Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should your license be taken off you on the spot if going over 160 km on motorway?

• 30-11-2012 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭WanabeOlympian

Would you agree to take a driver's license off them if they are caught doing 160km on a motorway?
    Same could be done for speeding in 50km areas to extreme excess,eg. 80k in a 50k etc..
    I think something like this is done across France.

Absolutely not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Would you agree to take a driver's license off them if they are caught doing 160km on a motorway?
    Same could be done for speeding in 50km areas to extreme excess,eg. 80k in a 50k etc..

No dont be silly.

Also extreme excess = 80 in a 50! LOL, seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Nope, it is safe in some circumstances. I've done xxx kph at least once with no danger to anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

On the contrary, motorway speed limits should be 160 km/h.

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

It will be a bit hard to take it on the spot if you are doing 160.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

The only cars that shouble be allowed go over 80mph are Deloreans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

OP, do you drive a Micra?

Keno 92 wrote: »
    The only cars that shouble be allowed go over 80mph are Deloreans.

They only go backwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

If you were going approximately 350 km/h it might be another matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

No.

But it should be taken off you for doing >80 on a motorway because that is seriously dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

NO. And the day we want to copy off that shower of garlic eating,football cheating arseholes will be a cold day in hell!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

tin79 wrote: »
    No dont be silly.

I don't go along with what the OP suggests but 80kph in a 50 is a stupid speed to be doing in most normal circumstances bearing in mind that is 50 is the applicable limit for built up areas where there is high risk of unpredictable/foolish/risky pedestrian behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Nope, but the following should have at least 4 penalty points

1. Not using the slip roads to get up to motorway speed when merging onto a motorway

2. Driving at 80kph or slower on the motorway

3. Stopping on the hard shoulder when it's not a breakdown/emergency

4. Tailgating on the motorway

2 Penalty points should be awarded for

1. Using the overtaking lanes when not overtaking

2. Undertaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

No.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

160km on a motorway? You wouldn't even get as far as Galway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭CRM Ireland

repsol wrote: »
    NO. And the day we want to copy off that shower of garlic eating,football cheating arseholes will be a cold day in hell!:mad:

Don't forget the snails...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭czx

Doubt they'd have a problem with surrendering their license

Reloc8 wrote: »
    I don't go along with what the OP suggests but 80kph in a 50 is a stupid speed to be doing in most normal circumstances bearing in mind that is 50 is the applicable limit for built up areas where there is high risk of unpredictable/foolish/risky pedestrian behaviour.

Its hardly extreme excess though is it.

Extreme excess might be 160 in a 50!

Or doing a really high class hooker while snorting coke, drinking Dom Perignon , eating truffles and wiping your arse with a 500 euro note. Now thats extreme excess!

Going 18 miles an hour over the speed limit, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Only if you cause an accident doing that speed then fair enough - take the licence if there is a survivor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

What about a Reward Points system for good driving.

2 RP's for driving within 10% of the speed limit

2 RP's for indicating correctly on roundabouts

4 RP's for keeping left unless overtaking

RP's can be exchanged for a reduction of excise duty on fuel, or to offset Penalty Points. And more RP's means lower insurance premiums. Turn driving into a game, with leaderboards of RP, all those people who play Farmville on Facebook would turn into great drivers overnight I suspect.

I started this post as a joke, but now I want it to happen. :(

No.

But it should be taken off you for doing >80 on a motorway because that is seriously dangerous.

<80?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

No dont be silly.

The limit +60%. I'd agree extreme. The 50 generally only exists in built-up high pedestrian access areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No, then there would be hardly anyone left with licences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

<80?

Oops my bad!
    You are correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

No. You should be given a badge of honor! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

No dont be silly.

80 in a 50 is much worse than 150 in a 120, or even 200 in a 120. The reason it's 50 is because of poor visibility, narrow roads, dangerous bends, chance of pedestrians appearing etc. etc., none of which should happen on a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

mitosis wrote: »
    The limit +60%. I'd agree extreme. The 50 generally only exists in built-up high pedestrian access areas.

No it doesn't, it exists in arbitrary areas all around the country where feck all pedestrians even walk. They generally exist near industrial estates and not only are there very few pedestrians, there can often be barriers which would prevent a pedestrian accidentally walking on the road.

What about stupid speed limits like the 30kph limit around the N3 slip roads by the M50?

It's so ridiculous that it's dangerous to follow, even 50kph is too slow. Everybody, and I do mean everybody actually goes about 80ish and then slows to 60ish around the bend which is perfectly reasonable.

Out of curiosity, one day my brother decided to follow the speed limit and see what happened. He slowed to 30kph and immediately had a tailback of angry motorists blasting their horns and the funny thing was, one of them was a Garda car. Apparently anyway.... I was not there so can't confirm that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

If OP got his way i'd lose my licence nearly every day.....

Ripping along a near empty motorway at speed is a glorious thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

2. Undertaking

Number 2 on your list is almost a direct result of number 1 !

I think around the 200k mark is where the question of license removal should start. The problem is Motorways are the safest roads in Ireland and if you apply the logic it would have to happen on normal roads. So say what point do you take a license straight away on a 50KPh road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

repsol wrote: »

Those Cheese Eating Surrender Monkeys have nothing to teach us.

Autobahn ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

It's illegal to travel slower than 100kph on the overtaking lane on some Chinese motorways. They get some laws right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

A nice quiet motorway is a great place to make some time, not recklessly of course. I usually keep around the 160 bracket and don't go any further and I find that to be perfectly fine on a near deserted motorway at night.
    Nope, but the following should have at least 4 penalty points

1. Not using the slip roads to get up to motorway speed when merging onto a motorway

2. Driving at 80kph or slower on the motorway

3. Stopping on the hard shoulder when it's not a breakdown/emergency

4. Tailgating on the motorway

2. Undertaking

I agree with all these points hugely, everyday I get stuck behind people merging to the motorway at 60-70km/hr, crazy dangerous and they continue at that pace causing mayhem behind them with people getting caught out by the closing speed.

I think this is far more dangerous than the equivalent speed the far side of our limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

Despite the French-bashing on here, they at least know how to drive on a motorway - even on a 3 lane motorway, driving at 140, they stay in the slowest lane unless they are overtaking.

None of this lazy staying in the middle lane. Or the bleedin holier than thou people who think just because they are doing the speed limit they can stay in the outside lane baceuse no one should be going faster than that.

I try to do it to set an example but end up undertaking people :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Fattes wrote: »
    Number 2 on your list is almost a direct result of number 1 !

I know that sometimes people undertake other cars because they are frustrated that they are hogging the overtaking lane, but
    1. it's still dangerous because a driver who is oblivious enough to dawdle along in the overtaking lane is not the kind of driver who would be diligent in checking his mirrors when changing lanes.

2. I see undertaking manouvers every day from drivers who are just impatient and trying to cut in front of other traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It shows a complete and willful disregard for the road traffic laws. Seeing them as advisory and breaking them when you feel you know better is tolerated far too much in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Gotham

You all seem to have very strong views about our speed limits.
    Honestly, IF I think it needs an increase, 140kmph is enough, and maybe 120kmph on M50.
    But I have few other points I want to make.

I don't appreciate when adverts imply or directly say that speed limits exist to prevent accidents, because they don't - they are a fuel saving practice from wartime.
    Speeding increases the potential for danger but it's not one of the major factors, carelessness is.
    Why do you think that it's OK to break the law by going 133% or 160% the legal speed limit, and additionally, keep your license? I understand special cases need to be made for emergencies, those are exceptions. If you really want it badly, rally to change the law instead. (I understand we are also subject to European laws, but agreements can be made for anything).
    I'd also like to point out that our economy would be a lot sh­itter if our speed limit laws were properly enforced. I wonder what state the country would be in if people didn't speed up and down on the motorways to work.

fungun wrote: »
    Or the bleedin holier than thou people who think just because they are doing the speed limit they can stay in the outside lane baceuse no one should be going faster than that.

Don't you think the problem there is with the people in the middle? The people in the outside lane are trying to overtake, it's not their fault that they reach the speed limit when doing so.
    And if you're behind them, they don't have a lot of choice.

Gotham wrote: »
    Don't you think the problem there is with the people in the middle?

No. They do it on perfectly clear roads for no other reasons than "f*ck you this is my lane and I'll do what I like" and "I am doing the limit so nobody should be allowed past me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Don't you think the problem there is with the people in the middle? The people in the outside lane are trying to overtake, it's not their fault that they reach the speed limit when doing so.

Think hes referring to the people who park in the overtaking lane....

bluewolf wrote: »
    No. They do it on perfectly clear roads for no other reasons than "f*ck you this is my lane and I'll do what I like" and "I am doing the limit so nobody should be allowed past me"

I'm not denying that happens, but I don't think that's the intention for the majority of "offenders".

fungun was not describing drivers who are legitimately overtaking in the outside lane.

He was describing the type of moron who believes that he has an entitlement to drive in the outside lane even though he is not overtaking, thereby preventing any traffic from overtaking him legally. That type of lane hogging is illegal as well as irritating.

I'm not denying that happens, but I don't think that's the intention for the majority of "offenders".

Nobody said anything about the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

anything over 50 in a 50 zone is probably more dangerous than 160 on a motorway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

CCTV the entire motorway network and ban the droolers who drive too slow, hog the overtaking lane, tailgate, pull over for a sandwich etc from using them for 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Its hardly extreme excess though is it.

Extreme excess might be 160 in a 50!

Or doing a really high class hooker while snorting coke, drinking Dom Perignon , eating truffles and wiping your arse with a 500 euro note. Now thats extreme excess!

Going 18 miles an hour over the speed limit, not so much.

I'm not agreeing with the OP, just somebody else seemed to scoff at the notion that 80 in a 50 was considered dangerous. 18 miles an hour over the speed limit as a matter of safety is not as big a deal on a motorway, for me (equates to 148 kph, or 124% of limit, on a good track).

In a 50 however 80 a stupid speed to be doing in a normal built up areas (157.5% of limit - that's ridiculous in my opinion).

Anyone arguing that the 50 as a speed limit for residential areas is too low ? Surely not.

They used to have tv campaigns in the 1980s, telling people how to use roundabouts.

These days, there are so many people who have no idea how to drive properly out there, and who are too lazy to read the Rules of the Road.

Maybe a new tv campaign would be effective, showing basic things such as the correct procedure at a roundabout or when it is appropriate to use the overtaking lane on a dual carriageway.

That, or make them take the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Reloc8 wrote: »

Anyone arguing that the 50 as a speed limit for residential areas is too low ? Surely not.

Not for residential areas no. In fact in a housing estate I tend more to 30kph.

In the US it's 25mph.

@The Mustard
    They do have TV ads telling people how to drive at the moment, roundabouts included. Been going for over a year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'm a stickler for obeying the speed limits in built up areas and rural or back roads. Basically any two way road. However the rule book goes in the bin on motorways. I generally cruise at 140kph and squirt it to 160kph over taking. Found myself on my own on the M50 one night on the stretch between Dundrum and Bray. Took the car up to 225kph (140mph) for a few seconds. Had sweaty palms after that! Got it out of my system that one time and said never again. Those lads that regularily do those speeds on the autobahns have got balls!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

That appartently would depend on who you know!