Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ear to the ground on now

• 29-11-2012 8:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

Just a reminder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bogman Billy

sea12 wrote: »
    Just a reminder

Can't stomach that Daragh lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Was it just me, but watching the robot milking... it showed maybe 3 cows being milked and each had quite damaged teats, I was quite surprised..

Also.. a blast of a washer the day before filming would't have been any harm either :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

bbam wrote: »
    Was it just me, but watching the robot milking... it showed maybe 3 cows being milked and each had quite damaged teats, I was quite surprised..

Also.. a blast of a washer the day before filming would't have been any harm either :o
    Noticed a few warts on them alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭jfh

You're right, they should have used another cow.
    Re:darragh, Ella makes up for him ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

Paused it when one was going on, big lump of dirt on the end of the teat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

yup, i was saying the same about giving the place a wash, sure with all this free time when hes not milking it could easily have done it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

its funny nobody including myself ever see's their own dirt.

leg wax wrote: »
    its funny nobody including myself ever see's their own dirt.

Oh I see it, just time poor and its not always prioritised :o
    But if a camera crew was coming don't you think you'd give the place a once over ??

Seriously... even the robot head was dirty, you'd think that at least that a Lely technician would have ensured the machine was spotless. We used to be called out to clean up machines if there was a farm walk going on never mind ETTG filming. It looked like a nice set up though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Not from dairying background but thought cows teats looked quite dirty,cost of unit was 100 thousand,farmer seemed to say it would pay for itself in 7 or 8 years,when doing green cert long ago we were told that an efficient dairy farmers income could be calculated by halving no of cows milked so if yer man is milking 70 cows is 35 thousand his annual net or gross income roughly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Not from dairying background but thought cows teats looked quite dirty,cost of unit was 100 thousand,farmer seemed to say it would pay for itself in 7 or 8 years,when doing green cert long ago we were told that an efficient dairy farmers income could be calculated by halving no of cows milked so if yer man is milking 70 cows is 35 thousand his annual net or gross income roughly?

I reckon there would be plenty happy if their profit figure was a quarter of there cows number this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Oh I see it, just time poor and its not always prioritised :o
    But if a camera crew was coming don't you think you'd give the place a once over ??

Seriously... even the robot head was dirty, you'd think that at least that a Lely technician would have ensured the machine was spotless. We used to be called out to clean up machines if there was a farm walk going on never mind ETTG filming. It looked like a nice set up though..

I disagree, better to see the farm in its working clothes. Hate people who put on a big show for a farm walk. You cant help thinking that if there that vain did they spruce up the figures as well.

Maybe Ella likes Durty farmers ;):D

Thats like asking how long is a piece of string.
    Cow type, Land type, Labour Employed, Stage of development, What debt is the farm carrying.....

Cow numbers mean nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

I reckon he should be more worried about his profit than how it looked on tv, this Craic about looking good for the sake of it bit mad in my opinion.

mf240 wrote: »
    Cow type, Land type, Labour Employed, Stage of development, What debt is the farm carrying.

And didn't the guy say he had serious back problems too, its a big factor in things... Seems it was the only way he could keep milking, I can appreciate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Cow type, Land type, Labour Employed, Stage of development, What debt is the farm carrying.....

Well said Mf. Guy wit 50 cows n all paid for may well have more out of it than guy with 140 cows in expansion, particularly this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Maybe thats to show the machine can actually work with all types of cows teats there was a lot of lads thinking they would need to cull cows with bad teat placement etc, but by the looks of it it was managing fine,

as regards the dirt, a clean would have been no harm but it looked fairly clean at the business end where the milk was going into the system so i suppose thats what counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

Anyone notice the solid conrete stection right outside the robot looked a fairly decent size of an area to be hand scraped everyday. Probably make more sense from a labour point of view if a slatted tank was brought up close to the robot to limit the amount of scarping even if it was by a tractor/loader or quad scarper! Also be alot less sh!t around.

Also saw remains of **** on the bars that go around the feed trough. Have heard reports that when the cow leaves the robot sometimes she will stop, gate behind closes and she will sh1t which goes into the trough! Then the next cow cant eat all the ration so it starts building up until its clean out! Said this to a lely salesman and he said it doesnt happen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Said this to a lely salesman and he said it doesnt happen!!

THen you know for certain he's BSing you because it's cows we're dealing with, there's absolutely nothing that doesn't happen at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

...Also saw remains of **** on the bars that go around the feed trough. Have heard reports that when the cow leaves the robot sometimes she will stop, gate behind closes and she will sh1t which goes into the trough! Then the next cow cant eat all the ration so it starts building up until its clean out! Said this to a lely salesman and he said it doesnt happen!!
    Would a bit of sheeting not solve that?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

pakalasa wrote: »
    Would a bit of sheeting not solve that?:rolleyes:

Ya I read on BFF that you have to pay for it! They wont fit it for free as they say theres no problem and I dont know if you add to the structure does affect any contracts.I wouldnt be surprised :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

I disagree, better to see the farm in its working clothes. Hate people who put on a big show for a farm walk. You cant help thinking that if there that vain did they spruce up the figures as well.

Maybe Ella likes Durty farmers ;):D

its the non farmers watching that ye gotta think off ,

perception is everything

those s h i t stained clusters wont have the mummies reaching for the baby formula.:D:D:D

ella was in college with the missus. she`s got the personality to go with the looks she says.

its the non farmers watching that ye gotta think off ,

perception is everything

those s h i t stained clusters wont have the mummies reaching for the baby formula.:D:D:D

ella was in college with the missus. she`s got the personality to go with the looks she says.
    As in she has good personality or not?:)....your missus might be jealous:)...only messin...am watching the Late Late...didnt realise we had so many AA kids in the country:)!!!!

On a more serious note...my comment on dairying profit was only going on what Ive heard and that would be based on an avg efficient farm with typical avg overheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭SoJoMo

I have to say I've respect for Helen Carroll for her previous piece on the rising cost of food and the way its manipulated by speculators and stockmarkets... well done Helen!

on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭jfh

Fair play to that builder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Bought some meat from that guy there last week, very happy with it

On now folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

On now folks

them pricks that are rouding up the sheep and killing them in the owners fields , how sad this country is gone and the shock of a farmer finding it done on his own land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

6480 wrote: »
    them pricks that are rouding up the sheep and killing them in the owners fields , how sad this country is gone and the shock of a farmer finding it done on his own land

Those people are scumbags.

I had never heard of this before. But I can imagine this is the worst way to lose animals. at least with dogs / foxes etc, it is nature. But this carry on is just awful, terrible stuff.