Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicki Minaj: "Steven Tyler is racist"

• 01-12-2012 12:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

Nicki Minaj has accused Steven Tyler of being racist, on the basis that he tweeted, were Bob Dylan or someone of a similar calibre to appear on American Idol, Minaj "would have had him sent to the cornfield". He followed up his remarks by saying "If it was Bob Dylan with us, we [previous American Idol judges] would have brought the best of him out, as we did with Phillip Phillips. Just saying."

Perhaps Tyler's remarks were ill-judged; after all, Minaj has yet to appear as a judge on the American Idol panel.

Minaj's response, however, seems rather disproportionately accusatory.

She said, "You assume that I wouldn't have liked Bob Dylan??? Why? black? rapper? what? go fuck yourself and worry about yourself babe... That's a racist comment … Lets make [Steven] a shirt that says 'No Coloreds Allowed' then escort him down 2 Barbara Walters so he can tell [her] how he was threatened w/guns."

In fairness, Tyler did not make one reference to race. He said that he and previous American Idol judges - including Randy Jackson, who is black - would have dealt better with a musician like Bob Dylan than Nicki Minaj would.

I find it rather sad that Minaj's knee-jerk reaction was to accuse Tyler of being racist. Is this really what racism is? Being somewhat dismissive of a celebrity's ability to judge talent?

There are real racists in the world - take a look at the message boards on a BNP website - and I doubt Steven Tyler is among them. If high-profile people like Minaj are to toss around the word 'racist' as casually as this, surely it no longer has any meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Dude, it's Nicky Minger.

No one takes her seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Every comment now about someone of a different skin colour is racist. Did you not you get the memo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Who's doing the what now?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Who even listens to this woman? I'd say they are all under 12 anyway so I imagine no one will really care other than her and her publicist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Micky Ninja

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Some retard says something retarded. Well whoop-de-fúcking-doo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

This....thing, had ass implants. Enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

No idea who she is, so just googled her. She looks very....uninteresting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Is that the Mrs Potato head woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

don't know all these new names - must be getting old.

anyway ...derp de derp

simon cowell tells louis walsh tells rhianna ...derp
    chris brown tells sharon osborne
    justin bieber kisses whoever
    tulisa something something kardashian
    one direction took a synchronised shi.t in times square.

don't know who these people are .... but they won't stay the fk out of my life.
    fcking x factor.
    And I hate when I turn on the radio and its yer one on spin 103.8 saying this sht like it means something. And its on the tabloid covers.....make it go away.
    I used to like 18 yr old girls...but this is all their fault...if they don't cut it out Ill have to stop watching their porn. let them be warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Is that the Mrs Potato head woman?
    No, it's He-Man: https://i.chzbgr.com/completestore/12/10/24/Rgwc1xRkk06KdystRT73UA2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

America is ultra PC you can't even joke these days without being accused of inciting hatred, the minorities have gained a significant foothold. A friend in New Jersey told me recently that you can't even drop a K bomb anymore, but yet the Jewish community continue to use derogatory language about Italians and Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭se02orqua5xz9v

America is ultra PC you can't even joke these days without being accused of inciting hatred, the minorities have gained a significant foothold. A friend in New Jersey told me recently that you can't even drop a K bomb anymore, but yet the Jewish community continue to use derogatory language about Italians and Irish.

By 'K bomb' I presume you mean 'kike'? Why would you want to use such a vile word to begin with?

This isn't about America being 'ultra PC'. It's about someone devaluing the meaning of the word 'racism' by employing it in a scenario where it has no validity whatsoever.

By 'K bomb' I presume you mean 'kike'? Why would you want to use such a vile word to begin with?

This isn't about America being 'ultra PC'. It's about someone devaluing the meaning of the word 'racism' by employing it in a scenario where it has no validity whatsoever.

In NY/NJ people still use terms which are deemed inappropriate but it's mostly in a joshing sense no harm is meant, for instance an Italian will call Irish micks and Irish call them greasers all in jest. If you call a Jew a kike it tends to reach head office and serious measures are taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Suas11: "Nick Minaj is an idiot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

A friend in New Jersey told me recently that you can't even drop a K bomb anymore

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭se02orqua5xz9v

In NY/NJ people still use terms which are deemed inappropriate but it's mostly in a joshing sense no harm is meant, for instance an Italian will call Irish micks and Irish call them greasers all in jest. If you call a Jew a kike it tends to reach head office and serious measures are taken.

If you do not mind people referring to you as a 'mick' (presuming you are Irish), that is your business. You cannot tell other ethnic groups, such as the Jews, what they should or should not mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I think a better example of American being PC would be the fact that they get so offended by a word like "c*nt", and you can't say anything sweary at all on television. They are pretty PC, in fairness.

With regards to Minaj, she's a fcuking moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Stephen Tyler used to be cool, before he got involved in this talent show crap

still a legend though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

Some idiot is being idiotic? Stop the fucking presses.

If you do not mind people referring to you as a 'mick' (presuming you are Irish), that is your business. You cannot tell other ethnic groups, such as the Jews, what they should or should not mind.

Not in an everyday sense it's between friends co workers etc and all in good fun, the Italian and Irish communities have become quite close in recent years in that area. The Jewish community keep to themselves but that doesn't make them immune to a bit of slagging now and then does it? Remember it's only a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I have no idea who is being talked about. This pleases me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

You don't know who Steven Tyler is?

Lead singer from Aerosmith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Keep following this thread, you don't want to miss a thing :D Seriously though race wasn't brought into Tyler's tweet at all and I wouldn't be surprised if Simon Cowell didn't orchestrate this thing himself to get publicity for the show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i dont care for steven tyler or bob dylan but i'd care a great deal for nicki minaj if she removed the ass implants

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I Am Kong! wrote: »
    This....thing, had ass implants. Enough said.

Are we talking about actual ass implants or just the fact that she cleary has her head stuck up her arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Are we talking about actual ass implants or just the fact that she cleary has her head stuck up her arse?
    Actual ass implants. I'd say if you put her near a radiator she'd melt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

"If it was Bob Dylan with us"

I'm really confused as to how Bob Dylan is involved in all this & why are they talking about him in past-tense as if he's dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Dude, it's Nicky Minger.

No one takes her seriously.

I've honestly just heard her name mentioned here and there... i know nothing about her. But i just checked her up on google images and ..... I came across this

... i so would :pac:

I've honestly just heard her name mentioned here and there... i know nothing about her. But i just checked her up on google images and ..... I came across this

You'd have to do her from behind. Doing her from the front would be like riding a pokemon prostitute.

Why should anyone care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

She has ass implants???

Jesus, I couldn't stand the look of her before, now I have an excuse to really dislike her.

You'd have to do her from behind. Doing her from the front would be like riding a pokemon prostitute.

... :pac:

Just checked her out more. I see shes a rapper. But whats the deal with the heavy makeup?!?! and fake hair too!? .. there are no natural pics of her out there :pac:

But just listened to some of her stuff on youtube. Half rapper - Half pop - 100% fake :P

Smidge wrote: »
    She has ass implants???

Jesus, I couldn't stand the look of her before, now I have an excuse to really dislike her.

Am looking at a few more images of her (sue me am a perv lol) and DEFINITELY ass implants.... and they kinda look weird. Not shaped right or how ever you wanna describe it. Its weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Am looking at a few more images of her (sue me am a perv lol) and DEFINITELY ass implants.... and they kinda look weird. Not shaped right or how ever you wanna describe it. Its weird.

I mean she's a young woman and she looks like a black version of a white barbie doll(not an actual black barbie).
    She has wrecked herself with plastic surgery already.

Idiot.

I think a better example of American being PC would be the fact that they get so offended by a word like "c*nt", and you can't say anything sweary at all on television. They are pretty PC, in fairness.

Howard Stern freely uses the word on his radio show as well as a vast amount of other perceived 'bad words'. I'd love to have a show on satellite radio. People need to get over themselves, every class creed and culture are fair game to be made fun of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

In fairness if she wanted to insult and sully his reputation properly she should have just called him a predatory borderline child abuser (and she would have been safe from slander)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

She's a bit mank to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Not in an everyday sense it's between friends co workers etc and all in good fun, the Italian and Irish communities have become quite close in recent years in that area. .

Has there been a big rivalry between them in NJ down the years out of curiousit? In The Sopranos, when Chris wakes up from a coma after having been shot, he claims he went to hell briefly and it consisted of an Irish bar where it is St Patricks Day all year every year :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Why should anyone care?

I'd care a great deal if I was in the public eye and was accused of racism.

Especially on such flimsy evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Why, oh, why did I have to google her image?

My eyes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I love the way words like "ass" get censored late at night, but vids at 11am of nearly naked girls simulating being ****ed? Oh that's grand! :pac:

Nikki Minge seems to be going for the Japanese animation ott curvy western woman look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Steven Tyler is a prick and Nicky Minaj is an even bigger one. Maybe they will get in a row over this and kill each other? A man can dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ah never mind nicki minge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Has there been a big rivalry between them in NJ down the years out of curiousit? In The Sopranos, when Chris wakes up from a coma after having been shot, he claims he went to hell briefly and it consisted of an Irish bar where it is St Patricks Day all year every year :pac:
    Apparently they didn't get on back in the day, no.

There's also that Paddy's day Simpsons: Kent Brockman - "The day that everyone's a little bit Irish... except for the gays and the Italians." :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

He should sue her for defamation, she's an abomination and an eye sore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Nicki Minaj is who again ? what ?

Yep.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Not in an everyday sense it's between friends co workers etc and all in good fun, the Italian and Irish communities have become quite close in recent years in that area. The Jewish community keep to themselves but that doesn't make them immune to a bit of slagging now and then does it? Remember it's only a joke.
    Try calling them big-nosed yids in future. They love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I think the big question here is if we can still use "Red Sea Pedestrians"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

anyone really care what some trash mouth ghetto whore really says?