Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eggs Thrown at Enda Kenny

• 29-11-2012 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

So, who threw the eggs? On a more serious note, I'm ashamed of whoever it was. Be annoyed at the government, there is no problem with that, but take part in protests, write letters, don't embarrass a whole university population. Today was a good day for UCD students, the official opening of a wonderful centre. What were the motives behind FEE and the SWSS, who did it, I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

I know the guy who did it, he goes to TCD. Their reasoning from what I've gathered is that all of those other methods of protest you've listed above haven't made a difference (and rightly so, there has been a lot of protesting all over the country), but yeah I don't really understand them either, egging is just childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

I was there, in the crowd. Was funny enough!!

... and yes, of course it was childish.

But Hugh Brady really did well at the end with his joke
    "I'm afraid we're after running out of... egg sandwiches, but I'm sure you'll like the hot food, which will be arriving shortly"

Or something like that... I got a chuckle at least.

The free food was class! There was Coca-cola on campus. Coca-cola!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

If someone sh*ts all over your floor, why throw eggs at the guy who comes to clean it up? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

It shows how stupid these people are when they think egging the Taoiseach is the revolutionary move that will change things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Hugh Brady didn't make the egg sandwiches joke. That was Martin something-or-other, President of Students or thingamajigger.

He had egg all over him, Inda handled it very well., he just said, "Thanks."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I hope they were Irish produce eggs and not from Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

donvito99 wrote: »
    Hugh Brady didn't make the egg sandwiches joke. That was Martin something-or-other, President of Students or thingamajigger.

He had egg all over him, Inda handled it very well., he just said, "Thanks."

Martin Butler. My bad!! My memory of the incident is hazed over in comparison to the free food and coke after.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I know the guy who did it, he goes to TCD

Was it not a girl?

Sinfonia wrote: »
    Was it not a girl?

She threw one, another came from further back with the main body of the scuffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Sinfonia wrote: »
    Was it not a girl?

Utter horsesh1t...'woe is me so I can do what I want' bs...be an idiot and attack him on your own time not when you're showing up there as a student and giving us all a bad image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Blay wrote: »
    Utter horsesh1t...'woe is me so I can do what I want' bs...be an idiot and attack him on your own time not when you're showing up there as a student and giving us all a bad image.

100% agree. Her letter was absolutely pathetic. Typical SWSS BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

The reactions were pretty funny. All shock and gasps from all the alumni and vips, all the students started laughing.

seanor3 wrote: »
    The reactions were pretty funny. All shock and gasps from all the alumni and vips, all the students started laughing.

Hardly, Kenny just smiled and said "Thanks." The only noticeable reactions were those of the Guards + Enda's ear-piece goons hot footing it to the lads with the banners.