Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cigarette butts

• 29-11-2012 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭

I was just walking back to the office there after lunch and I noticed the number cigarette butts thrown on the ground everywhere, but particularly outside the main doors of office buildings. I guess I never really payed attention before.

I don't smoke, never have but don't preach as to the pros\cons of smoking...its up to everyone if they want to smoke or not. What I do have an opinion on is the discarding of cigarette butts onto the ground. In my mind its littering plain and simple but it seems that some people who would never normally litter, don't think that throwing a used butt on the ground is.

Some may say that there isn't any place to put them in designated smoking areas but I don't see how that is a valid excuse to throw it on the ground...if you finished a packet of crisps on the street and there wasn't a bin right in front of you, the majority of people would just throw it away there and then - they would hold on to it until a bin came along.

So, I'd like to to the smokers out there
    1) do you throw your used cigarette butts on the ground and
    2) if so, why do you do it? Do you not class it as littering?

I'm not meaning to be preachy about it, I'm genuinely curious as to the thinking behind the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I do it so poor people and students can pick up the butts and make rollies out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Put them in some else's pocket. Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I may have posted this honest request for insight into the wrong place :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

.if you finished a packet of crisps on the street and there wasn't a bin right in front of you, the majority of people would just throw it away there and then - they would hold on to it until a bin came along.
    Not if the packet of crisps smelled like a fag butt.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not if the packet of crisps smelled like a fag butt.

and was on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

There was a thread about this within the couple of months I think.

If there's no ashtray/bin thing around then there isn't really much choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Did you ever play Chew the Butt when you were younger? It's when you and your friends smoke a cig passing it around trying not to drop the ash from the end. Who ever does drop it has to smoke the rest of the cig and then chew the butt. It's fooking gross

I think it would solve your problem op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

brummytom wrote: »

Nonsense. Stub it out on the ground or an unpainted wall, put it in your pocket. You're a smoker, so your clothes already smell like shít, it won't make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

seamus wrote: »
    Nonsense. Stub it out on the ground or an unpainted wall, put it in your pocket. You're a smoker, so your clothes already smell like shít, it won't make a difference.

The difference being that people in the next building can smell you if you carry butts in your pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Doesn't excuse throwing it away. I pick up my dogs shite - that stinks more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

yeah op come up with an original thread will ye .

Nulty wrote: »
    The difference being that people in the next building can smell you if you carry butts in your pocket.
    People in the next building can already smell you, stinky.

Anyway, nothing stopping anyone from carrying around a small steel case to put your butts into. Also nothing stopping you from putting them back in the box once they're stubbed out, same as you might do with a lit match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i keep road sweepers in jobs...

*lights up*

:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Nulty wrote: »
    Tough turd. If you choose to smoke deal with the waste. Dont litter public spaces.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I used to be a smoker and hated seeing cigarette butts on the ground. If there wasn't a bin, I would have stamped the butt out so that it was cold - then carried it to the nearest bin -or failing that, put it down a drain, sink or into mud/soil/hide under a hedge etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Some people have little to be worrying about.

i usually just spit my chewing gum out and stick the butt in that. easier for the streetsweepers and the butt doesn't blow around.

plus it means the students can pick up the butt to get baccie for a rollie, and then have some minty fresh(ish) gum afterwards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

If I'm walking down the street I'll wait for a bin, if I'm in the countryside I'll bring it home and bin it, if I'm outside somewhere with no bin then onto the ground it goes. Not my problem and we pay street sweepers anyway

annascott wrote: »
    I used to be a smoker and hated seeing cigarette butts on the ground. If there wasn't a bin, I would have stamped the butt out so that it was cold - then carried it to the nearest bin -or failing that, put it down a drain, sink or into mud/soil/hide under a hedge etc...
    That's worse than throwing it on the ground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Maybe there's a market for a small little butt holder that can fit in your pocket?

Someone must be selling something like this!

If there's 2 things I hate it smoking and litter, so the combination just makes me red :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I'm not meaning to be preachy about it, I'm genuinely curious as to the thinking behind the act.

Sheer, unadulterated laziness and arrogance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Sheer, unadulterated laziness and arrogance.
    Do you know the meaning of the word arrogance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Maybe there's a market for a small little butt holder that can fit in your pocket?

If there's 2 things I hate it smoking and litter, so the combination just makes me red :mad::mad:
    I did have one of those before actually, it was great. Was given away as a promo at a cigarette promotion stand in a corner-shop. Lost it and haven't seen them anywhere else though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mahonykid

I was just walking back to the office there after lunch and I noticed the number cigarette butts thrown on the ground everywhere, but particularly outside the main doors of office buildings. I guess I never really payed attention before.

I don't smoke, never have but don't preach as to the pros\cons of smoking...its up to everyone if they want to smoke or not. What I do have an opinion on is the discarding of cigarette butts onto the ground. In my mind its littering plain and simple but it seems that some people who would never normally litter, don't think that throwing a used butt on the ground is.

Some may say that there isn't any place to put them in designated smoking areas but I don't see how that is a valid excuse to throw it on the ground...if you finished a packet of crisps on the street and there wasn't a bin right in front of you, the majority of people would just throw it away there and then - they would hold on to it until a bin came along.

I keep them, mix them up wit a bit of milk and have them for breakfast then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

I was in the army years ago and remember a guy getting in trouble for refusing to pick up butts. He really hated smoking and reasoned he didnt make the mess etc. In hind sight he was dead right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

If there is a bin around me when finishing a smoke i'll stubb it out and put it in the bin ...

If there is no bin. I'll throw it on the ground. Quite frankly I really dont give a bollox. Op you shouldnt too. Plenty of other things in life that should recieve our attention more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I don't like cigarette butts and I can not lie
    Benson and Hedges can't deny
    That when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist
    And blows smoke in your face
    You get CANCER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A lot of places installed holders for cigarette butts when the smoking ban came in. Where I work, there are metal holders at the smoking areas and at the main entrance for people to stub out their cigarettes and then put them inside. I've seen them outside pubs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

It is littering, it is disgusting. The place is ruined with them. I can't understand how pubs, office blocks don't fekken clean up the butts, it should be part of the daily maintenance.

The smokers too need to take some responsiblity and get it organised.

Again, Irish apathy at its finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Ugh, the people who do this are filth. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I don't smoke.

Hate when we have friends over for drinks and even though we have ash trays they flick their butts in the garden, it's so ****ing rude and I have told them this, so it has stopped. Nothing worse than someone who doesn't smoke having to pick up butts !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

I find chewing gum being thrown away on the ground, under tables and anywhere else more offensive. Needs specialist cleaning crews to blast the street. A butt can be swept up with minimal effort and doesn't get stuck on my shoes, jeans or hair.
    I don't condone any kind of litter but just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's worse than throwing it on the ground!

how is putting it down a drain worse? It was washed away and not littering:confused:

Either way. I don't smoke any more so I won't need to hide butts again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

http://m.alibaba.com/product-gs/578628022/Mini_Ashtray_with_Keyring.html

My dad got me one of these before, possibly from holidays somewhere. Was delighted as I hate throwing butts on the ground. Still have it on my car keys so it's always with me and no smell from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

ex smoker Alert. bar joints I'd imagine.

annascott wrote: »
    how is putting it down a drain worse? It was washed away and not littering:confused:
    You'll end up clogging the drain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

If there's no bin around, don't smoke!? How is it that complicated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Janey_Mac

My boyfriend used to just drop his butts all the time, so I started telling him to pick them up whenever he did it. He refused once- on our own front doorstep, disgusting- and I told him if he didn't pick it up I was going around the corner to where I knew there was a Garda and bringing the guard around to fine him for littering. He's much better about binning them these days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

brummytom wrote: »

If I'm walking down the street I'll wait for a bin, if I'm in the countryside I'll bring it home and bin it, if I'm outside somewhere with no bin then onto the ground it goes. Not my problem and we pay street sweepers anyway
    If there is a bin around me when finishing a smoke i'll stubb it out and put it in the bin ...

If there is no bin. I'll throw it on the ground. Quite frankly I really dont give a bollox. Op you shouldnt too. Plenty of other things in life that should recieve our attention more.

what if all us dog owners took the same attitude and didnt lift our dogs ****e?

was walking my dogs friday evening and a guy entering a building in front of us just threw away his still lit butt, he didnt even look. i had to pull one of the dogs out of the way or it would have landed on him.

filthy disgusting habit.

PC CDROM wrote: »
    ex smoker Alert. bar joints I'd imagine.
    Wrong on both counts I'm afraid.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

You've obviously no idea what the smell of a nabbed out cigarette smells like. If you did, you wouldn't say this. Cigarette smoke and stale cigarettes smell totally different.

Putting it in your pocket is not an option.
    People in the next building can already smell you, stinky.

No they can't.
    Anyway, nothing stopping anyone from carrying around a small steel case to put your butts into. Also nothing stopping you from putting them back in the box once they're stubbed out, same as you might do with a lit match.

Same as above. It's absolutely nothing like putting a used match back in the box. The used match doesn't smell.

You paint it out as if it's an unreasonable request. As if somehow you're forced to smoke a cigarette and then being forced to carry the butt is some major injustice.

Take responsibility for your own rubbish, carry your butts to the nearest bin and stop whingeing. If you don't like the smell, then don't smoke FFS.

"But it smells!"

TOUGH FUCKING SHIT

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

You paint it out as if it's an unreasonable request. As if somehow you're forced to smoke a cigarette and then being forced to carry the butt is some major injustice.

Take responsibility for your own rubbish, carry your butts to the nearest bin and stop whingeing. If you don't like the smell, then don't smoke FFS.

"But it smells!"

TOUGH FUCKING SHIT

I've no problem holding onto one until I see a bin but ya can fuck right off if you think I'll stick it in my pocket or back in my box.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

just to annoy all of you whingy feckers
    ive just threw me butt away :D
    how do you feel about that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

saiint wrote: »
    just to annoy all of you whingy feckers
    ive just threw me butt away :D
    how do you feel about that ?

You monster :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

You monster :mad: