Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Avensis-strange quote from dealer, or not?

• 25-11-2012 1:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭

My mum has a 2011 avensis(aura) she bought new off gearys in limerick. In her wisdom:rolleyes: she's thinking of trading up to a 2013. it's got 60,000km on the clock.

Anyway, she's been quoted 28500 for a new one so they're giving her 19500 for her own. Was on carzone and there's dealers selling these for less than gearys are offering her! However, on the toyota price list they're quoting a new one at 27500.

I'm just wondering if they're just trying to make her feel better by offering 'above' what her car is worth and just adding this on at the other end?

I'm thinking of buying it off her instead cos I know the history but 19500 seems steep in comparison to the others on carzone.

Also would a dealer drop much off the price if the buyer isn't trading in anything?

thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

The pricing on Carzone doesn't include any VRT increase I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Toyota price doesn't include delivery or metallic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The dealer has added a few thousand to each car., costing him nothing and saving your mother nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Toyota price doesn't include delivery or metallic

no i added metallic as an extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Is there a chance the pricing on Toyota site is still at 2012 and not updated to projected 2013 pricing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

The dealer is in no way "losing" anything by offering your mother 19500,when I traded my old Focus diesel with 297000 miles on it in the dealer made it look as if I was getting 6000 for a car that I knew I be doing well to get 1500 for if sold privately,the dealer is the only person who knows how much the deal stands to make him,but he won't be losing anything,the best advice would be to try some other dealers for a straight "cash" price for the new car and work out from there how much you have to pay your mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 jayc12

Buy the new car straight ye will save around €2500 from the price quoted by the garage.

jayc12 wrote: »
    Buy the new car straight ye will save around €2500 from the price quoted by the garage.

How exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

How exactly?

Because garages add money to the price of a new new car when a trade-in is offered. This way they can offer 'more' for the trade-in, and the seller thinks they are getting a better deal.

It's just one of life's little formalities - kind of like tasting wine in a restaurant.

pajo1981 wrote: »

Because garages add money to the price of a new new car when a trade-in is offered. This way they can offer 'more' for the trade-in, and the seller thinks they are getting a better deal.

It's just one of life's little formalities - kind of like tasting wine in a restaurant.

But the list price is the list price. That can't be changed so I don't see how anyone can add on money??

In this case I'd imagine the OP has been given a price that include the new higher VRT amount and is comparing it to the older pricing on Carzone.

but do any of us know VRT changes as the budget hasn't been announced?

the dealer told mam that they'd all be going up by 1k next year but i dunno how he can say that:confused:

if thats the case would you want to be crazy not to buy before the new year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

The only number you needto worry about is the € cost to change...as in how much you need to pay to get the new car..... As Mary Harney says Shop around..... Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

digzy wrote: »
    My mum has a 2011 avensis(aura) she bought new off gearys in limerick. In her wisdom:rolleyes: she's thinking of trading up to a 2013. it's got 60,000km on the clock.

Anyway, she's been quoted 28500 for a new one so they're giving her 19500 for her own. Was on carzone and there's dealers selling these for less than gearys are offering her! However, on the toyota price list they're quoting a new one at 27500.

I'm just wondering if they're just trying to make her feel better by offering 'above' what her car is worth and just adding this on at the other end?

I'm thinking of buying it off her instead cos I know the history but 19500 seems steep in comparison to the others on carzone.

Also would a dealer drop much off the price if the buyer isn't trading in anything?

thanks in advance

Regardless of the trade-in price, its 9k for two years motoring, or 4500 a year. Quite a lot but not as bad as prices I've heard elsewhere. The 28500 is probably list plus delivery and met, and as mentioned the dealer would have a significant cash discount to play around with so could offer her more on a trade-in that other dealers are detailing them at

The only number you needto worry about is the € cost to change...as in how much you need to pay to get the new car..... As Mary Harney says Shop around..... Good luck

sure it goes without saying. i just wanna give my mam a fair price for it if i buy it. have to say i find the prices quoted by the dealer baffling:confused:

An idea has been given to the SIMI and provisional pricing has been released to dealers so a Toyota dealer will know pretty much what the car will cost next year.

was thinking the best thing to do is get a quote for a straight purchase, then subtract the difference from the original quote.

would you get much difference on a new car though? i'd imagine they
    d all be close enough. any point in going to a 'small' independent car dealer as opposed to the main toyota dealers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

was thinking the best thing to do is get a quote for a straight purchase, then subtract the difference from the original quote.

would you get much difference on a new car though? i'd imagine they
    d all be close enough. any point in going to a 'small' independent car dealer as opposed to the main toyota dealers

You have to haggle yes some small dealers can deliver value. However a few things to remember is your mother willing to travel further for value and initial service also how will having to travel a distance effect her for servicing etc. I think Geary's have the two dealersships in Co Limerick now, so to bargain you will have to go to Tralee, Mallow, Ennis or Nenagh. However all you can do is travel get a price and continue to bargain down the price for the same product.

For a cash sale the discount should be at least 2K and maybe over 3K you will only know by shopping around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

But the list price is the list price. That can't be changed so I don't see how anyone can add on money??

In this case I'd imagine the OP has been given a price that include the new higher VRT amount and is comparing it to the older pricing on Carzone.

The list price does not include any discounts. You will get a 'discount' if you're buying without a trade-in - this is in effect the real price.

You have to haggle yes some small dealers can deliver value. However a few things to remember is your mother willing to travel further for value and initial service also how will having to travel a distance effect her for servicing etc. I think Geary's have the two dealersships in Co Limerick now, so to bargain you will have to go to Tralee, Mallow, Ennis or Nenagh. However all you can do is travel get a price and continue to bargain down the price for the same product.

For a cash sale the discount should be at least 2K and maybe over 3K you will only know by shopping around.

I have noticed that a very small dealer in Kerry tends to supply quite a few new Toyota's, so I guess they must give good deal- O'Keefes in Bonard outside Rathmore, might be worth giving them a call to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Casati wrote: »
    I have noticed that a very small dealer in Kerry tends to supply quite a few new Toyota's, so I guess they must give good deal- O'Keefes in Bonard outside Rathmore, might be worth giving them a call to see

Are they bringing them from the north I wonder?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Are they bringing them from the north I wonder?

Don't think so, km clocks and Irish spec rather than UK badging. They sell a lot of second-hand Toyota's so I guess that a Toyota been traded might be worth more to them than it might to a larger dealer

pajo1981 wrote: »

The list price does not include any discounts. You will get a 'discount' if you're buying without a trade-in - this is in effect the real price.

But in reality, there is around 10% margin on an Avensis so I can't see how buying straight could save you 2.5k considering it's a 30 grand car.

Also take into consideration that the dealer isn't actually allowing you the trade in mentioned. This will also have some of the said discount or margin built in to make it look more attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The one in Rathkeale is service/aftersales only now as far as I know.

Rang 2 toyota main dealers this morning. the otr quote for an avensis aura is 28950 trading in or 26500 straight-they even offered to 'shave a bit off' that figure too.
    Given the initial quote was 9k plus her own, it's fair to say they're really giving her 17500 for her car and not the original 19500 originally quoted.

Trouble now is she's holding out for 18500 as opposed to the 17500 they're really offering:)

thanks for the replies lads

Rang 2 toyota main dealers this morning. the otr quote for an avensis aura is 28950 trading in or 26500 straight-they even offered to 'shave a bit off' that figure too.
    Given the initial quote was 9k plus her own, it's fair to say they're really giving her 17500 for her car and not the original 19500 originally quoted.

Trouble now is she's holding out for 18500 as opposed to the 17500 they're really offering:)

If they have not taken her up ( even if they have) tell your mother about the other quotes then go back to geary's and get them to match or better it if you are buying her car. I'd imagine that you will get down nearer the 26K by the time that you will complete the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭listenup

its the list price YOU see. dealer can add what he likes whenever

listenup wrote: »

its the list price YOU see. dealer can add what he likes whenever

A list price is a price in the car industry that allow car dealers a load leeway in the sale of new cars. It is usually inflated by 10% at least. It is the same with second hand car that will have tradein's taken against them. Now and again some plonker goes in and gives a garage the list price for a straight deal ( where there is no trade in)

This list price leaves garages the room to give an inflated price for traded in cars. If you are inside in a show room and are dealing with a saleman and he is giving you 19K for yor 2 year old car and you see another one out there that is 2 years old with a for sale sticker for 20K it gives you the feeling that you are getting a good deal. If he was giving you 17K and the one outside was 20K you continue to bargain hard.

It was the same one time with white goods however that has changed as advertising them now at a low price is more important.

That seems like a good price for straight deal, looks like the spec is up for 2013 with reversing camera, touch screen stereo etc as standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, has she looked at the Hyundai i40?

She's seen sense and decided to leave it as it is. Dont think it's worth 9k in the difference for her. would've been a great deal for me though:)