Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are cyclists so hated?

• 26-11-2012 10:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭

Speaking about road cyclists here. I'm sick of it- tell someone you cycle to work and you get the whole "road tax" and "use the cyclelanes" crap. Men unsure of their sexuality rant about the lycra. Even the bike shop, which should be a safe haven, is a place for the sales people to treat you like sh*t and show how much more than you they know.

Commuters try to pass us out at lights.
    Bus drivers try to kill us.
    Mountain Bikers think we're unfriendly poseurs.
    And on and on.

It's a serious image problem, not sure what can be done really. Seems to be getting worse recently too.

(I generally tell people I do triathlons, with a sort of apolgetic laugh. It's amazing the different response. People are interested, get chatting to you about it. The club boys give a little extra room on the weekend spins, and just love it when you crank it out in the aerobars at the front of the bunch! Even the shop guys get friendlier, probably because they know they can now try selling the same crap for 50% more.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

MrCreosote wrote: »
    I generally tell people I do triathlons

A better approach is to never discuss cycling with non-cyclists.

If cornered, start a monologue on the history of bottom bracket standards and keep talking until they go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Are cyclists any more hated than slow-drivers, Sunday-drivers, farmers, boy-racers etc etc..................don't think so !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

They start the conversations not me! People see the bike, or whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Are cyclists any more hated than slow-drivers, Sunday-drivers, farmers, boy-recers etc etc..................don't think so !

You get more hate to your face when off the bike. Nobody goes around saying "I'm a slow-driver and love to hog the fastlane on the M1", and you wouldn't know they were to look at them. But people might know you're a cyclist when they see the bike or the tanlines or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I just get "nice way to start the morning...". Must be your pink lycra that's setting them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Rewind

Commuters try to pass us out at lights.
    Bus drivers try to kill us.
    And on and on.

I guess this is one of the reasons why people might have a problem with "cyclists". You yourself don't consider commuters or mountain bikers the same as you i.e. someone who cycles a bicycle i.e. the same. People will always feel more entitled than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Well, if I just happened to stumble into this thread I'd say it's because you're whingy little bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

MTB'ers are cyclists also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

P.S. Is this the 'row' that someone was looking for last week ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    MTB'ers are cyclists also?

I don't think so, they push bikes uphill, then just stand on the pedals on the way down, no turning pedals, no sitting on saddles, not sure what they need them for at all, at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Lumen wrote: »
    A better approach is to never discuss cycling with non-cyclists.

I'm with Lumen on this. They will start to ask you how far you cycle and how much stuff costs and you will have to lie in order to appear halfway sane.

In extremis, use stock replies such as:

Q. Do you shave your legs?
    A. Yes, I just light a few candles, put the hair up in a towel and have a little me time (usually gets a laugh)

Q. How much did your bike cost?
    A. I just buy bits and pieces now and again and put them together myself.

Q. Is it not dangerous?
    A. You have to be careful alright - some cyclists are a disgrace.

Q. Do you ever win anything?
    A. Oh look, a sand martin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 charliesheens

because they think there in such a great tough rewarding sport ...

when in reality the physique they gain from it is very poor

better off hitting the weights

king of aesthetics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

king of aesthetics

I do both? Where does that leave me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Are cyclists any more hated than slow-drivers, Sunday-drivers, farmers, boy-racers etc etc..................don't think so !

Can't agree here at all.In my opinion cyclists are at the top of the food chain when it comes to hate.

I see a lot of medium and large towns now building cycle lanes for yous and they are perfectly adequate yet not used as they read on forums not to use them.
    I'm not talking about the crap ones on the edge of narrow roads in cities here either.

Also the we are in a race mentality of 25/30 eejits out on a weekend holding up traffic for miles.

Then you have the two abreast cyclists where one of them is almost on the opposite side of the white line trying to prove their entitlement.

Thats just a few reasons why yous are the most universally hated group of road users.
    There are far too many reasons to get into them all I have just given a small sample.

I do both? Where does that leave me?

leaves you in the state of not being the most aesthetic stronger and jacked women slaying version of yourself..

drop the cycling

thank me later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

leaves you in the state of not being the most aesthetic stronger and jacked women slaying version of yourself..

What is a "jacked woman"? Is that a woman you accost in the jacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Lumen wrote: »
    What is a "jacked woman"? Is that a woman you accost in the jacks?

No. It's when you shove a bit of metal under her and wind it in such a way as to make it easier for you to "work" on her and not risk hurting your back...

king of aesthetics

Did you ever take part in a spelling bee by any chance?

Can't agree here at all.In my opinion cyclists are at the top of the food chain when it comes to hate.

I see a lot of medium and large towns now building cycle lanes for yous and they are perfectly adequate yet not used as they read on forums not to use them.
    I'm not talking about the crap ones on the edge of narrow roads in cities here either.

Also the we are in a race mentality of 25/30 eejits out on a weekend holding up traffic for miles.

Then you have the two abreast cyclists where one of them is almost on the opposite side of the white line trying to prove their entitlement.

Thats just a few reasons why yous are the most universally hated group of road users.
    There are far too many reasons to get into them all I have just given a small sample.

Go on then. How often has this happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

drop the cycling

thank me later

Yeah, damn right. Better to have an aesthetic that gets you many women, only to prove yourself a massive dissapointment due to total lack of aerobic stamina. Just hit the creatine and accept that being all that you can be means bulging biceps and suppressed homoerotic fantasies.

What do you mean the lycra could be said to be homoerotic enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Ignore the troll.......:mad:

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Did you ever take part in a spelling bee by any chance?

ha my spelling isn't that bad is it?

spyderski wrote: »
    Ignore the troll.......:mad:

not trolling its just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Because weightlifters are so attractive?
    http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/10/15/article-0-157CF107000005DC-140_634x693.jpg
    Not really. You really gave one reason phrased in a few different ways - "Because cyclists use the road".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

not trolling its just my opinion

Not you charliesheens !

ha my spelling isn't that bad is it?

I don't know but maybe take a look over "there" and see some nice cyclists on "their" bikes?

Yeah, damn right. Better to have an aesthetic that gets you many women, only to prove yourself a massive dissapointment due to total lack of aerobic stamina. Just hit the creatine and accept that being all that you can be means bulging biceps and suppressed homoerotic fantasies.

What do you mean the lycra could be said to be homoerotic enough?

who said I don't do cardio

Just because people lift weights doesn't mean they forget to do cardio

oh yeah skip the weights start cycling

then possibly be smaller than every woman you pull

good thinking there

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

NO good can come from this thread, locked.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

who said I don't do cardio

Just because people lift weights doesn't mean they forget to do cardio

oh yeah skip the weights start cycling

then possibly be smaller than every woman you pull

good thinking there

What exactly is the problem with that? Do the women you get with have penises?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

@Cuchulainn1. Any more trolling like that and it'll be more than a yellow card next time.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

And charliesheens is banned for being a re-reg of a sitebanned troll.