Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 PW Awards (Nomination Thread)

• 23-11-2012 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭

When you work one day a week your mind begins to boggle. So I've decided to relaunch the Pro Wrestling Forum Awards.

I've come up with a few categories but any suggestions would be more than welcome.
    • The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - for best poster
    • The Santino Marella Award - for funniest poster
    • The Vince McMahon Award - for mod of the year
    • The HHH Award - the member you'd most like to see become a mod
    • The William Regal Award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster
    • The Zack Ryder Award - The poster who practically lives on the internet/forum
    • The Dave Meltzer Award - for most informative poster regarding news/stories
    • The Shawn Michaels Award - for the poster we'd love to see back
    • The Ric Flair Award - For rant of the year
    • The Antonio Cesaro Award - for best newcomer
    • ***** Thread - thread of the year
    If everyone wants to copy and paste the above followed by any number of nominations per category and I'll do up a thread for every award next week and have a poll to see who the winners will be (mod permitted of course). No need to nominate in the mod award as there's only 4 mods. Not gonna bother having awards for wrestlers as we have the PW Hall of Fame and it's pretty pointless to have another award ceremony for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

•The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - for best poster

•The Santino Marella Award - for funniest poster

•The Vince McMahon Award - for mod of the year

•The Dave Meltzer Award - for most informative poster regarding news/stories

•The Shawn Michaels Award - for the poster we'd love to see back

•The John Laurinaitis Award - for poster most likely to be 'future endeavoured' next year

•The Antonio Cesaro Award - for best newcomer

•***** Thread - thread of the year

It's real simple..... Yousef to clear the boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

•The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - for best poster (Leaving this one open. You're all awesome)

•The Santino Marella Award - for funniest poster (Diabhal Beag)

•The Vince McMahon Award - for mod of the year (JayKHunter)

•The Dave Meltzer Award - for most informative poster regarding news/stories (Rovert)

•The Shawn Michaels Award - for the poster we'd love to see back (Bring Back Walt!)

•The John Laurinaitis Award - for poster most likely to be 'future endeavoured' next year (Wouldn't like to see anyone go)

•The Antonio Cesaro Award - for best newcomer (I'll be a smartarse and Nominate Hashtag_HEEL)

•***** Thread - thread of the year (Off topic thread or the WWE Tours Ireland 2012 thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Anyone who post enough times in the TNA thread, so Machismo Fan, gfrnhead, starviewadams, few others too.

Airmax87 for his obsession with Steve Blackman

They're all great but i'll say Jay Hunter because I wrestled him in person :D

The Wrestling Observer subscriber tag-team of Rovert and Furious-Red

That guy who moved to Australia

•The John Laurinaitis Award - for poster most likely to be 'future endeavoured' next year

Vacant

Hashtag Heel and that Ahmed guy who was obsessed with AJ seem cool.

Irish WWF Tours in the 90s/00s - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78300882

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

can I suggest another category

The HHH Award - the member you'd most like to see become a mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Controversial!

More categories:

Vickie Guerrero award - Troll of the year.

William Regal award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster

The Zack Ryder award - The poster who practically lives on the internet/forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

More added. Not adding the Vickie Guerrero Award. Telly Monster wins that just for suggesting we have a troll of the year award. :D

William Regal award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster (Telly Monster)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ric Flair award - For rant of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Ric Flair award - For rant of the year

I hope the rant doesn't have include cutting ones self.

I think the John Laurinaitis award should be removed. Does anyone agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I think the John Laurinaitis award should be removed. Does anyone agree?

It's only a bit of craic on an internet forum, I'd hope no one would take it too seriously.

speak for yourself, I've got ten grand riding on Bounty Hunter for Mod Of The Year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

speak for yourself, I've got ten grand riding on Bounty Hunter for Mod Of The Year

I probably shouldnt mention the little flutter I had on Jayk myself so. I actually like the idea of the HHH one but wouldnt be voting on it myself for obvious reasons... jeep those things in house :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Listen guys, if I don't win the Santino award the Wards said they'd come after me.

Not really, since I received an infraction for using the word "mark" in a sarcastic fashion before and I wasn't trying to offend the person at all. Call me a troll, if you want, but I don't agree with that award. I know that a lot of you seem to know each other well on here, but even more people probably aren't too familiar with the different personalities. You'll probably think I'm crazy for that, but I just find it a bit offensive.

While my above writing still stands as my opinion on the matter, surely I have thrown myself into the running for Daniel Bryan of the year? ;)

surely I have thrown myself into the running for Daniel Bryan of the year? ;)

bryannolnekf.gif

Thing about it stereomaniac is it's just a bit of fun. Nobody ever gets a proper ban on here these days and it's just a friendly nudge to say that poster is a messer. There's no malice or ill-will round these here parts. Back in my day there were permabans and sitebans all o'er the town.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Around here the person that gets poster of the year could also win the Lauranaitis award.

Well guys, how come that wasn't obvious to me then? Am I not really a part of this board?

I have been handed infractions on here for not knowing people well enough to tease them. If I participate in this tread and vote for someone in that category, how can I be sure it won't happen again? Likewise, how do I tell if someone is joking with me or if they are just chopping me down?
    I have yet to see that happen, but as I said, in the past, I have been misinterpreted and punished for it. So, can anyone see where I'm coming from here.?

Oh, and Groutch, I'll make you tap out.

I'll take the award down if there's any arguement over it. The whole thing is just a laugh lads. I would have voted for drayme in it anyhow. He was a right twat. Rovert ain't too bad though ;)

Keep your nominations coming. Don't bother nominating a mod as there's only 4 of them and if one of them happen to not be nominated it would be a bit bad to them. Plus we'd all get site banned.

Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! I'M the Pro Wrestling Board!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Shawn Michaels award for poster you'd most like to see come back: The Flah.
    Or Ger. Or pingu. Or VR.

Funniest: Diabhal

Most informative: rovey

Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! I'M the Pro Wrestling Board!

No one person is bigger than the board! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Most informative: rovert.

Best newcomer: Hashtag heel.

Best mod: Jaykhunter.

Funniest: Diabeal Beag and GTR63.

Best overall poster: It's very hard to pick out just one person but Cmpunked, Teamshadowclan and gnfnrhead are good rounded posters imo.

Poster I would like to see return: CMPunked :D

This is also the final PW Awards if my bais from the Mayan calendar are to be believed

Rovert is some man for the news. On this forum it's like he's on LSD in that he's so relaxed. Lot of people very close by in my rankings though.

If I can't do the **** nominate myself I'll go for my fellow Galwegian GTR. Pete Campbell is p. high up this list

Very hard to seperate BH and Jayk. JayK edges it for his videopodcast that I will catch up on over Christmas

Rovert wins this hands down

A lot of good posters lurk here but Ger C doesn't. Big loss to here and to hurling chat in the OTB Video Games/TV shows thread

This place only gets the Epic Fail thread trolls. Generally everybody behave which is weird to think when ya read mongish posts AH as much as I do

This Pete Campbell fella and Hashtag_HEEL fella are both equally good.

OTB is my choice. Need Wrestlezone Alan back though.

Big aside though. We should have a thread to lure back all the regulars who lurk nowadays. Or just for them to drop in and say hi every now and then. Boards in general has a big turnover of good posters.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Poster I would like to see return: CMPunked :D

Not_sure_if_serious.jpg

img

Should I have used :pac:

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Should I have used :pac:

Probably not. Heads all over the place this evening, dont mind me. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Big aside though. We should have a thread to lure back all the regulars who lurk nowadays. Or just for them to drop in and say hi every now and then. Boards in general has a big turnover of good posters.

*waves*:)

I think that could also be: The Dolph Ziggler Award :pac:

Can I vote for ThrillMurrayVEVO for The Shawn Michaels Award? I really miss his Raw in 5 min Recaps. I know he wasn't technically part of PW Boards but posts of his videos were always ones I looked forward to.

Added the Ric Flair award and removed the Laurinaitis award.

Gonna throw out a few nominations meself.

The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - for best poster
    jayk, Teamshadowclan, D2D

Mr. Nice Guy

William Regal Award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster
    CM Punked

The Zack Ryder Award - The poster who practically lives on the internet/forum
    CM Punked (again!)

The Dave Meltzer Award - for most informative poster regarding news/stories
    JP Liz

The Shawn Michaels Award - for the poster we'd love to see back
    flah, Ger C, Voltwad (where's he gone?)

The Antonio Cesaro Award - for best newcomer
    Kerplunk124

***** Thread - thread of the year
    2012 PW Draft picks thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=76258262

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Best overall poster: It's very hard to pick out just one person but Cmpunked, Teamshadowclan and gnfnrhead are good rounded posters imo.
    glenjamin wrote: »
    jayk, Teamshadowclan, D2D

Barney-Stinson-Thumbs-up-GIF.gif

Out of interest, would anyone mind if I did up an awards topic for the wrestling world (Best WWE Wrestler, TNA Wrestler, Angle of the year, etc)?

Since its a nomination Thread I will go with people not already nominated (or I didn't notice were nominated)

Over the last 12 months -

Rovert or Rossie1977 or MitchKoobski

JP Liz or MitchKoobski

Santino Marella Award for funniest poster - Charisteas (for the innuendo jokes)

JayK

GTR63

Dare

Orestes (hic)

Photo and Humour threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

My nominations:

MitchKoobski, Teamshadowclan or DM-ICE

Diabhal or GTR

Santino Marella Award for funniest poster - Charisteas or Diabhal

JayK

CMPunked/Telly Monster (dunno why the name change)

Rovert, Liz or Furious-Red

Flah!!!!!!

Draft thread never fails to be amazing. Honourable mention to the Non-In ring Diva's thread as well ;)

Honorable plug for the BWE as well
    *Bang Bang*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Out of interest, would anyone mind if I did up an awards topic for the wrestling world (Best WWE Wrestler, TNA Wrestler, Angle of the year, etc)?

I did it last year if you want to reuse the same categories: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056495312

CM Punk Award: CMPunked
    Shawn Michaels Award: Flah
    Ric Flair Award: Gimmick (the whole PW Draft stip situation)
    Thread of The Year: Wrestling Lookalikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Very difficult one this because I like so many folks round here. I've decided to go for Spongey on account of the fact I really love the predictions games he does for PPVs which imo really liven up PPV events. I think this is one of the underrated things on the forum. Thanks Spongey!

The Santino Marella Award - for funniest poster

Another tough one. Will jointly give this one to Diabhal and GTR.

The Vince McMahon Award - for mod of the year

Again tough as the mods on here know the place well and how to keep it ticking along nicely. I'll give the edge to BH on account of his work with the Draft this year.

SlickRic / Machismo Fan - Both know the place well and would be great selections imo.

The William Regal Award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster

Jayk, Teamshadowclan, D2D, Telly Monster - these chaps spring to mind but really there are a lot of people on here who give advice when around.

I'm in no position to pass judgement on this one. :pac: I'll go for GTR as I've seen him in the live Raw threads with me quite often. :D

Rovert, JP Liz, Teamshadowclan - They save me having to look for news or SD show reports.

So many really. Flah, Ger, Fozzy, Vince, Bubs, Jolt. Walt is on a few times I think but could post more imo. ;)

The Ric Flair Award - For rant of the year

Yousef on Cena

Don't agree with this but I admire the passion!

The Antonio Cesaro Award - for best newcomer

Is GTR new? If not, Hashtag Heel, Pete Campbell or Stereomaniac.

Wrestlemania 28 at Captain's thread by Leggo

Great idea and a big success in the end. Well done leggo.

No one person is bigger than the board! ;)
    I'M THE PRO WRESTLING MESSAGE BOARD!

Nominations close on Friday. Still need more nominations for the William Regal Award, the Zack Ryder Award, and the Ric Flair Award. Plenty of nominations for everything else.

Starting Friday I'll do two polls every three days so the board doesn't get clogged up.

Best of luck to all those nominated. I know this is the highlight of your year :D

Oh btw, can someone who has far too much time on their hands Photoshop me an Oscar style, PW award? Ty.

I nominate glenjamin for the Dr Shelby award (for promoting good relations on the forum) and poster of the year award for same reason

It was pointed out it's probably a good idea to wait till after TLC to do the end of year wrestling awards in case someone puts on a masterpiece <_<

I'll pop up my nominations for this topic tomorrow btw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - Mr Nice Guy
    The Santino Marella Award - Diabheal Beag
    The Vince McMahon Award - Bounty Hunter
    The HHH Award - Pete Campbell aka flah
    The William Regal Award - Rovert
    The Zack Ryder Award - Rovert
    The Shawn Michaels Award - Volt
    The Ric Flair Award - Flah in the draft
    The Antonio Cesaro Award -
    ***** Thread - PW Draft pick thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

The CM Punk Award - Rovert

The William Regal Award - Most helpful/quick to give advice poster - GTR63

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

(Sorry but difficult to pick just one for some categories)

The CM Punk, Best in the World Award for best poster - Mr. Nice Guy/CMPunked/Teamshadowclan/DM-ICE/Furious-Red/Machismo Fan/Bounty Hunte/GTR63

Mr. Nice Guy/D2D/Teamshadowclan/DM-ICE/Machismo Fan

CMPunked

The Vince McMahon Award for mod of the year - Jay, Bounty Hunter and Gimmick

The Zack Ryder Award - The poster who practically lives on the internet/forum - Rovert

The Dave Meltzer Award for most informative poster regarding news/stories - Rovert

The Shawn Michaels Award for the poster we'd love to see back -
    Flah and Ger

Thread of the year - Draft Thread

Rant of the year - Gimmick and Flah in the draft thread

The Antonio Cesaro Award for best newcomer - Hashtag Heel and Pete Campbell

The Santino Marella Award for funniest poster - Teamshadowclan and Diabhal Beag

The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award - Mitch/TSC/Charisteas
    The Santino Marella Award - Diabheal Beag
    The Vince McMahon Award - They all have lovely bottoms
    The William Regal Award - Rovey
    The Zack Ryder Award - GTR
    The Dave Meltzer Award - for most informative poster regarding news/stories - Liz x Infinity
    The Shawn Michaels Award - Drayme. :P No but really, They should all come back
    The Antonio Cesaro Award - Hashtag_heel
    ***** Thread - Off topic thread/wrestlemania meetup thread.

The CM Punk, Best in the World, Award
    I hate doing ones like this. Genuinely think this is a great board, so to name one person is tough, especially since I know I'll leave people out. So if you're not in the list, I hope you don't take it personally. These are the names of people that spring instantly to mind when I think of this place....CM Punked, Jay Hunter, Liz, Rovert, Machismo, MNG, Bounty Hunter.

The Santino Marella Award
    Given the constant posts in the PW Humor Thread, CM_Punked.

The Vince McMahon Award
    Just cause he's the one I bugged a few times and he was always quick to give me the answers I need, Jay

The HHH Award
    I know he's a mod already, but I'd quite like to see CM_Punked become a mod of here too :)

The William Regal Award
    Rovert. See the "Dave Meltzer Award" for reasons...

The Zack Ryder Award

The Dave Meltzer Award
    Rovert. Whenever I have a question in the Q&A topic or whenever there's a story to be told, Rovert is always quick to answer and always seem to have the inside knowledge on things. :)

The Shawn Michaels Award
    Flah

The Ric Flair Award
    Flah in the Draft

The Antonio Cesaro Award
    Hashtag Heel cause he did the podcast with us :P

***** Thread
    Off Topic Thread. Always a source of fun and enjoyment.

CM Punk Award - a toss up goes to gnfnrhead.
    Santino Marella Award - Diabhal.
    Zack Ryder Award- JP Liz.
    John Laurinaitis Award- Bombidol.
    Vince McMahon Award- Jayk.
    ***** thread Award- Non in ring talent Diva thread.
    Dave Meltzer and HHH Award- Machismo fan.