Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

front damage from underage driver!

• 24-11-2012 8:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭

Hi All,

My sister and I share a car between us, ( well we did )!

My sister was driving the car and out with her mates one night last week, when she arrived home the next morning i seen the car had front end damage, like it had been crashed into a pole. My sister denied knowing anything at all about the damage.

Last night i found out finally that one of her underage friends had been driving the car in a public place and had crashed into a pole, my sister finally confessed.

How would you go about things?

The car will need a new numberplate, bonnet and grill to pass the NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You get your sister to repair it, if not you threaten to go to your parents, the child's parents, guards (in that order)

Don't lose the head, or make it look like it has to be repaired because she should be punished for letting her friend drive - it needs to be repaired because the car isn't gonna pass the nct and it'll attract attention from the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

letting an underage person (15) drive the car with no licence or insurance to drive a car, what the law consequences?

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    letting an underage person (15) drive the car with no licence or insurance to drive a car, what the law consequences?

There's no need to go that far with it. It's not gonna benefit you if you get your sister in legal bother.

I have no intention, im just curious if she was caught.

Is your sister over 18?

she is 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its an offense to allow your car to be driven by anyone that you know to be uninsured. I would imagine that if it were to go legal this is what she would be prosecuted for. Im not sure what the penalties are; you would need to look that up.

Has your sister got a full license? If not then what is she doing driving a car with 15 year olds in it? Sounds to me like you need to seriously address her behaviour when driving the car...

she has full licence. She has requested she be taken off insurance and wants no more to do with the car. seem fair enough to me, clearly not mature enough to be in control of something as dangerous as a car and letting people with no experience into the driving seat and to allow them to drive it in a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

if she wants not to drive anymore thats fine, but don't take her off insurance.
    She already proved she is silly, so you can expect that one day she will take car and just drive it.... it won't cost much with her full licence to keep her insured for a while at least....
    It can save your family lot of money and stress in the future.

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    she has full licence. She has requested she be taken off insurance and wants no more to do with the car. seem fair enough to me, clearly not mature enough to be in control of something as dangerous as a car and letting people with no experience into the driving seat and to allow them to drive it in a public place.

Just make sure that she and her friend are paying for the damage to be repaired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

If you go via insurance then they may well insist that a "theft" of the vehicle be reported to the Gardai before repairing. I'd imagine your best bet is to have your sister/friend have the vehicle repaired and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    if she wants not to drive anymore thats fine, but don't take her off insurance.
    She already proved she is silly, so you can expect that one day she will take car and just drive it.... it won't cost much with her full licence to keep her insured for a while at least....
    It can save your family lot of money and stress in the future.

Agreed....

Fantastic advice there...

Probably the best your going to get OP.

yes, thanks guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ah here, its simple. Your sister works it out between her friend. Feck getting the gards involved. You'll ruin someone's life over nothing.

I cant help but feel your sister is partially to blame here.

I have no intention of getting the law involved, all i want is someone to pay for the damage as i see it unfair for me to fork out the repair money. My sister will pay for the damage, and offcourse she is to blame

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I cant help but feel your sister is partially to blame here.

No partially about it; unless said 15 year old stole the keys off her she is 100% to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Mistakes happen.

Just get her to pay it and forget about it.

As long as she understands the severity of what shes done there's no reason to involve the Gardai I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

If the offender is 15 they Gardaí will do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

One more advice - if you OP don't want to make your sister serious problems - don't go to the underage friend parents to get money for repair.
    I guess they will say that they will go to garda to report, that your adult sister let drive car their underage kid. - I think it is serious offence.
    And as long as car was not stolen your sister will be responsible for repair and for giving keys to the kid. - better if she just pay money for her stupidity and garda is not ivolved.