its how you say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

I've learned to never, ever trust what's written in a journal paper unless you know the author is reputable. It could just be the equivalent of me in another college published it, and f**k knows my stuff isn't accurate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

It's just so only middle class folk with certain qualification can do certain jobs.

It's not about ability, it's protectionism. Keep out any who can't speak the right type of BS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Its all filler to justify the authors own existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The difference is that the authors of those books actually did the research in a scientific fashion.
    That science arrive at the same conclusion as common knowledge is not really surprising, that's how science works.

Question "I think this is the way it is - is this really the way it is?"
    science
    science
    science
    science
    Answer "yes."

But it could be the opposite, or not quite the way you thought it was.
    I heart science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Conversely to the presupposed normality of the underlying prejudices that one perceives as an ad hominem attack by those in opposition to one's argument one could fact be inclined to presuppose that any attack is in fact a defence of said person's naturalistic tendencies towards self aggrandisement and of course we all know that all self aggrandisement comes from an inherent but oft-overlooked lack of confidence in one's own arsenal of subconscious weaponry..... y'know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

biko wrote: »
    I heart science.

We're told that if that happens (e.g. your hypothesis is 'I think the higher this variable, the higher this outcome' and it's actually a negative correlation), you just change your hypothesis so it looks like you were right all along. Typical politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭parc

The difference is that the authors of those books actually did the research in a scientific fashion.
    That science arrive at the same conclusion as common knowledge is not really surprising, that's how science works.

science
    science
    science
    science
    Answer "yes."

I heart science.

I get what your saying but your confusing what I'm getting at with scientific study...

Like:
    "My hypotheses is X or my question about something is Y?"
    Literature review/Data collection/testing/result
    Answer or conclusion

I was gonna write that there's some really interesting and informative studies out there. Concisely written too.

This ones I'm talking about are simple and often quite vague in the end. Its a case of "publish or perish" really I suppose

science
    science
    science
    science
    Answer "yes."

I heart science.

Which is all well and good if you believe research that has people as it's subject can actually be scientific. ;)

Regardless, I still don't believe the type of language used in academic papers is necessary. It's just cocksnot to make the writer look clever and justify their privileged position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

brummytom wrote: »
    We're told that if that happens (e.g. your hypothesis is 'I think the higher this variable, the higher this outcome' and it's actually a negative correlation), you just change your hypothesis so it looks like you were right all along. Typical politicians.

That sounds like they're teaching you real politics after all there Tom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

parc wrote: »
    I'm talking about certain (though not all) academic disciplines..mostly the humanities I suppose. This could be law, philosoophy, politics etc.

So you're reading a pretty difficult paper, tons of new words and esoteric philosophical terms, trying to grasp the underlying concept. Eventually you do and it is..quite frankly.. ridiculously obvious and almost common knowledge.

For instance, recent papers I've had to decipher come down to the following ideas:
    • Governments should take the public views into account when tackling crime
    • Governments/organisations have become too obsessed with protecting themselves which stop themselves from functioning properly.
    • Governments should inform the public better about various issues

etc...but anyway, all this in frustratingly clouded writing and complex "conceptualisations" but when you get down to the bones of it, it's common sense stuff and often quite trivial.

People dedicate years getting a PhD writing this kind of stuff and then continue on when they're eventually a Dr.

Seems almost soul destroying to me, f-knows deciphering it and realising that you could sum it up in a few bullet points is

If certain disciplines were laid out simply then any pleb could go at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Conversely to the presupposed normality of the underlying prejudices that one perceives as an ad hominem attack by those in opposition to one's argument one could fact be inclined to presuppose that any attack is in fact a defence of said person's naturalistic tendencies towards self aggrandisement and of course we all know that all self aggrandisement comes from an inherent but oft-overlooked lack of confidence in one's own arsenal of subconscious weaponry..... y'know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

If we simply tell the government that peoples views should be taken into account when tackling crime they probably won't listen.

If you show them detailed and complex studies and papers which say the same thing there is (slightly) more chance that they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

whitewave wrote: »
    I've learned to never, ever trust what's written in a journal paper unless you know the author is reputable. It could just be the equivalent of me in another college published it, and f**k knows my stuff isn't accurate!

You do know articles are peer reviewed? You can't just publish an article if you feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    You do know articles are peer reviewed? You can't just publish an article if you feel like it.

Oh I know that, but I also know that work done in labs etc. isn't always as accurate as claimed in results. When it's one person working on their own, who's to say they haven't altered their results, lied about procedures etc. I'd imagine same goes for data collection in other disciplines - lies can be told.

Not saying it should be done, just that it can be!

Do yourself a favour OP and change track. If you think these kind of papers are irritating rubbish, you're gonna hate whatever job comes from studying them. Trust me, I learned this the hard way. :mad:

It's very frustrating if you enter a career because you want to work with people or contribute something, only to get this kinda waffle thrown at you over and over and over by people only interested in their own careers.

Aoifey! wrote: »
    If we simply tell the government that peoples views should be taken into account when tackling crime they probably won't listen.

If you show them detailed and complex studies and papers which say the same thing there is (slightly) more chance that they will.

It's not necessarily about being against a complex detailed study...

Like:
    we review literature and concepts
    we have a theory...
    we test it using gathered data..
    here are our analysed data and the results..
    conclusions/suggestions for further study

It's more about the academic wankery papers that are very long winded and often pointless.

I remember we had a tutorial in 1st year and our tutor gave us a paper to read. It's basic theme was "the difference between secondary and college education, and how they shouldn't be treated the same."

We all had an absolute nightmare reading (and rereading) it. So boring and so longwinded. When we got into the tutorial, the tutor (a well respected professor himself) says "ohh actually I shouldn't have recommend that, it was a bit overblown, wish academics wouldn't write like that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Had a lecturer who told us that some academics don't want to be understood and that other academics are afraid to call them on their BS. They're afraid of looking stupid. I think there's a lot of truth in that.

If you're in the business of learning and spreading ideas you should be writing as clearly as possible and to as many people as possible.

This isn't just a problem with humanities though, I've read engineering stuff that was pretty dense with wankery. That said, the worst stuff I've had to read was a series of Psychology texts. When someone doesn't get to the point I get very pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

Everyone is trying to sell themselves and their ability. If the average joe could do what someone who has studied for 4 years could do, then the skilled gained by spending that time and money in uni would be useless.

Basically this protects the knowledge.

However there are cases, i.e. in medicine, or in law, or physics etc where if you wrote down everything in simplistic language then the resulting piece of research would be highly inaccurate -because generalizations and simplifications change the meaning slightly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

That's why i love engineering,straight to the point with no bollocks.

Jezek wrote: »
    Everyone is trying to sell themselves and their ability. If the average joe could do what someone who has studied for 4 years could do, then the skilled gained by spending that time and money in uni would be useless.

Basically this protects the knowledge.

However there are cases, i.e. in medicine, or in law, or physics etc where if you wrote down everything in simplistic language then the resulting piece of research would be highly inaccurate -because generalizations and simplifications change the meaning slightly.

That goes so far. A reliable qualifier of knowledge is that if someone really understands something then they will be able to explain it in a relatively simple fashion. That's why Brian Cox and the likes are appreciated so much. They comprehend fully and can thus relate well.

Shryke wrote: »
    That goes so far. A reliable qualifier of knowledge is that if someone really understands something then they will be able to explain it in a relatively simple fashion. That's why Brian Cox and the likes are appreciated so much. They comprehend fully and can thus relate well.

Well, that's one part of it. What about all the boffins who don't have any communication skills but are great scientists? I have worked with people like this - no gift o' the gab, but a lot of hard work and determination. Unfortunately, these people are not nurtured enough and their communication skills are not honed at all during their science courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Chomsky pinpoints it quite well in this video.

pmcmahon wrote: »

The thing I like about straight science when I did it in secondary school is that it is pretty cut and dry. You work you ass off to understand it and you get top marks (correct me if I'm wrong)

Essay writing marks can be subjective. If you follow the right procedures in essay writing you'll get a good mark, but because it's subjective, the same essay following the correct format could get a 2.1 or a high first depending on who's marking it.

I enjoy learning a few new words and concepts when reading a paper but when the author is using run on sentences to describe their underlying (fairly weak) point, that's what pisses me off.

The fact that they use this writing style to convey their underlying (fairly week) argument/point reinforces the fact that the point is weak imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

pmcmahon wrote: »

Its why I love flying. No reports about implementation of strategies blablabla.....

I'm with you on the medicine and physics but not law. It's just BS legelese to justify charging a helluva lot of money and protect the 'profession'.

There's nothing very complicated about law. Otherwise we couldn't be expected to obey it ;)

I'm with you on the medicine and physics but not law. It's just BS legelese to justify charging a helluva lot of money and protect the 'profession'.

There's nothing very complicated about law. Otherwise we couldn't be expected to obey it ;)

I don't know about this, I think I'd always like someone with a lot of experience and deep understanding representing me legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    Its why I love flying. No reports about implementation of strategies blablabla.....

Thats why I love photography.. I just take pictures! :)

I don't know about this, I think I'd always like someone with a lot of experience and deep understanding representing me legally.

Well of course your best to go with someone with all the tricks and smokescreens if you need. Play the game. Doesn't make it valid knowledge though, or socially beneficial or anything like that.

And in my experience always have somebody trustworthy with you when you meet a lawyer. Even (especially) your own lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

My current pet peeve is:

1)Find statistical correlation
    2)Make up highly subjective theory to suit this correlation
    3)Draw desired conclusion
    4)Call it science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

humbert wrote: »
    My current pet peeve is:

1)Find statistical correlation
    2)Make up highly subjective theory to suit this correlation
    3)Draw desired conclusion
    4)Call it science

5)Gets reported as established fact by eager journalist. :D

Well, that's one part of it. What about all the boffins who don't have any communication skills but are great scientists? I have worked with people like this - no gift o' the gab, but a lot of hard work and determination. Unfortunately, these people are not nurtured enough and their communication skills are not honed at all during their science courses.

Sorry but it's not up to any course to teach someone how to be a human being capable of communicating. Boffin is a bit of a silly word. I've spoken to plenty of highly qualified people that can get their point across. If someone is socially retarded in any field then they're going to have problems... hmm. I bet I'm sounding insensitive or something now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

You think that's bad? I've yet to come across a mathematical proof that wasn't trivial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You could spend years studying the amino acid sequence of one enzyme which might be nanometres across but still as long as it adds something to collective knowledge it cant be a bad thing.

Sorry but it's not up to any course to teach someone how to be a human being capable of communicating. Boffin is a bit of a silly word. I've spoken to plenty of highly qualified people that can get their point across. If someone is socially retarded in any field then they're going to have problems... hmm. I bet I'm sounding insensitive or something now.

No you'r right. One of our lecturers will walk to the other side of the lab if someone asks him a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Psychology

Simpsons Quote - "Stop doing that please, most of those books haven't been discredited yet"

A profession which pays people to manipulate people into certain answers to discredit some other persons findings and it goes on and on for years and our dickhead governments pay these people handsomely to do a study to back up their own assumptions and to influence the policies which impact on some of our lives.

Australian study states men enjoy seeing womens exposed breasts.

Small print: Study took 2 years and cost 150k to the tax payers.

Don't even get me started on Philosophy....Oh me, Oh My!

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Psychology

Simpsons Quote - "Stop doing that please, most of those books haven't been discredited yet"

A profession which pays people to manipulate people into certain answers to discredit some other persons findings and it goes on and on for years and our dickhead governments pay these people handsomely to do a study to back up their own assumptions and to influence the policies which impact on some of our lives.

Australian study states men enjoy seeing womens exposed breasts.

Small print: Study took 2 years and cost 150k to the tax payers.

Don't even get me started on Philosophy....Oh me, Oh My!

You're a bit cuckoo about your taxes aren't you? Every post, raging about where tax is going. Education, welfare, psychology..

A lot of times you will also get lecturers who are sh1t at lecturing but are valuable to the college for their ability to attract funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

You're a bit cuckoo about your taxes aren't you? Every post, raging about where tax is going. Education, welfare, psychology..

Shouldn't everybody be concerned about where their taxes are going? If you work overtime and come away with jack sh!t because it's being taken by the government or you bust your balls to get a raise and then they take 42%

Everybody should question what their taxes get spent on

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Shouldn't everybody be concerned about where their taxes are going? If you work overtime and come away with jack sh!t because it's being taken by the government or you bust your balls to get a raise and then they take 42%

Everybody should question what their taxes get spent on

I wouldn't argue with that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Don't know much about history, don't know much biology, don't much about a science book, don't know much about the French I took, but I do know that I love you, and I know that if you love me too, what a wonderful world this would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

"Don't be shtudyin' antin' high-fallutin' - do business studies to get a job!"

A very Irish attitude I can't stand. So glad I did humanities/arts due to it being something I enjoyed, rather than business/engineering, which I'd hate/be sh1t at.