Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pros&Cons of NUI Galway

• 28-11-2012 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

I was looking to put NUI Galway on my CAO Application, and I would like to know good and bad site about this place.

I checked few topics already but I prefer to make my own one with nice and simple answers.

So, how is the actual life in the campus? Is the nigh-life and teachers any good?
    Also what is bad about this collage?

Tell me about your opinions and experiences. Thanks!
    And please do not off-top too much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I love it here. The nightlife is great during the week, and all my lecturers know their stuff well. There's the odd boring one, but there is everywhere. The cost of living in Galway is pretty cheap, all things considered. I know a fair few people who live off €12-20 a week, and that includes a full shop.

The only thing that annoys me about the college is the building work, but that'll end eventually. In the mean time I just try to avoid the seats next to the building in the library - when/where possible!

I was a bit apprehensive moving over here from Dublin, but it's the best decision I've made. I know people in similar courses to mine in other colleges, and I'm the one who loves their course the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭TheAlkaline

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I love it here. The nightlife is great during the week, and all my lecturers know their stuff well. There's the odd boring one, but there is everywhere. The cost of living in Galway is pretty cheap, all things considered. I know a fair few people who live off €12-20 a week, and that includes a full shop.

The only thing that annoys me about the college is the building work, but that'll end eventually. In the mean time I just try to avoid the seats next to the building in the library - when/where possible!

I was a bit apprehensive moving over here from Dublin, but it's the best decision I've made. I know people in similar courses to mine in other colleges, and I'm the one who loves their course the most.

Looks like I am going to put Galway as my 1st choice, and one more thing.
    How do you feel about the weather in Galway? Is it Depressing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭iliketomoveit

Looks like I am going to put Galway as my 1st choice, and one more thing.
    How do you feel about the weather in Galway? Is it Depressing?

What the hell? Jeez its not a different country over here! Maybe there are slightly more showers, like you would probably will experience maybe one to two more showers per week than you would in Dublin, but just get a rainjacket and it really won't affect you!

I'd be asking more important questions than that if I were you!

What the hell? Jeez its not a different country over here! Maybe there are slightly more showers, like you would probably will experience maybe one to two more showers per week than you would in Dublin, but just get a rainjacket and it really won't affect you!

Yeah, I'm not really worrying about that rain. We are not made out of sugar, are we? ;)
    But so far, Galway is on the top of my CAO application. I have read most recent NUIG Prospectus, and it sounds absolutely savage!

Yeah, there are always questions to ask!

Accommodation for example!
    • Are the houses good?
    • How many people live in one apartment?
    • What are the fees?
    • How does it really feels like to live with other people you don't even know?
    • Are you mixed with male/females in the rooms?
    • Does other people affect you study in the house?
    • Do you easily get along with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

if you like drinking come to Galway. If you don't like drinking you may be suited elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭musical.x

Yeah, I'm not really worrying about that rain. We are not made out of sugar, are we? ;)
    But so far, Galway is on the top of my CAO application. I have read most recent NUIG Prospectus, and it sounds absolutely savage!

• Are the houses good?
    • What are the fees?

There is a separate forum for questions concerning accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

What course/s are you thinking of doing?

Nal wrote: »
    if you like drinking come to Galway. If you don't like drinking you may be suited elsewhere.
    Looks like I will fit in! :)
    Reventon93 wrote: »
    What course/s are you thinking of doing?

So far I just have science on my CAO 1st choice, but I might add something else I am interesting in because NUIG seems to be a really good place to enjoy my academic years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

So far I just have science on my CAO 1st choice, but I might add something else I am interesting in because NUIG seems to be a really good place to enjoy my academic years.

Being from Galway, I know a lot of people doing, and have done science, including most of my family. From what I hear its a very good course. But I know a few that underestimated the workload at the start, so dont loose sight of the work that needs to be done. My cousins gone on to do medicine in Oz and my sister is working for a bio chemistry in NZ so its a very good course to do!

Good luck with everything, and if theres anything else you want to know id be glad to help with anything I can :D

• Are the houses good?
    • What are the fees?

1.Depends on whether you want good accomodation or the craic! cort na corribe for the former, corrib village for the latter
    2. About 5, and there are four apartments in each house (in my accomodation- corrib village)
    3. 2 grand roughly, I'm not too sure though. I think they are on the website when you look at your course
    4. You can apply to live with people that you do know on your accomodation form. You'll more than likely end up with reasonable people. It's different in college than in secondary school. Think of all the people in your class who'll do average or above in their leaving cert. (ie 350+). These are the type of people you'll be living with. There will be a fairly smaller percentage of scumbags, and a higher percentage of very bright/disciplined people.
    5. If you specify that you want to be with people who are tidy (my friend appparantly did), you might, and he's living with women. But generally not in corrib village anyhow.
    6. In a way they would, because when everybodys going out, and you've got assignments, its very easy to just feck the assignments and just go out with them. But I do most of my studying in the engineering building (thats what I'm doing) and then come home and relax.
    7. Make sure you get a single room, no matter where you go. Then if you don't get on with them you would have a refuge. But you more than likely will. They will want to get on with you from the start anyway, because your their flatmate too.

Maynooth is a very friendly college too (even though I was only there for a night) if your worried about getting along with folk

That felt like self therapy B)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

I know a fair few people who live off €12-20 a week, and that includes a full shop.
    lol what

Are they shoplifters/career criminals by any chance? You'd be extremely lucky to get a week's food with €20 even if you bought the worst food and ate feck all of it. And then there's living expenses and socialising - even if you don't drink you're probably needing to spend a few quid or most recreational activities.

There are people on €100 a week dole struggling to make ends meet. €12? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

lol what

Are they shoplifters/career criminals by any chance? You'd be extremely lucky to get a week's food with €20 even if you bought the worst food and ate feck all of it. And then there's living expenses and socialising - even if you don't drink you're probably needing to spend a few quid or most recreational activities.

There are people on €100 a week dole struggling to make ends meet. €12? :rolleyes:

food in lidl and aldi is cheap. was able to buy enough food to last 2 weeks for €20.

1.Depends on whether you want good accomodation or the craic! cort na corribe for the former, corrib village for the latter
    2. About 5, and there are four apartments in each house (in my accomodation- corrib village)
    3. 2 grand roughly, I'm not too sure though. I think they are on the website when you look at your course
    4. You can apply to live with people that you do know on your accomodation form. You'll more than likely end up with reasonable people. It's different in college than in secondary school. Think of all the people in your class who'll do average or above in their leaving cert. (ie 350+). These are the type of people you'll be living with. There will be a fairly smaller percentage of scumbags, and a higher percentage of very bright/disciplined people.
    5. If you specify that you want to be with people who are tidy (my friend appparantly did), you might, and he's living with women. But generally not in corrib village anyhow.
    6. In a way they would, because when everybodys going out, and you've got assignments, its very easy to just feck the assignments and just go out with them. But I do most of my studying in the engineering building (thats what I'm doing) and then come home and relax.
    7. Make sure you get a single room, no matter where you go. Then if you don't get on with them you would have a refuge. But you more than likely will. They will want to get on with you from the start anyway, because your their flatmate too.

Maynooth is a very friendly college too (even though I was only there for a night) if your worried about getting along with folk

That felt like self therapy B)

That was really helpful ;)

I actually Didn't thought about it this way, that I should look out for people who get over 350+ on their LC. As most of the scumbags won't even continue their study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Kinky Slinky

Bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Living on less than €20 is absolutely not bullsh*t. I did it just recently when I lived in Castlebar for placement. Couple of tins of tomatoes, pasta, potatoes, the reduced section in Tesco for meat, bread and vegetables aren't exactly expensive either. It can definitely be done, and much more healthy than most people would live too.
    Another €20 for a night out and that's your week sorted. If you give yourself €50 a week outside rent you'll manage college life.

Living on less than €20 is absolutely not bullsh*t. I did it just recently when I lived in Castlebar for placement. Couple of tins of tomatoes, pasta, potatoes, the reduced section in Tesco for meat, bread and vegetables aren't exactly expensive either. It can definitely be done, and much more healthy than most people would live too.
    Another €20 for a night out and that's your week sorted. If you give yourself €50 a week outside rent you'll manage college life.

Hold on let me get my abacus out.

Turns out €20 and €50 are actually different!

If you live outside galway and go home every weekend, your probably gonna be spending at least €15 on travel, more than likely in the 20s though, so its practically impossible to live on €20 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

If you don't go out, and don't spend money in college it's quite possible. It's not fun, but it's possible.

I was just in Dunnes there bought lettuce, peppers, tomatoes (lunch), coco pops and milk (breakfast) and a load of carrots and potatoes. €15, I'll be eating like a queen for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

If you don't eat meat you possibly could *scrape* by on 20€ a week not including rent or any utilities and doing your weekly shop in Aldi/Lidl. My weekly shop costs around 25/30€ a week but fresh meat pushes up the cost. That'd mean no socialising (involving any sort of beverage or paid activity anyway), coffees in Smokey's and so on...

I'd strongly disagree with the chap who said if you like drinking come to Galway, otherwise don't. I've plenty of friends who love it in Galway and don't drink. First year tends to revolve a lot around drinking because everyone's going to clubs and that (and of course, I'd conservatively guesstimate 60% of people in clubs cannot go without being reasonably hammered) but in second year and onwards the emphasis on drinking really seems to go, as does a lot of people's appetite for clubbing. Also, I don't really know of a first year elsewhere that's much different in relation to alcohol, from what I've heard.

To the department of finance with you! You're wasted here.

He said €20 for food. I said €20 for food. €50 was including nights out and other optional bits and bobs.

To the department of finance with you! You're wasted here.

He said €20 for food. I said €20 for food. €50 was including nights out and other optional bits and bobs.
    Actually (s)he said €20 "and that includes a full shop", meaning food-plus-other expenses.

You said that was not bull****, but then contradicted it in the same post. Maybe it's you who's suited to a government job ;)

For what it's worth, yeah you can live on €50 excluding rent, but rent is a pretty major expense so there's not much point excluding it.

As for posts mentioning not going out or spending money in college, good luck with that. You'd be lucky to keep your food budget anywhere near this fabled €20 if you're making packed-lunches out of it too. And if you're planning on not going out (not even talking about drinking here) at all you may as well not bother with college because they will be 3 or 4 very miserable, lonely years which you may as well spend getting something useful on your CV.

OK, €20 all in for a week I can't see being done. But €20 for just food, including a lunch, can be done and not as hard as it might seem either.
    But I wouldn't recommend just surviving on the €20 though, that would suck. I did it because I was on placement in a crap town where I had no interest in going out. Galway's a different story though, you'll probably go crazy if you can't go out. There always seems to be some big night on or coming up.

And please do not off-top too much...
    Ok, I fairly understand now that you can live for €20-50 per week.

I have another question here. How does the years change from 1st to 4th?

Is it true that in first year is basically just partying and once you get to second year you need to start serious study?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Ok, I fairly understand now that you can live for €20-50 per week.

I have another question here. How does the years change from 1st to 4th?

Is it true that in first year is basically just partying and once you get to second year you need to start serious study?

Well second year would require more study than first anyway but I didn't take it too seriously and came out with an average grade. In third year however I upped my game and got a 1.1, in final year now and it's going quite well so far anyway.

First year I did basically sweet f*** all and got good grades but after that you do kinda need to start studying a bit, you'll know yourself if you're doing enough when you get into it. It shouldn't be anything you can't manage. Be grand....

yer man! wrote: »
    Well second year would require more study than first anyway but I didn't take it too seriously and came out with an average grade. In third year however I upped my game and got a 1.1, in final year now and it's going quite well so far anyway.

First year I did basically sweet f*** all and got good grades but after that you do kinda need to start studying a bit, you'll know yourself if you're doing enough when you get into it. It shouldn't be anything you can't manage. Be grand....

I'm actually buzzing for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

I was on placement in a crap town where I had no interest in going out. Galway's a different story though, you'll probably go crazy if you can't go out.

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Joolet

Ha well I was actually really surprised at how different the weather on the west was to the east, took me ages to get used to it just being constantly wet when you stepped outside the door, found back home it might rain for 20 mins in the day but then it'd be dry for the rest and you'd be grand! It's not depressing though!

NUIG is class though, no better college- even with all the rain :P

Joolet wrote: »
    Ha well I was actually really surprised at how different the weather on the west was to the east, took me ages to get used to it just being constantly wet when you stepped outside the door, found back home it might rain for 20 mins in the day but then it'd be dry for the rest and you'd be grand! It's not depressing though!

NUIG is class though, no better college- even with all the rain :P

I think that I have made my decision,
    NUIG is the place to be :p

But I have got another question.
    Is there any chance of finding a part-time job in Galway?
    For example, Barman.. Bouncer.. Waiter..?

I hope its ok to Bump this thread after few months, haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭pinkdiamond

there's no jobs in galway for students with little/no experience.

be creative in the way you make your money.

this year i'm teaching music as my part time job. i get about €120 per weekend. put together a music group of 25 kids and charged them €2 per practice to make an extra €50 per week. Two half days work = €170 (providing they all show up).

sell your books. give grinds. babysit. start up a homework club. run for SU officer.

but i wouldn't bank on getting a job by hading out CVs to get money.

i wouldn't bank on getting a job by hading out CVs to get money.

That is a quite bad news for me.. more likely I will have no financial support for my daily living expenses.

Is there many clubs in Galway? I have over 1 year experience in MMA. I could work as a bouncer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭Cereal Number

That is a quite bad news for me.. more likely I will have no financial support for my daily living expenses.

Is there many clubs in Galway? I have over 1 year experience in MMA. I could work as a bouncer.

Judging by the Supermacs video, probably

I think it's worth mentioning that a con to NUIG is the gym/swimming pool (i.e the Kingfisher) is quite expensive (250€ for 12 month membership) in comparison to many other universities (UCC, UL, TCD being examples off the top of my head.) It's not in the best nick either, being quite run-down since it was built in 2007 iirc. I've heard the gym facilities aren't in the best nick and it's jammed at peak hours, as the place is too small. I'd mostly use the pool, and you'd notice quite a few of the locker keys have no strap (thus rendering the locker unusable), there are tiles missing on the bottom of the pool (think they've replaced them now - haven't been since last semester!) There are much better sports facilities in other universities, and I think it's one of the things that lets down NUIG in a major way, unfortunately.

Things might improve though, the SU proposed a referendum last year on making gym membership part of every student's student contribution (at a much cheaper price) and to expand the gym facilities to accommodate the extra numbers (a large proportion of students, myself included, are put off by the membership cost). Sadly the referendum was scrapped because the entire plan needed "further consideration" or something - probably with regard to the feasibility of expanding the gym enough in just one summer to accommodate the extra numbers. Haven't heard anything since!

jumpguy wrote: »
    I think it's worth mentioning that a con to NUIG is the gym/swimming pool (i.e the Kingfisher) is quite expensive (250€ for 12 month membership) in comparison to many other universities (UCC, UL, TCD being examples off the top of my head.) It's not in the best nick either, being quite run-down since it was built in 2007 iirc. I've heard the gym facilities aren't in the best nick and it's jammed at peak hours, as the place is too small. I'd mostly use the pool, and you'd notice quite a few of the locker keys have no strap (thus rendering the locker unusable), there are tiles missing on the bottom of the pool (think they've replaced them now - haven't been since last semester!) There are much better sports facilities in other universities, and I think it's one of the things that lets down NUIG in a major way, unfortunately.

Things might improve though, the SU proposed a referendum last year on making gym membership part of every student's student contribution (at a much cheaper price) and to expand the gym facilities to accommodate the extra numbers (a large proportion of students, myself included, are put off by the membership cost). Sadly the referendum was scrapped because the entire plan needed "further consideration" or something - probably with regard to the feasibility of expanding the gym enough in just one summer to accommodate the extra numbers. Haven't heard anything since!

Awhh here, That is a massive con for me :eek: Not going to the gym at the university is such a waste.
    Thanks for pointing this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

I think it's worth mentioning that a con to NUIG is the gym/swimming pool (i.e the Kingfisher) is quite expensive (250€ for 12 month membership) in comparison to many other universities (UCC, UL, TCD being examples off the top of my head.)

UL is 258 for a 12 month membership, :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Every student pays towards the gym to the tune of €100 per year, included in your registration fee.:cool:
    Students voted for this back in 2003 http://www.su.nuigalway.ie/site/view/114/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

snubbleste wrote: »
    Every student pays towards the gym to the tune of €100 per year, included in your registration fee.
    And for a mere further €100, if the referendum had passed, we could have had FREE gym membership!
    Sadly the referendum was scrapped
    my foot...

Any other pros/cons? Or anything I should know? :D

snubbleste wrote: »
    Every student pays towards the gym to the tune of €100 per year, included in your registration fee.:cool:
    Students voted for this back in 2003 http://www.su.nuigalway.ie/site/view/114/
    I never knew this...that's actually some joke. I'm not sure, but did the referendum last year propose that we give an extra 100€ to the gym (thus a total of 200€) in the student contribution? Sure we may as well just keep 250€ membership and give everyone a choice at that stage. 50€ in the student contribution for the gym is fair enough imo, 200€ is ridiculous. I think it's around 50€ for TCD in the student contribution, if anyone could clarify it'd be great (I'm a bit lazy today).
    freyners wrote: »
    UL is 258 for a 12 month membership, :(
    Is that so? I thought it was cheaper. Isn't it like 2€ to use the pool there as a non-member? It's a fiver in the Kingfisher. I'd much rather pay 258€ for a gym and pool of UL's quality rather than for the Kingfisher.

TheAlkaline, the gym in NUIG might be a big negative if you're massively into your sports. I know a few of my friends who are very much into their rugby are glad to be in UL. However, if you're a bit like me and only doing sport (of whatever sort...) the odd time for a bit of craic and just keeping fit, the benefits of NUIG just vastly outweigh that negative.

Speaking of negatives, and some might disagree with me on this, I don't think Galway really is the greatest clubbing city. There are much better club scenes to be found elsewhere in Ireland. They're often packed out, sweaty and just messy in general. Really, I've found it impossible to enjoy any clubs in Galway if I was any bit sober. Some people love them, especially in first year, but I've noticed in second year a lot of people have gotten sick of them. It's very much the same thing every Tuesday and Thursday night. I don't really like clubs too much myself, but I've friends who have visited Galway and say they prefer the clubs in their own university cities (especially Dublin).

I'm extremely happy where I am, and I've yet to meet anyone who have hated Galway (a few of the international students find the weather a bit of a shock at first, but they seem to quickly adapt). I've just decided to point out some negatives because it's quite easy to find people who'll tell you how great the place is (and I'd agree, overall), and the only con is "the weather", but there are a few more negatives than just the weather imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

I never knew this...that's actually some joke. I'm not sure, but did the referendum last year propose that we give an extra 100€ to the gym (thus a total of 200€) in the student contribution? Sure we may as well just keep 250€ membership and give everyone a choice at that stage. 50€ in the student contribution for the gym is fair enough imo, 200€ is ridiculous. I think it's around 50€ for TCD in the student contribution, if anyone could clarify it'd be great (I'm a bit lazy today).

Is that so? I thought it was cheaper. Isn't it like 2€ to use the pool there as a non-member? It's a fiver in the Kingfisher. I'd much rather pay 258€ for a gym and pool of UL's quality rather than for the Kingfisher.

TheAlkaline, the gym in NUIG might be a big negative if you're massively into your sports. I know a few of my friends who are very much into their rugby are glad to be in UL. However, if you're a bit like me and only doing sport (of whatever sort...) the odd time for a bit of craic and just keeping fit, the benefits of NUIG just vastly outweigh that negative.

Speaking of negatives, and some might disagree with me on this, I don't think Galway really is the greatest clubbing city. There are much better club scenes to be found elsewhere in Ireland. They're often packed out, sweaty and just messy in general. Really, I've found it impossible to enjoy any clubs in Galway if I was any bit sober. Some people love them, especially in first year, but I've noticed in second year a lot of people have gotten sick of them. It's very much the same thing every Tuesday and Thursday night. I don't really like clubs too much myself, but I've friends who have visited Galway and say they prefer the clubs in their own university cities (especially Dublin).

I'm extremely happy where I am, and I've yet to meet anyone who have hated Galway (a few of the international students find the weather a bit of a shock at first, but they seem to quickly adapt). I've just decided to point out some negatives because it's quite easy to find people who'll tell you how great the place is (and I'd agree, overall), and the only con is "the weather", but there are a few more negatives than just the weather imo!

nah UL has got great facilities but its pricey as hell compared to other uni memberships.

http://www.universityarena.com/v2/rates/campus

Thanks for answer!
    I would love to hear what do you take as a pros of NUIG :P

Thanks for answer!
    I would love to hear what do you take as a pros of NUIG :P
    The pros are easily found if you look about the forum, hence I decided to talk about the cons. :P The pros for me, in brief - lovely town and town centre, small enough to walk or cycle everywhere, cheaper to get (private, rented) accommodation than Dublin and Cork, walks down at Salthill, very friendly people, NUIG itself is getting plenty of investment atm (next year the campus should be less of a building site), great and varied pubs, there are a lot of very good clubs and societies at NUIG with great communities that cater to most interests and hobbies, in first year there is quite a massive load of students (the majority I would think) who are setting off to NUIG on their own or with only a few friends from home and so are eager to meet people (in summary, easy to make friends).

That's about all I can think of in a minute! There are loads of reasons why Galway and NUIG is really a great place to spend your college years. I find there's just very friendly, relaxed vibes about Galway itself as a town. It doesn't have the same impersonal, cold atmosphere that I find in larger cities. That might be just something I feel though. As I said earlier, despite the few cons there's nowhere else I'd rather be. :)